Who do you admire the most in the world, and why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,774 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

The person I admire most is my father. Raising a large family in rural Galway during the 80s was no picnic but he managed it with aplomb. I tip my hat to him.

I asked my girlfriend who she admired the most once and she revealed it was me!

She went on to say that how I managed to drag myself out of the ambitionless swamp (her words) that is East Galway, emigrate, get a high-quality education, graduate and manage to secure a job on the cutting edge of finance in Frankfurt was nothing less than amazing. She’s been having a hard time with her own family and she claims that I’ve been her rock, not to mention an inspiration during a very difficult time. She was in tears when she finished and I must admit, I was close to it myself.

She’s a good girl.

She's amazed by someone getting an education and a decent job......definitely a keeper that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

She went on to say that how I managed to drag myself out of the ambitionless swamp (her words) that is East Galway, emigrate, get a high-quality education, graduate and manage to secure a job on the cutting edge of finance in Frankfurt was nothing less than amazing. She’s been having a hard time with her own family and she claims that I’ve been her rock, not to mention an inspiration during a very difficult time. She was in tears when she finished and I must admit, I was close to it myself.

She’s a good girl.
    Oh thank you ...thank you for this....golden

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

I've met some really inspiring people in my life but it has to be my best friend. A living legend if there ever was one. Insanely positive (in the non-irritating, forced way), sharp as the sharpest knife, upfront and honest with no malice intended and fooking brilliant craic - she's full of the divilment. What you see is 100% what you get with her though she'll always surprise you in the best possible way. She always puts a positive slant on everything because she genuinely loves life and finds everyone and everything interesting. Bar my family, she's my favourite person ever. I feel really honoured to know her and and I think anyone who knows her feels the same.

*Puts the glass of wine down*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Aongus is the greatest comedy creation since Alan Partridge! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I've met some really inspiring people in my life but it has to be my best friend. A living legend if there ever was one. Insanely positive (in the non-irritating, forced way), sharp as the sharpest knife, upfront and honest with no malice intended and fooking brilliant craic - she's full of the divilment. What you see is 100% what you get with her though she'll always surprise you in the best possible way. She always puts a positive slant on everything because she genuinely loves life and finds everyone and everything interesting. Bar my family, she's my favourite person ever. I feel really honoured to know her and and I think anyone who knows her feels the same.

*Puts the glass of wine down*

Cold War Kid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭j80ezgvc3p92xu

The person I admire most is my father. Raising a large family in rural Galway during the 80s was no picnic but he managed it with aplomb. I tip my hat to him.

She’s a good girl.

Well done, in a thread about people who are to be admired as the best the human race has to offer you managed to churn out an article about yourself and how you have been born and educated in a first world country only to emigrate to another first world country. Sir, you are truly an inspiration for us all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Oh I didn't realise it was competition :rolleyes: The OP was about a man who delivers pizza for God sake! You don't see me pointing out that he's hardly climbed very high on the socio-economic ladder.

This all depends....there's a lot more to admire in life than wealth imo

Agricola wrote: »
    Aongus is the greatest comedy creation since Alan Partridge! :D
    He is a good boy.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭johnnybmac

For me, Malala Yousafzai.

An amazing young woman...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Cold War Kid?

Sure I haven't met that kid.....yet!

Nah, friend from school. Been friends for yonks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Sure I haven't met that kid.....yet!

Nah, friend from school. Been friends for yonks!

Since the cold war?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Cold War Kid?
    Haven't met the lovely Beardy but hope to soon!
    Plus, much as I'd like to be as positive as her best bud, I ain't. I try to though, sometimes. :pac:

lol lmao pmsl xxxxxxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

Fair play to him Frada, that's dedication, and definitely putting his family first.

For me, it would have to be my father.

I've watched that man go through life struggling to bring us all up, often doing without so we didn't have to.

I've seen him and my mum split up due to the stresses and hardship of his work and drinking habits.

Ive seen him subsequently give up drink and get back together again with mam (he's not drank in thirty odd years, and counsells others) and watch them to this day being best friends as well as spouses.

I've seen him almost fall apart when his mother (my granny) collapsed and died in out house when she came to watch a DVD one evening.

I've seen him bury his eldest son (my brother) who passed away unexpectedly and suddenly.

But all the while he's remained a pillar to the rest of us, and if I can be half the man my father is, and can be the same rock for my kids as he's been for us both morally and financially, I'll have did ok imo.

And he puts up with you. I agree 100%. Your dads a ledge. :D Ah no, if you're the kid he made, he probably is, kiddo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

She’s a good girl.

There's a barf smilie, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭spongebob89

Similar to first post, I guess I have to admire through good people from any walk of life any neighborhood just having interaction with genuine good honest helpful friendly people makes my day and makes me strive to be more like that.. for all the doom an gloom going around its a breath of fresh air to meet a very optimistic person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

(my granny) collapsed and died in out house when she came to watch a DVD one evening.

Wow, ye have a DVD player in the outside jacks? And what the hell kind of movie did you put on for her??

She’s a good girl.

Capital Fellow!!

Oh I didn't realise it was competition :rolleyes: The OP was about a man who delivers pizza for God sake! You don't see me pointing out that he's hardly climbed very high on the socio-economic ladder.

