Not Quite Four Laps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

you need to work on the "stare".

good session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Strange sort of week. Came down with a cold on the Tuesday (first in a long, long time thankfully) and as usual I could feel it on the few runs in the days preceding the symptoms starting on the Sunday Long Run.

Sun 15.03.15

12.3 @ 6.56/mi

After being so good all weekend, I was up early on the Sunday and thought I would be really fresh and enjoy this run in Phoenix Park. Felt so tired from the start and never got to feeling any stronger as the run progressed. Suspected I might be coming down with something and unfortunately this was true :(.

Mon 16.03.15

5.2 @ 7.33/mi

Another real chore of a run at lunch time.

Tue 17.03.15

Rest

Out for a few birthday drinks on the night previous. So nice of the government to declare a public holiday after my birthday so I can always go out and celebrate and have the next day off work :P. I'll not divulge my age ;)
    Well, the cold had kicked in big time and coupled with the hangover, I barely had the energy to extricate myself from the bed, let alone do anything productive.

Wed 18.03.15

5.4 @ 6.48/mi

Felt weak on this run but at the same time the effort wasn't massive. Always find with a cold that I can easy run OK but anything higher effort is a definite 'no'

Thu 19.03.15

W/U, 2 X 15 w/ 2 min rec, W/D

Paces: 6.01, 6.00

Went down to the club but didn't really know what to do. Everyone was doing 3 X 15 so I joined in but kept my own pace off the back. Again, felt very lethargic but I didn't kill myself either.

Fri 20.03.15

3.1 @ 8.09/mi

Couldn't do my usual lunch run so got out for a few miles in the evening. Had assumed I'd run longer but felt like crap so just did a few strides after a small warm up and jogged home.

Sat 21.03.15

W/U, BHAA NUI 4 Mile XC, W/D

3.9 @ 5.52/mi

Had decided a few weeks ago that I'd run this as a 'last hurrah' to the cross country season and I'm not one for changing a plan so I travelled out despite not being in top form.
    It was an amazing days and the grounds out in Maynooth are really picturesque so it was definitely worth it in any case. Really flat course but the grass was quite long in places, which I always find a bit of a killer. After registering, I did a warm up lap of the course, some dynamic stretching and then some strides. I wasn't getting any magic increase in energy but hoped that the race day adrenaline might do me some favours. I sometimes feel really weak in advance of a race and do really well so I wasn't writing anything off yet.
    Recognised a few heads at the start line that I'd usually be about in these races so when the gun went off, I tried to settle in with these. This lasted for all of 200m and they started to pull away. There was just nothing there. Still, I felt I was going at a decent pace but after almost a mile, I had my first glance at the watch and saw 6.0x pace. Not great. After the second lap, I started to feel a bit better and gained ground on some of the runners ahead. The field was really strung out so this was a gradual process.
    I was finally enjoying myself and was out of my own internal struggle and just concentrating on the next runner ahead. Last mile was 5.33 pace so a good finish at least.

Sun 22.03.15

12 @ 7.20/mi

Down to the Phoenix Park again and struggling a small bit too for the first 5 miles when I met some of the Cru out on a long run. Joined them for a few miles at an easier pace and when we parted ways. I picked up the pace and felt an awful lot better. It doesn't get much better than running the S bends on a sunny day in Phoenix Park :D

Hopefully, I'm fully over the cold now as first speed session of the year is next Tuesday. Coach's favourite session of 8 X 400 w/ 90s recovery. No track, which is a bummer but it will be nice to sharpen up a bit with the first graded meet only a month away. It begins......

Gleedog wrote: »
    Ya need to come live in Maynooth, never get any hassle from any kids there :P

I was out there Saturday and yea it's really picturesque and all the people look really happy but where's the character :P.
    you need to work on the "stare".

good session.

I think trr gives classes in this now. Must sign up. Very powerful technique though and should only be brought out in situations of dire need.

Mon 23.03.15

5.3 @ 6.56/mi

Finally back to normal after a week of being slighlty under the weather

Tue 24.03.15

W/U, 8 X 400 (w/ 90s recovery), W/D

Times: 66, 68, 66, 69, 66, 69, 66, 68

With the graded meets only a month away, its time for the faster reps and the longer recoveries. Was thankful that there was four of us down of a similarish level to do these because it was always going to be difficult.

