Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Microsoft scam still going

• 13-09-2014 4:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Had a call from these guys twice this morning the first time my dad answered and the Indian gentleman was very adamant that it was something to do with the wires in the computer.:pac:

They rang back an hour later claiming to be called jack from windows with a thick Indian accent I said you sound more like an Apu than a jack, told him my windows was fine and he didn't even try any bull story.

Where do they get the numbers and names of people now these guys didn't claim to know our name but you have to worry about all those oaps with computers that probably believe these people are legit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

friend i willing fix ur comp only €23.99 pls virus many u have

tank u

-Sajad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I had a call from them last week. I responded to everything with "Yes". Kept him on the phone for about 15 minutes. ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Had a call last week from some Indian sounding guy. He sounded like he was phoning from underneath a traffic jam. My dinner was just cooked so I had to resort to a few obscenities and hung up. Hope he gets back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

I like to ask them inane questions like what the weather is like or did they see the game last night or do they have the lotto numbers.

They don't call back anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

I wanted to say crazy **** but the parents where in bed and don't need to hear me saying some crazy **** at nine in the morning, but it's dangerous with all the 80 year old with their computer and they'll fall for it.

I'm computers so it's like them trying sell ice to the Eskimos might try and sell them something next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Bang_Bang

JamboMac wrote: »
    Had a call from these guys twice this morning the first time my dad answered and the Indian gentleman was very adamant that it was something to do with the wires in the computer.:pac:

They rang back an hour later claiming to be called jack from windows with a thick Indian accent I said you sound more like an Apu than a jack, told him my windows was fine and he didn't even try any bull story.

Where do they get the numbers and names of people now these guys didn't claim to know our name but you have to worry about all those oaps with computers that probably believe these people are legit.

AIB are now warning that this particular scam has now been utilized to vulnerable users to get your login details.more here Although they always wanted that anyway, didn't they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I'm computers
    Yeah, but juat how many are you?

I would love these guys to call me if I wasn't up to much, but they never do :(. The wind up potential is just too much!

Bang_Bang wrote: »
    AIB are now warning that this particular scam has now been utilized to install fake bank login pages or redirection to vulnerable users to get your login details.more here

That's why I don't do internet banking stick to bricks and mortar one but the screens on them is so high that when your short the person behind can read your info which is moronic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Billy86 wrote: »
    Yeah, but juat how many are you?

I would love these guys to call me if I wasn't up to much, but they never do :(. The wind up potential is just too much!

I'm all them and I forgot the bank details you entered in me yesterday so you can pm them to me so i won't forget when I reboot.;)

They tend pick awkward times like early in the morning or when your in a rush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭ads20101

I'm feeling rather jealous. I know loads of people who have had these types of calls and I have a plan to see how much I can piss them off before they catch on to me.

I understand that these gits pray on the vulnerable, but I plan to treat them as sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I get calls from them regularly, Sometimes I say I have no computer, other times I say I have an apple computer and it doesn't use windows (don't have an apple computer), other times I just play along and say I have to turn my PC on and I just leave the phone down and come back 5 minutes later and they are hung up.
    Last time I answered, I think the guy recognised my voice and hung up.

The problem is as already stated, less aware people and not knowing technology and not aware of these scams and believing they have a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Dietsquirt

Have got 3 of these in the last 2 weeks. It's all great fun winding them up but is there seriously anything that can be done? Comreg? Can we have our number blocked from any of these calls? Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Kept one of the fúcks on the phone for an hour one day acting completely computer illiterate and getting him to explain what everything was, then finally told him I'm running OSX and he lost the plot. Called me every name under the sun while I laughed hysterically. :pac:

There has to be a way reverse hack now that would be fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Patww79 wrote: »

That has had no affect since the introduction of digital exchanges years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭creolebelle

I've been getting calls from them too and I'm in the states. You tell them that you don't use windows but they will keep insisting that you do and that there is problem they must help you with. I know hang up whenever I hear "it's john from windows"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Kiltennel

