Some Gardai were present at a murder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,637 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Jawgap wrote: »
    Well, it's not my 'bible' - I'm more of an Irish Times man, but the report in D'Indo popped up when I googled.

Aside from that, good for her - the system is there to be used. That's the way it's supposed to work.

Here is a link from the examiner as well, just in case the indo is not enough for ya.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/gardai-withheld-information-in-clare-daly-inquiry-232179.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Floppybits wrote: »
    Here is a link from the examiner as well, just in case the indo is not enough for ya.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/gardai-withheld-information-in-clare-daly-inquiry-232179.html

Ok, I'll repeat - again - my earlier point, good for her putting her case forward for investigation with GSOC and for taking her action before the High Court. That's what those institutions are there for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Well, it's not my 'bible' - I'm more of an Irish Times man, but the report in D'Indo popped up when I googled.

Aside from that, good for her - the system is there to be used. That's the way it's supposed to work.

You'll be withdrawing your snide little Endaism then?:
    Has she? I'm guessing she hasn't for a very obvious reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

So tell us more about the situation then.

You're the Gard, you tell me. This is the first I have heard of it. I find it fairly worrying tbh and deserving of full public attention.

Happyman42 wrote: »
    You'll be withdrawing your snide little Endaism then?:

Endaism?

I'm not familiar with the term, but I'm happy to acknowledge that I was wrong in suggesting or stating she had not pursued claims or made complaints to the relevant bodies. She has, and best of luck to her in pursuing them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

You're the Gard, you tell me. This is the first I have heard of it. I find it fairly worrying tbh and deserving of full public attention.

Sorry, I don't read minds. I assumed you knew some answers because you were giving out about people not asking more questions about it. I'm curious as to who you thought would be answering them for the people here.

Endaism?

I'm not familiar with the term, but I'm happy to acknowledge that I was wrong in suggesting or stating she had not pursued claims or made complaints to the relevant bodies. She has, and best of luck to her in pursuing them.

Full of the same mealy mouthed Endaisms. You inferred something that would be a slur on anybody's good name and you aren't a big enough man to just apologise for it. I'm 'happy to acknowledge' your total lack of moral fibre.

Sorry, I don't read minds. I assumed you knew some answers because you were giving out about people not asking more questions about it. I'm curious as to who you thought would be answering them for the people here.
    You assumed wrong so. Clare Daly brought up a worrying issue in the Dail - a whistleblower claimed they had evidence that was roundly ignored by the people tasked with investigating the matter in question. That in itself is a matter that deserves attention and having a spotlight shone on it. No agenda here, no "inside" information and no slurs on Clare Daly either. I find it odd that it isn't being treated as something that needs a sh1tload of further questions being asked, that's it. I'm also under no illusions..this will "go away" and be forgotten. Whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,686 ✭✭✭barneystinson

You assumed wrong so. Clare Daly brought up a worrying issue in the Dail - a whistleblower claimed they had evidence that was roundly ignored by the people tasked with investigating the matter in question. That in itself is a matter that deserves attention and having a spotlight shone on it. No agenda here, no "inside" information and no slurs on Clare Daly either. I find it odd that it isn't being treated as something that needs a sh1tload of further questions being asked, that's it. I'm also under no illusions..this will "go away" and be forgotten. Whatever.

You sound like you'll be ****ing gutted if it gets dealt with TBH...

Dickheads love this sort of thing - you get to be outraged at the start when the allegations are flying around, and then if it is true you get to continue being outraged, and find fault with whatever the response is...

If there's **** all substance to it and it quietly goes away, you get to have a conspiracy theory about where it went...

Kind of a whinge-win-whinge-win situation ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

bjork wrote: »
    and their superiors told them to keep stum.

Gardaí helped cover up the murder of a civilian by a member of the force, it has been claimed.

Using Dáil privilege, independent TD Clare Daly said that an officer witnessed a colleague shooting a member of the public but was told by senior officers to say he was not present during the incident

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/daly-garda-carried-out-murder-but-force-helped-cover-it-up-31147049.html

Is the darker side of the GS going to be uncovered? Forget speeding tickets; this is where it's going down.

Would you cover for a colleague if he'd done same in your work place?

I'm waiting on a statement from either our Garda Commissioner or else our Minister for Justice.
    We are apparently in a new era in Irish Policing so hopefully some decent statement will emerge in the coming week with reference to this issue and limit the damage being done.

Any place of work is not going to be the same as experienced in a Garda place of work tbh. Certainly no like-for-like anyways, so asking a hypothetical question of this nature is pointless.

Just my thoughts,
    kerry4sam

You sound like you'll be ****ing gutted if it gets dealt with TBH...

Dickheads love this sort of thing - you get to be outraged at the start when the allegations are flying around, and then if it is true you get to continue being outraged, and find fault with whatever the response is...

If there's **** all substance to it and it quietly goes away, you get to have a conspiracy theory about where it went...

Kind of a whinge-win-whinge-win situation ;)

Right...:rolleyes: So let's just forget it then? "Nothing to see here?" Move along....Lol. Jog on.

Nah, not what I'm saying at all, but you put the spin you need to on it... ;)

I'm just saying some people seem to revel in this sort of news.

Whereas I reckon it'd be better if we never had to hear about things like this, be they true or otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

So Clare Daly is asking Enda Kenny why an allegation of serious police corruption has not been investigated and she's:

a) a untrustworthy lying bitch etc

b) genuinely asking our Taoiseach why a serious allegation he's aware of has not been acted upon

Is that a fair summary of the polarised views on this thread so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

If she's so sure why didn't she say who was murdered, dail privilege and all that, now every garda is a murderer and every victim is a victim of a garda

As I was saying earlier.
    Happyman wrote:
    The 'nothing to see here' FGbots out in force on this one I see.

