If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

By being a few weeks out? You met a prIck! I've been in many cars with tax out for a few weeks, always under the month, and the drivers were waved on at a checkpoint.

And what about showing a valid NCT disk?
    The Mondeo im driving is a '08 and when we got it, it only had the two slots on the windscreen (one for tax and another for insurance).

Done the NCT in 2012, never displayed the disc on the windscreen.
    Done it again in 2014, never displayed the disc on the windscreen.

Just before I done my driving test a few weeks ago, my instructor said that I must have it displayed or it would be an offence and I would get penalty points. Is this true? The car has met a number of checkpoints since 2012 and has always been waved on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Don't know, always do my NCT's long before they are due to expire. Why wasn't the most up to date disc put up on your window?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Don't know, always do my NCT's long before they are due to expire. Why wasn't the most up to date disc put up on your window?

Not actually sure, on all the cars in the family we always had the 3 disks up and all in date. I think we were told before that you didnt have to display an NCT disk. But when my driving instructor said it then I got confused as the car has went through plenty of checkpoints and we were never ever questioned about it. (*Two guards even came up to the car one night as the alarm went off on it and they checked all around if I had my disks up to date, all lights working, tyres okay etc. and they didnt mention it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Ofc you have to display the disc.

Id be spending a fiver on a three disc holder to save a potential fixed notice penalty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I want to get this, or one of those cars at least

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C592700

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I want to get this, or one of those cars at least

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C592700

Nowww your talking!

:cool:

The budget Standard model, the 8, didn't even come with a bootlid

Nowww your talking!

:cool:

The budget Standard model, the 8, didn't even come with a bootlid

Get one, sort it out, lob in a tiny turbo engine into it and your away :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Seeing as the car only had 2 disc holders, maybe the gardai assumed it was under 4 years old. Change the disc holder to a 3 slot one. From what I see most dealers nowadays sell new cars with 3 disc holders, the 3rd to be left empty for the first 4 years.

A colleague has a 2008 octavia since new with a 2 disc holder. She never bothered to get an extra slot, she just wedged the NCT disc between the windscreen and the B pillar... on the opposite side of the windscreen to the other discs :confused: Don't know how it hasn't blown out the window or something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭eringobragh

The chinese are a great much of lads - can clone absolutely anything

Honda main dealer diagnostics for the Mrs civic for little over €100

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Buy-Quality-2014-Newest-Version-V3-002-032-for-Honda-HDS-HIM-Diagnostic-Tool-with-Double/1628308483.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Get a load of the ****e in this forum.

http://www.nast-sonderfahrzeuge.de/MB-Exotenforum/board.php

abc-exclusive-w126-16.jpg[/quote]

The chinese are a great much of lads - can clone absolutely anything

Honda main dealer diagnostics for the Mrs civic for little over €100

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Buy-Quality-2014-Newest-Version-V3-002-032-for-Honda-HDS-HIM-Diagnostic-Tool-with-Double/1628308483.html

Jaysis they do saabs tech 2 for about 250 all in, howya! :D

Most the stuff only works on XP - I run virtual box with an XP VM.

Worth picking up the gear if your keeping the car for any length of time - for the price the Honda HDS was sent DHL and I had it within the week :)

They've a load of key pairing stuff as well on there -infact I got my chipped toyota key there yonks ago and paired it to my mr2.

Most the stuff only works on XP - I run virtual box with an XP VM.

Worth picking up the gear if your keeping the car for any length of time - for the price the Honda HDS was sent DHL and I had it within the week :)

They've a load of key pairing stuff as well on there -infact I got my chipped toyota key there yonks ago and paired it to my mr2.

I'm sure theres an xp disc knocking around somewhere in the world!

Ahh look at them there, the chinese, a great bunch of lads :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

On about diagnostic software. I got INPA(BMW software) with OBDII to usb cable and also a black e39 diagnostic round socket cable to obdII. The round socket is under the bonnet as my car is 1998 and does not have a obdII. That round adaptor was the most expensive part.

They even have the rare but extremely sought after basketball restraining system that every Volvo owner only dreams of having. My car is complete! :pac:

http://m.aliexpress.com/item/2036583134.html

They even have the rare but extremely sought after basketball restraining system that every Volvo owner only dreams of having. My car is complete! :pac:

tedstee0042.jpg?rand=

woah! super uber rare! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

On about diagnostic software. I got INPA(BMW software) with OBDII to usb cable and also a black e39 diagnostic round socket cable to obdII. The round socket is under the bonnet as my car is 1998 and does not have a obdII. That round adaptor was the most expensive part.

Where'd you get the software and cables from? Also, what price?

I got this set K-Line Cable Adapter Set (Blue Cable with Adapter)

from http://www.bcables.com/

Also by mistake I picked the option 4 K-Line Cable Adapter Set uk recorded delivery £37.99 and he still shipped it to my Irish address. So I got it for less as the international address costs more and I picked the uk option by mistake and he still shipped it.

I got this set K-Line Cable Adapter Set (Blue Cable with Adapter)

from http://www.bcables.com/

Also by mistake I picked the option 4 K-Line Cable Adapter Set uk recorded delivery £37.99 and he still shipped it to my Irish address. So I got it for less as the international address costs more and I picked the uk option by mistake and he still shipped it.

Sound, must order a set for myself!

Will you need the round adaptor or has your car the OBDII socket to the right of steering wheel?

Mine's OBDII so won't need the adapter, probably won't order it for a while anyway I'd say.

You will be finding faults you didn't even know you had. :pac:

Like me and all the bloody lights i never knew i had either :o lights in the footwells, lights under the doors, in the boot over the boot...so many lights!

Lights under doors are actually handy, they are on my car as well. It's my first car to have them there.

Edit. you would be glad of all the lights at night when you are looking for something.

Lights under doors are actually handy, they are on my car as well. It's my first car to have them there.

Edit. you would be glad of all the lights at night when you are looking for something.

They are to be honest, in my 900 it has no lights inside at all, not even in the dash, all the bulbs are blown, so the dash is getting pulled soon, its got all the outside lights though so its all good!

It's been INPA'd many times in the past few weeks :pac: Just parking sensor faults at the moment :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,934 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Such a bastard when you cant sleep and you have a hell of a long drive soon. Currently in a hotel on the czech border heading to bologna.
    Been awake for fecking ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

bear1 wrote: »
    Such a bastard when you cant sleep and you have a hell of a long drive soon. Currently in a hotel on the czech border heading to bologna.
    Been awake for fecking ages.

Tell me about it. Currently wide awake in a hotel in Paris waiting for it to get somewhat bright so I can go out and wander. Ded zebra snoring doesn't help :(

Christ that's going to be some long drive!

Went to the circuit du reims gueux yesterday, what an eerie but cool place. You could picture yourself in the grand stand back in 1951 watching and hearing fangio zoom buy setting a lap record in an Alfa 159.
    A must see for anyone who is into cars, transporting you back to a time when cars were cars and men were machines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Lucky you! I had to fit my own light in the boot of the panda. Wiring was all there though.

It's about as much use as a matchstick though.