Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda released without charge after crash

123457»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

crusier wrote: »
    I don't see everyone else agreeing with you and you could be wrong!

I could be wrong about what I meant when I wrote a post???? :confused:

You're not the sharpest knife in the kitchen are ya!!! :D

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    You do know there's close to 200 countries in the world?

And where would you rank The Gardai on that list of 200 when it comes to highly trained and highly effective professional Police Forces from around the world? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,307 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

MadDog76 wrote: »
    And where would you rank The Gardai on that list of 200 when it comes to highly trained and highly effective professional Police Forces from around the world? :rolleyes:
    I wouldn't even know where to start.

Where would you put them? And what criteria would you be using for such placement?

When you underfund and under resource you are always going to have shortcomings, the gardai themselves have pointed this out time and time again, the government underfund and then cast blame on the force, by international standards it's one of the best forces in the world and operate largely unarmed, be thankful you should try dealing with other European forces and you wouldn't be long realising it!
    Yes

So you say the Gardai are under-funded and under-resourced (which I agree with) and then say they are one of the best international police forces in the world ......... a bit contradictory.

The Gardai are badly recruited ....... it's not that difficult to become a Guard.
    They are badly trained and have very little on-going training.
    They are badly equipped.
    They are badly supervised and undisciplined .......... and all of this is reflected in the report.

I don't blame them for being incompetent and lackadaisical with a "waiting for the pension" attitude ............ but let's at least be honest about it.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I wouldn't even know where to start.

Where would you put them? And what criteria would you be using for such placement?

I would base it on standards of recruitment, training, equipment, professionalism and effectiveness .......... so worldwide I would put them somewhere in the middle, on a list of first-world Police Forces I'm afraid I'd have to rank them quite low down on the list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

So you say the Gardai are under-funded and under-resourced (which I agree with) and then say they are one of the best international police forces in the world ......... a bit contradictory.

The Gardai are badly recruited ....... it's not that difficult to become a Guard.
    They are badly equipped.
    They are badly supervised and undisciplined .......... and all of this is reflected in the report.

I don't blame them for being incompetent and lackadaisical with a "waiting for the pension" attitude ............ but let's at least be honest about it.

Still making stuff up I see. Which report concludes those four claims exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

I could be wrong about what I meant when I wrote a post???? :confused:

You're not the sharpest knife in the kitchen are ya!!! :D

I'm not surely, but at least I know it!

Still making stuff up I see. Which report concludes those four claims exactly?

I believe this report shows how incompetent the Gardai as a whole are currently ..........

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/damning-report-shows-garda-failings-30737554.html

.......... now why would you say they have failed so miserably at their job as an effective Police Force?
    Is it because they are a carefully recruited, well-trained, well-equipped, highly disciplined bunch of lads?? :rolleyes:

I'm not surely, but at least I know it!

As do the rest of us .............. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

GSG9 of Germany ........... Yamam of Israel ........... Royal Canadian Mounted Police .......... French Police Nationale ........... Scotland Yard ......... US Marshals .......... you sure?
    yes he is . whatever the problems with ours are (and there are issues and problems) they are nothing like, say for example, Scotland Yard

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

They are badly equipped.

not really. when it comes to solving situations, our gardai are probably the best in the world at it. they don't need to go in all guns blazing like some i could think of. yes there does need to be a harder criteria for getting in, yes the training could always be better and should be kept up to date, yes supervision needs to be mor, and some are undisciplined. but undisciplined officers are in every police force, and while there is no excuse for it, the gardai isn't the only one to suffer with that issue. of course improvements are needed, no question, there are issues that need solving, but we could be worse. i'd rather what we have then america

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

I believe this report shows how incompetent the Gardai as a whole are currently ..........

