Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Farming General

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Cows going into cruise control here 27.5 litres a day at 4%bf and 3.4p with 50% of the herd heifers, if this weather keeps up will definitely go down as a spring to remember....

got my first results just now bf 4.24 pr 3.26 urea 21? scc 149. all heifers ,but grazing strong covers as to not having stock early enough, paddocks will be taken out from now on,..would have been happier with pr a little higher but sure we have to start some where, and it looks like bottom of the class, but at least they are all calved:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭jaymla627

leg wax wrote: »
    got my first results just now bf 4.24 pr 3.26 urea 21? scc 149. all heifers ,but grazing strong covers as to not having stock early enough, paddocks will be taken out from now on,..would have been happier with pr a little higher but sure we have to start some where, and it looks like bottom of the class, but at least they are all calved:P

Your going to be have to be careful re grass quality if you weren't out early and are now chasing around trying to graze off high covers clean-out is going to be bad and grass quality on next round is going to be iffy and will drive down protein and yield....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Beautiful weather on the cows out alright
    But dry and sunny April's usually mean wet summer's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Go rain on someone else's parade Johnny Raincloud!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

From your lips to gods ears....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Silage ground all out and topped with bag of asn today.all closed ground got 3*18 6 12 and 1 asn.cut back on n as a mountain of feed left in yard .will have one lot good to cut first week of May and rest hopefully 20 May .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Go rain on someone else's parade Johnny Raincloud!!
    I won't have to
    Rain should be back by the weekend with a vengance :(

Don't shoot the messenger,it won't change the message!

I won't have to
    Rain should be back by the weekend with a vengance :(

Don't shoot the messenger,it won't change the message!

I was at the creamery this morning and a lad commented that a sup of rain would be welcome, for the craic.

There was some steam rising before he left:-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Quick question on superlevy for Glanbia suppliers

Do you know which month(s) the superlevy will be taken out over the next 3 years? or is that still up for discussion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

A bit of a glass half empty fellow arent ya:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

Panch18 wrote: »
    Quick question on superlevy for Glanbia suppliers

Do you know which month(s) the superlevy will be taken out over the next 3 years? or is that still up for discussion?

nothing is being taken from March milk cheque, but begins for april milk cheq and my understanding of it was its split over three years in even monthly payments, some of the lads on the board might no a bit more, u can pay it upfront if u hav the cash. the tax man might hav done a bit better this yr only for quotas
    a lot depends how eu structure it and who holds the liability the eu,processors or the gov while monies being paid back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Your going to be have to be careful re grass quality if you weren't out early and are now chasing around trying to graze off high covers clean-out is going to be bad and grass quality on next round is going to be iffy and will drive down protein and yield....

Pre-mow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

just do it wrote: »
    Pre-mow

If it's dry.

just do it wrote: »
    Pre-mow

mower going on today taking out 2 paddocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Try to ted it. N bound to be through the roof. Be brave about how much you take out. Easier to supplement a bit less of quality covers than dealing with too high covers. You can see it already in your relatively poor pr. Those bales you are going to make can easily be fed out in a couple of weeks if you go too hard and end up a bit short at the start of the next rotation, they won't impact yields or solids. We weren't brave enough heading into the drought last year and ended up grazing stuff that just wasn't right. We'd have been far better off with the bales and less better quality covers to graze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Timmaay wrote: »
    Hmmmmmmm defo not jumping to conclusions just yet, but SCC 187 last collection, which is the lowest here in probably 2yrs (been anything between 250 and 350 normally) , anyways the 187 is despite the cows having the stress of a new milking parlour etc, I was expecting it to rocket for a week or so! Hopefully this is a sign of things to come!
    Just remembered this morning tim
    when we installed the teat sprayer in the parlour here 3 yrs ago now scc went from 400 to less than 200 over night and now if it's over 100 there is a problem somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,970 ✭✭✭visatorro

leg wax wrote:

Jesus you'll be on the front page of the journal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

visatorro wrote: »
    Jesus you'll be on the front page of the journal

Too late friend dud silage in Kildare yesterday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

whelan2 wrote: »
    dog was barking during milking, went out there was a woman from the dept to inspect for my bulk tank grant, this was at half 5, no phone call or anything, i need to fill in a few holes left in roof from old milk tank and ring her to come back, do they get paid milage for repeat visits?

A college friend of mine has a county council job inspecting illegal quarry etc and he does inspections at all hours. He told me the over time (anything outside normal council hours) and milage was like another wage.
    I presume your inspector is on a similar deal.

