Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Anyone know the cost of insuring milk in case of antibiotics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Anyone know the cost of insuring milk in case of antibiotics?

Usually part of farm multi peril policy. I think most will only cover one incident ever. After that you're on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

There is some huge variation across the country.

Very wet last few weeks round here. Barley ground across the river from me was only ploughed yesterday and it's normally ploughed start of march and set on 18th march. And only in the last few days have i se
    en dry stock out.

Putting in a new roadway here atm and I could nearly do with a tank of water to keep the dust down. And clay is very dry when digging only time we met any eet clay was where a pipe was leaking under the ground:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,042 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I won't have to
    Rain should be back by the weekend with a vengance :(

Don't shoot the messenger,it won't change the message!
    seems to have softened a bit now, doesnt look as bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Have a calf after gorging herself on water. Reckon 10l half the bucket is gone.
    anything I can do for her. She's like a balloon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

Any word from the co-ops? Are they flooded with milk yet? Heard Carbury had milk flooding in but the fella who told me was after a fair few beers so not sure if he was pulling me leg :)

Have a calf after gorging herself on water. Reckon 10l half the bucket is gone.
    anything I can do for her. She's like a balloon
    had a calf here in the autumn would drink milk and then drink from the water drinker, ended up having to cover the drinker up after feeding her. They can also get water posioning from drinking too much water in one go, keep an eye on her, it can cause brain damage

Pacoa wrote: »
    Any word from the co-ops? Are they flooded with milk yet? Heard Carbury had milk flooding in but the fella who told me was after a fair few beers so not sure if he was pulling me leg :)
    A high stool farmer I'd call him I bet he could solve any farming problem once he's on the high stool with a pint in his hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

whelan2 wrote: »
    had a calf here in the autumn would drink milk and then drink from the water drinker, ended up having to cover the drinker up after feeding her. They can also get water posioning from drinking too much water in one go, keep an eye on her, it can cause brain damage

this one can barely move she's that blown up

Put a stomach tube down her if it's gas it will relieve her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

A high stool farmer I'd call him I bet he could solve any farming problem once he's on the high stool with a pint in his hand.

Haha he wouldn't be the worst. Still i'd say there's milk flying this weather. My tank is going up at every collection sure the weather is perfect for milk production. Long may it last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

leg wax wrote: »
    mower going on today taking out 2 paddocks.

Let us know how you get on. Did some last year and think it worked well. Grazing alone wouldn't have cleaned out the paddocks as good.

Edit: Not sure I took you up right. Pre-mowing or conserving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

Have cows here refusing to eat meal this morning and then trying to rob neighbours meal.
    had 2 get sick.
    is magnesium inconsistent in mix or what?
    could be, or contamination maybe, ,this could also happen in bin also,ie a quantity of nuts on normal magnesium level content, topped up by new batch of nuts on double, this in theory could result in variation in magnesium level in nuts in same load and therefore, in head-feed, but ...
    saw a fella one morning who lost 2 cows due to suppler doubling of magnesium content of ration mix , they fell walking from milking parlour and had 2 more staggering when vet arrived.
    he switched supplier as he discovered some cows were leaving dairy nuts and next cow in was getting double helping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

just do it wrote: »
    Let us know how you get on. Did some last year and think it worked well. Grazing alone wouldn't have cleaned out the paddocks as good.

Edit: Not sure I took you up right. Pre-mowing or conserving?

teag man was here yesterday so we took out 3 paddocks at covers of 1700 for baling , and going to buy 8 more cows.

Tom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

ah ah ah ah ah aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa ,yes:(:mad::o:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

what do lads have at the back of row of cows to keep them in when milking? have chain here but its a pain in the arse, do many have a gate in or just some kind of solid bar with a lever in pit type?

cows going out tonight:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Make sure they bring condoms

Whatever is the matter with you is no small thing.

might get them some of those spermies from over on farming chit chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

what do lads have at the back of row of cows to keep them in when milking? have chain here but its a pain in the arse, do many have a gate in or just some kind of solid bar with a lever in pit type?

Chain on the old parlour. Disaster of a yoke, always covered in sh1te, up and down to pick it up. The bar above is on a counter weight system, lifts up itself to open, you pull the rope from the pit to close it and latch it into 4 different slots depending on the size of the back cow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Ours out by night with 5 days, had a cow with pneumonia the other day big temp range between night and day so something to keep an eye out for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Milked out wrote: »
    Ours out by night with 5 days, had a cow with pneumonia the other day big temp range between night and day so something to keep an eye out for

Frost here this morning for first time in a while. At disc grp meeting today growth rate of 60 + on host farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

ah ah ah ah ah aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa ,yes:(:mad::o:rolleyes:

Tis spoiled you are :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Have a bar that hinges and can move it forward and back depending on the size of the last cow

Plumbed in the plate cooler today. Tank never over 5 degrees and off before I started washing! I just got to decide what to do with the waste water from it now, what do all of you's do with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Timmaay wrote: »
    Plumbed in the plate cooler today. Tank never over 5 degrees and off before I started washing! I just got to decide what to do with the waste water from it now, what do all of you's do with it?
    Collect it in an IBC over the dairy for the washdown of the parlour and also for rinsing out the milk before washing and the detergent after washing, even though you're not supposed to.

TBC 12
    Thermoduric 180.

It's supposed to rise the thermoduric(?) i think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭degetme

Many dairy guys on here do a pre-breeding scan? Debating weathr to do it or not on those not i havent seen on heat

degetme wrote: »
    Many dairy guys on here do a pre-breeding scan? Debating weathr to do it or not on those not i havent seen on heat

Scanning the autumn ladies in the morning and going to check any spring cow who had an issue, like retained clearings, needed a jack etc. Going to tail paint all the spring cows tomorrow also and will act on ones who haven't shown heat after 3wks.