Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

once a day feeding suck calves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Reggie. wrote: »
    I don't give any more than 3 lts on OAD

In a calf rearing program here I'm doing what is advised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

In a calf rearing program here I'm doing what is advised

I find if I went over 3 lts I get scour in the calves

No scour here any way calves growing like weeds

Hopefully the same here this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,666 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Same here and I rear a few calves every year ;)
    On OAD I normally up the concentrate whilst still only feeding 3 litres. I do not use a specialist OAD milk replacer although the brand that I use does have one. Get them eating crunch/pencils along with straw/hay or out to a paddock (weather permitting) asap.
    Having said that, this year I am rearing feck all calves :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Anyone try adlib cold milk?..got the volac calf rearing pack in the post today, SEEMS calves do better on it then oad or tad

I tried to feed mine oad cold milk and they didn't like it.
    They went back quick and a few got sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Just wondering how yee heat the water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭farm14

wouldnt be a fan of once a day feeding myself. its hard to get enough growth in the calves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

farm14 wrote: »
    wouldnt be a fan of once a day feeding myself. its hard to get enough growth in the calves.

Maybe you've tried it and didn't like it. We love it and feel we get much better growth as opposed to soft calves. Low water hi powder lots if nuts and straw with fresh water always available. Beats tad every time IMV

farm14 wrote: »

Great results here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Great results here

What age do you start on OAD? Do you go straight away from once they arrive or slowly change from TAD.

They came yesterday and ill try to get them to OAD by the weekend. On TAD at the moment to get used to replacer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Limofarmer

They came yesterday and ill try to get them to OAD by the weekend. On TAD at the moment to get used to replacer

Pm sent Reggie

How many lts do you start them on when the arrive and do you up the morning feed and lessen the evening feed and make it later in the day to go to TAD?

Last night they got 2 lts of water with 300 grammes of replacer with 50 ml of gel lyte+. Today they got 2 lts and 400 grammes with 400 again this evening. Tomorrow will be 500 and then 300 with 2 lts until I hit 700 grammes in one feeding as then they are on OAD. Will increase to 800 then after a few days OAD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Limofarmer

Nice calves there Reggie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭junospider

What milk replacer are you using? Using shine twice a day here with 300g/feed.
    Calves doing ok but very slow to eat crunch,
    800g seems an awful lot in 2lt of water.

junospider wrote: »
    What milk replacer are you using? Using shine twice a day here with 300g/feed.
    Calves doing ok but very slow to eat crunch,
    800g seems an awful lot in 2lt of water.

800g in 2 lts of water makes 3 lts of replacer. It's supposed to be think in order to last the calf the 24hrs. It sits in their stomach like a lump of butter and breaks down slowly over the day. This forces the calf to move to concentrates to fill it's needs to eat but will have all it needs from its OAD feeding

Last night they got 2 lts of water with 300 grammes of replacer with 50 ml of gel lyte+. Today they got 2 lts and 400 grammes with 400 again this evening. Tomorrow will be 500 and then 300 with 2 lts until I hit 700 grammes in one feeding as then they are on OAD. Will increase to 800 then after a few days OAD.

That's nearly double the recommended rate for OAD than what is on the back of bag of replacer I am using.

Don't forget your giving them their daily requirements in one feed so you shouldn't hold back (within reason)

Well that's the way I've always done it and works so far

Plus from cow to trained on teat in 24hrs so the system must work ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,728 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Well that's the way I've always done it and works so far

Plus from cow to trained on teat in 24hrs so the system must work ;)
    fair play, the third lad over from the right has a fair frame on him

whelan2 wrote: »
    fair play, the third lad over from the right has a fair frame on him

That's one from the cows. Two great frames on them in fairness.

That was the troublemaker. Refused the teat till this evening. (Hunger is a great sauce :D) if he refused again tonight I was gonna have to bucket or bottle feed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,728 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

That's one from the cows. Two great frames on them in fairness.

That's was the troublemaker. Refused the teat till this evening. (Hunger is a great sauce :D) if he refused again tonight I was gonna had to bucket or bottle feed him.
    sold the bull they are off to a suckler man to use on his cows, he will be happy with the offspring

whelan2 wrote: »
    sold the bull they are off to a suckler man to use on his cows, he will be happy with the offspring

Make sure you get as good as one again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Corkfarmer

Have all calves outside here on OAD at the moment, ranging from a month to 8 weeks. I'm finding it very hard to get them to eat meal, put fresh stuff in every day. Could they be filling up on grass? Is this ok or do they need to be eating a good bit of meal with the grass?

Corkfarmer wrote: »
    Have all calves outside here on OAD at the moment, ranging from a month to 8 weeks. I'm finding it very hard to get them to eat meal, put fresh stuff in every day. Could they be filling up on grass? Is this ok or do they need to be eating a good bit of meal with the grass?

Yeah it's the grass id reckon. I'd say your ok as the grass is doing the same as the meal. Once they are eating a kg of meal it's just a sign they are ready to come off milk as the rumen is ready

I also gave them 10 ml of this stuff. It's full of minerals and helps with the move over to replacer and keeps them all healthy

Forgot the photo :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Corkfarmer

Yeah it's the grass id reckon. I'd say your ok as the grass is doing the same as the meal. Once they are eating a kg of meal it's just a sign they are ready to come off milk as the rumen is ready
    I wonder is the grass as good for this rumen development that all the millers talk about. I suppose the suckler lads do alright without meal.