Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Timmaay wrote: »
    Scanning the autumn ladies in the morning and going to check any spring cow who had an issue, like retained clearings, needed a jack etc. Going to tail paint all the spring cows tomorrow also and will act on ones who haven't shown heat after 3wks.

Same doing ab autumn scan tomorrow and going to scan any spring ones that haven't shown activity yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭degetme

Scanning the autumn ladies in the morning and going to check any spring cow who had an issue, like retained clearings, needed a jack etc. Going to tail paint all the spring cows tomorrow also and will act on ones who haven't shown heat after 3wks.

How much is it to scan? My vet looking for 3.50 plus vat. No call out charge if scaning 50plus. Found it benefical apr 2013 but no problems last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,038 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Plumbed in the plate cooler today. Tank never over 5 degrees and off before I started washing! I just got to decide what to do with the waste water from it now, what do all of you's do with it?
    USE it for washing down the parlour and for the drop down hoses in parlour, handy in the winter to have a bit of warm water for washing clusters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Jeezus lads but the French are NOT happy about the end of quotas.
    They are lobbying hard for some sort of "protection".
    Listened to a high up "IFA" type about 7 years of dodgy markets and the "need" for protection...
    Maybe a need for balance OR as Frazz would say " don't have a fracking clue about cost of production"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

Dawggone wrote: »
    Listened to a high up "IFA" type about 7 years of dodgy markets and the "need" for protection...
    Maybe a need for balance OR as Frazz would say " don't have a fracking clue about cost of production"....

Send the cows over to ireland and we,ll sell ye milk. Ye can lie off and take it handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Whatever is the matter with you is no small thing.

Classic!!

Make sure they bring condoms

Not to forget ur opener Frazz, also a classic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Lads having problem with tbc, 40-60 opened machine clean as whistle bulk tank too, water failed month ago and added chlorine still no help, what can I do about the well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,038 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Lads having problem with tbc, 40-60 opened machine clean as whistle bulk tank too, water failed month ago and added chlorine still no help, what can I do about the well?
    there is a grant available to bore a new well or treat your water, we got our water tested a few weeks ago- should have had results by now:rolleyes:- have iron in our water anyway, might be worth looking in to

mf240 wrote: »
    Send the cows over to ireland and we,ll sell ye milk. Ye can lie off and take it handy.

I did that too!! :):)
    Some of the best days of my life was when I rented quota at mad money...,

You know it's all about MONEY.
    Our money is the Euro and it just depreciated by 25% and I'm feeling poorer....anyone else feel the same?

Have a look at Switzerland's attitude to currency...
    Kowtow could explain better than me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Have a cow here who was due on April 2nd still nothing.
    put my hand in few days ago and could find nothing
    she has spray up a small bit but not much was put there checking few cows ready to pop and she is slimming like a cow that is incalf.
    have never seen her bulling

Have a cow here who was due on April 2nd still nothing.
    put my hand in few days ago and could find nothing
    she has spray up a small bit but not much was put there checking few cows ready to pop and she is slimming like a cow that is incalf.
    have never seen her bulling

Question. WTF did you handle the cow?
    I just can't understand that MO. Is it because she doesn't fall into you're wayyyy?

Question. WTF did you handle the cow?
    I just can't understand that MO. Is it because she doesn't fall into you're wayyyy?

To see was there anything in her at all.
    Nearly every cow here calves way before her time or on time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I did that too!! :):)
    Some of the best days of my life was when I rented quota at mad money...,

You know it's all about MONEY.
    Our money is the Euro and it just depreciated by 25% and I'm feeling poorer....anyone else feel the same?

Have a look at Switzerland's attitude to currency...
    Kowtow could explain better than me...

what exactly do a lot of the French dairy farmers want. a new type of quota or a minimum price guarantee?

To see was there anything in her at all.
    Nearly every cow here calves way before her time or on time

Judas. :)
    Why interfere?
    Obviously you are too accustomed to cows calving on demand!

Ffs they are pregnant or empty!
    Go fence some paddocks or something...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

To be fair, are the French ever happy? ATC on strike during the week because they aren't getting their way. Simple fact is that Angela pays the piper so if the Germans want quotas back that's who'll decide not Hollande. The Brits, the Med or the north couldn't care less so they'll stop hopping up and down after they rip up a few cobbles and fire th at police

Btw, Dawg will France have a super levy this year?

what exactly do a lot of the French dairy farmers want. a new type of quota or a minimum price guarantee?

