Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who do you admire the most in the world, and why?

• 09-04-2015 9:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭

A lad I know is an escapee of the Syrian civil war. He came to Finland without speaking a word of either English or Finnish with his family and he's been managing to support them ever since by delivering pizzas. All the while mastering Finnish, a very difficult language, to the point that studying in the local trade school is a very real possibility. I couldn't imagine the strength it must've taken to muster and it really opened my eyes to how amazing people can be. What a dude.

What about you, who do you admire most in the world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

A lad I know is an escapee of the Syrian civil war. He came to Finland without speaking a word of either English or Finnish with his family and he's been managing to support them ever since by delivering pizzas. All the while mastering Finnish, a very difficult language, to the point that studying in the local trade school is a very real possibility. I couldn't imagine the strength it must've taken to muster and it really opened my eyes to how amazing people can be. What a dude.

What about you, who do you admire most in the world?

If he is delivering the pizzas from Finland ,to you ,here ,in Ireland , then I admire him too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

AH answer... I don't know... Dinny from Glenroe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,055 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

People who have the ability to make me laugh and be happy in their company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Kelly Brook

She has massive tits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Ed Snowden. (But there's always a possibility he might turn out to be a prize pr1ck. Ah sure, isn't it always the way?)

A catholic priest who was in Liberia in civil war in the 90's. Long after everyone else left and the humanitarian situation was truly apocalyptic, this guy stayed and did what he could for the people around him. He was threatened with murder countless times, survived an attempt to take him as a hostage, saw many people maimed and killed but still stood up to some very savage people, and lived to tell the tale. He sheltered and defended many vulnerable people, at enormous risk to himself, a real hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Candie wrote: »
    A catholic priest who was in Liberia in civil war in the 90's. Long after everyone else left and the humanitarian situation was

I admire you the most, Candie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Putin. *posts comment about grabbing popcorn*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Wily Coyote,never gives up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

My husband

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Same here , do want to admire her from the tree tonight or behind the bins ?

Put down the binoculars :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

Hitler, because, even after 69 years , he still pops up in every thread..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Fair play to him Frada, that's dedication, and definitely putting his family first.

For me, it would have to be my father.

I've watched that man go through life struggling to bring us all up, often doing without so we didn't have to.

I've seen him and my mum split up due to the stresses and hardship of his work and drinking habits.

Ive seen him subsequently give up drink and get back together again with mam (he's not drank in thirty odd years, and counsells others) and watch them to this day being best friends as well as spouses.

I've seen him almost fall apart when his mother (my granny) collapsed and died in out house when she came to watch a DVD one evening.

I've seen him bury his eldest son (my brother) who passed away unexpectedly and suddenly.

But all the while he's remained a pillar to the rest of us, and if I can be half the man my father is, and can be the same rock for my kids as he's been for us both morally and financially, I'll have did ok imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

A catholic priest who was in Liberia in civil war in the 90's. Long after everyone else left and the humanitarian situation was truly apocalyptic, this guy stayed and did what he could for the people around him. He was threatened with murder countless times, survived an attempt to take him as a hostage, saw many people maimed and killed but still stood up to some very savage people, and lived to tell the tale. He sheltered and defended many vulnerable people, at enormous risk to himself, a real hero.

Thanks, that was my favourite episode too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

The person I admire most is my father. Raising a large family in rural Galway during the 80s was no picnic but he managed it with aplomb. I tip my hat to him.

I asked my girlfriend who she admired the most once and she revealed it was me!

She went on to say that how I managed to drag myself out of the ambitionless swamp (her words) that is East Galway, emigrate, get a high-quality education, graduate and manage to secure a job on the cutting edge of finance in Frankfurt was nothing less than amazing. She’s been having a hard time with her own family and she claims that I’ve been her rock, not to mention an inspiration during a very difficult time. She was in tears when she finished and I must admit, I was close to it myself.

She’s a good girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

Myself, of course.

Put down the binoculars :)

I will once you take in that bloody dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Damon Albarn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

The person I admire most is my father. Raising a large family in rural Galway during the 80s was no picnic but he managed it with aplomb. I tip my hat to him.

She went on to say that how I managed to drag myself out of the ambitionless swamp (her words) that is East Galway, emigrate, get a high-quality education, graduate and manage to secure a job on the cutting edge of finance in Frankfurt was nothing less than amazing. She’s been having a hard time with her own family and she claims that I’ve been her rock, not to mention an inspiration during a very difficult time. She was in tears when she finished and I must admit, I was close to it myself.

She’s a good girl.

Did she say your name or Walter Mitty?

She’s a good girl.

That is indeed right up there with defending the local population against rebel insurgents during a West African civil war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,920 ✭✭✭buried

A man who I do business with. He and his wife of many years have a severely handicapped daughter. To me, their world could seem such a struggle and cross to bear, but they love their life, really love their only daughter. I don't know how they do it, but they know how to do it. And they don't complain or blame their situation on anything or anyone else, unlike somebody less admirable such as myself might do in that kind of scenario. He, his wife and the countless families like them deserve a real title of respect. A title akin to royalty.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34 Rational Male

Myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I admire people who stand for and speak the truth (or at least, what I see as the truth) on important issues.