Try to ted it. N bound to be through the roof. Be brave about how much you take out. Easier to supplement a bit less of quality covers than dealing with too high covers. You can see it already in your relatively poor pr. Those bales you are going to make can easily be fed out in a couple of weeks if you go too hard and end up a bit short at the start of the next rotation, they won't impact yields or solids. We weren't brave enough heading into the drought last year and ended up grazing stuff that just wasn't right. We'd have been far better off with the bales and less better quality covers to graze.

we had just grazed grass that was growing since mid sept across the road,as i could not be bothered putting the sucklers and baby calves across as so much hassle keeping calves with mothers and they getting lost.

Fair play but bits very early to be baling surpluses like that.you 100% need to ted at least twice if not 3 times and have 3/4 days together like we're getting now ,if not you could have a heap of rotten poorly preserved bales..have you no other stock you could put on it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I was talking to a friend, who has a very large dairy herd, in the Co-op store yesterday and the usual question of "when are you going back milking" came up. I said i'm not as usual.
    He then said there is not point asking you about a partnership or rearing calves/heifers. And his reasoning was that the government tax free income for a guy like me with a steady monthly wage, rules out contract rearing or partnerships. €25k tax free from long term leasing is about 50k earned by working the farm myself or in a partnership.
    Where he would rather spread the workload by contract rearing or a partnership, but cant find anyone willing to do it. If he was to rent my land, he would have to employ another full time person, and it would be a breakeven or loss making excersize.

Fair play but bits very early to be baling surpluses like that.you 100% need to ted at least twice if not 3 times and have 3/4 days together like we're getting now ,if not you could have a heap of rotten poorly preserved bales..have you no other stock you could put on it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Pre mowing, taking out paddocks with surplus grass already, are we in the same country?

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Pre mowing, taking out paddocks with surplus grass already, are we in the same country?
    There is some huge variation across the country.

Very wet last few weeks round here. Barley ground across the river from me was only ploughed yesterday and it's normally ploughed start of march and set on 18th march. And only in the last few days have i seen dry stock out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

I was talking to a friend, who has a very large dairy herd, in the Co-op store yesterday and the usual question of "when are you going back milking" came up. I said i'm not as usual.
    He then said there is not point asking you about a partnership or rearing calves/heifers. And his reasoning was that the government tax free income for a guy like me with a steady monthly wage, rules out contract rearing or partnerships. €25k tax free from long term leasing is about 50k earned by working the farm myself or in a partnership.
    Where he would rather spread the workload by contract rearing or a partnership, but cant find anyone willing to do it. If he was to rent my land, he would have to employ another full time person, and it would be a breakeven or loss making excersize.

You're right, I have a guy taking my maidens. There in his place from 1st of Feb to 1st of November. That's 300 odd days. He's getting €1.10/day. That's €330 for 0.8 of an acre or €410 an acre. He's doing all the fert/fencing/reseeding/water and doing all the work with the heifers.
    Around here he could €300-€350/acre tax free. He has an off farm casual job and is getting the SFP, so tax will be an issue. He's being busy for the sake of it, I think

Edit: when you think about it how many farmers are earning €300/acre after tax. ?? A lot of farmers would be better leasing out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

For those of us who haven't had the start of lads up the country what's the plan. I've two fields I use for silage which om trying to get grazed but ill be 10 days getting thru em, cows are the fastest way as the 25 or so maidens wouldn't move fast enough thru it and I need to be able to serve them and the fields aren't suitable for that. Was thinking of baling part of it now in order to get it grazed by the weekend and fert for end of may silage? Other option is to put heifers on grazing block while I graze the silage ground however it would still cost me an extra week before closing the silage ground. I could leave it ungrazed and cut it in early May but quality may not be the best if not geazed. Have all bar two paddocks of grazing block grazed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

You're right, I have a guy taking my maidens. There in his place from 1st of Feb to 1st of November. That's 300 odd days. He's getting €1.10/day. That's €330 for 0.8 of an acre or €410 an acre. He's doing all the fert/fencing/reseeding/water and doing all the work with the heifers.
    Around here he could €300-€350/acre tax free. He has an off farm casual job and is getting the SFP, so tax will be an issue. He's being busy for the sake of it, I think

Edit: when you think about it how many farmers are earning €300/acre after tax. ?? A lot of farmers would be better leasing out.

Neighbour in dairy here was saying if he was getting the rents some lads are paying he'd nearly sell up the cows and rent it out himself

Sam Kade wrote: »

most of the heifers only arrived 25 of march so i am behind on grazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Milked out wrote: »
    Neighbour in dairy here was saying if he was getting the rents some lads are paying he'd nearly sell up the cows and rent it out himself
    it's a bit like the 60 pence a gallon for quota years ago lots of dairy farmers said they'd be better off leasing out their quota. It was short lived though the same could happen with land when things settle down.