Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

once a day feeding suck calves

• 10-04-2015 8:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭

Looking for a bit of advice lads, I have a batch of 2-4 week old aax calves arriving tomorrow, they are trained to milk buckets with teats.how will I gear towards once a day milk feeding?..I generally rear calves on the twice a day system but no having to do the evening feed but still not effecting thrive d sounds appealing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Looking for a bit of advice lads, I have a batch of 2-4 weeks aax calves arriving tomorrow, they are trained to milk buckets with teats.how will I gear towards once a day milk feeding?

Start off with small feeds tad for first few days to get them settled into replacer. Build up replacer to what is guided on what brand you are using. Slowly increase one feed and smaller second feed until you get them onto oad. Remember you will be mixing more replacer in the oad mix with no more than 3 liters milk per day. Possibly could build up the formula once they are settled into oad. Keep calf pencils/crunch in front of them daily. Anything not eaten next morning replace with fresh meal. Fresh bedding daily and replace the lot once a wk. Other than that plenty of fresh water and scour tabs/kaolin at the ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Start off with small feeds tad for first few days to get them settled into replacer. Build up replacer to what is guided on what brand you are using. Slowly increase one feed and smaller second feed until you get them onto oad. Remember you will be mixing more replacer in the oad mix with no more than 3 liters milk per day. Possibly could build up the formula once they are settled into oad. Keep calf pencils/crunch in front of them daily. Anything not eaten next morning replace with fresh meal. Fresh bedding daily and replace the lot once a wk. Other than that plenty of fresh water and scour tabs/kaolin at the ready.

Also if you are using a compartment feeder (which I would recommend) if you notice that one has a slight scour drop a spoon full of kaolin power into the milk compartment that calf is sucking from. Saves you trying to chase it around the pen

Reggie. wrote: »
    Also if you are using a compartment feeder (which I would recommend) if you notice that one has a slight scour drop a spoon full of kaolin power into the milk compartment that calf is sucking from. Saves you trying to chase it around the pen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

Can't understand lads using flat bottomed feeders . Its only when you use the compartment ones that you see the variety in drinking speeds.
    Where do u get the kaolin ?
    Never used it here.

Can't understand lads using flat bottomed feeders . Its only when you use the compartment ones that you see the variety in drinking speeds.
    Where do u get the kaolin ?
    Never used it here.

I get it in my local vet supplies shop. Should come in a kg bag. Last ya ages

Bout 4 euro a bag . doesn't cure scour but would stop a train!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Cheers for the advice lads, I have been using the milk flo compartment feeder for a few years now and reckon their the best on the market..

What milk replacer are people using?...im being offered volac olimpian for €40 per bag and maverick AAA for €44 any others out there good value?

Cheers for the advice lads, I have been using the milk flo compartment feeder for a few years now and reckon their the best on the market..

What milk replacer are people using?...im being offered volac olimpian for €40 per bag and maverick AAA for €44 any others out there good value?
    An air of caution on volac. There is a major supply problem with volac at the minute as they can produce enough for the market.

The merchants keep running out of it so you might find yourself having to change products mid feeding which would be far from ideal

An air of caution on volac. There is a major supply problem with volac at the minute as they can produce enough for the market.

The merchants keep running out of it so you might find yourself having to change products mid feeding which would be far from ideal

Cheers reggie for the heads up, im only feeding 12 calves at the minute so if I pick up a few bags it should do me a while..just in suppliers there a few minutes ago they have one and a half pallets in stock

A pallet won't last too long tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I've the same bag of kaolin lying around for 2 years unopened :) can't beat yogurt milk.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I've the same bag of kaolin lying around for 2 years unopened :) can't beat yogurt milk.

What brand.using grennans wonder trive for last few years. Not all that happy with it this yr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

What brand.using grennans wonder trive for last few years. Not all that happy with it this yr.
    It's cows milk I use.

Area all ready to go here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Area all ready to go here

Nice. Can't best good beds of straw, if only the aul lad here would agree. He'd get in and take half it out :/

The dog leaped into it here yesterday (little terrier) and only her head was showing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Gain Easy Mix is made by Volac, no shortage of it. If you check most are made by a few companies

I was on about volac olympian replacer. I was talking to the main irish rep himself. He said the factories are maxed out and can't keep up production of it. They are restocking England first then overseas second.