Still with no track, we had to do these around the hurling pitches in Sean Moore Park. Route is down the length of 2 hurling pitches and along the width of the far pitch, 90 seconds rest and then back the same way. There was a bit of a wind in one direction, which is reflected in the splits. Wore my new track spikes for the first time (Adidas Avanti) and must say they were really good and I look forward to trying them on the track, whenever that is :rolleyes:.

After the warm up, some dynamic stretching and a few strides, we took off on the first rep. It was a strange feeling to be really pushing it from the start and when I hit the lap button at the end, I wouldn't have been surprised to see any time pop up. Saw 1.06 and my first reaction was 'No way that could have been 76s'. Then it hit home. Been a while since I've seen 6x for a 400 split :P. In to the wind was always going to be a bit tougher but happy to keep them all under 70. Just about. Legs were tiring after 2-3 reps and I was worried about keeping the splits consistent but got a second wind and didn't actually feel too bad at the end.

Was nice to finish the session and still be out of breath 5 minutes later :eek: Been a long while. Chest was burning too on the warm down. It really is a totally different type of training.

Wed 26.03.15

5.3 @ 6.58/mi

Felt good going off but the legs tired for the middle few miles. Probably some residual effects from the session yesterday. Should have taken it a little handier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Wow, that's some opening speed session. Keep it up.

Thu 26.03.15

W/U, 3 X 15 w/ 2min jog recovery, W/D
    Paces: 6.06, 5.46, 5.54

Never really look forward to this session but we decided beforehand that we would take it very handy after the Tuesday session. First one was OK but then we had a late joinee and the pace was upped for the second rep. Legs felt tired but still the pace was manageable so stuck with it. Third one was similar. One of those sessions that it is good to get done but not the most enjoyable to actual do.

Fri 27.03.15

Off

Had no time to get out at lunch but a rest day was a good idea anyway. Just needed the circumstances to make the decision for me:D

Sat 28.03.15

W/U, 5 X 1k, W/D
    Times: 3.19, 3.09, 3.18, 3.12, 3.16

Never the best place to go on a windy day but it was down to the Acres in the Phoenix Park for the traditional 5 X 1k session that signals the onset of the summer. We went for a slightly different 1k stretch than usual and we suspected that it might have been slightly short. Garmin data seems to corroborate here. On a day like yesterday, it was never going to be about times anyway. The wind affected both the over and the back repetitions but it was a longer stretch in to the wind on the over stretch, whcih can be seen in the times.

Even on the first one, the legs were getting a little jellified towards the end from battling in to the wind so it was a big effort to keep all the times similar at the end. Was actually delighted when I reviewed the spilts at then end and saw all the wind effected reps were quicker than the previous. Felt like I was running through treacle on the last one but I must have managed to keep the pace up.

Thw downhill, wind assisted warm down to Drumcondra felt pretty sweet after that effort.

Sun 29.03.15

14.5 @ 6.52/mi (w/ last 15 mins at 5.50/mi)

Set out just 20 minutes too early for this and it was teeming it down for the run up to Phoenix Park but actually cleared up nicely once I arrived. Met up with a clubmate at the Garda HQ we went on a lap of the park, sticking to the trails at first but they were very flooded so we eventually left them for the paths. He was sticking to the coaches notes, which were under 7 minute miling for 65 minutes with the last 15 at 6.15 pace. As luck would have it (or maybe good planning :)), the 15 minute stretch was down the North Road with the wind at our back so the faster pace is probably a little misleading. Calf was tightening during the session and I had to stop briefly at one stage. Been a while since any issues like this so hopefully it will loosen out by tomorrow. I'm rather appropriately getting at it with a sliotar while both watching the hurling on the telly and listening to the Tipp match on the radio. Who said men can't multitask :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭thewolf_ie

Similar on my 1k session had 200 meters every 400 of a tough wind.

thewolf_ie wrote: »
    Similar on my 1k session had 200 meters every 400 of a tough wind.

...better to get it in training than a race anyway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Just in case you were looking for them: results
    Did well to claw back the gap to just 1 second!

Just in case you were looking for them: results
    Did well to claw back the gap to just 1 second!

Cheers KC.

