Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Water Protest in Swords 13/03/2015

• 13-04-2015 8:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭

So my Facebook is currently being bombarded with videos of some woman with her face all cut from glass falling on her after the glass door her and three other protestors were blocking was apparently broken by the Gardai trying to remove them. The usual anti water protestor pages are calling it police brutality etc. Now everyone is going to protest at the Garda station apparently.

Am I the only person who supports the Gardai in this position, what did the women expect? Fair enough they were weren't expecting the glass to break but at the same time did they expect the Gardai to bring them tea or to remove them from the door they were trespassing in? The usual Paul Murphy brigade is calling for anarchy in the street.

Videos are all on here
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Balbriggan-and-surrounding-areas-Against-Water-Charges/529293587202439

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭swpb

Sick of the lot of them . No doubt she was told to get out of the way and didn't . Her own fault IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

That's a good turnout, did they all come from work on their lunch break?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Annual leave obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Her own damn fault. It's safety glass anyways.

Very telling that the first response after the glass broke to the gardaí was "Right lads, you're in for a big suite now" :rolleyes:

Gardaí were being quite light handed. Only option is to drag them out if they won't use their legs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Everyone screaming for the gardai to call an ambulance in 1st and 2nd video

Can they not put down the video recording for a second and call an ambulance themselves :confused:

I came across a motor accident once, I dialed 999 and didn't need a garda to do it for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Tornaxx

Bleedin', bleedin'!! (Literally.)

Or was it raspberry ripple?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Little more than a scratch,head injuries tend to bleed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I'm failing to see how the gardai are responsible for her being silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Why do these videos always start just after the 'incident' takes place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Fukuyama wrote: »
    Her own damn fault. It's safety glass anyways.

Very telling that the first response after the glass broke to the gardaí was "Right lads, you're in for a big suite now " :rolleyes:

Gardaí were being quite light handed. Only option is to drag them out if they won't use their legs.

Leather fabric, or honeymoon?

So many questions left unanswered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Why do these videos always start just after the 'incident' takes place?

Cos otherwise they'd have to show whose responsibility their getting injured/inconvenienced is, rather than blame 'gardai brutality'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

facebook comment about the disgrace of an unarmed woman being hurt

As opposed to a glock .38 carrying woman :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

Thats it, make an assumption and fire a cheap shot at people who bother to get out and do something so the likes of you( and your children) wont spend your life paying for something that is a basic human right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Fentdog84 wrote: »
    Thats it, make an assumption and fire a cheap shot at people who bother to get out and do something so the likes of you( and your children) wont spend your life paying for something that is a basic human right

Patriots all.

(Its not like there are other worse taxes out there that warrant more opposition or anything).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

They are not going to make one iota of difference and a lot are being seen as the thugs they are. Just because you chant 'peaceful protest' doesn't make it so.

How do you reckon they get the water into your house? It isn't magic.

Bother to get out?, I bothered to get out to work this morning so I could pay tax which in turn allows these folk to attend these midday parties. So in essence, I'm a fundamental part of the protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Access to water is a human right.

Free water is not.

Birneybau wrote: »
    They are not going to make one iota of difference and a lot are being seen as the thugs they are. Just because you chant 'peaceful protest' doesn't make it so.

I cudnt care less what they are being seen as or what the Denis O Brien media is portraying them as, as long as they are not giving up..the politicians are relying on people getting tired and disillusioned with the whole thing and then cave in, not one step back as Stalin said!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Not gonna watch the vid as it's same aul ****e,I don't agree with the water charges but I thought we moved away from Protesting??? It's pointless just don't pay the bill if you don't agree and let the Guards get back to their proper jobs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Already paying for it?

I cudnt care less what they are being seen as or what the Denis O Brien media is portraying them as, as long as they are not giving up..the politicians are relying on people getting tired and disillusioned with the whole thing and then cave in, not one step back as Stalin said!

O jaysus man, we've no hope with such a martyr attitude, its a tax on water consumption they aren't locking your granny in a gulag.

Where were these protestors for much worse tax such as the USC?...

How do you reckon they get the water into your house? It isn't magic.

Bother to get out?, I bothered to get out to work this morning so I could pay tax which in turn allows these folk to attend these midday parties. So in essence, I'm a fundamental part of the protest.

ok so mr taxpayer, how do you feel about the money that was going into providing water services going into paying back German bondholders?

The same way I feel about all the rest of my taxes going to Germany I suppose?

the first part of your name is apt so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

What is this 'work' you speak of?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Actually. The one thing I hate in all these videos is their poor syntax and horrible accents.

Does my head in so it does.

So it does.

Calclor wrote: »
    Water doesn't magically appear out of thin air, it's a precious resource, which is wasted everyday, it most certainly should be charged for.

ah yes, read that in a newspaper did u?

