Is 22K a year, a good living wage in Dublin city or just outside of?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

It's based on the presumption that the 22k salary would increase by €4k after a year and a further €4k after 2 years and being in a far better position than that after 4 years at a time when the loan would be nearly paid off with only the interest remaining i.e. the repayments would be insignificant at that point.

The interest on the loan would be worth the security blanket of having the loan there if he didn't want to save up €5k before moving out (€5k obviously being an arbitrary figure) plus he would build up a good credit rating for getting a mortgage if he wished.

Ah and sure he might get a Christmas bonus of 4k, and the following year he'd get another 5k increase. Sure he might as well buy himself a new car while he's at it, nothing big mind you but with a hitch and enough poke to retrieve the jetski from a steep slipway. He won't have loads of diposable income at the start but he'll be drinking cocktails in the Shelbourne by 2017, right around the time I plan to start flogging slapped up units bigtime.

Hope to have all my units gone soon after and have a nest egg built up to make a good bid on the government tender for air meters. You see at some point in the future the case will be made by the EU that our units use too much air and we'll be required to buy 'pretend air' from air-efficient countries such as Germany and soon after I'll be on the party scene in Valetta with my buddy Denis while my boys back in Ireland bring in the dosh for making the country's units air-meter compliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Rent in Dublin is absolute daylight robbery at the minute so you will have fck all disposable income left over after paying your bills which is a joke. A roof over your head these days seems to be a luxury instead of a neccesity unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,369 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Your tits, they are not calm.

I had friends that rented in Rathmines for under 300 a month which is walking distance to the city centre. It's doable. If you want to live on your own, you're going to have to suck it. You can't always get what you want.

If you think 300 a month for living in Rathmines is anyway typical then you are out of touch. Unless you mean that you would get the hotpress to sleep in and one shelf in the kitchen for all of your clothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Zillah wrote: »
    If you think 300 a month for living in Rathmines is anyway typical then you are out of touch. Unless you mean that you would get the hotpress to sleep in a one shelf in the kitchen for all of your clothes.

I have never paid more than 400 for rent in Dublin. Fair enough I've always shared or never lived in palaces but I only ever lived in complete ****holes when I was in college. If a group of people get together and look for accommodation you can find a decent enough place for alright money.

Your tits, they are not calm.

I had friends that rented in Rathmines for under 300 a month which is walking distance to the city centre. It's doable. If you want to live on your own, you're going to have to suck it. You can't always get what you want.
    300 a month? In Rathmines? What was the population of the house?

Gringo180 wrote: »

3 and it was an apartment, just above the Spar shop, near the bridge. Grand job if ya ask me. No crystal palace but what do ya want? Rooms were big enough too.

900 a month for a 3 bedroom apartment in the heart of Dublin. There is not a chance it would be that price now. Ive seen 1 bedroom apartments going for 1100 in Clondalkin the last few weeks :pac:

Scandalous.

900 a month for a 3 bedroom apartment in the heart of Dublin. There is not a chance it would be that price now. Ive seen 1 bedroom apartments going for 1100 in Clondalkin the last few weeks :pac:

Scandalous.

This was only about 4 years ago, I'm not THAT old. I currently pay under 400 but I live westside which is grand because I drive and don't work in the city centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

There is currently 1 property on daft for 300
    or less in a house share in Rathmines.

However, its not just a shared apartment, its a shared bedroom with 2 other people sleeping in it, in what appears to be the corner of the living room, as the kitchen table is in the same picture as the three beds.

Banning the bedsit really was a bad idea.

This was only about 4 years ago, I'm not THAT old. I currently pay under 400 but I live westside which is grand because I drive and don't work in the city centre.

Even under 400 a month is pretty cheap. Id say your sharing with at least another 2 people. I just think rent prices are way too high especially for couples with no kids who just want a place of there own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

This was only about 4 years ago, I'm not THAT old.

A lot has happened in the last 18 months to rents in Dublin!

I know someone in a three-bed in Rathmines currently who is paying €800pm and it's not a swish gaff. It's a desirable area, people love their postcodes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

I have never paid more than 400 for rent in Dublin. Fair enough I've always shared or never lived in palaces but I only ever lived in complete ****holes when I was in college. If a group of people get together and look for accommodation you can find a decent enough place for alright money.

Yeah. Share in a 3 bedroom and up and you will be ok on 400-500.

syklops wrote: »

There is currently 1 property on daft for 300
    or less in a house share in Rathmines.