Yea, I nearly had the fecker. It wasn't the kind of finishing chute that would be conducive to a very tight finish so probably best that I didn't get too close. Could have ended up with the two of us in a heap with the marshals entwined in the finishing tape. I'll take it as a non track 3K PB, which means I can have the beer this evening :D. Now down to the off licence :rolleyes:

Mon 30.03.15

4.7 @ 7.27

Knew I shouldn't have run today but I haven't had any niggles in so long that I forgot about treating them with tender care. My calf muscle tightened up a good bit after the long run yesterday and despite feeling a bit better today, I should have just given it the extra days rest. Felt it for most of the run and I was running a little restricted. Still it wasn't until after that it really tightened up and I was hobbling about the place :mad:

Tue 31.03.15 - Wed 01.04.15

Rest

Gave it a few days for the muscle to loosen out. Bit of sliotaring and foam rolling to help it along.

Thu 02.04.15

W/U, Fit4Life 3k (9.26), W/D

Bit of a risky move running this race but I felt the muscle had loosened out sufficiently to give it a go. Stayed on a bit after work and then headed straight down to Shanagangh Park, which is about a mile away. Didn't feel amazingly energetic now but its hard to pay any heed to pre-race energy levels as they can fluctuate massively based on experience and are no indicator of how you'll perform. Met KC, Abhainn and Emer911 at the registration and then myself and KC headed out on a short warm up.

Few warm up exercises with strides and before you knew it we were lining up at the start line. Intended on going out quickly but found myself a good bit behind KC and another Bray Runner with Neil W out on his own in front from early on. Slowly reeled KC in and was about to go by but they were making quite a wall with the two of them running side by side and I was reluctant to go by until we hit a straight. Finished the first small 1k loop and the time was called at 3.07, which wasn't bad. Now I moved round KC and the other BR and tried to pick up the pace a little. The gap to Neil up ahead was staying pretty constant but it was quite big at about 20m. There were 2-3 tight turns in the 2nd k that probably cost a bit of time and when we reached the marker, time was called out at 6.20. I was disappointed at the time but looking back it can probably be explained by the wet surface and the tight turns. Knowing the course pretty well, I was happy to up the pace a small bit for 500m and then push it out for the last 500m as we finished out the race with half a lap of the 1k loop at the back of the park. Executed this pretty well and was reeling in Neil at a good rate in the last 200m but didn't quite make it, finishing a second back.

Enjoyed the race and while I was disappointed to not get under 9.20, I was happy with the strength I showed at the end.

Fri 03.04.15

Rest

Took another day off as a precaution for the calf muscle that I could feel was a little tight after the race

Sat 04.04.15

W/U, 3 X (4 X 200 w/ 45s recovery) w/ 6 min between sets, W/D
    Times: (30.3, 29.7, 31.8, 30.3), (29.9, 29.8, 32.6, 30.8), (30.9, 30.1, 32.8, 30.6)

This looks a whole lot easier on paper than it is in reality. How hard can a mile and a half's running in a about twenty minutes be?

Weather conditions were neigh on perfect, although the wind did pick up a little just before we started. Coach marked out a 200m stretch on the grass along a side of the Acres in Phoenix Park. First and third reps were in to the wind and up a very gentle incline, meaning the third rep was a killer on each set. We did some ridiculous looking drill before we started. I think I'm going to have to accept the fact that as a middle distance runner, you run less and do an awful lot more prancing about :D

I stuck just behind the two 800m runners I was doing this with for most of the session. I was contemplating heading down to Tipp on Friday and doing this session on my own, which in retrospect would have been a huge struggle. The aim was approx 31s for each 200 and the average probably worked out close to this so job done from that perspective. The purpose of this session was to get a bit of lactic tolerance and it was definitely evident for the last two reps of each set. Got the irony lactic taste in my mouth and my ears were completely blocked for the last set. This was irritating because it meant that the sound of your breathing was really amplified so it was hard to relax. Common enough according to the more seasoned track runners but first time I'd experienced it.

Stitches in every part of my body on the warm down. Don't know what I did myself in that session but there definitely are a lot of unusual side effects from running really hard.

