Who do you admire the most in the world, and why?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Woshy

Does anyone else ever wonder if Pighead is behind AVB's spectacular winding up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,504 ✭✭✭Sinister Kid

My grandparents. At 86 & 82 they still love each other to bits... Over 60 years together & they still laugh, joke & rip the piss out of each other. I hope if I reach that age I have that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I've a lot of admiration and respect for Fr. Peter McVerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Knex. wrote: »
    Jaysus, when did all the cunts break loose? Give Aongus a break.

LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

for me it's Gandhi, many on this forum wouldn't have heard of him but for me he is someone I greatly admire. The way he delivered those lines, his timing and facial expressions, his acting abililities were a wonder to behold, yet he only made one film. He probably was a perfectionist and never got the same quality script

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Hahahahahahaha that was good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

My folks.
    Arctic adventurer Tom Crean.
    Holocaust survivor Sonia Games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

The late Gordon Wilson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Aung San Suu Kyi

Fighting the good fight for Democracy in Burma, and going to prison for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

My two grandfathers. Times were tough when they grew up, and they did the very best they could with what they had for their families. Grafted all day out on farms and any other jobs they could get, and their families never wanted for anything. My father also. But does this kind of thing not go without saying? Don't think this thread is meant for it.

In relation to music, Damon Albarn. Through him, I've gotten into lots of different genre's of music I would never listened to otherwise. In an era when everyone in mainstream music is in it for the fame and money and chart positions and how many records they sell, all he is concerned about is the music. Constantly reinvents himself and delves into and fuses many many genre's, all to critical acclaim. He is everything the music industry should be about. A really humble guy also.

In politics/political struggles, Bobby Sands. Whatever you may think of him or his reason for doing what he did, or whether he was right or wrong, he deserves at least everyone's respect in my opinion. Stared death in the eye and never once faltered. And in his mind, all in the name of Ireland. Very courageous man and his sacrifice has to be admired. Also a very nice man from what I'm led to believe, and always tried to extent the hand of friendship to unionists for most of his life.

In sport, John Treacy. For me, distance running is the ultimate test of character and mental fortitude. It takes real heart to go through the pain barrier, and then to continue on and on relentlessly at the highest level. He often ran himself to the point where he could no longer stand. But what he did in the Olympics of 1984 is staggering in my opinion. Ran two 10,000 meter races and gave it his all, finished 9th in the sweltering heat. Most people would be shattered after that. Then took on his first ever marathon a few days later and finished 2nd, again in excruciating heat, beating the then Olympic record (the winner also beat it obviously). But it was the nature in how he did it. After running two 10,000 meter races and nearly a full marathon in such heat, where everybody was dropping off and fatiguing, Treacy started to go up through the gears and got quicker, and went from 6th to 2nd in the last mile or two, overtaking a British athlete on the home straight. It was astonishing and I can only imagine the pain he put himself through. Treacy had a will of cast iron steel and always wore his heart on his sleeve. The magnitude of the feat he pulled off that day is unprecedented in Irish sport imo, even to this very day, and is very very underappreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Dolly is top drawer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Nucular Arms

The only person I can think of is actually stephen hawking.

Not only one of the greatest minds of our times, which in and of itself is worthy of some admiration, he has been dealt a harsh blow with his disease which he was diagnosed with at just 21 years of age (they gave him only two years to live!) but somehow manages to still have a wry sense of humour about it all.

When they offered him an upgrade to his vocalisation module he declined saying that he "kind of liked it now".

I find his whole attitude, not to mention his achievements admirable in the extreme.

In relation to music, Damon Albarn. Through him, I've gotten into lots of different genre's of music I would never listened to otherwise. In an era when everyone in mainstream music is in it for the fame and money and chart positions and how many records they sell, all he is concerned about is the music.

Estimated net worth Stg£26 million/$40 million.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Fair play to him Frada, that's dedication, and definitely putting his family first.

For me, it would have to be my father.

I've watched that man go through life struggling to bring us all up, often doing without so we didn't have to.

I've seen him and my mum split up due to the stresses and hardship of his work and drinking habits.

Ive seen him subsequently give up drink and get back together again with mam (he's not drank in thirty odd years, and counsells others) and watch them to this day being best friends as well as spouses.

I've seen him almost fall apart when his mother (my granny) collapsed and died in out house when she came to watch a DVD one evening.

I've seen him bury his eldest son (my brother) who passed away unexpectedly and suddenly.

But all the while he's remained a pillar to the rest of us, and if I can be half the man my father is, and can be the same rock for my kids as he's been for us both morally and financially, I'll have did ok imo.

Fair play to him, and you for appreciating him.