Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Farming General

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

One thing a man should never do is presume someone else is thick.

UK dairying has been unregulated for many yrs now. The high cost litres per cows guys are squeaking, not all I'd admit. The grass based ones are quietly eyeing up there next move.

I've a friend who took full advantage in 09 and recons another few mths will see a major move for him. This guy was milking 60 cows on a council farm 14 yrs ago. He is now operating a 1200 cow grass based business.

My opinion on the removal of quotas is from now on everything has to be opportunity driven, dont set targets as to how many cows to milk or what yeilds or hound your neighbours for land.position yourself to avail of opportunities without tying yourself to one outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

if you have the facilities surely be cheaper to use ivermectin (Enovex/ivomec) / doramectin (Zeral) / Levamisole (Levacide)

different story if no handling facilities and labour issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,025 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

was asking milk recorder was there much of an increase in cow numbers in our area with quotas gone. She does around 45 herds. She said one or 2 increased alot, most stayed the same and some reduced numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,827 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Cow Porter wrote: »
    if you have the facilities surely be cheaper to use ivermectin (Enovex/ivomec) / doramectin (Zeral) / Levamisole (Levacide)

different story if no handling facilities and labour issues

Going back to zearl here.pour on with 8 weeks cover .found I was getting up to 10 weeks cover when last used it .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭6270red

orm0nd wrote: »
    perhaps slightly off topic, but dairy related

going looking at a hereford bull to morrow that has a 9% calving difficulty index. for use on dairy cows

i have repeat customers who buy yearlings each year, so maintaining quality is important, but should I be be cautious of these figures.

Don't do it too much risk. Canadian breeding in HE now which gives the calves big hips. Got caught myself few yrs ago and had 6 sections an absolute nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,274 ✭✭✭jaymla627

whelan2 wrote: »
    was asking milk recorder was there much of an increase in cow numbers in our area with quotas gone. She does around 45 herds. She said one or 2 increased alot, most stayed the same and some reduced numbers

I reckon the simple fact is we arent going to see any great surge in milk with the outlook for milk price not to exciting, have went from 50 to 80 this year and will probably settle at in our around 120 when this years crop of heifer calves come through in 2016 but that will be my lot and the farm will be stocked at 3 cows/ha....
    One thing that hasnt been drummed into lads is the costs involved in carrying heifers, along with all the other associated costs with roadways, parlour, housing, reseeding all of this eats money at an alarming rate, has easily added 15 cent plus a litre to my costs the past 2 years but alot of work is being done from cashflow basically means the dairy side of the business here is running break-even at best with no money being taken out with the sfp and other business interests being used to live off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Jay in fairness not many businesses you can expand that rapidly over 2yrs as such on the back of just cash flow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Used it last year gg,very handy did all calves in late May and meant to last 120 days which would of got me to early October ,calves started coughing late August tested a few dungs and lots of worms.wont use it this year,can't beat getting calves in every 6 weeks to run up crush and get good look at them.had a few issues with pink eye through July and August that would of been picked up quicker if they were brought in.calves never gave any longer than 10 days in a paddock and were nearly always on after grass from silage/bales with maidens following .i know of 2 others with similar issues.
    That's good to know mj.
    looking back at book last yr I did calves twice with ivomec and twice with a white drench.
    Great heifers.
    Dad was telling me not to bother with it that they were great calves last yr and should be better again this yr so why change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,274 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Timmaay wrote: »
    Jay in fairness not many businesses you can expand that rapidly over 2yrs as such on the back of just cash flow!

Not many businesses either where your working 70-80 hours a week for no wage, I know im building a great asset and setting myself up very well for the future all going well but it's pretty testing at times, left a job where I was on 800 a week after tax now im going well to have the price of a few pints on a Saturday nite haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

KCTK wrote: »

It's claimed because it works on a kind of a pulse basis they will build natural immunity but guess we won't know for sure until these animals mature. Also told as it works for 150 days the calves will build up some immunity from picking up parasites after that period is up in the autumn before housing and getting dosed with another product.

Doesn't work by pulse and has continuous effect. Therefore prevents immunity build - up and leaves animals prone to infection once it wears off. For immunity is beat to use the cheap sort acting drenches but that means more labour. Shouldn't require a dose in year 2 though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

just do it wrote: »
    Doesn't work by pulse and has continuous effect. Therefore prevents immunity build - up and leaves animals prone to infection once it wears off. For immunity is beat to use the cheap sort acting drenches but that means more labour. Shouldn't require a dose in year 2 though.
    Yourself and MJ have hit the nail on the head. This can only lead to lower immunity as the old Ivomec program did as in injecting every 5 wks I think. Young stock need to be through a yard fairly regularly during grazing if for nothing else to draft out a few smaller ones for meal.