Sun 05.05.15

6.2 @ 6.50/mi

Should have went longer today but a few too many on the night previous and I was glad just to get out for anything. Lovely day and great to be back running on the country roads of Tipp but hard to fully appreciate it with a banging headache and tumultuous stomach :mad:. Having said that, I felt so much better after finishing. Best hangover cure out there :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

That's a very impressive set of 200s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

What do you think you could do for 800m this summer, sub 2 mins?

dna_leri wrote: »
    What do you think you could do for 800m this summer, sub 2 mins?

I think getting under 2 might be a bit of a stretch this year but would like to get within 2-3 seconds of this. Coach has said that he would like me to run the 8 instead of the 15 at the IMC meet at the start of May so will get a good indicator there of what might be possible later in the summer. If I could run 2.05ish there and knock a few seconds off that by the end of the summer, then I'd be very happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

You're flying at the minute KU, serious stuff in the last few months.

Are you gonna concentrate on the shorter stuff for the summer?

Any inclination to run the 26.2 this year?

TbL

You're flying at the minute KU, serious stuff in the last few months.

Are you gonna concentrate on the shorter stuff for the summer?

Any inclination to run the 26.2 this year?

TbL

Cheers TbL

Its the middle distance for the foreseeable now. I don't have any long term plans but as long as I'm enjoying it, I'll stick to the track and the cross country with the odd road race and leave the marathon until I'm an auld lad :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

FU KU ;)

TbL

Sitting here taking it easy ahead of the Road Relays tomorrow so thought I'd take the opportunity to update my log before it comes too unwieldy.

Mon 06.04.15

8 @ 6.39/mi

This is quite a hilly route down in Tipp so I was shocked that my pace was so quick. One mile has 200ft of climbing and I ran it at 7 min/mile pace. I wasn't taking it easy but I wasn't killing myself either so delighted with that. Such a scenic run too and a beautiful day from what I remember

Tue 07.04.15

W/U, 3 X 8mins, W/D

Paces: 5.44, 5.41, 5.44

With the trial for the Relay's on Thursday, we switched the tempo run to today. It seems like only a month ago (it was :eek:) when we were running these in a snow blizzard in the pitch dark. How things have changed in such a short period :cool:. Still not a fan of these but they're easier in the sunshine.

Wed 08.04.15

4.7 @ 6.53/mi

Easy lunch run in Shanganagh Park with a few strides thrown in to ready up the legs for the trial tomorrow.

Thu 09.04.15

W/U, Cru Selection Race (~2 miles in 10.20 & 3rd place), W/D

Today was the selection race for the Road Relays. A few of the lads weren't running so a third place finish was a very likely scenario. This is exactly as it worked out. Slipped in to third place almost from a few metres in and stayed there till the end. Well, Tom Frazier did pass me for half a lap but got him back at the end. Think he was just on a short marathon paced run ahead of his 2.17 performance :eek:. Was nice to run with him for a mile or two anyway.

Fri 10.04.15

5.2 @ 7.16/mi

Got out at lunch to Shanganagh.

Sat 11.04.15

W/U, 2 X (4 X 400 w/ 200 jog recovery), W/D

Times: 66, 73, 68, 68, 64, 71, 69, 71

With all the races at the weekend it was just me and some of the Cru girls doing this session and I ended up running all of them essentially on my own. It was quite windy, which explains some of the discrepancy in the times but not all of it. Still can't quite fathom that 73. I was running hard and can only think that there was some issue with the watch. Not a bad session anyway. The effort was definitely there. Good 3-4 mile warm up and warm down.

Sun 12.04.15

11.7 @ 6.48/mi

Waited out the worst of the weather and got out at half ten and down to the Phoenix Park. Was tired enough throughout and for this reason decided to rest up on the Monday and recover from what have been a few tough sessions recently.

Mon 13.04.15

Rest

Tue 14.04.15

W/U, 3 x (4 X 200 w/ 45s rec. & 6 min between sets), W/D

Times: 29, 30, 28, 30, 28, 28, 30, 29, 28, 30, 29, 30

Down in Sean Moore Park and the coach gave us a rough indication of where the 200 was but I don't think it was quite right. Garmin pace showing ~ 4.00/mi pace or a little over so I reckon they were worth about the 30/31 second in general. Again, a much tougher session than it looks on paper and the legs are getting so weak for the last two reps on each set and especially the last one. The two 800 lads weren't down so I ran this with JM and the girls again but in general had to set my own pace. Happy with the consistency.