They rang my granddad several weeks ago trying to pull this crap. Perfect target for them, old man with no idea how a computer works. Easy pickings for them eh? Being the savvy bastard that he is, he has heard of these scams off his mates, played stupid OAP who has fallen for it for about 20-30 minutes, then informed him that he has never owned a computer and that he can feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

I got a call and asked him for his Microsoft email I'd...he hung up...I do like the idea of keeping him on the phone for ages...if we make it expensive for them, perhaps they might be less inclined....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭flossy1

I was told I had won $3800.94 on the Canadian Lotto,told me they had to freeze it,I asked why had they to freeze as I though the weather in Canada was always cold .Kept talking about the weather for 5 minutes In the end I told i had to go and to call me back , never did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Had a call last week from some Indian sounding guy. He sounded like he was phoning from underneath a traffic jam . My dinner was just cooked so I had to resort to a few obscenities and hung up. Hope he gets back.

Close enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

The guy said he was calling about windows so I kept him 15 minutes pretending I thought it was double glazing? Only when I asked when they would call to measure the frames did he realise and then said he never mentioned windows but was from Eircom. I asked his name as I was the asset manger with eircom but he hung up for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Dietsquirt

I emailed ComReg this morning to see if there was anything they could, they said it's completely out their hands. I'm surprised they are not doing more.
    Here's their email for those interested:

Thank you for your email.

Unfortunately there is no way to stop these scam calls and people are often dialled at random from foreign numbers however if you explain you are aware it is a scam and will not follow their instructions/requests and that you have reported the matter they will likely stop calling you then.

Should you have any other queries or require any other assistance from us you can call our Consumer Team on 1890 229668 or 01 8049668.

Yours sincerely,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

I got the call a few times as they call during the day and I tend to work from home a bit. The last time they called Itold them to hold on and I'll just turn on the computer, opened up the door to the cupboard under the stairs and lobbed the phone in. They were gone when I went to check back an hour later and I have not heard from them since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-7OgWcwgB50

Who's got the nerve to do this !!!!!! Lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Dietsquirt wrote: »
    I emailed ComReg this morning to see if there was anything they could, they said it's completely out their hands. I'm surprised they are not doing more.
    Here's their email for those interested:

Thank you for your email.

Unfortunately there is no way to stop these scam calls and people are often dialled at random from foreign numbers however if you explain you are aware it is a scam and will not follow their instructions/requests and that you have reported the matter they will likely stop calling you then.

Should you have any other queries or require any other assistance from us you can call our Consumer Team on 1890 229668 or 01 8049668.

Yours sincerely,

What did you think they could do?
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-7OgWcwgB50

Who's got the nerve to do this !!!!!! Lol

He's got some other good ones too. There's one where a funeral directors calls him and he tells them he was contemplating suicide and they are a sign he should.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Fingers!

There is.

www. networkworld.com/article/2605887/microsoft-subnet/zero-day-opens-the-way-to-hack-back-against-fake-microsoft-tech-support-scammers.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Fingers!

There is.

www. networkworld.com/article/2605887/microsoft-subnet/zero-day-opens-the-way-to-hack-back-against-fake-microsoft-tech-support-scammers.html

(remote the space after www.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭ressem

What did you think they could do?

The callers are using European based SIP gateways, and often using spoofed Caller IDs.

Putting pressure on the SIP providers on the european side to provide a real number that can be traced back to at least the provider.

They provide the IP to PSTN landline connection; if too much of their traffic is fraudulent then they should be blocked by national carriers, as happens to companies whose servers become spam relays.

Otherwise we're going to have to have telephones that block calls which aren't on a downloaded whitelist or from an authenticated sip/lync account, like the antivirus subscription.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Just had a lovely 7.30am wake up call from these guys this fine Saturday morning :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭blackbullet

yeah we got two calls during the week they intend to trick you when asking you questions then thell ask you for your computer password do your best to ignore them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Fingers! wrote: »
    There is.