We will be sticking to our system of leader follower with calves moved every 3-4 day followed by heifers. As well as this they will be on to aftergrass as soon as possible

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

anyone on here going to cash in on the glanbia spin out? can you decide to leave shares as they are or do you have to take it?

Jack
    If the vote is passed you will receive your spin out in the form of Plc shares. It is totally at your discretion as to when you decide to cash out. You can of course leave in shares for as long as you wish. It'll work exactly like the last spin out. It's guesstimated that only about 10% were cashed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

frazzled i wasnt in the country for the last spin out, whats the dumbed down idea of all this?shares in my old mans name he not sure what to do,if you do nothing do you lose shares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Used it last year gg,very handy did all calves in late May and meant to last 120 days which would of got me to early October ,calves started coughing late August tested a few dungs and lots of worms.wont use it this year,can't beat getting calves in every 6 weeks to run up crush and get good look at them.had a few issues with pink eye through July and August that would of been picked up quicker if they were brought in.calves never gave any longer than 10 days in a paddock and were nearly always on after grass from silage/bales with maidens following .i know of 2 others with similar issues.

I used it here last year for the 1st time and was very happy with it. I didn't use it until where you'd be normally going in with the second wormer. So the calves were out and got their 1st worm dose ( mastermectin) when they were showing signs of worms, and got CydectinLA on the second sign of worms. That got them into the sheds for the Winter
    Think I'll go with it again this year, was happy with the results.

Finishing up sprayer course today talking to a man in it.
    said his son was wanting to go milk went to bank for a loan of 16k to buy s/h parlour and a bulk tank bank said no loan wasn't big enough.
    He had 50 sucklers to swap into cows
    then he tells me a man he knows went and spent 250k on a shed and parlour and has no money to buy cows now.
    people are going to get burned badly and then banks won't lend to a lad who's being sensible and spending as little as he can to start out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Finishing up sprayer course today talking to a man in it.
    said his son was wanting to go milk went to bank for a loan of 16k to buy s/h parlour and a bulk tank bank said no loan wasn't big enough.
    He had 50 sucklers to swap into cows
    then he tells me a man he knows went and spent 250k on a shed and parlour and has no money to buy cows now.
    people are going to get burned badly and then banks won't lend to a lad who's being sensible and spending as little as he can to start out

How was the course? Was it mind numbing boring or is it handled in a semi decent fashion?

C0N0R wrote: »
    How was the course? Was it mind numbing boring or is it handled in a semi decent fashion?

First day was long but today was grand just had calibration of sprayer and test.
    test was easy if ye listened at all the first day you had most of the answers.
    lad running course gave us a brief run down before before test which gave me a lot if answers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭C0N0R

First day was long but today was grand just had calibration of sprayer and test.
    test was easy if ye listened at all the first day you had most of the answers.
    lad running course gave us a brief run down before before test which gave me a lot if answers

It's one of those types of courses that they don't want anyone to fail I presume. How long were the days?

C0N0R wrote: »
    It's one of those types of courses that they don't want anyone to fail I presume. How long were the days?

10.30 to 3.30 first day and 10.30 to 2 today
    could have gone in at 8.30 and be finished by 12 but that was never gonna suit me

Sprayer course? Is this the latest? What sanction if not doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Apparently there is a €450 fine, but who's going to enforce it. The same crowd enforcing the trailer towing licence?

You won't be able to buy any spray with out a pcs code. Only way you can get one is do course.
    or else get a contractor in and use his pcs code to buy.

But that way will be strictly regulated,don't think that ye can go buyin spray willy nilly using contractors pcs and using it yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

You won't be able to buy any spray with out a pcs code. Only way you can get one is do course.

But that way will be strictly regulated,don't think that ye can go buyin spray willy nilly using contractors pcs and using it yourself

At the last farm inspection here the details of the sprayer were taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,025 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

was talking to a lad the other day and a sprayer course his brother did 20 years ago with acot will cover him and his brothers!

whelan2 wrote: »
    was talking to a lad the other day and a sprayer course his brother did 20 years ago with acot will cover him and his brothers!

Sprayer here and course only cost 175 with glanbia and I learned a bit so no harm.

As lads said today they used to get contractors in and they'd cone when ever silage couldn't be done. Didn't matter to them if it was going to lash rain in 30 min

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Six hail marys and an our father. Plus theyll clamp the napsack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

mf240 wrote: »
    Six hail marys and an our father. Plus theyll clamp the napsack.
    i wonder, most likely they'l clamp the misfortune who forgets his spraying spot just once, am supposed to do knapsack sprayer course next week,
    brother in law did it and and he was told he will need to be able to account for precise amounts of spray used,plus disposal method of containers, talk about bullsh and paper trails, and they tell us they want to conserve trees :eek:

My mother uses spray in her garden, does this apply to her?

Yeah can still buy small amounts to kill weeds around houses or yards