However, its not just a shared apartment, its a shared bedroom with 2 other people sleeping in it, in what appears to be the corner of the living room, as the kitchen table is in the same picture as the three beds.

Banning the bedsit really was a bad idea.

Yeah. I really think that was the main reason rents skyrocketed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Niall558 wrote: »
    Is 22k a good wage to live on

No.
    Niall558 wrote: »
    and what a good breakdown of where my money should go?

I suspect the decision will be made for you after you've paid rent, utilities, and taxes.

Even under 400 a month is pretty cheap. Id say your sharing with at least another 2 people. I just think rent prices are way too high especially for couples with no kids who just want a place of there own.

Not going to argue, rent prices are far too high. Even 400 a month for one room is lunacy. I could rent a whole house back in my hometown for that money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

Not going to argue, rent prices are far too high. Even 400 a month for one room is lunacy. I could rent a whole house back in my hometown for that money.

Mainly as no-one really wants to....

True but this new resort they're planning to build down there might shake things up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Also, 400 quid a month is a fortune relative to the dole that you'd probably need to be on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭irishgirl19

I do it. Easily doable if you budget for the month. You'll get around 1600 per month.
    Its not a great wage, but I've been on worse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    25k net? You're terrible with money. After all my rent and living costs inc bills, I'd have 220 per week to play around with on that.

So all your rent,bills and food is €200 per week. Are you house sharing or leaving at home because otherwise that impossible.

The 25k was net. That's 2.1k a month or ~ 500 a week. Easy to save that 220 if sharing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

I don't know what you are working at but if you have a trade try and do a couple of nixers to supplement the auld wages. A couple of ads at the back of the supermarket notice boards work wonders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I live with my BF, rent is €525 each per month.

My rent, bills, food and household groceries and transport works out at ~ €225 per week. I eat well and don't starve myself. I was careful to choose a well-insulated non-ground floor apartment. I use public transport a lot.

It's far from impossible because, well, that's what I spend. I have no reason to make this up, entirely up to you whether you want to believe me or not!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Birneybau wrote: »
    Was going to say that. Going up 8k in 2 years presumably without promotion is just ludicrous.
    RonanP77 wrote: »
    What kind of place give a 4k per year raise on a 22k a year job?

I got a 1% increase last year, 2% this year and I was delighted. I earn more than double the 22k.

You can't just assume what happens in all jobs, they might get it and they might not, my increases were much more than those suggested in my first two years. You also get bigger increases as a grad than you would on your 44k+. Totally depends on the job and company.

To the OP, it is totally doable. I started on 25k couple years back and had no bother with that at all. There are plenty of things to do that dont involve money anyway. You'll get 1611 per month, If you share you will have over a grand left per month for bills and food and transport and misc, pretty damn doable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Sever Tomorrow

Don't have the time to read the whole thread, did anyone post a certain song by The Rakes yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,964 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

No.

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭RonanP77

I just added it up and my mortgage was 26k last year so I definitely wouldn't survive on that sort of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Don't have the time to read the whole thread, did anyone post a certain song by The Rakes yet?

No? For shame AH, for shame...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    I live with my BF, rent is €525 each per month.

My rent, bills, food and household groceries and transport works out at ~ €225 per week. I eat well and don't starve myself. I was careful to choose a well-insulated non-ground floor apartment. I use public transport a lot.

It's far from impossible because, well, that's what I spend. I have no reason to make this up, entirely up to you whether you want to believe me or not!

Anything left over at the end of the month? 'Rainy day' money so to speak or even savings?

Getting by is all well and good but most people don't have any sort of cushion or safety net in case of something unexpected happening.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

It's based on the presumption that the 22k salary would increase by €4k after a year and a further €4k after 2 years and being in a far better position than that after 4 years at a time when the loan would be nearly paid off with only the interest remaining i.e. the repayments would be insignificant at that point.

The interest on the loan would be worth the security blanket of having the loan there if he didn't want to save up €5k before moving out (€5k obviously being an arbitrary figure) plus he would build up a good credit rating for getting a mortgage if he wished.

Wouldn't an overdraft facility be better than a loan, i.e. you haven't actually borrowed the money so you're not making any interest payments on 5k that's sitting in your account? You just have a 5k overdraft facility for a real emergency like that stag do in Vegas. :pac: