Going bald

Lmao what! How would you know if a man killed himself because he was balding, let alone plenty of men. I just can't imagine anyone would leave a suicide note explaining that they couldn't go on living because they were balding.

Yeah, that did strike me as completely made up.

Incanwave wrote: »
    Why can't it be depression? Plenty of men have killed themselves because their hair fell out so saying it only gets people down is an unfair generalisation.

Mod

Don't troll this forum please. Trolling about suicide is particularly low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Same thing I posted in any balding thread:

My got thinner and started to look really craplast year. Shaved the fecking thing off and now I am happiest bunny ever.

I'm not trolling, men can get seriously depressed due to hair loss as people's perceptions of how they look can have dramatic effects on their self esteem.

We can call them airheads.

No no, I'm not slighting their emotional intelligence, it's a reference to all the air passing through their thinning hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

It's funny how people think about hair.

I started thinning. Shaving it closer and closer. Soon it would have looked like I had islands of hair on my head.
    So I hated the thoughts of becoming one of those people that's just look silly trying to keep it.
    So I started wet shaving it. I also have quite a big scar on my forehead.
    Now I look great (o:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

I'm not trolling, men can get seriously depressed due to hair loss as people's perceptions of how they look can have dramatic effects on their self esteem.

Not sure why this was infracted since it's a fact for a lot of people

As per site rules and forum charter, do not question mod decisions on thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

During the early 90's i had a luxurious head of hair, was into grunge music and looked the part.
    If I couldn't get my hair right, I wouldn't leave the house :)
    Fast forward 10 years and started chemo....woke up to see clumps of hair on my pillow... Walked into the bathroom and just shaved the whole lot off. Never looked back, and don't miss it a bit,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

Just noticed Mark Cagney on the TV, not sure if this thread is responsible but I'm suddenly aware that you could count the hair in his head using two hands - is this a recent decline?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34 Rational Male

I used propecia, for two years and all my hair grew back. I stopped taking it and it thinned again. I just shave it off now, doesn't really bother me either way now I'm 33. Just look after your diet and exercise well. To be honest when my hair started falling out first (at 25) it was harrowing as I thought I'd never get a woman again. Absolutely ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭rab!dmonkey

My hair started thinning when I was around 19. By the time I was 21, I had realised that wearing my hair as long as I used to wasn't going to work any more. I wouldn't say it was a life-shattering disappointment, but it certainly wasn't welcome either, particularly as my Dad has made it to old age with only a slightly raised hairline.

Since then, I've kept my hair short. The worst thing about it is having to apply sun cream to my scalp when riding my bike - otherwise I get burned through the helmet's vents. I took a look at a FUE treatment, but the cost and the associated downtime were quite significant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Why is women getting wrinkles more serious than men going bald?

Because women don't just get wrinkles. The ageing process is far crueler to women than it is to men. You go bald? Boohoo. We grow beards and our uterus' turn against us. Suck it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

rubadub wrote: »
    What were you planning on doing? having a fucking combover?
    As cringeworthy looking as women with obvious dye jobs. I never understood the apparent shame people have in the natural aging process. Do these people lie about the age of their children? at what age does the deceit begin?

During late twenties when looks start to decline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Gi joe!

I've been in the weird situation where I've always had a bit of a receding hairline. I don't know whether I just have a big forehead or whether it was actually receding(maybe both:o), but if I kept my fringe long enough it was barely noticeable.

Hopefully things will stay put as I'm 24 and its around the same, maybe a tiny bit more receded. My dad still has a full head of hair at 60 so I might get lucky! Although if I take after my mum's side I am fcuked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

I think a pint with you would be my idea of hell.

Don't take it as an insult, you may be a very nice man, I am just saying that you are different to me. It's a real "first world problems" topic IMO. I have a few friends who would think themselves attractive, that bit I get. None of them agonise over getting older, losing hair, getting wrinkles etc. I guess they are all secure and comfortable with themselves, they don't need the "mirror mirror" routine for self assurance.

Some people are just insecure. Please don't confuse it with vanity, I would be very sad if I lost my hair. Not because I think I look beautiful now with it, but I would just consider myself way more attractive with it and would be even more insecure if it fell out. Its just how I feel, I can't help it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

kjl wrote: »
    I won't lie, I don't have a lot of things to worry about, but I might be a little vain.

No sh!t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Late 20s? Ah here. Grim outlook to think looks start to decline that early. :)
    If anything that's when men look their best - or even start to look their best.

I agree there's some dismissiveness towards guys on this thread who are emotionally affected by going bald - no matter how much people are ok with it, no matter how much it can look well on a lot of guys, no matter how commonplace it is, it must feel awful to lose your hair. Particularly when young. A guy I work with is 25 and has the teeniest bit of hair left (which he shaves obviously but you can see the stubble) - absolutely gorgeous guy and it suits him, but it must still have sucked beyond belief for him when he started losing his hair at such an early age.

People can make a lot of snide comments to guys about going bald too - as if it's something they can control. It's something that barely registers with me and lots of others, but it is viewed as a big deal by some in relation to others going bald. I agree none of the equivalent would be in any way accepted towards women.

Because women don't just get wrinkles. The ageing process is far crueler to women than it is to men. You go bald? Boohoo. We grow beards and our uterus' turn against us. Suck it up.

We go bald and sprout hair from every bodily orifice.
    We still have to cut the bit that is left.
    Don't start me on man-flu....

While we do not suffer pms, we certainly suffer because of it.

I dont worry about going bald but having that little pluck sticking out at the front surrounded by baldness or else the hair going at each side of my forhead and a strip in the middle remaining. The prob is this cant be solved by shaving it off as you can still see the difference in colour where there is hair growing.

