Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

mahoney_j wrote: »
    No don't think I'll change ,I have all first calves set as one group with a base of 3.5 kg and 0.35 over.even if there doing 22 Ltrs there still getting 3.5.my max feed set at 8 kg so nothing gets more than that

I've no upper limit set...I've 4 BsXHo's topping the league doing 50+litres getting 12+kgs
    Like this one
    image.jpg

I need to set a second list for 1st calvers. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Go easy on me!

30 litres
    BF 3.81
    PR 2.95
    SCC 66000
    TBC 5000

Went out to grass for the first time on Monday so out by day now, I'd be hoping that protein will rise a bit, litres have gone up slightly. Maybe try get them out by night next week depending on growth. 40% Autumn 60 % Spring calved and 25% heifers who are milking well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Dawggone wrote:
    In fairness any fool (inc myself) could have made money from dairy these last few years. What if there is a prolonged period of depressed prices?
    Could this account for why UK dairy farmers are on their knees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Too dependent on liquid milk.

Too fond of machinery.

They seem to only want to talk about litres and cake (thats what they call dairy nuts)

A lot of them seem to have no roadways and cows just trapse from one field to the next often eating what should be baled.

Dont seem to fond of work either with a lot of labour employed.

The weak euro wont help them either (have i got that right)

Meh pity about them they wouldnt worry about us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

mf240 wrote: »
    Too dependent on liquid milk.

Too fond of machinery.

They seem to only want to talk about litres and cake (thats what they call dairy nuts)

A lot of them seem to have no roadways and cows just trapse from one field to the next often eating what should be baled.

Dont seem to fond of work either with a lot of labour employed.

The weak euro wont help them either (have i got that right)

Meh pity about them they wouldnt worry about us.
    Their modus operandi is to blame cheap irish cheese flooding markets every time there's a price fall and campaigning for british public to buy the more expensive britsh option because it's ya know, british!. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Not all uk dairy farmers are on there knees in fact a lot of the farmers in grass based systems are looking to expand, not all the high input guys are on there knees either some of these guys cop are as low as 18p/l which would put most grass based systems to shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Do you think that currency exchange rates could have any influence ?

I know there is more to it than forex. So do you...
    I'm not as thick as you presume...:)

One thing a man should never do is presume someone else is thick.

UK dairying has been unregulated for many yrs now. The high cost litres per cows guys are squeaking, not all I'd admit. The grass based ones are quietly eyeing up there next move.

I've a friend who took full advantage in 09 and recons another few mths will see a major move for him. This guy was milking 60 cows on a council farm 14 yrs ago. He is now operating a 1200 cow grass based business.

One thing a man should never do is presume someone else is thick.

UK dairying has been unregulated for many yrs now. The high cost litres per cows guys are squeaking, not all I'd admit. The grass based ones are quietly eyeing up there next move.

I've a friend who took full advantage in 09 and recons another few mths will see a major move for him. This guy was milking 60 cows on a council farm 14 yrs ago. He is now operating a 1200 cow grass based business.

It would be very informative to listen to that bloke for a couple of hours...fair dues to him. I really admire guys like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,025 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

C0N0R wrote: »
    Go easy on me!

30 litres
    BF 3.81
    PR 2.95
    SCC 66000
    TBC 5000

Went out to grass for the first time on Monday so out by day now, I'd be hoping that protein will rise a bit, litres have gone up slightly. Maybe try get them out by night next week depending on growth. 40% Autumn 60 % Spring calved and 25% heifers who are milking well.
    my pr went up to 3.43 after i let them out at night last week. silage can be a killer on pr. My milk has been collected every day for the last 8 days for some reason.

Dawggone wrote: »
    It would be very informative to listen to that bloke for a couple of hours...fair dues to him. I really admire guys like that.

Yea Dawg, a really impressive guy. Works hard but still manages to hunt once a week. He was in traditional Uk milk production and came over here with a group 14 years ago and saw grass in action. He went home and started putting in tracks and water system the very nwxt day. All his neighbours thought he was nuts. He didn't do for any great gain from grass but rather for a simpler system. An absolute tonic to meet him, good lad to put away pints

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Any one buy cydection la yet?
    130 for 50 ml bottle will just about do what I need.
    be sone fcuker if ye needed a few more doses and had to buy an extra bottle

Yea Dawg, a really impressive guy. Works hard but still manages to hunt once a week. He was in traditional Uk milk production and came over here with a group 14 years ago and saw grass in action. He went home and started putting in tracks and water system the very nwxt day. All his neighbours thought he was nuts. He didn't do for any great gain from grass but rather for a simpler system. An absolute tonic to meet him, good lad to put away pints

I would genuinely love to listen to a bloke like that over a pint (or two).
    If he genuinely built up that business from a very low start without development land/housing sites/CPO money/inheritance, then I would pay to listen to him.
    See my issue with hyper expansion in IRE/UK is the price of the raw material...Land.

Most inherited their land. Very few rent a few council acres and expand exponentially without the "money from America" mentioned above.

Tell me he's one in a million because I want to believe...:)

Paid €135 here, 20 calves so one bottle is grand. Saw it on glanbia for €130 but wanted to be sure I was able to do them before going out tomorrow hopefully.

If he genuinely built up that business from a very low start without development land/housing sites/CPO money/inheritance, then I would pay to listen to him.
    See my issue with hyper expansion in IRE/UK is the price of the raw material...Land.

