Microsoft scam still going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭ressem

What did you think they could do?

The callers are using European based SIP gateways, and often using spoofed Caller IDs.

Putting pressure on the SIP providers on the european side to provide a real number that can be traced back to at least the provider.

They provide the IP to PSTN landline connection; if too much of their traffic is fraudulent then they should be blocked by national carriers, as happens to companies whose servers become spam relays.

Otherwise we're going to have to have telephones that block calls which aren't on a downloaded whitelist or from an authenticated sip/lync account, like the antivirus subscription.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Just had a lovely 7.30am wake up call from these guys this fine Saturday morning :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭blackbullet

yeah we got two calls during the week they intend to trick you when asking you questions then thell ask you for your computer password do your best to ignore them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Fingers! wrote: »
    There is.

www. networkworld.com/article/2605887/microsoft-subnet/zero-day-opens-the-way-to-hack-back-against-fake-microsoft-tech-support-scammers.html

(remote the space after www.)
    J

I wish that link worked. Ill be ****ed if I'm typing in all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

crazygeryy wrote: »

It looks like the copy/paste functionality on your computer is broken. If you PM me your IP address and your password I can fix it for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Phoebas wrote: »
    It looks like the copy/paste functionality on your computer is broken. If you PM me your IP address and your password I can fix it for you.

No ill mail you my phone. Give me your address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Copy and paste remove the space after www

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

Well you could just click the link in post#7 of this thread for the story!:rolleyes:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=92183655&postcount=7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

They always call at dinner time or just before. If I'm cooking I'll put them onto my three year old who loves talking on the phone. If we're eating I have a feadóg stain by the phone for that very purpose.

My oh has an elderly patient who was taken in and had money robbed from her credit card. Luckily she didn't have to pay but it's made her very fearful and upset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I had a call this morning. Funny we were only saying last night we hadn't had one in ages - a few missed calls from the same number - but if they'll get someone here it's always around 9 on a Saturday morming .

Usually I pretend I've ordered a curry or something and pretend it's the local takeaway ringing to check my address, usually ask the caller on an opinion on curry before he hung up previously.

This morning I had John from Microsoft ring me. They should really pick names that are easier to pronounce - the letter j can be difficult for a lot of non native English speakers. So he was pronouncing it Chon. So I pretended I hadn't understood his name - feigned total ignorance. We got through about three or four words that begin with J - Jamaica, joke ("you know like the joker in batman sir" - you numpty, the jokes on you). Got through all for letters in his name all the way to the end then said "oh I've got it - Joan". He said yeah whatever sir and kept going. That took about 5 minutes of me trying to keep my composure before we moved on to the business end.

He says he's ringing from Microsoft in sandyford dublin 18 (top marks for the research). I pretend I've never heard of them but say I have a computer. I go along with it for another few minutes then say "wait, Microsoft - I think I have it - can you spell this for me". At that point john hung up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭SoftMicro

I've had two with the last one maybe a month ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

I have a house phone but my 19 month old loves to pick it up and have an aul natter on it, she broke the ringer on it recently bashing it off the table so if someone rings I can't hear it, only the light flashes.

Yesterday she was doing her usual and having a gobbildy gook conversation to imaginary nanna plus her six words "No, Minnie, Elsa, Mamma, Dadda and rawr" when I noticed she was adding in a "Yeah" every so often, which is new. So, this went on for a good fifteen minutes and I had her breakfast ready so I went and got her, she said "bye bye" and I put her in her high chair, the usual.

Went back to put the phone on the receiver and heard someone on the other end calling, ****e she must have pressed speed dial I think, so I say "hello" and this dude introduces himself as "Joe from Windows and he was talking to Elsa about the problem with her computer, could I put her back on the phone" Herself must have picked up the phone at the same time this eedjit was ringing.

I took great pleasure in explaining to him that he had just wasted his time trying to scam a baby for the past twenty minutes but that he was a great babysitter who did an amazing job of keeping my baby occupied while I was doing the wash up and preparing breakfast. I asked if he could call again tomorrow so I could do the hoovering, haha.
    Judging by his response he was less than impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

my friends.

Usually get about one per week in work. The very strange thing is this though; normally when someone phones us, it only rings the phone in reception. But when these guys call, it rings every extension in the office!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

I'd a fella on during the week. Yadda yadda yadda balti balti balti.
    I told him I only had a radio and wasn't interested in any of them auld internet yokes. I ordered a Chicken Madras with rice, and then he hung up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Can Microsoft not do anything about it seeing as these gangsters are claiming to be from there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

JamboMac wrote: »
    That's why I don't do internet banking stick to bricks and mortar one but the screens on them is so high that when your short the person behind can read your info which is moronic.

Easy. Just jump each time you press a button.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

I asked one did his family know he was working as a thief. He screamed fùck your wife and hung up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Palz

I said "This is Dublin Police. Stay on the line !"

CLICK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

"You have a virus on your internets"

It's been happening me for years. Used to give the phone to my two year old. He would just babble away to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Golaco

I asked one did his family know he was working as a thief. He screamed fùck your wife and hung up.

Uh oh, think you struck a nerve!!

About 3 or 4 years ago I took in a PC for repair which was compromised by these guys. The customer gave them access to the PC but refused to pay when they demanded it. So they locked him out of it. They did so by placing a batch file in the startup folder that used shutdown.exe to log the user off immediately. The amusing part was the name of the batch file - bokachoda.bat

Thinking it must mean something, I googled it. Turns out that "boka choda" is Bengali for "stupid f*cker" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,888 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

I got a call from them about 3 weeks ago, i let him waffle on for about 10mins, then i said theres only 1 problem with all this, he says let me guess, you dont have computer, i say yeah thats right, so he responds with, Your'e a F*cking liar and i dont believe you and hung up, no call since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Had them once or twice.
    I just pretend to be deaf.
    At one point they give up after having screamed their lungs out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭SoftMicro

KKkitty wrote: »
    Can Microsoft not do anything about it seeing as these gangsters are claiming to be from there?

They are conning people through phone calls so I don't see how Microsoft can do anything other than advise people to be vigilant

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 Hey Hey My My

Guys, best thing to do is to lead them on as long as possible, that way they have less time to target the vulnerable.

My granny got a call from these guys, normally I would have thought she would have fallen for it anyday of the week, thank god she told them where to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 smartstorm

JamboMac wrote: »
    Had a call from these guys twice this morning the first time my dad answered and the Indian gentleman was very adamant that it was something to do with the wires in the computer.:pac:

They rang back an hour later claiming to be called jack from windows with a thick Indian accent I said you sound more like an Apu than a jack, told him my windows was fine and he didn't even try any bull story.

Where do they get the numbers and names of people now these guys didn't claim to know our name but you have to worry about all those oaps with computers that probably believe these people are legit.

Keep a whistle next to your phone…the moment they tell you they are from Microsoft or Eircom, give them an earfull

-From an Indian guy. We used to get similar scam calls from these buggers in our own country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-7OgWcwgB50

Who's got the nerve to do this !!!!!! Lol

Gold !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭wylie

Looks like there are at it again. Got a call a 8:30am.....Microsoft calling because i have a virus blah blah blah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Some good YouTube videos of people catching them out. Some set up virtual PCs and one even managed to track down the scammer's IP address.