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/damning-report-shows-garda-failings-30737554.html

.......... now why would you say they have failed so miserably at their job as an effective Police Force?
    Is it because they are a carefully recruited, well-trained, well-equipped, highly disciplined bunch of lads?? :rolleyes:
    indo, enough said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

So just to be clear, you made statements you said were concluded in the report but now are admitting they are not actually stated there but you have just decided that that's what the report actually meant.

not really. when it comes to solving situations, our gardai are probably the best in the world at it. they don't need to go in all guns blazing like some i could think of. yes there does need to be a harder criteria for getting in, yes the training could always be better and should be kept up to date, yes supervision needs to be mor, and some are undisciplined. but undisciplined officers are in every police force, and while there is no excuse for it, the gardai isn't the only one to suffer with that issue. of course improvements are needed, no question, there are issues that need solving, but we could be worse. i'd rather what we have then america

Did you read the report??? :confused:
    They have been lying .......... they've been claiming they've solved crimes that they actually haven't, they've even gone as far as claiming that crimes simply didn't happen in an effort to cover-up the fact that couldn't/wouldn't solve the crimes in question.

"The report found nearly a third (30%) of all incidents on the force's official record system Pulse - based on a sampling of 500 records - were not correctly classified.

There was insufficient detail in another 16% of the examined cases to determine whether or not the crime was properly recorded.

A "significant" number of crimes were wrongly recorded as non-crimes, it found, and therefore not handed over to the Central Statistics Office, which produces official crime figures.

The inspectorate said it reviewed 158 specific investigations.

Of these, only 114 were recorded on the Pulse system and just 90 were designated as a crime.

The watchdog said it disagreed with the classifications on a third (32%) of the cases, while there was not enough detail to decide on another 6%."

indo, enough said

The article is based on a report by The Garda Inspectorate, the force's official watchdog ............... enough said.

So just to be clear, you made statements you said were concluded in the report but now are admitting they are not actually stated there but you have just decided that that's what the report actually meant.

Let's be even clearer ......... I read the report, was not surprised by it and offered my opinion as to why the Gardai have failed so miserably in even the most basic duties ......... I'm sure there are even more in-depth issues within the Force than the ones I listed as part of my opinion but solving these problems would be a great start .......... that clear enough for you officer?

There are around 700 untrained detectives operating within the force, a problem that needs to be addressed, it warns.

"significant gaps" in front line policing supervision

Garda resources are not allocated in terms of policing need and crime levels

Let's be even clearer ......... I read the report, was not surprised by it and offered my opinion as to why the Gardai have failed so miserably in even the most basic duties ......... I'm sure there are even more in-depth issues within the Force than the ones I listed as part of my opinion but solving these problems would be a great start .......... that clear enough for you officer?

There are around 700 untrained detectives operating within the force, a problem that needs to be addressed, it warns.

"significant gaps" in front line policing supervision

Garda resources are not allocated in terms of policing need and crime levels

You are so intelligent and sharp, its just the bitterness I don't like, methinks there's a story behind your bitterness, you can talk to me if you want!

Intelligent and sharp? I'd be too modest to say so myself .......... but thank you. :)

Bitter? No .......... just honest. :)

Talk to you? We are talking! :)

Intelligent and sharp? I'd be too modest to say so myself .......... but thank you. :)

Bitter? No .......... just honest. :)

Talk to you? We are talking! :)

Honest? no .........just Bitter. :)

I think I will name you "King of the Comebacks" ........ :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭daUbiq

So which of the posters in this thread is Gardai? or wants to become a Gardai? Crusier perhaps?

daUbiq wrote: »
    So which of the posters in this thread is Gardai? or wants to become a Gardai? Crusier perhaps?

Potential-Monke and Little CuChulainn are both Guards, there seems to be quite a few posters who are related to Guards .......... and then you have cruiser who falls into neither category. :)

I think I love you MadDog 76

Do you not feel the same about me Mad frog 76

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

There will be no speculations on the lives or occupations of posters. Nor will there be any continued goading of other posters.
    Cards and possibly bans can be handed out if this continues.
    Cheers, BD.