Water Protest in Swords 13/03/2015

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Fentdog84 wrote: »
    ah yes, read that in a newspaper did u?

Denis I brien pm'd me on this and told me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

ah yes, read that in a newspaper did u?

Er.... do you think it gets piped into the house with power of black magic or wishful thinking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Sam Harts wrote: »
    Is this forum a garda forum or something? Everyone on here always seems to support police brutality and assume all civilians are scum. The video doesn't show the attack but the amount of witnesses to the attack seem shocked by what they saw! As my daughters friend is training to be a gardai, she asked her not to share it on Facebook, so I didn't either (shame on me).

TBH I actually thought the blood looked fake, but I like to keep an open mind. The gardai are just human after all, and are capable of doing bad things. Obviously they are not as corrupt as the law in other countries but it's still possible that the gardai can include some bad eggs.

It's strange how the Irish public on here are so anti-civilians.

No. You have it wrong.

We are anti-gowls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Is this forum a garda forum or something? Everyone on here always seems to support police brutality and assume all civilians are scum. The video doesn't show the attack but the amount of witnesses to the attack seem shocked by what they saw! As my daughters friend is training to be a gardai, she asked her not to share it on Facebook, so I didn't either (shame on me).

TBH I actually thought the blood looked fake, but I like to keep an open mind. The gardai are just human after all, and are capable of doing bad things. Obviously they are not as corrupt as the law in other countries but it's still possible that the gardai can include some bad eggs.

What brutality exactly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Calclor wrote: »
    Water doesn't magically appear out of thin air,

Sure most of these protesters think it falls from the sky! Imagine that!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

Yeah, think I'll give up the day job and stand on a street corner near Leinster House and start roaring at Enda every time he drives by, how you've opened my eyes.

oh no, you wud never become one of those pond life who dare to question anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

oh no, you wud never become one of those pond life who dare to question anything

Ah you're right too, I wouldn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭ps3man

I am just open minded, there are two sides to every story. I don't support police brutality. Police brutality is the police shooting unarmed black lads in the back running away. Removing a woman who is trespassing from a doorway is not. It was unfortunate that the door broke the way it did but the guards didn't take out their batons and beat it.

Your so funny.

and?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,495 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Thats it, make an assumption and fire a cheap shot at people who bother to get out and do something so the likes of you( and your children) wont spend your life paying for something that is a basic human right

Do you have a rain water harvesting system? Is it a basic human right that someone will run a pipe from the resivour to your door ?

The door would be made of safety glass which can't cut you. I'd like to see all the supporters comment if they saw actual independant footage if the whole event

Ah you're right too, I wouldn't

Bet your favorite band is status quo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,777 ✭✭✭Cody montana

I'm starting to feel nothing but utter contempt for the protesters at this stage.
    Get off the roads, get out of my way, take your leaflets down and shove them up yer arses.

ted1 wrote: »
    Do you have a rain water harvesting system? Is it a basic human right that someone will run a pipe from the resivour to your door ?

The door would be made of safety glass which can't cut you. I'd like to see all the supporters comment if they saw actual independant footage if the whole event

Dosent matter. They are still gonna charge for water out, very few people have theiy're own septic tanks

Is this forum a garda forum or something? Everyone on here always seems to support police brutality

There is no brutality in the video.
    We're not anti civilians, we are anti leaches.
    The lads protesting have never had to pay a tax in their life.
    USC, property tax are far worse taxes, but they people paying them are to busy working to protest.

Dosent matter. They are still gonna charge for water out, very few people have theiy're own septic tanks

So people will have to pay for their own **** to be taking out if the water, and the water cleaned. Sounds reasonable to me.

I'm starting to feel nothing but utter contempt for the protesters at this stage.
    Get off the roads, get out of my way, take your leaflets down and shove them up yer arses.

You should get up on stage with Enda kenny, he'll love you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Sam Harts

ps3man wrote: »
    I am just open minded, there are two sides to every story. I don't support police brutality. Police brutality is the police shooting unarmed black lads in the back running away. Removing a woman who is trespassing from a doorway is not. It was unfortunate that the door broke the way it did but the guards didn't take out their batons and beat it.

Yeah all I really meant was that a lot of people tend to either say the coppers are immediately in the wrong, and others just support them and moan about the civilian. I've noticed on here the majority was immediately pro-garda, but other places I looked where anti-garda. It would be good to see the whole video, not that I really want to see how that blood got there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

USC, property tax are far worse taxes, but they people paying them are to busy working to protest.

V.A.T. lad. Everyone pays V.A.T.

So people will have to pay for their own **** to be taking out if the water, and the water cleaned. Sounds reasonable to me.

but whats wrong with the system that's been used all along, the one that we're paying for anyway? Why do we need to moved all this over to a private company?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

As mentioned earlier, Protesting is a waste of time, pisses people off and contributes nothing sure even Paul Murphy said it at a community centre meeting, the Government couldnt give a **** if 1,000 or 100,000 march they will carry on regardless.

These vids are doing me head in and I am starting to get bored of the whole thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,719 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Yeah all I really meant was that a lot of people tend to either say the coppers are immediately in the wrong, and others just support them and moan about the civilian. I've noticed on here the majority was immediately pro-garda, but other places I looked where anti-garda. It would be good to see the whole video, not that I really want to see how that blood got there.
    Knowing that these "peaceful" protestors spend their whole time videoing everything at these protests, do you thin the Gardai are just going around beating people knowing it'll end up all over the internet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Is there a need for another thread about de brutalityyyyy?

The protesters think they are a lot more liked than they actually are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Was completely anti water charges and had no intention of signing up to IW, but those absolute Gobschite protesters changed my mind about the whole thing.

No. You have it wrong.

We are anti-gowls.

there is no need for misogynistic comments about female genitalia.

fullstop wrote: »
    Knowing that these "peaceful" protestors spend their whole time videoing everything at these protests, do you thin the Gardai are just going around beating people knowing it'll end up all over the internet?

Well I never watch these videos, I just presumed that was the first one. I've better things to be doing than watching these videos, this one just happened into my Facebook timeline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Disgusting from the Gardaí. They are doing get damage to community relations with their defence of the Bermuda tax dodgers quango

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Was completely anti water charges and had no intention of signing up to IW, but those absolute Gobschite protesters changed my mind about the whole thing.

Bit of a strange decision. Just don't pay if you don't agree and dont pay the protests a blind bit of attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

Course you where

but whats wrong with the system that's been used all along, the one that we're paying for anyway? Why do we need to moved all this over to a private company?

its not actually a private company, it's a semi state company. what other type of company can do it. Globally councils have been off loading services as they can not do it efficiently. ESB, Eirgird , gas networks Ireland, VHI are all similar companies.

Our water service has had no investment in the last 100 years, there's boil notices all over the country.

The money we have been paying has only been enough to stick a plaster on leaks . To get rid of the Leaks and boil notices we need to invest, the money we currently out in to the system can't cover this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭micks

The Garda should invest in some water cannons for the peaceful protests like