Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Moo call

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Tyred it on a few here,
    First one it went off twice the day befoure she calved and agin the next day an hour befoure she calved but the calf ended up comeing backwards. All good.

Next few were all heifers and it worked fairly good I have to say. Yet to try it in a cow.

It hasn't come off or even loose but it's easy to over tighten it so you don't need to tighten the strap to mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Strap broken and moo call lying in ****e today. Il have to give them a call tomorrow. Not overly impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

Miname wrote: »
    Strap broken and moo call lying in ****e today. Il have to give them a call tomorrow. Not overly impressed.
    Did ya get that email off them today ? I will try to put it up here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

Note from moocall issued today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Tornbrook

Bodacious wrote: »
    I got text at 19.56.. Shot down and water bag and feet coming correct .. Cow calved by 20.30... She third calver and a good cow to throw them out so they do tell you that mature cows you mightn't get the full hour notice

4thcalver had the Moocall on, text came reporting activity. Father in law went to yard to check the cow and the calf was out, she calved very quick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Tornbrook wrote: »
    4thcalver had the Moocall on, text came reporting activity. Father in law went to yard to check the cow and the calf was out, she calved very quick.

My last one was the same 2005 cow and she has calved all the hard calving BB and Char in the book KIB DEZ BYU etc and when I got text she had her landed

has anyone experienced problems with MooCall left on tail for 4 days in a row or more?

Tornbrook wrote: »
    has anyone experienced problems with MooCall left on tail for 4 days in a row or more?

Have left if on for a few weeks when I picked the wrong cow to calve next. Ha. You don't have to tighten it to mad I found so I don't see a problim. It's probably a safety thing as they probably got calls from lads complaining of cows losing their tail, but that wouldn't have anything to do with lads strapping them on like there's no tomorrow :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Right guys.
    Price??
    389 + 170
    559???
    You's all still happy with it??

Jb1989 wrote: »
    Right guys.
    Price??
    389 + 170
    559???
    You's all still happy with it??

Got mine for 299 and it's worth every single cent!

Only regret I have is that I didn't get one earlier in calving seasoning!

Frees up so much time .. Don't have to fly home at lunch or straight down to cows after work if one is close to calving .. I can have tea and organise myself better do jobs etc rather than getting straight into the feeding as need to see them.. Have saved on diesel also as no wasted trips!

Got mine for 299 and it's worth every single cent!

Only regret I have is that I didn't get one earlier in calving seasoning!

Frees up so much time .. Don't have to fly home at lunch or straight down to cows after work if one is close to calving .. I can have tea and organise myself better do jobs etc rather than getting straight into the feeding as need to see them.. Have saved on diesel also as no wasted trips!

+1 really didn't think it would work as well.

Right id behappy with them recommendations
    Will have to ring regarding price as the internet advertised price is a lot dearer than You's payed

Rang them
    389 now
    Up 89 from original price
    Better order before it goes up more

5 cows calved here, 4 of which were wearing the MooCall, it worked well and notified us each time.
    Thankfully all cows calved unassisted, including 2 sets of twins.

All positives
    I ordered mine
    Should be here Tuesday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Jb1989 wrote: »
    All positives
    I ordered mine
    Should be here Tuesday

I wouldn't be 100% happy. While it is an aid it doesn't seem consistent. Had one the other day text me 6 hrs before she pushed out the water bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Would these work outside lads and are they quick to put on as in would you manage while the cow is eating a few nuts at the trough. Be right handy for me in the winterage but I'm wary enough of it getting broken aswell.

They work fine outside. I put them on all the time when the cow is just standing there but my girls are very quiet so you'll know yourself with yours. Once you have the strap on nice and tight you'll be grand.

I find with heifers you get an extra hour or two warning but with cows it may be an hour or as she is starting. I had one cow go off the day befoure but I think she was sorta sick for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

They work fine outside. I put them on all the time when the cow is just standing there but my girls are very quiet so you'll know yourself with yours. Once you have the strap on nice and tight you'll be grand.

I find with heifers you get an extra hour or two warning but with cows it may be an hour or as she is starting. I had one cow go off the day befoure but I think she was sorta sick for a while.

Nearly too late for me this year anyway, have cows in a winterage a few miles away and calve them outside there. Can be a right pain in hole checking them at night even though they have all calved themselves so far. Feeding them nuts there every day and would leave a hand on any that's close to calving, if it was fast to put on and not fiddly I'm sure is be able to put it on 90% of them while they are at the trough. The most of them are normally calved when I come on them anyway but I'd still like to know when they go at it!

Would these work outside lads and are they quick to put on as in would you manage while the cow is eating a few nuts at the trough. Be right handy for me in the winterage but I'm wary enough of it getting broken aswell.

I can swap it from one cow to another at ring feeder at feeding time no hassle .. Recommends that you turn it off for at least 10mins before placing it on a new springer

If you turn it off it recommends you leave it off for ten mins. When swapping from cow to cow just hold the butten for one seckond and it's reset.

Miname wrote: »
    I wouldn't be 100% happy. While it is an aid it doesn't seem consistent. Had one the other day text me 6 hrs before she pushed out the water bag

Wat about the rest tho. Were they far wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭The Real Elmer Fudd

Mine are all out and it has worked fine. There's not a scratch on it. Get about 2 to 3 hours notice with heifers but with mature cow you'd be doing well to get an hour. Had one calved on wed and she was checked within 15 mins of getting the text and she had the feet out at that point. I find it a useful tool!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I got a call from a dublin number today out of the blue, I thought he said nucall but it was moo call and he said I was inquiring about it :confused: I've seen them in the co-op but never took much notice, I am still wondering how he got my name and number :confused: Anyway after checking up here it says you need a signal in the shed, any shed on my farm doesn't have a signal and my phone coverage will go every time I go into any shed, I suppose that rules moo call out for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Bet it will work. It bounces between networks and sends a text from wherever it can get coverage from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Bet it will work. It bounces between networks and sends a text from wherever it can get coverage from.
    He was saying something about a trial period but I'm sceptical as I assume they'd want bank details. So are you saying no matter what provider you're with it will find any coverage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Sam Kade wrote: »
    He was saying something about a trial period but I'm sceptical as I assume they'd want bank details. So are you saying no matter what provider you're with it will find any coverage?

It has a kind of an open SIM card. Not connected to your phone at all. It will search between networks and use whatever one is available at the time to send a text. Service needed to send a text is far lower than what is needed for a phone call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭larthehar

Using your phone in the shed where you intend using it, you can go into settings on your phone and you should be able to search available networks. If any network features in this list you are laughing.
    Also i have never heard of a free trial by Moocall, so i would be sceptical of using that route if you are interested. Go the official route, too many scams out these days.

I have one btw and it is the best yoke i ever bought... no more unnecessary checking of calving cameras during the night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Irish Beef

Glad this thread has been resurrected, as plan on getting it in next couple of weeks as cows are due to start calving in a month or so, Wondering how the people who got it are finding it now after a couple of years in use, are ye still using it and would you recommend it. I see you have it Larthehar and would recommend it. That's good to hear as if it works it would suit me down to the ground, I work only ten mins from home and could easily head out to cows if I got a text, also I wouldn't need to be out checking cows in middle of night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Sent mine back a couple of weeks ago to get it reset, as it had a battery fault. They replaced mine, but I don't know who they gave mine to but I'm getting texts in the middle of the night to say high activity when it's not even on one of my cows. So I'm probably getting woken and somebody else is having a lie on while his cows calving!!