Some Gardai were present at a murder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

Personally, I have a good relationship with a number of Guards. A decent bunch of lads and lassies who are doing a job that I or most of the whingers in the world would not touch with a barge pole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rocky911

Yes which is why if you FAIL the preliminary test you'll go to the station to take another.

If you PASS the test (as Ms Daly did), you will be sent on your way - unless there are extraordinary circumstances at play. Like having brought to light garda corruption for example.

Have you poof of this ? because she actually had a level of 45mg/100 of alcohol in her system according to court transcripts which if she was a professional driver would deem her to be over the legal limit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

I can't believe that people are once again giving the benefit of the doubt to elements in AGS and lambasting TD's looking for answers, given what we know has been going on for the last 20 to 30 years.
    Beggars belief actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rocky911

lol

one day you'll figure out how the world works young Rocky. Or at least I hope you do.

tell me, was rushing to inform the independent part of standard procedure as well?

We shall agree to disagree :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

get off the stage before you fall

do you honestly believe its standard proceedure to cuff someone , put them in a police car , bring them to the station and place them in a cell for a few hours , they dont do that with people who are legless

anyone with an ounce of honesty knows that was an attempted stitch up
    You wont find much of that around here with the usual suspects with their agendas.
    Any one who thinks that a Garda who has to go to a TD to air that he was a witness to a shooting/murder and months later has not being approached or interviewed and think that is ok does not deserve to live in a democratic or a civilised country,never mind allegations that Garda was involved in the shooting and he was told to keep his mouth shut.

rocky911 wrote: »
    Have you poof of this ? because she actually had a level of 45mg/100 of alcohol in her system according to court transcripts which if she was a professional driver would deem her to be over the legal limit

actually to be fair I believe the test was inconclusive (which could be for a number of reasons of course)

bottom line is that there is no way in hell what happened to her was standard in any way, and the media tip off only confirmed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

rocky911 wrote: »
    We shall agree to disagree :)
    What that a TD who was uncovering allagations against AGS was bagged.found to have passed it but was handcuffed and taken to the GS mm

tipptom wrote: »
    What that a TD who was uncovering allagations against AGS was bagged.found to have passed it but was handcuffed and taken to the GS mm

and the story was leaked so as to cause maximum embarrassment and to stoke the 'where there is smoke there is fire' brigade. As we can see they where 'stoked' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

The claim is clearly not outlandish as Enda Kenny wasn't able or willing to contradict it, but rather mutter something about the investigation taking time.

Can you explain why you believe the claim to be outlandish?

He passed it to the relevant body to investigate according to the story Are people expecting Enda to stick on his private detective hat, holster a gun and go investigating alleged crimes?

"The Taoiseach responded that it was not for him to say why individuals had not been contacted.
    He said the review panel had not concluded its work."

Have you actually read the story? Are you paying any attention at all?

How the hell do you follow up a witnesses claims without talking to them? This is like the penalty points saga all over again isn't it.
    How long does an investigation take? Maybe you should head down to the Pheonix park and give the lads a few classes on how you'd like investigations to run?

How do you, or Clare Daly ,know they dont know exactly what shooting it refers too and are looking in to it. They may not need to talk to the witness up to now. But sure hey, everyone else knows best.
    It's a wonder there are any unsolved crimes at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

He passed it to the relevant body to investigate according to the story Are people expecting Enda to stick on his private detective hat, holster a gun and go investigating alleged crimes?

In such a case, yes, I would expect the Prime Minister of any legitimate democracy to EXPEDITE investigations into a claim of such enormity of which he is personally made aware. Is that asking too much? Or are we just paying them to read Merkel's handouts and shine the arses of their trousers on the comfy seats up there?

How long does an investigation take? Maybe you should head down to the Pheonix park and give the lads a few classes on how you'd like investigations to run?

How do you, or Clare Daly ,know they dont know exactly what shooting it refers too and are looking in to it. They may not need to talk to the witness up to now. But sure hey, everyone else knows best.
    It's a wonder there are any unsolved crimes at all.