Most inherited their land. Very few rent a few council acres and expand exponentially without the "money from America" mentioned above.

Should talk to my parents so.
    had to buy old farm
    never inherited a thing apart from a dozen cows and sone quota
    or sell a site

Begrudgers every step of the way still coming up against them.

Paid €135 here, 20 calves so one bottle is grand. Saw it on glanbia for €130 but wanted to be sure I was able to do them before going out tomorrow hopefully.

autumn calves got an awful dose of worms last yr on out farm went to nothing In a week
    Hope won't happen again with this stuff

autumn calves got an awful dose of worms last yr on out farm went to nothing In a week
    Hope won't happen again with this stuff

Used it last year here and found it a great job. One shot to is a great plus.

Did you have to give any other wormer until housing?

had to buy old farm
    or sell a site

I know where you are coming from Greengrass. I started out many moons ago with 45acres...
    However I'm always sceptical about the miracles in farming. It's not IT. It's a very low margin business by its nature.

My motto is fcuk the begrudgers!
    Keep at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭orm0nd

perhaps slightly off topic, but dairy related

going looking at a hereford bull to morrow that has a 9% calving difficulty index. for use on dairy cows

i have repeat customers who buy yearlings each year, so maintaining quality is important, but should I be be cautious of these figures.

Not that I can remember, I'd have to check to see to be sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Land over here is heading for 15k pound/acre as london money comes in to hide their wealth and take tax cheat on inheritance, Dyson and a few big hedge funder types have bought alot of ground in east Anglia. Coupled with alot of estates taking tenanted farms(giving big payouts to tenanats to clear land so more favourable to big buyer) in hand to sell for big bucks as old moneies run out very hard - if impossible to get going in any of the traditional areas. Contract farming or move somewhere far away from the motorways seems to be way forward. But, i do know of a few cases where people went against the grain so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Blackgrass wrote: »
    Land over here is heading for 15k pound/acre as london money comes in to hide their wealth and take tax cheat on inheritance, Dyson and a few big hedge funder types have bought alot of ground in east Anglia. Coupled with alot of estates taking tenanted farms(giving big payouts to tenanats to clear land so more favourable to big buyer) in hand to sell for big bucks as old moneies run out very hard - if impossible to get going in any of the traditional areas. Contract farming or move somewhere far away from the motorways seems to be way forward. But, i do know of a few cases where people went against the grain so to speak

That was a fair oul stroke on the inheritance tax alright. I remember reading about it a couple of years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

had to buy old farm
    or sell a site

If you're half the failure your father was you'll be alright! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,025 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

was asking vet about it at testing, he didnt seem too gone on it, i didnt get back to him to ask why, i dont buy my dosing from him any one hear any negatives on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭KCTK

whelan2 wrote: »
    was asking vet about it at testing, he didnt seem too gone on it, i didnt get back to him to ask why, i dont buy my dosing from him any one hear any negatives on it?

Used it last year here and was very happy with it, only question I've heard about it is will it effect the animal building up some natural immunity for the rest of their life?

It's claimed because it works on a kind of a pulse basis they will build natural immunity but guess we won't know for sure until these animals mature. Also told as it works for 150 days the calves will build up some immunity from picking up parasites after that period is up in the autumn before housing and getting dosed with another product.

Going to use it here again this year as the one dose is just so handy and bulling heifers are in great nick this spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Go easy on me!

30 litres
    BF 3.81
    PR 2.95
    SCC 66000
    TBC 5000

Very milky cows I take it? High Pr bulls would give you a quick bang for buck if genetically the cows are low in it? How does the silage test? Any chance of using maize/whole crop? Overall them figures are great bty, just that bumping up the pr should give a nice boost to profitability!

Timmaay wrote: »
    Very milky cows I take it? High Pr bulls would give you a quick bang for buck if genetically the cows are low in it? How does the silage test? Any chance of using maize/whole crop? Overall them figures are great bty, just that bumping up the pr should give a nice boost to profitability!

Yea reasonably milky, delivered 7600 off ICBF report. In general silage was shocking all winter, were great friends with the meal man. Whole crop and maize aren't really suitable for growing where we are, North Monaghan. Handling of it would be an issue to maybe. Cows genetically would be on the lower scale for protein, milk ebi of €45 and most would have a milk kg sub index of over 200. Highest protein % is .11. Fertility ebi of €16 and a calving interval of 370 days so thankfully doing something right there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

That was a fair oul stroke on the inheritance tax alright. I remember reading about it a couple of years ago.

Nowhere near as generous as the Irish regime though -and I speak as someone who is subject to both of them.

If ag land in the UK is tenanted you have to hold 7 years before transfer, so in effect you might as well transfer the money (which would also be free of IHT after 7 years). If passed from active farmer to active farmer the holding period is 2 years.

In Ireland until this year it was 90% free on the day you gave it to an active farmer (or anyone that could pass the asset test / had a green cert / was prepared to rent the land to an active farmer).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,827 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Used it last year gg,very handy did all calves in late May and meant to last 120 days which would of got me to early October ,calves started coughing late August tested a few dungs and lots of worms.wont use it this year,can't beat getting calves in every 6 weeks to run up crush and get good look at them.had a few issues with pink eye through July and August that would of been picked up quicker if they were brought in.calves never gave any longer than 10 days in a paddock and were nearly always on after grass from silage/bales with maidens following .i know of 2 others with similar issues.