If it happened I'd definitely pay a hungarian surgeon to move up a few pubes - as long as you keep them a blade 2 or less people wont notice they are pubes

Would that not make you a bit of a dickhead?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Mint Aero wrote: »
    It's genetic. Absolutely nothing to do with lifestyle or health or diet.
    I did read a while back that a couple of studies found some environmental factors at play. While the genetic tendency was there such factors like diet etc may play a role. IIRC this effect was almost entirely with diffuse thinning and bald patches at the crown. The hairline didn't seem to be affected wither way. Might explain why some treatments work for the crown and not the hairline. I'll try and dig up a link.
    quad_red wrote: »
    Keep your health and fitness in good order, avoid the paunch that affects the vast majority of middle aged men, and dress well and you'll still be in the top percentiles. Relax....
    This. General flabbiness is entirely within your control to reduce/get shot of.
    Because women don't just get wrinkles. The ageing process is far crueler to women than it is to men.
    I'd agree, or at least it tends to kick in sooner.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

kjl wrote: »
    I'm 34 and show no signs of going bald, but as I see more and more of my friends lose their hair it's definitely something that I worry about, to the point that I have researched FUE and FUT as well as Rogaine and Propecia medical treatment.

I can't imagine what it would be like to lose your hair, I see celebs like Joe Rogan who apparently has had 3 transplant surgeries and still has had to shave his head and now is left with a massive scar on the back of his head.

I live a very stress free life and I notice that most of they guys who I've seen lose their hair are on the go 24/7 and barely get 5-6 hours of sleep a night. Is it possible that this new hectic lifestyle we all lead now has some effect of premature balding. I think bad diet and bad lifestyle definitely plays a part.

If you have lost your hair, please share your story.
    Jesus!!! Dramatic much??? :rolleyes:

Ok, I'll share .......... shaved my head when I was 15 and have kept it shaved ever since so I've no real idea where I stand on the bald-o-meter ......... and I don't care. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

galljga1 wrote: »
    We go bald and sprout hair from every bodily orifice.
    We still have to cut the bit that is left.
    Don't start me on man-flu....

While we do not suffer pms, we certainly suffer because of it.

In comparison, ye get off lightly. We get hair in places no one should have hair, things shrink, things sag, things dry up. We sweat uncontrolably.All the wonderfully disgusting things that make us a woman stop happening. I'd swap it all for going bald any day of the week.

SUPERKush wrote: »
    Not the end of the world.

Be thankful you have your health. You could be diagnosed with cancer tomorrow. Then you'd have something to worry about.

While I'm a big believer in the "it could be a whole worse" and the "don't sweat the small stuff" it's not fair to dismiss people's insecurities because of it.

I have had body image issues, I've also had much much more important and horrible things happen to me, but I can't help the fact that my body issues have gotten me down. The harsh reality is that we (men and women) are often judged on how we look and when you start to lose something that makes you confident, it's not an easy pill to swallow.

My hair is my favourite part of me, I know if I always keep my hair looking good, I can feel good. If that was taken away from me I would find t very difficult to deal with.

I am bald, overweight, unfit and approaching 50.

That is why I am pulling all the ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Started thinning at sixteen, shaved it all off at seventeen when it was starting to tell. I'm more aerodynamic, I cool down faster while running, I save time and money when showering, and putting on a suit makes me look goddamn fantastic. Hair is for losers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Just noticed Mark Cagney on the TV, not sure if this thread is responsible but I'm suddenly aware that you could count the hair in his head using two hands - is this a recent decline?
    He shaved it off live on the show for the "shave or dye" charity. Seems he is probably keeping it that way, and looks far better to me. It was really thin and like a "comb back" rather than "come over", he was often taking the piss out of himself anyway.

The other presenter could have done with it too, really weird looking fringe thing going on.

I know another guy who shaved for charity and kept it short, he was not going bald at all. There is no real stigma to having a shaved head these days, in the early 90s it was seen as shocking, like a nazi skinhead look. Older guys might have got away with it, but many were keeping the horrible Mr Burns style hair. Having a shaved head is one less thing to worry about, no maintenance.

I know a guy in his early 40s with a mr burns style haircut, looks totally ridiculous. He does shave it off completely sometimes and looks fine then.

I love my hair. If I go bald I will shoot myself. Strange irony is hiding bald bit by shaving head. hello! You are still bald!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Strange irony is hiding bald bit by shaving head. hello! You are still bald!
    I don't think they are hiding anything, just doing what looks best, and its far easier to manage. Do you think they would look better with a Mr Burns haircut, or combover or a wig? I cringe when I see any of those and just think FFS shave it off, it looks ridiculous.

Same with women, you see these auld ones sometimes with totally grey eyebrows but with jet black hair that a goth would be jealous of. Looks fucking ludicrous.

I always think well of women in their 30's who just let themselves go grey, speaks well of their character, not succumbing to what society thinks they should do -and the dye market, refreshing to see it. I wonder how much some people do squander over their life on this stuff, which probably causes hair damage or premature hair loss itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

I've receded a bit (34). But not to worry: if it recedes any more I'll just end it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭The Strawman Argument

Mine's been very slowly falling out forever, I'm 25 now and it's well past the point that I can keep my hair with any kind of length. I've enough body image issues that I'm not that concerned, even if I had the best hair in the world I'd still be annoyed about a dozen other things on my head alone.

Mostly just annoyed that I let baldness paranoia ruin the patch in my late teens and early 20s where I could've gotten loads of haircuts to be hugely embarrassed by in the future. I'll never have dreadlocks now :(