Some Gardai were present at a murder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Did the review committee say ''Oh lads, look, here's another one of those ''I was in the room when a garda shot a civilian and i was told to shut up'' claims. File it alphabetically Joe and we'll get round to it when we get a minute.'' ?

put it in the pile with other 300 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I've had her as a local rep for years. Your view of her, and reality, are a world apart.
    That's my view of her so our views may stay a world apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭golfball37

There was a hit and run down my part of the word many years ago where locals swear it was a Garda who did it and there was several Garda witnesses to it but of course nothing came of it.

rocky911 wrote: »
    No one knows the details that this thing.. for all we know the claim " was in the room when a civilian was shot by a member of Gardai " could have been a fella playing GTA in a canteen but without information to supporth Daly's claim if she told me the sky was blue I'd look first.

Yes, I absolutely think we should get to the bottom of the claim immediately.

I think that was rather Ms Daly's point wasn't it? The issue is that nobody seems to care and that over a period of months nobody has spoken to the witness.

Would you agree that talking to the witness might be a good idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rocky911

golfball37 wrote: »
    There was a hit and run down my part of the word many years ago where locals swear it was a Garda who did it and there was several Garda witnesses to it but of course nothing came of it.

Yes that went on years ago.. but the problem is when Daly and the likes bring this to light the fail to differentiate that it was years ago not in the present. Nowadays even if your off duty and you have an accident GSOC are notified. People dont see that and tar em all with the same brush which is why I feel the likes of Daly, Murphy etc are accountable for this taring by failing to mention the timescales/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Considering some of the very shady goings on in our police force, she's perfectly entitled to query the status of this complaint. An allegation of murder should have the highest priority and here we have a witness to an alleged murder, claiming they have yet to be approached over the matter. If public shaming is the best way to get things done in the Banana Republic establishment, then so be it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Yes that went on years ago.. but the problem is when Daly and the likes bring this to light the fail to differentiate that it was years ago not in the present. Nowadays even if your off duty and you have an accident GSOC are notified. People dont see that and tar em all with the same brush which is why I feel the likes of Daly, Murphy etc are accountable for this taring by failing to mention the timescales/

So, how many years ago would you feel comfortable to say...''ahh loook, that was then, this is now, you're living in the past Marge''. 5? 10? What's the Statute of Limitations time on Garda murders these days? Maybe they should do the same about killers of garda after too much time elapses? (*Scratches head*)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Yes, I absolutely think we should get to the bottom of the claim immediately.

I think that was rather Ms Daly's point wasn't it? The issue is that nobody seems to care and that over a period of months nobody has spoken to the witness.

Would you agree that talking to the witness might be a good idea?
    Sure why would you want to be doing that,interviewing a witness pfft.

" vendetta "

are you sure its not the other way around now ?

deputy daly in 2014 ( amongst others ) brought to attention the practice of tearing up penalty points for certain members of the public , a week later she is arrested on suspicion of drunk driving , subsequent tests show she was 60% below the legal limit

that the mainstream media appear to be ignoring this claim made in the dail , is proof ( if any was needed ) of just how puke inducingly deferential the media in this country are towards AGS

Hopefully, she's bumped up her security before making these claims. There are powerful, sinister elements at play, it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

" vendetta "

deputy daly in 2014 ( amongst others ) brought to attention the practice of tearing up penalty points for certain members of the public , a week later she is arrested on suspicion of drunk driving , subsequent tests show she was 60% below the legal limit

that the mainstream media appear to be ignoring this claim made in the dail , is proof ( if any was needed ) of just how puke inducingly deferential the media in this country are towards AGS

What are they (the media) going to report investigate?

She didn't indicate - even in broad terms - where or when the supposed murder took place? Who it was (or even what 'class' of person - suspect criminal, suspect subversive, civvy, etc). She hasn't said if it is an unsolved murder or if someone was wrongly convicted of it? Or is she suggesting that the Guards managed to kill and disappear someone and cover it all up bar this one witness?

Great story - I wonder who she wants to play her in the film.........

As for Daly's stance on Shannon Airport, she is perfectly right. Some day history will record our deplorable connivance with the practitioners of Extraordinary Rendition, and if moral rectitude has any meaning our state should be forced at some future date to pay compensation to the victims of political torture trafficked through our airports.
    But anyway, back to the mundane matter of murder of civilians by guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,254 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

As for Daly's stance on Shannon Airport, she is perfectly right. Some day history will record our deplorable connivance with the practitioners of Extraordinary Rendition, and if moral rectitude has any meaning our state should be forced at some future date to pay compensation to the victims of political torture trafficked through our airports.
    But anyway, back to the mundane matter of murder of civilians by guards.

that's some waffle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

golfball37 wrote: »
    There's actually something wrong with a country that relies on someone like Clare Daly with all her faults to bring something of this magnitude into the public domain.
    That's the thing.

What she has "revealed" is not of any great magnitude. But she's framed it in the way that makes it looks like someone's been murdered and everyone's looking the other way.

In effect, she has accused the Gardai of murder even though there is no body, no times or dates, or in fact nothing of any material evidence.

What she has is an allegation that one Garda was asked to shut up about their presence at a fatal shooting. That's it. No allegation of conspiracy or murder.

I find it hilarious that there's always a core group of people willing to assume all allegations are true without even hearing some of the basic facts about them.

" vendetta "

Breathalysers used on the road side dont give an accurate rating of the alcohol within the specimen of breath which is why she was detained in order to give an accurate rating from the evidential breathalyser which are located in stations

2smiggy wrote: »
    that's some waffle.
    :D lol :pac:

seamus wrote: »
    What she has is an allegation that one Garda was asked to shut up about their presence at a fatal shooting. That's it.

Oh, that's ok then!

Breathalysers used on the road side dont give an accurate rating of the alcohol within the specimen of breath which is why she was detained in order to give an accurate rating from the evidential breathalyser which are located in stations

Please, please, PLEASE tell me you are not so naive as to actually believe that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Oh, that's ok then!
    No, but it's far less inflammatory.

Gardai are occasionally involved in fatal shootings. That's kind of something that happens.

We have no idea if this shooting has been reported. It probably has because it's not an easy thing to pretend never happened.

However, the allegation doesn't say that the shooting was unreported. It just says that the Garda was told to shut up about his presence at it.

We have no evidence that any shooting has been hidden from the public. Neither does Clare Daly, yet she's trying to paint a picture of a grand conspiracy.

Please, please, PLEASE tell me you are not so naive as to actually believe that.

How am I being niave..if any case is brought to court, its the specimen taken at the station that it is used be it breath, blood or urine. She still had alcohol taken so I cant see why the detention isnt valid.

i once spent four hours in a cell and an interview room on a trumped up charge for the crime of telling a guard off for lieing to a relative of mine , my mother was told by the local seargent that the guards would only visit her house in no marked cars , i have a brother with autism who began making a nuisance of himself locally ( good few years ago ) and the HSE would not act until the issue became borderline criminal ( eventually the HSE did what they needed to do and their was a happy ending ) , they drove out twice a week for two months in a squad so i was at my mothers house one day and asked the guard why he told my mother he would not visit her house in a squad

bruising a guards ego is a big deal , daly found that out when they attempted to stitch her up last year on a drink driving rap
    Goodness, but you're lucky they didn't take her out, put her up again' a wall in the middle of a field, and shoot her, by the sounds of things

Ye we lucky to get out of it with lives unscathed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

they dont do that with people who are legless

What do you actually think happens?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

I must also be pretty naive.

I was of the opinion that "preliminary breath testers", which are the hand held devices, are generally not admissible in court while "evidentiary breath testers" are.

since she committed no crime , why would she be lucky to avoid anything ?

Sure they'd shoot you for asking for directions, I believe
    Those boys don't mess around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Allegations and claims are easy to through around especially when you have dail protection (which needs to be reviewed).

Absolutely investigate allegations but properly. Its easy for failed airline chefs to say whatever they want and state it as fact full in the knowledge that the people in question have no right of reply.

seamus wrote: »
    No, but it's far less inflammatory.

Gardai are occasionally involved in fatal shootings. That's kind of something that happens.

We have no idea if this shooting has been reported. It probably has because it's not an easy thing to pretend never happened.

However, the allegation doesn't say that the shooting was unreported. It just says that the Garda was told to shut up about his presence at it.

We have no evidence that any shooting has been hidden from the public. Neither does Clare Daly, yet she's trying to paint a picture of a grand conspiracy.

No she's asking why someone who was asked to lie about their presence (a criminal offence - right?) and who has reported this to the Taoiseach has since been ignored for months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I cant remember a garda shooting anyone dead in the line of duty in recent times. In which case, this death is currently either an unsolved murder, an unsolved missing person or most worryingly - a murder which has been solved with an innocent person implicated.

How am I being niave..if any case is brought to court, its the specimen taken at the station that it is used be it breath, blood or urine. She still had alcohol taken so I cant see why the detention isnt valid.

lol

one day you'll figure out how the world works young Rocky. Or at least I hope you do.

tell me, was rushing to inform the independent part of standard procedure as well?

they bring someone to the station if they exhibit clear signs of being over , that is if breathelizer tests prove inconclusive

daly showed no signs of being over and was light years under

You realise that roadside breathalysers do not give a reading of the actual blood alcohol in someones system but a mere PASS/FAIL result?

galljga1 wrote: »
    I must also be pretty naive.

I was of the opinion that "preliminary breath testers", which are the hand held devices, are generally not admissible in court while "evidentiary breath testers" are.

Yes which is why if you FAIL the preliminary test you'll go to the station to take another.

If you PASS the test (as Ms Daly did), you will be sent on your way - unless there are extraordinary circumstances at play. Like having brought to light garda corruption for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

they bring someone to the station if they exhibit clear signs of being over , that is if breathelizer tests prove inconclusive

daly showed no signs of being over and was light years under

You said legless, so why are your changing tone to 'might' and 'inconclusive'.

Do you think a legless person is let go home?