Maybe I should.

Because based on the penalty points scandal "the lads" in the Phoenix Park haven't got a rashers what policing in a modern republic is supposed to look like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,991 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Yes which is why if you FAIL the preliminary test you'll go to the station to take another.

If you PASS the test (as Ms Daly did), you will be sent on your way - unless there are extraordinary circumstances at play. Like having brought to light garda corruption for example.

She didn't pass. She was unable to give a proper sample - which is treated the same as a roadside fail - having been stopped for making an illegal right-hand turn.

http://claredaly.ie/statement-from-clare-daly-td/

tipptom wrote: »
    You wont find much of that around here with the usual suspects with their agendas.
    Any one who thinks that a Garda who has to go to a TD to air that he was a witness to a shooting/murder and months later has not being approached or interviewed and think that is ok does not deserve to live in a democratic or a civilised country,never mind allegations that Garda was involved in the shooting and he was told to keep his mouth shut.

Funny how agendas only seem to go one way.

You have no evidence of any crime taking place, nevermind involving Gardai. No names of anyone involved in said alleged crime, nor any other information beyond what someone alleges happened (funnily enough though, the supposed witness being a Garda doesnt go against them in this case because it suits the narrative) yet you have decided it all happened and anyone looking for actual details before deciding everyone should be hung, have a agenda.

Its quite funny that the Gardai are a lying bunch of cowboys , unless one of them says something bad about the Gardai, then that member becomes beyond reproach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭whats newxt

I believe it, the gards in this country are out of control and they don't in fact serve the people anymore. But hey it's Ireland i guess.

You have no evidence of any crime taking place, nevermind involving Gardai. No names of anyone involved in said alleged crime, nor any other information beyond what someone alleges happened (funnily enough though, the supposed witness being a Garda doesnt go against them in this case because it suits the narrative) yet you have decided it all happened and anyone looking for actual details before deciding everyone should be hung, have a agenda.

Its quite funny that the Gardai are a lying bunch of cowboys , unless one of them says something bad about the Gardai, then that member becomes beyond reproach.

I don't think posters are baying for hangings. A timely investigation would do us. :) How long do you reckon is reasonable to stall before interviewing the complainant?

How long do you reckon is reasonable to stall before interviewing the complainant?

Ive no idea how long an investigation does or should take. Thats why I don't tend to go off on one demanding this or that should be done. Look at big cases in the papers and theres often a couple of years between the crime and the conclusion of the investigation then court case.
    I don't think posters are baying for hangings.

Plenty have decided this is now a cover up and the Gardai are all corrupt. They dont even know any details beyond someone was alleged to have been shot at some time in the past and a Gard was supposedly told to say they werent there, yet they've passed judgemnet on the case.

What if it turns out to be a crazy allegation by a nut job ex Gard? Will people be rushing to apologise and say how wrong they were? Doubtful.

I believe it, the gards in this country are out of control and they don't in fact serve the people anymore. But hey it's Ireland i guess.

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,991 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I don't think posters are baying for hangings. A timely investigation would do us. :) How long do you reckon is reasonable to stall before interviewing the complainant?

There's posters on this thread who are screeching about "agendas", and rushing to make judgements based on SFA are the very same who take a very different approach whenever anything remotely negative is posted about dear old saint Gerry.

[EDIT] Actually, they take a similar approach when it comes to screeching about agendas. Everyone who disagrees with them always has an "agenda" no matter what the subject [/EDIT]

Ive no idea how long an investigation does or should take. Thats why I don't tend to go off on one demanding this or that should be done. Look at big cases in the papers and theres often a couple of years between the crime and the conclusion of the investigation then court case.

Understandable, Guy. Investigations do tend to take time. And court proceedings even longer. However I would offer that in this case where a member of a police force is claimed to have shot a civilian I imagine matters should be expedited to find out exactly what happened as it potentially undermines the rule of law to such an extent. Our government demonstrates reasonably regularly that some things can be tracked to the fast lane. I would have thought this was suitable for such a reaction. It is after all the type of thing one expects in military juntas, not in democracies.

