Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Jaysus feb base here 32.086 ,actual milk price 39.346 c/ltr .4.74 fat 3.71 p.sone grass in diet every day since calving is a huge help and wholecrop is boosting fat which was 0.36 higher than feb 14 fat.

Dead on 2c behind you not inc winter bonus.

We got 45.4 take off 7 for winter leaved 37.4 inc vat at 4.85fat and 3.74 pro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,724 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

My auld white water leggy high mantinance Holsteins are only just lagging behind ur x bred machines!!!.not blowing my own trumpet but just goes to show what results good selective breeding of Holsteins combined with good grassland and herd management can be achieved.i see a lot of lads only really starting to let cows off to grass now rather than doing a spring rotation plan to budget grass till early April from start of calving .a lot of these will hit a wall in April with such a high demand and quick rotations whereas anyone budgeting will be more or less ok or might have to buffer for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,724 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

My auld white water leggy high mantinance Holsteins are only just lagging behind ur x bred machines!!!.not blowing my own trumpet but just goes to show what results good selective breeding of Holsteins combined with good grassland and herd management can be achieved.i see a lot of lads only really starting to let cows off to grass now rather than doing a spring rotation plan to budget grass till early April from start of calving .a lot of these will hit a wall in April with such a high demand and quick rotations whereas anyone budgeting will be more or less ok or might have to buffer for a few days.

mahoney_j wrote: »

Spot on. Unless on the wettest of ground where Late Feb calving should be practiced. Guys with less than 50% grazed are going to run out of road. Others will buffer too hard for too long end up topping in early May or locking up too much silage. They WILL run short and have to resort to grazing 2000+ covers depressing solids.

Then blame the bastards in the coop for the low price. It's in our own hands measure and plan

I see my neighbour has zgrazed a paddock beside yard yet hasn't 1 other acre grazed, the mind boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Spot on. Unless on the wettest of ground where Late Feb calving should be practiced. Guys with less than 50% grazed are going to run out of road. Others will buffer too hard for too long end up topping in early May or locking up too much silage. They WILL run short and have to resort to grazing 2000+ covers depressing solids.

Then blame the bastards in the coop for the low price. It's in our own hands measure and plan

I see my neighbour has zgrazed a paddock beside yard yet hasn't 1 other acre grazed, the mind boggles

Imagine what he's saying about the header next door.

Lol, he's waiting for him to go broke. Expecting it any day now, could be right:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

P 3.72
    fat 4.49
    got 36.14c/l
    no winter bonus we must have used it all up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

stanflt wrote: »
    41.03 cpl for feb- no milk supplied without contract

I did notice that I got only 7 cpl bonus for liquid instead of 7.66 cpl

Did you sort out the missing .66cpl stan .
    Had a glance at statement . New layout will need further study.

Not mad about new layout myself. Bonus are given in totals not per litre.

A column showing €/kgms should be added

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,823 ✭✭✭stanflt

0.66cpl will be paid in summer months and 7cpl in winter-fmp looked for this at the back end of 2014

P 3.72
    fat 4.49
    got 36.14c/l
    no winter bonus we must have used it all up

have a feeling its not paid on over quota milk, saw elsewhere you were over in feb

4.52 fat
    3.45 pro
    41.16c/l liquid or w bonus on all litres...

what did/will spring only lads make on the early calving bonus?

lost just over 6% of overall quota to the butterfat ref adj.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

have a feeling its not paid on over quota milk, saw elsewhere you were over in feb

Sorry we did get bonus. I couldn't see it on the online page found it on paper version though.
    7c bonus

Sorry we did get bonus. I couldn't see it on the online page found it on paper version though.
    7c bonus

good, corrected I stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

8700 lts of flexi milk in lake land some lads are in for a roasting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

loveta wrote: »
    Altogether in the co op??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,131 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Wouldn't feel one bit sorry for them, know of cases where lads turned down a nice chunk of quota at 4 cent a litre last round thought they wouldn't need it some lads grasp of financial planning covering yourself is non-existent

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Altogether in the co op??

Per member

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

any final stats on the quota situation in the country?
    surprised there is any fleximilk, any word from gii on flexi
    see glanbia sold the nigeria operations, didnt fit their strategy anymore, how long before they offload their share in gii?
    committed to supply contracts wonder are they linked to the irish cso/cpi index figures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Bast*ards have raised the base for BF to 3.8%. Protein stays at 3.2%.

There was a "promise" of rising milk price for spring but it stays the same because they know we can produce cheaper from grass.
    Price until end of June in photo. Base price not inc vat.

Dawggone wrote: »

There was a "promise" of rising milk price for spring but it stays the same because they know we can produce cheaper from grass.

Good to see some stability into mid summer . Would be concerned here for the peak months .
    Be gentle with your next post svp :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭poor farmer

YE heard that also.
    Is it true that all lakeland suppliers that supplied less than 350,000 l will not pay any superlevy fine.

YE heard that also.
    Is it true that all lakeland suppliers that supplied less than 350,000 l will not pay any superlevy fine.

That i dont know,but if iys true how would i come about

Dawggone wrote:

Funny that, it's not long since you were telling us how shyte our processors were while yours were so farmer focused, even guaranteeing price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

YE heard that also.

How does the levy work? is it on co-ops total and every one chips in or you could supply x but you sent in y here's your bill.?

Funny that, it's not long since you were telling us how shyte our processors were while yours were so farmer focused, even guaranteeing price

Those are guaranteed base prices on an open ticket. That price is net of a deduction of 1cpl for Mar/Apr/May. The "fund" will be divided out per litres delivered in July/Aug/Sept. I got back just over 2cpl from that fund last year...

What are Irish processors paying Atm?
    Spoke with a neighbour this morning and the raising of the BF base is a deal done a few years back...I think it had something to do with BF quota, but I can't be sure because his accent is so thick you could stand a fork on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

would lactalis have much of a milk pool in your area dawg? we are supplying them at the moment they don't let you away with much but price isn't too bad

trixi2011 wrote: »
    would lactalis have much of a milk pool in your area dawg? we are supplying them at the moment they don't let you away with much but price isn't too bad

No Lactalis here thank God. They are fairly big players up north. Wouldn't be good to pay and farmers have very little control, if any.
    My crowd would always be 1-2cpl ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

No Lactalis here thank God. They are fairly big players up north. Wouldn't be good to pay and farmers have very little control, if any.
    My crowd would always be 1-2cpl ahead.

they are defiantly not the best payers here either but they don't penalise you for seasonality or have any mad a and b pricing yet which is a bonus for spring calvers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Those are guaranteed base prices on an open ticket. That price is net of a deduction of 1cpl for Mar/Apr/May. The "fund" will be divided out per litres delivered in July/Aug/Sept. I got back just over 2cpl from that fund last year...

What are Irish processors paying Atm?
    Spoke with a neighbour this morning and the raising of the BF base is a deal done a few years back...I think it had something to do with BF quota, but I can't be sure because his accent is so thick you could stand a fork on it!

Wouldn't mind getting those prices myself. The fact that you get prices 3 months in advance is huge. Here we don't know until a week before the cheque hits the account. Makes forward planning difficult.