(remote the space after www.)
    J

I wish that link worked. Ill be ****ed if I'm typing in all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

crazygeryy wrote: »

It looks like the copy/paste functionality on your computer is broken. If you PM me your IP address and your password I can fix it for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Phoebas wrote: »
    It looks like the copy/paste functionality on your computer is broken. If you PM me your IP address and your password I can fix it for you.

No ill mail you my phone. Give me your address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Copy and paste remove the space after www

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

Well you could just click the link in post#7 of this thread for the story!:rolleyes:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=92183655&postcount=7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

They always call at dinner time or just before. If I'm cooking I'll put them onto my three year old who loves talking on the phone. If we're eating I have a feadóg stain by the phone for that very purpose.

My oh has an elderly patient who was taken in and had money robbed from her credit card. Luckily she didn't have to pay but it's made her very fearful and upset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I had a call this morning. Funny we were only saying last night we hadn't had one in ages - a few missed calls from the same number - but if they'll get someone here it's always around 9 on a Saturday morming .

Usually I pretend I've ordered a curry or something and pretend it's the local takeaway ringing to check my address, usually ask the caller on an opinion on curry before he hung up previously.

This morning I had John from Microsoft ring me. They should really pick names that are easier to pronounce - the letter j can be difficult for a lot of non native English speakers. So he was pronouncing it Chon. So I pretended I hadn't understood his name - feigned total ignorance. We got through about three or four words that begin with J - Jamaica, joke ("you know like the joker in batman sir" - you numpty, the jokes on you). Got through all for letters in his name all the way to the end then said "oh I've got it - Joan". He said yeah whatever sir and kept going. That took about 5 minutes of me trying to keep my composure before we moved on to the business end.

He says he's ringing from Microsoft in sandyford dublin 18 (top marks for the research). I pretend I've never heard of them but say I have a computer. I go along with it for another few minutes then say "wait, Microsoft - I think I have it - can you spell this for me". At that point john hung up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭SoftMicro

I've had two with the last one maybe a month ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

I have a house phone but my 19 month old loves to pick it up and have an aul natter on it, she broke the ringer on it recently bashing it off the table so if someone rings I can't hear it, only the light flashes.

Yesterday she was doing her usual and having a gobbildy gook conversation to imaginary nanna plus her six words "No, Minnie, Elsa, Mamma, Dadda and rawr" when I noticed she was adding in a "Yeah" every so often, which is new. So, this went on for a good fifteen minutes and I had her breakfast ready so I went and got her, she said "bye bye" and I put her in her high chair, the usual.

Went back to put the phone on the receiver and heard someone on the other end calling, ****e she must have pressed speed dial I think, so I say "hello" and this dude introduces himself as "Joe from Windows and he was talking to Elsa about the problem with her computer, could I put her back on the phone" Herself must have picked up the phone at the same time this eedjit was ringing.

I took great pleasure in explaining to him that he had just wasted his time trying to scam a baby for the past twenty minutes but that he was a great babysitter who did an amazing job of keeping my baby occupied while I was doing the wash up and preparing breakfast. I asked if he could call again tomorrow so I could do the hoovering, haha.
    Judging by his response he was less than impressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

my friends.

Usually get about one per week in work. The very strange thing is this though; normally when someone phones us, it only rings the phone in reception. But when these guys call, it rings every extension in the office!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

I'd a fella on during the week. Yadda yadda yadda balti balti balti.
    I told him I only had a radio and wasn't interested in any of them auld internet yokes. I ordered a Chicken Madras with rice, and then he hung up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Can Microsoft not do anything about it seeing as these gangsters are claiming to be from there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

That's why I don't do internet banking stick to bricks and mortar one but the screens on them is so high that when your short the person behind can read your info which is moronic.

Easy. Just jump each time you press a button.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

I asked one did his family know he was working as a thief. He screamed fùck your wife and hung up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Palz

I said "This is Dublin Police. Stay on the line !"

CLICK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

"You have a virus on your internets"

It's been happening me for years. Used to give the phone to my two year old. He would just babble away to them.