As I was saying earlier.

As I frequently mutter to myself:

"Not these shinnerbot cnuts who piss and moan about everything and have fúck all constructive to say about anything"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭cerastes

Whereas I reckon it'd be better if we never had to hear about things like this, be they true or otherwise.

You think? how could you possibly come to that conclusion?
    What would the benefit of what you propose?
    I think plenty of people would disagree with that, it really smacks of the little people not handle the truth or something, of institutionalism.
    crusier wrote: »
    If she's so sure why didn't she say who was murdered, dail privilege and all that, now every garda is a murderer and every victim is a victim of a garda

Others to protect, the persons name and their family, Im certainlt stunned by it, but I dont want to nor do I think I need to know the names, not at this point at least. Im certainly glad its out in the open to be determined what happened, rather than as it appears has been the case, that it hasnt been in the open.Clear it up, someone's dead, another poster wants us to go around with our fingers in our ears and effectively agree with whatever occurs so long as a blinkered populace doesnt know whats going on, great!

"Not these shinnerbot cnuts who piss and moan about everything and have fúck all constructive to say about anything"...

You seem to be pissing and moaning and there seems to be damn all constructive about your post, were you trying to be ironic or something?
    How you think a dead person equates to anyone that wants this not brushed under the carpet being a shinnerbot, what about transparency and accountability? How serious does something ahve to be if this isnt?
    To say I find it concerning doesnt do any justice to how serious this is and that people just want it swept aside without a mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

crusier wrote: »

Because then a trial would be practically impossible as there would always be insinuations of bias from the defence

Full of the same mealy mouthed Endaisms. You inferred something that would be a slur on anybody's good name and you aren't a big enough man to just apologise for it. I'm 'happy to acknowledge' your total lack of moral fibre.

Oh dear.

Well then, I'm quite happy to admit I was wrong and Clare, if you are reading this, I'm sorry for slurring your good name.

........and @Happyman42, it's only the internet.

Because then a trial would be practically impossible as there would always be insinuations of bias from the defence

There could be no claim of bias if she only named the alleged victim - as they are the person who won't be on trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Because you seem a bit backward,try muttering to yourself Clare Daly is not a member of SF ten times or 20 times maybe for thick Cnuts.

Oh dear.

Well then, I'm quite happy to admit I was wrong and Clare, if you are reading this, I'm sorry for slurring your good name.

........and @Happyman42, it's only the internet.

Not hard to do the decent thing and apologise, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

So Clare Daly is asking Enda Kenny why an allegation of serious police corruption has not been investigated and she's:

a) a untrustworthy lying bitch etc

b) genuinely asking our Taoiseach why a serious allegation he's aware of has not been acted upon

Is that a fair summary of the polarised views on this thread so far?
    You missed

c) abusing Dail privilege to make inflammatory allegations that she knows the Taoiseach can't answer, for the purposes of her own political gain

cerastes wrote: »
    You think? how could you possibly come to that conclusion?
    What would the benefit of what you propose?
    I think plenty of people would disagree with that, it really smacks of the little people not handle the truth or something, of institutionalism.

Maybe I wasn't clear enough.

I'm very concerned, but that's what I am, concerned. I wish things like this didn't actually ever happen, so that we'd never hear about them. In this case I also take anything Clare Daly says with a bucket load of salt.

Other posters appear to revel in it, and I suspect they enjoy the opportunity to go online and be outraged. The kind of people who will always find something to give out about.

I'll withhold my outrage until someone is convicted of, or at least charged with, something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭geosynchronous orbit

seamus wrote: »
    You missed

c) abusing Dail privilege to make inflammatory allegations that she knows the Taoiseach can't answer, for the purposes of her own political gain

How exactly did she abuse Dail privilege, in your opinion?

I believe that statement to be factually incorrect and you should correct it.

I have no problem with your assertions in relation to political gain but I see no abuse here as no one has been named, there is a file with the enquiry that is being reviewed. She is not making that up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭melissak

Floppybits wrote: »
    Where have I said they were all corrupt? Can you point that out to me please?

I didn't say that you said they were all corrupt. I'm sorry if it seemed like i did, i certainly didn't mean too.

True or otherwise?? You think if this is true we shouldn't hear about it.? If a member of the police force of the country shot someone and other members of the force covered it up. We should say **** happens and move on.? Or better yet bury our heads in the sand and say nothing? Really??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Clare Daly used Dáil privilege to bring up something which she provided no proof of. This is not unusual and has been used in the past to circumvent defamation law as well as make completely unsubstantiated claims to get tongues wagging. Can you even say what century this incident was in? If there is any evidence of a murder being covered up you can be sure she would have presented it and it would be getting attention. She has presented absolutely nothing. She may as well have accused the Gardaí of conspiring with the soviets to mount a coup for all the proof, or even explanation, she gave us. Yet still people like you lap it up. Stop asking people why they don't jump at her latest stunt and start asking her the questions you want to know.

I do agree that we should wait for details before jumping on the all guards are bad bandwagon however. Or the nothing to see here, clare daly is a liar bandwagon...

melissak wrote: »
    True or otherwise?? You think if this is true we shouldn't hear about it.? If a member of the police force of the country shot someone and other members of the force covered it up. We should say **** happens and move on.? Or better yet bury our heads in the sand and say nothing? Really??

Yeah I wasn't clear enough, see my clarification about 3 posts that way ^^^

Read that and come back to me if you're still outraged with me; so much outrage, the ratio of outrage to facts here at the moment is..... outrageous!