Wed 15.04.15

5.3 @ 6.27/mi

Out to Shanganagh Park at lunch time again.

Thu 16.04.15

W/U, 3 X 8 w/ 2 min jog rec., W/D

Paces: 5.5x, 5.52, 5.46

Down to the park and was joined by Moorsey for a tempo. Legs were a little tired but in general felt fine. Just good to get something a little faster in the legs ahead of Sunday

Fri 17.04.15

5.5 @ 6.53/mi

See Wednesday

Sat 18.04.15

5.2 @ 7.34/mi including 5 X Soccer pitch length strides

The now traditional pre race 5 easy miles with strides. Felt very tired but probably due to a few drinks on the previous night more so than anything.

So that's it. Road Relays tomorrow and I'm down for the mile leg on the Cru 'A' team. Excited and nervous about this. It's a really great occasion and briiliant to watch but there's no place to hide when you're running. Unlike the XC, where if you have a bad day then you can rely on one of your team mates to be a scorer on the team. Here, your team mate has to wait for you to finish and if you feck it up, then they are at a disadvantage straight away. I guess that's what make's it good too and normally I operate better when there is something on the line so hopefully this is the case tomorrow too. The 1500m sessions should leave me in a good place for the mile leg anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

All the best tomorrow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Good luck KU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Good luck today

Sun 19.04.15

W/U, Road Relays 1 Mile Leg (4.43), W/D

Swear, I've never been so nervous before a race. Pressure of running on the first team and over a distance that I haven't raced in about 2 years left me a little unsure of myself. I knew I wasn't in bad shape but was just unsure if that would be good enough, Nightmare scenario would be getting the 'baton' (well, there's no actual baton) in a challenging position and leaking places before handing over to JF.

All said and done, you can be fairly antsy in the build up but once you get going it's all forgotten. I was 2nd out and KF handed over me after a quality 2 mile leg in about 9th-10th place in a group of 4. The other 3 lads absolutely legged it off at what'd I'd say would be more akin to my 200m place. I was worried about letting them go but I knew I couldn't handle it and if they could, then more power to them. The Ennis Track lad's enthusiasm was short lived and he came back to me after about 400m. The other two kept the initial gap but it wasn't getting any bigger up to the halfway point. Now was the time to make the move. I upped the pace a little and felt strong. I was reeling in one of the guys and passed him with about 400 to go. Now it was just a Rathfarnam guy within touching distance. I was ever so slowly making ground on him and when we turned the corner in to the home straight, I thought I had him. I really opened up but he finished really strong too and maintained the 2 second gap. Handed over to JF anyway satisfied with a race well run and gave him something to work with. As expected, he stormed his way through the field to 4th but the top 3 had a bit of a gap so there was no medal in it for us today. Great to finish so far up in a quality field though and loved the experience. Will be back for sure next year.

Mon 20.04.15

5.3 @ 7.23/mi

A little bit sleep deprived and a little bit tender from the Relay celebrations but felt so much better after this lunch time run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Deadly run, you looked strong, especially at the changeover. Fourth is a good place to be, good springboard for next year ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Great running, saw you on your warm up laps a couple of times when I was out walking with the twins but unlike me, they had no interest in hanging around to watch your race :(

Tue 21.04.15

4.8 @ 7.22/mi w/ strides

Just an easy one with some club mates. Strides before and after.

Wed 22.04.15

W/U, Dublin Graded 'B' 1500m (4:14.82 :cool:), W/D

A long time since the title change to the log and finally I've a 1500m under the belt. It was quite the experience :eek:

Full of Boardsies out in Santry. Raycun and ecoli in the 10,000 and then myself, Timmaay and wolfie in the 1500. I was aslo surprised to meet a clubmate that joined the Cru before Christmas but hadn't been down in a few months before the start. Another 1500m runner. Formerly a low 3.50 guy but just getting back in to it. Hopefully he's back for good now because he would be a great training partner to have.

After a mile and a half warm up with him, we met up with Timmaay and headed over to the start. Only 4 in the 'A' race, so they chucked these guys in with one of the 'B' races and then there was one sole 'B' race. Myself and the clubmate were in the 'B' and Timmaay was in the A/B race. I got in a few strides and then we were called to the line.