People like journalists and political commentators. Martin Adler (killed covering a war in Somalia) is an example of the former, and Noah Chomsky is an example of the latter. I also greatly admire recent Uruguayan president Jose Mujica.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

She’s a good girl.

Yes,I too admire a man who can suck his own c0ck ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

I admire nobody, and nobody admires me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I admire people who are still positive even when facing horrible situations. Not incessantly happy people though, they get on my tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

i don't really admire celebs ect because in my opinion they have money behind them
    The people I would admire are the ordinary Joe Soaps who go out of their way to to help anyone who is struggling without looking for anything in return

Have to say Joanne O'Riordan.

She is inspirational.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

That is indeed right up there with defending the local population against rebel insurgents during a West African civil war.

Oh I didn't realise it was competition :rolleyes: The OP was about a man who delivers pizza for God sake! You don't see me pointing out that he's hardly climbed very high on the socio-economic ladder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

She’s a good girl.

She's amazed by someone getting an education and a decent job......definitely a keeper that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

She’s a good girl.
    Oh thank you ...thank you for this....golden

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

I've met some really inspiring people in my life but it has to be my best friend. A living legend if there ever was one. Insanely positive (in the non-irritating, forced way), sharp as the sharpest knife, upfront and honest with no malice intended and fooking brilliant craic - she's full of the divilment. What you see is 100% what you get with her though she'll always surprise you in the best possible way. She always puts a positive slant on everything because she genuinely loves life and finds everyone and everything interesting. Bar my family, she's my favourite person ever. I feel really honoured to know her and and I think anyone who knows her feels the same.

*Puts the glass of wine down*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Aongus is the greatest comedy creation since Alan Partridge! :D

I've met some really inspiring people in my life but it has to be my best friend. A living legend if there ever was one. Insanely positive (in the non-irritating, forced way), sharp as the sharpest knife, upfront and honest with no malice intended and fooking brilliant craic - she's full of the divilment. What you see is 100% what you get with her though she'll always surprise you in the best possible way. She always puts a positive slant on everything because she genuinely loves life and finds everyone and everything interesting. Bar my family, she's my favourite person ever. I feel really honoured to know her and and I think anyone who knows her feels the same.

*Puts the glass of wine down*

Cold War Kid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭j80ezgvc3p92xu

She’s a good girl.

Well done, in a thread about people who are to be admired as the best the human race has to offer you managed to churn out an article about yourself and how you have been born and educated in a first world country only to emigrate to another first world country. Sir, you are truly an inspiration for us all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Oh I didn't realise it was competition :rolleyes: The OP was about a man who delivers pizza for God sake! You don't see me pointing out that he's hardly climbed very high on the socio-economic ladder.

This all depends....there's a lot more to admire in life than wealth imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

Agricola wrote: »
    Aongus is the greatest comedy creation since Alan Partridge! :D
    He is a good boy.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭johnnybmac

For me, Malala Yousafzai.

An amazing young woman...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Cold War Kid?

Sure I haven't met that kid.....yet!

Nah, friend from school. Been friends for yonks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Sure I haven't met that kid.....yet!

Nah, friend from school. Been friends for yonks!

Since the cold war?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Cold War Kid?
    Haven't met the lovely Beardy but hope to soon!
    Plus, much as I'd like to be as positive as her best bud, I ain't. I try to though, sometimes. :pac:

lol lmao pmsl xxxxxxx

Fair play to him Frada, that's dedication, and definitely putting his family first.

For me, it would have to be my father.

I've watched that man go through life struggling to bring us all up, often doing without so we didn't have to.

I've seen him and my mum split up due to the stresses and hardship of his work and drinking habits.

Ive seen him subsequently give up drink and get back together again with mam (he's not drank in thirty odd years, and counsells others) and watch them to this day being best friends as well as spouses.

I've seen him almost fall apart when his mother (my granny) collapsed and died in out house when she came to watch a DVD one evening.

I've seen him bury his eldest son (my brother) who passed away unexpectedly and suddenly.

But all the while he's remained a pillar to the rest of us, and if I can be half the man my father is, and can be the same rock for my kids as he's been for us both morally and financially, I'll have did ok imo.

And he puts up with you. I agree 100%. Your dads a ledge. :D Ah no, if you're the kid he made, he probably is, kiddo.

She’s a good girl.

There's a barf smilie, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭spongebob89

Similar to first post, I guess I have to admire through good people from any walk of life any neighborhood just having interaction with genuine good honest helpful friendly people makes my day and makes me strive to be more like that.. for all the doom an gloom going around its a breath of fresh air to meet a very optimistic person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

(my granny) collapsed and died in out house when she came to watch a DVD one evening.

Wow, ye have a DVD player in the outside jacks? And what the hell kind of movie did you put on for her??

She’s a good girl.

Capital Fellow!!

I wasn't being sarcastic Aongus, I mean it most sincerely. You're an inspiration to us all, and I count myself amongst your greatest admirers.

Pizza guy is obvious loser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,002 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

She’s a good girl.

I haven't laughed out loud at boards in ages. This guy^^^^^ I admire this guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

I haven't laughed out loud at boards in ages. This guy^^^^^ I admire this guy.

Being fair...it deos produce some comedy gold and grade A wind-up material
    I see no other poster as good/dedicated for it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Jaysus, when did all the cunts break loose? Give Aongus a break.