I wasn't being sarcastic Aongus, I mean it most sincerely. You're an inspiration to us all, and I count myself amongst your greatest admirers.

Pizza guy is obvious loser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

She’s a good girl.

I haven't laughed out loud at boards in ages. This guy^^^^^ I admire this guy.

Being fair...it deos produce some comedy gold and grade A wind-up material
    I see no other poster as good/dedicated for it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Jaysus, when did all the cunts break loose? Give Aongus a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Being fair...it deos produce some comedy gold and grade A wind-up material
    I see no other poster as good/dedicated for it :)

Yeah,If ever I am lucky enough to meet the master,I'll be sure to buy him a high quality German beer or a 20 something year old single malt scotch-The dude does it right:cool:

crockholm wrote: »
    Yeah,If ever I am lucky enough to meet the master,I'll be sure to buy him a high quality German beer or a 20 something year old single malt scotch-The dude does it right:cool:

Meh.....I wouldn't let it bother ya....life's too short to be annoyed by some randomers on an anymus msg board....it could be worse...he/she is not pushing any racist/bigoted opinions by and large :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Knex. wrote: »
    Jaysus, when did all the cunts break loose? Give Aongus a break.

Dude is the Leonardo da Vinci if winding people up. It's an art and a science. I already knew it was a wind up and still got mad even as I was laughing. You can't just learn that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Meh.....I wouldn't let it bother ya....life's too short to be annoyed by some randomers on an anymus msg board....it could be worse...he/she is not pushing any racist/bigoted opinions by and large :)

It's not bothering me at all,I Think the site can take itself a Little seriously at times,AVB has his niche,and he knows when to use it-someone else said it best,boards Alan Partridge.;););)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Dude is the Leonardo da Vinci if winding people up. It's an art and a science. I already knew it was a wind up and still got mad even as I was laughing. You can't just learn that.

Ahh, case in point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

I think I should get both the parachutes, in case the first on doesn't work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

You measure the value of someone on their financial wealth?
    Can see why you became a #anker :rolleyes:

Audrey Hepburn.

She went through near starvation during the way and came out ready for life and to live it with class guts and love. She did a lot for charity and remained humble and had a clear perception of her small part in the world despite Hollywood fame. She treated everyone with genuine intimacy and kindness. She was a strong person yet not rough. She was a steel butterfly. Cold but kind.

George Soros he lived as a jew in Hungary under German Nazi Occupation. He studied economics and philosophy particularly Karl Popper. He earned a BSc in philosophy in 1951 and a PhD in philosophy in 1954, he then became an arbitrage trader. Soros developed the theory of reflexivity based on the ideas of Karl Popper. Reflexivity taught that that the valuation of a market produces a procyclical "virtuous or vicious" circle that further affects the market. His philosophical writings are read in economics politics and philosophy. He became a business man in the 1970's becoming chairman of soros management. He is one of the most active philanthropists in the world.
    George Soros has made his mark as an enormously successful speculator, wise enough to largely withdraw when still way ahead of the game. The bulk of his enormous winnings is now devoted to encouraging transitional and emerging nations to become "open societies", open not only in the sense of freedom of commerce but—more important—tolerant of new ideas and different modes of thinking and behavior.

He is smart well rounded and a good person. He played a role in the peaceful transition from communism to democracy in Hungary.The man has given away over 4 billion. He is well respected in politics, business and academia.He cemented his reputation as a speculator on Black Wednesday in 1992 speculators forced the british govt to withdraw from the ERM he was one of those made a lot of money on the deal. He is a leftist, he is savy , he is a humanist, he is a gentleman.

I wrote an Essay on reflexivity in politics. He believes that in the past the greatest threats in the past to democracy were facism and communism but now it is mafia states and market fundamentalism.

Dolly Parton. She is crazy like a fox! She came from nothing and became a huge star while still remaining genuine. People scoffed at DollyWood but it provides a lot of employment for the place where she came from. She started a drug rehabilitation center there. She started a national literacy program in the states that provides books for thousands of children. People think she is nuts or Dumb she just laughs. She is polite creative fun and warm. She is honest about her lack of education and realizes it doesn't mean she is not highly intelligent in other ways. She is glamorous and unique.

It's easy to admire someone like Tesla but he was not such a well rounded person.

Pierre Toussaint a former black slave who became a famous philanthropist. His house wasa shelter for orphans, which he supported in getting an education and learning a trade. He also created a credit bureau and employment agency for destitute travelers and founded a refuge for homeless immigrants.

I admire ordinary kind people. I am sure many are unsung. I admire my dad.
    I admire people who are decent and kind when they don't have to be but it's just them or who have the power to ruin people but don't. A true king does not need to tell everyone they are king. It's accepted. People who genuinely respect themselves and others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Aongus Von Bismarck - you CAD!

LadyAthame wrote: »
    Audrey Hepburn.

She went through near starvation during the way and came out ready for life and to live it with class guts and love. She did a lot for charity and remained humble and had a clear perception of her small part in the world despite Hollywood fame. She treated everyone with genuine intimacy and kindness. She was a strong person yet not rough. She was a steel butterfly. Cold but kind.

I took from the title that the person had to be alive.

If it includes dead people I might still go for Joanne O'Riordan (the most positive person I have ever heard) and some adventurer type, like Shackleton. Or a colossus of culture, like Yeats.