Yeah, think I'll give up the day job and stand on a street corner near Leinster House and start roaring at Enda every time he drives by, how you've opened my eyes.

Your so funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Sam Harts

Is this forum a garda forum or something? Everyone on here always seems to support police brutality and assume all civilians are scum. The video doesn't show the attack but the amount of witnesses to the attack seem shocked by what they saw! As my daughters friend is training to be a gardai, she asked her not to share it on Facebook, so I didn't either (shame on me).

TBH I actually thought the blood looked fake, but I like to keep an open mind. The gardai are just human after all, and are capable of doing bad things. Obviously they are not as corrupt as the law in other countries but it's still possible that the gardai can include some bad eggs.

It's strange how the Irish public on here are so anti-civilians.

Denis I brien pm'd me on this and told me

Er.... do you think it gets piped into the house with power of black magic or wishful thinking?

Sam Harts wrote: »
    Is this forum a garda forum or something? Everyone on here always seems to support police brutality and assume all civilians are scum. The video doesn't show the attack but the amount of witnesses to the attack seem shocked by what they saw! As my daughters friend is training to be a gardai, she asked her not to share it on Facebook, so I didn't either (shame on me).

TBH I actually thought the blood looked fake, but I like to keep an open mind. The gardai are just human after all, and are capable of doing bad things. Obviously they are not as corrupt as the law in other countries but it's still possible that the gardai can include some bad eggs.

No. You have it wrong.

We are anti-gowls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

What brutality exactly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Calclor wrote: »
    Water doesn't magically appear out of thin air,

Sure most of these protesters think it falls from the sky! Imagine that!:D

Yeah, think I'll give up the day job and stand on a street corner near Leinster House and start roaring at Enda every time he drives by, how you've opened my eyes.

oh no, you wud never become one of those pond life who dare to question anything

Ah you're right too, I wouldn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭ps3man

I am just open minded, there are two sides to every story. I don't support police brutality. Police brutality is the police shooting unarmed black lads in the back running away. Removing a woman who is trespassing from a doorway is not. It was unfortunate that the door broke the way it did but the guards didn't take out their batons and beat it.

Your so funny.

and?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,903 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Do you have a rain water harvesting system? Is it a basic human right that someone will run a pipe from the resivour to your door ?

The door would be made of safety glass which can't cut you. I'd like to see all the supporters comment if they saw actual independant footage if the whole event

Ah you're right too, I wouldn't

Bet your favorite band is status quo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Cody montana

I'm starting to feel nothing but utter contempt for the protesters at this stage.
    Get off the roads, get out of my way, take your leaflets down and shove them up yer arses.

ted1 wrote: »
    Do you have a rain water harvesting system? Is it a basic human right that someone will run a pipe from the resivour to your door ?

The door would be made of safety glass which can't cut you. I'd like to see all the supporters comment if they saw actual independant footage if the whole event

Dosent matter. They are still gonna charge for water out, very few people have theiy're own septic tanks

Is this forum a garda forum or something? Everyone on here always seems to support police brutality

There is no brutality in the video.
    We're not anti civilians, we are anti leaches.
    The lads protesting have never had to pay a tax in their life.
    USC, property tax are far worse taxes, but they people paying them are to busy working to protest.

Dosent matter. They are still gonna charge for water out, very few people have theiy're own septic tanks

So people will have to pay for their own **** to be taking out if the water, and the water cleaned. Sounds reasonable to me.

I'm starting to feel nothing but utter contempt for the protesters at this stage.
    Get off the roads, get out of my way, take your leaflets down and shove them up yer arses.

You should get up on stage with Enda kenny, he'll love you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Sam Harts

ps3man wrote: »
    I am just open minded, there are two sides to every story. I don't support police brutality. Police brutality is the police shooting unarmed black lads in the back running away. Removing a woman who is trespassing from a doorway is not. It was unfortunate that the door broke the way it did but the guards didn't take out their batons and beat it.

Yeah all I really meant was that a lot of people tend to either say the coppers are immediately in the wrong, and others just support them and moan about the civilian. I've noticed on here the majority was immediately pro-garda, but other places I looked where anti-garda. It would be good to see the whole video, not that I really want to see how that blood got there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

USC, property tax are far worse taxes, but they people paying them are to busy working to protest.

V.A.T. lad. Everyone pays V.A.T.

So people will have to pay for their own **** to be taking out if the water, and the water cleaned. Sounds reasonable to me.

but whats wrong with the system that's been used all along, the one that we're paying for anyway? Why do we need to moved all this over to a private company?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

As mentioned earlier, Protesting is a waste of time, pisses people off and contributes nothing sure even Paul Murphy said it at a community centre meeting, the Government couldnt give a **** if 1,000 or 100,000 march they will carry on regardless.

These vids are doing me head in and I am starting to get bored of the whole thing