Sorry I can't give concrete proof but look it's what I was told and olympian is very hard got anywhere near me

I'm on this phuckin Boards App and its shyte. Old system went off phone. Only other I can get is laptop version and not suitable for phone.

I can't post pic of label, I'd like to compare Easy Mix is whey based at 25% p costing 24c/litre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I'm on this phuckin Boards App and its shyte. Old system went off phone. Only other I can get is laptop version and not suitable for phone.

I can't post pic of label, I'd like to compare Easy Mix is whey based at 25% p costing 24c/litre

Can ye not use it through the Internet?

Can't get it back. I need a young lad to set up again. It's putting me off tbh

The boards app is terrible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

The boards app is terrible

I can't believe you'd say that. It's not terrible

It's fcuking atrocious!

Kovu wrote: »
    I can't believe you'd say that. It's not terrible

It's fcuking atrocious!

How much are you getting a bag for?
    I worked out its costing 46c on oad
    and 28.75 on tad.
    Is my math wrong?

How much are you getting a bag for?
    I worked out its costing 46c on oad
    and 28.75 on tad.
    Is my math wrong?

That couldn't be right could it

46e a bag
    125 g per litre on rad
    200 g per on oad

46e a bag
    125 g per litre on rad
    200 g per on oad

How many litres

6 on tad
    4 on oad
    that does effect how much per litre it costs

6 on tad
    4 on oad
    that does effect how much per litre it costs

I don't give any more than 3 lts on OAD

In a calf rearing program here I'm doing what is advised

I find if I went over 3 lts I get scour in the calves

No scour here any way calves growing like weeds

Hopefully the same here this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,572 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Same here and I rear a few calves every year ;)
    On OAD I normally up the concentrate whilst still only feeding 3 litres. I do not use a specialist OAD milk replacer although the brand that I use does have one. Get them eating crunch/pencils along with straw/hay or out to a paddock (weather permitting) asap.
    Having said that, this year I am rearing feck all calves :(

Anyone try adlib cold milk?..got the volac calf rearing pack in the post today, SEEMS calves do better on it then oad or tad

I tried to feed mine oad cold milk and they didn't like it.
    They went back quick and a few got sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Just wondering how yee heat the water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭farm14

wouldnt be a fan of once a day feeding myself. its hard to get enough growth in the calves.

farm14 wrote: »
    wouldnt be a fan of once a day feeding myself. its hard to get enough growth in the calves.

Maybe you've tried it and didn't like it. We love it and feel we get much better growth as opposed to soft calves. Low water hi powder lots if nuts and straw with fresh water always available. Beats tad every time IMV

farm14 wrote: »

Great results here

What age do you start on OAD? Do you go straight away from once they arrive or slowly change from TAD.

They came yesterday and ill try to get them to OAD by the weekend. On TAD at the moment to get used to replacer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Limofarmer

They came yesterday and ill try to get them to OAD by the weekend. On TAD at the moment to get used to replacer

Pm sent Reggie

How many lts do you start them on when the arrive and do you up the morning feed and lessen the evening feed and make it later in the day to go to TAD?

Last night they got 2 lts of water with 300 grammes of replacer with 50 ml of gel lyte+. Today they got 2 lts and 400 grammes with 400 again this evening. Tomorrow will be 500 and then 300 with 2 lts until I hit 700 grammes in one feeding as then they are on OAD. Will increase to 800 then after a few days OAD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Limofarmer

Nice calves there Reggie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭junospider

What milk replacer are you using? Using shine twice a day here with 300g/feed.
    Calves doing ok but very slow to eat crunch,
    800g seems an awful lot in 2lt of water.

junospider wrote: »
    What milk replacer are you using? Using shine twice a day here with 300g/feed.
    Calves doing ok but very slow to eat crunch,
    800g seems an awful lot in 2lt of water.

800g in 2 lts of water makes 3 lts of replacer. It's supposed to be think in order to last the calf the 24hrs. It sits in their stomach like a lump of butter and breaks down slowly over the day. This forces the calf to move to concentrates to fill it's needs to eat but will have all it needs from its OAD feeding

Last night they got 2 lts of water with 300 grammes of replacer with 50 ml of gel lyte+. Today they got 2 lts and 400 grammes with 400 again this evening. Tomorrow will be 500 and then 300 with 2 lts until I hit 700 grammes in one feeding as then they are on OAD. Will increase to 800 then after a few days OAD.

That's nearly double the recommended rate for OAD than what is on the back of bag of replacer I am using.