Took up a position second from the inside with the intention of going out hard and getting a position at the top of the field early on. Gun went and I got a good start, slipping in to second after about 20m when things settled down. Trouble started then when two guys came up on my shoulder and just stuck there. I was completely boxed in. The pace was very slow and I was getting really frustrated. I was sort of hoping that the adrenaline was misleading me in to thinking we were going slower than was the actual case. A call of '71' after one lap confirmed otherwise. Had to make a move, so I just stuck out the hand and forced my way out to take the lead and upped the pace. Felt so much better being able to run at my own pace but then we passed the line and there was just two laps left. Couldn't believe it. Jaysus, the race is nearly over. Tried to inject some more pace and now I was working hard. Think a few guys passed me at some stage on this lap but my memories are sketchy. Was just focussed on keeping the momentum going. Hit the bell and now it was just flat out to the end. Can't really remember the last lap at all but I was catching one guy in the straight before he realised and put in a small surge to keep just ahead at the line. Might have been fourth or fifth but again not sure. Lot of internal focus during the race. :D

Looked at the watch after the race and read 4.33. I was absolutely livid and thought I had completely fecked it up. It was only 2 or 3 minutes later, chatting to the club mate that reality dawned. I looked at my watch again to see 4.14. Weird. That was a bad few minutes :D. Anyway, it was long enough for me to think of a few instances in the race that I can improve upon for the next time. It really was over before you could really think though.

The garmin record of the race probably sums up the race better than I can, Very fast start, slow first lap, faster second lap, even faster third lap, a little bit faster fourth lap, finished.

1500_zps9pb7um9m.jpg

Thu 23.04.15

5.3 @ 7.00/mi

Nice east run in the glorious sunshine. Have developed what I'm terming the 'Miler's Cough'. Had a case after the Relay's and again today. It certainly is a distance that is tough on the lungs

Fri 24.04.15

5.2 @ 6.59/mi

Feeling a lot less tired on these lunch runs since the mileage has dropped ever so slightly. Legs feel a lot stonger

Sat 25.04.15

W/U, 2 X (4 X 400 w/ 200 jog recovery) w/ 3 mins between sets, W/D
    Splits: 67.0, 70.8, 67.3, 69.7, 65.0, 70.3, 67.2, 68.7

Fairly rank conditions but a couple of us had arranged to head out to Santry and use the track rather than doing this on the grass in the Phoenix Park. Ran the 3.5 miles out there, all fairly uphill and in miserable conditions only to find out that the track was being used for an amputee/wheelchair event. Nuts! We drove back to Sean Moore Park, did another short warm up, followed by dynamic stretching and strides. By this stage our enthusiasm was very low but we got going. Aim was 1500 pace, which I now know :), so 67s per 400. Hit the splits fine in one direction but in to the wind, it was impossible to run much faster than 70s. Would have been worried but it was the same case for all three of us so just putting it down to conditions. Happy with the effort and the splits were decent.

Sun 26.04.15

12 @ 6.48/mi

Such an enjoyable run in the Phoenix Park this morning. Legs were sore yesterday and still a little bit today after the session yesterday but more a general soreness than any muscle soreness so nothing to worry about I think. Felt tired going out but still the pace felt effortless. This lapsed in to actual tiredness for a few miles on the trails by the North Road. Once I reached my favourite side of the park, I always feel better and it was great running the ups and the downs facing in to the glorious sunshine. Back in time to then catch the bulk of the London Marathon.

You should have nipped up the road to the track at ALSAA. Rubbish track but better than no track. We got caught in the same mess so headed up there.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    You should have nipped up the road to the track at ALSAA. Rubbish track but better than no track. We got caught in the same mess so headed up there.

Yea, thought of that after but I've never ran on the track there, although have ran some XC races on the grounds, so it didn't come to mind at the time. Briefly considered the cinder track in Kilbarrack but that's bad enough when there hasn't been a deluge of rain all morning.

ALSAA would do the job if you get caught up in something like that again. Maybe wear something with a bit more cushioning as the track is hard and in terrible state. But I guess beggars can't be choosers when it comes to tracks in Dublin at the moment.

Ridiculously good run in such appalling conditions. Well done.