I think they want a return to the "norm".

Let's face it, one bad year out of 30+ isn't bad...ask any potato grower.

Coveny, Teagasc et al could get a kick in the whole by the significant green parties in Europe.

I'm getting a bit fed up being the shouted down minority here.

In fairness to you Darragh you are balanced in your PoV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

kevthegaff wrote: »

Have ry jack on the drop hoses the rubber came off the end of one and got stuck in the pipe at the bottom of one of the jars put tbc through the roof

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

That looks the job timmay,any hassle with it?did it spook the cows at first?what kind of money for the pair?

To be fair, are the French ever happy? ATC on strike during the week because they aren't getting their way. Simple fact is that Angela pays the piper so if the Germans want quotas back that's who'll decide not Hollande. The Brits, the Med or the north couldn't care less so they'll stop hopping up and down after they rip up a few cobbles and fire th at police

Btw, Dawg will France have a super levy this year?

Rhetorical question as regards the Frogs...NO they are NEVER happy!
    ATC carryon is scandalous! End of.

Now as regards QUOTA....
    Firstly....I wouldn't disregard the Frogs influence in Europe...
    Angela is nobody without a nuclear warhead wielding power like France. Don't ever disregard the importance of that.
    I will bet my Farm against your farm that if Ireland increase cow numbers by 50% ther WILL be restrictions...
    OK... Quotas have gone...but Europe hasn't gone away you know!

Stop focusing on the actual quota. To do that is pedantic. Look at what is happening in the rest of agriculture.
    Politics is agriculture..

The Dutch/German/French green lobby WILL control agriculture going forward....

Chain on the old parlour. Disaster of a yoke, always covered in sh1te, up and down to pick it up. The bar above is on a counter weight system, lifts up itself to open, you pull the rope from the pit to close it and latch it into 4 different slots depending on the size of the back cow.

That's the same back gate as I have here, and same make of parlour as well by the look of things, only all a little cleaner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Now as regards QUOTA....
    Angela is nobody without a nuclear warhead wielding power like France. Don't ever disregard the importance of that.
    I will bet my Farm against your farm that if Ireland increase cow numbers by 50% ther WILL be restrictions...
    O
    Stop focusing on the actual quota. To do that is pedantic. Look at what is happening in the rest of agriculture.

In the course of the last week met 3 separate german gangs on holidays around here and the connection the german public has with farming especially milking cows is obvious, not like the irish that seem to look down on anything agri related.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Now as regards QUOTA....

Totally agree. Environment, nitrates animal welfare will become bigger issue. It's happening already when one can't replace the p&k that the milk truck is taking every day. For anyone to think there won't be other restrictions are quiet naive.

The thing we all forget is that the drop in the value of the euro is keeping our milk price off the floor. As you rightly said we are actually worse off as our cash has lost some buying power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Plumbed in the plate cooler today. Tank never over 5 degrees and off before I started washing! I just got to decide what to do with the waste water from it now, what do all of you's do with it?

Tim what size water line you using. Is it well water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Totally agree. Environment, nitrates animal welfare will become bigger issue. It's happening already when one can't replace the p&k that the milk truck is taking every day. For anyone to think there won't be other restrictions are quiet naive.

The thing we all forget is that the drop in the value of the euro is keeping our milk price off the floor. As you rightly said we are actually worse off as our cash has lost some buying power

Fert and feed price quotes both raised this week for example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Tim what size water line you using. Is it well water?

Inch, from the well. I was largely dumping all the water from the plate cooler yesterday so I only had the lever valve 1/4 way on. Water was coming out at at least 25 degrees.

Could ye use that water to mix milk replacer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Now as regards QUOTA....

Have been well over the 250kg/ha nitrates limit here the last three years and all I get is letters outlining how they are going to take my sfp, still musnt of dawned on them that I don't receive one and have no intention of applying for entitlements, what can the department actually do to you if they haven't got the sfp stick to beat you with provided your farming perfectly legally and not polluting our being proven to have polluted waterways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Chain on the old parlour. Disaster of a yoke, always covered in sh1te, up and down to pick it up. The bar above is on a counter weight system, lifts up itself to open, you pull the rope from the pit to close it and latch it into 4 different slots depending on the size of the back cow.

You're just showing off now ;)

Well wear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

nice idea ,but i can see a cow getting her tail caught in it and leaving some of it behind her someday .