And later edit in response to people accusing re ''agendas'' etc. I am not a sinn feiner or whatever. I have not said anywhere that there is an agenda. I have wondered at the lack of enquiry into a whistleblowers very serious complaint. I have nowhere said that it must be true. Simply that it must be promptly investigated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Understandable, Guy. Investigations do tend to take time. And court proceedings even longer. However I would offer that in this case where a member of a police force is claimed to have shot a civilian I imagine matters should be expedited to find out exactly what happened as it potentially undermines the rule of law to such an extent.
    Doesn't that depend? I mean if the officer claims to have been at the Abbeylara incident and told to keep schtum about it, then that might be important. But not exactly required to be expedited over, say, allegations of a Garda importing cocaine.

We have no evidence here that a shooting took place that hasn't been reported.

We have 300 different allegations to be sifted through, and very little evidence that this particular one deserves priority over all others.

Nobody has concluded anything about this case, other than the fact that it looks rather odd that the witness in question hasn't been spoken to - something that Clare Daly is quite entitled to ask about.

Clare Daly is the person looking for more details, so I assume you support her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭NotASheeple

galljga1 wrote: »
    What?

What was unclear about the opinion the other poster expressed? Whether one agrees or not, it seemed quite easy to understand what they were saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭NotASheeple

seamus wrote: »
    I find it hilarious that there's always a core group of people willing to assume all allegations are true without even hearing some of the basic facts about them.

I find it equally hilarious that there always a core group of blinkered apologists, who seem to immediately discount such allegations. In this instance, it would be nice if the key witness who made the complaint, could actually be questioned by somebody.

What was unclear about the opinion the other poster expressed? Whether one agrees or not, it seemed quite easy to understand what they were saying.

Absolutely but it was sheer nonsense. The "what?" was more an expression of surprise. Maybe WTF? would have been more appropriate.

Nobody has concluded anything about this case, other than the fact that it looks rather odd that the witness in question hasn't been spoken to - something that Clare Daly is quite entitled to ask about.

Clare Daly is the person looking for more details, so I assume you support her?

The posts are a lot stronger than "this looks odd".

Surely she sought details before she went to the Dail and used her privilige to claim wrongdoing by the Garda and the taoiseach .it would be fairly stupid if all she knows is what's in that article.

If all she knows is that one person claimed to be there when someone was shot and was then told to say they weren't and subsequently went to the Dail with that then at best she's very naive .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭melissak

Is there any indication when this is supposed to have happened?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Well if the Guard did it then that lets the butler off the hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭Floppybits

galljga1 wrote: »
    Personally, I have a good relationship with a number of Guards. A decent bunch of lads and lassies who are doing a job that I or most of the whingers in the world would not touch with a barge pole.

Look I am sure a lot of people have friends/family/neighbors who are guards and yes they are doing a job some people wouldn't do, but it is their choice to do that job, no one that we know off put a gun to their heads and said you need to become a Guard. It is a choice they made and just because it is a sh1tty job does not mean that they are above the law or above any other citizen in the state.

With the controversies that have come to light about the behavior of AGS, this has tarnished their reputation as far as I am concerned, from the behavior in Donegal to the treatment of the whistleblowers and the previous Commissioners behavior have led to the tarnishing of the reputation of the AGS and they are the only ones that we know about. The only people who can be blamed on that are the AGS. They are the ones who turned a blind eye to these things, who treated whistleblowers like dirt to drive them out of the force.

So people are entitled to whinge about the AGS when people see this sort of behavior and also the perceived lack of interest of the AGS when members of the Public make complaints about being the victims of muggings, burglaries, thefts, intimidation too name a few crimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

I stopped taking this seriously when I saw the words "Clare" and "Daly"...

The 'nothing to see here' FGbots out in force on this one I see.