If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Must have no poke so :pac:

Awwww yeah :cool:
    hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    It is indeed petrol. 1043cc for the bad value tax :pac:

Bad value indeed.

999cc = 50hp, €199 tax
    1043cc = 40hp, €299 tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Plenty of (blue) smoke out of our polo and it's a special kind of slow :pac:

My above post could be a waste of time :v

Interslice wrote: »
    Anyone remember or know the user on her who recently started driving his brothers navy civic aerodeck? He put a post up about it a few weeks ago but I cant find it anywhere!

Bump!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Bump!

This it was an accord, on steelies yes?
    Can't remember the poster.

CianRyan wrote: »
    This it was an accord, on steelies yes?
    Can't remember the poster.

Pretty sure it was a civic on white alloys iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Anyone remember or know the user on her who recently started driving his brothers navy civic aerodeck? He put a post up about it a few weeks ago but I cant find it anywhere!

sblythe

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057188701&page=256

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Bump!

Here you go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

GvidoR wrote: »
    dgt wrote: »
    Here you go

Both minds think alike.

23:11

Cheers lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Bpmull wrote: »
    Somehow I recon a healthy engine that burns no oil will be just a quick as one that's burning oil with worn seals that would almost make people behind it sick everytime the driver touches the accelerator. I hate being behind yokes that are that smokey you have to turn the air on recirculation. The smoke test limits for nct or cvrt are way too high by a factor of 2 or 3.

If a diesel ain't smoking at full chat, it's not getting enough fuel, and it's probably boring....

Oil smoke is a different kettle of fish, if you've lots of oil smoke the whole lot's as good as fcuked anyway.

Bpmull wrote: »
    I know mine is diesel but I'm lucky enough with it. Cvrt smoke test 3.00 limit to pass. My golf 0.02 :)

It literally burns no oil at all. I dipped it before I left for Spain still sitting just under full mark and there is 15k km on the oil never topped up. Also literally no smoke at all under hard acceleration or even when cold you never see anything coming out of the exhaust.

There's defo smoke under hard acceleration, try it at night with a car behind you. The light will show the particles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Cheensbo wrote: »
    If a diesel ain't smoking at full chat, it's not getting enough fuel, and it's probably boring....

Oil smoke is a different kettle of fish, if you've lots of oil smoke the whole lot's as good as fcuked anyway.

My 2.4 JTD used to have a lovely puff out the back, nothing like dgt levels, just enough to tell the person behind you to foxtrot Oscar...:)

I find the smoke hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Going back to the reg plate thing, like colm said, it depends on the car. Pressed plates can look good, but I think they look awful on mondeos. Them ones in the pic are plastic, they look well in the flesh to me anyway. Not sure if I'm that gone on the blue haze, but I like chunky-ish lettering. The camera is frigged. A friend got the same phone and it focus' perfect, just a flaw with mine I guess.

Moving on, was on the way home just there. Noticed a lovely white 07 3er m sport coupe outside a house this past while. Kind of gunmetal alloys, not dissimilar to gavmans on the focus st. As I was passing through town, I could see this car pulling out behind me. I was sticking to 100, as was he, stayed well back for 5/6 miles then once he got to a straight stretch he shot past. Fastest overtake I ever seen, cut in very fast though, almost too close for comfort. Goes about 2/300 metres before slowing down and pulling into the house. Suppose he had to prove his point  I'll check again, but I think it was a 335i. Anyway, that's my speel for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Moving on, was on the way home just there. Noticed a lovely white 07 3er m sport coupe outside a house this past while. Kind of gunmetal alloys, not dissimilar to gavmans on the focus st. As I was passing through town, I could see this car pulling out behind me. I was sticking to 100, as was he, stayed well back for 5/6 miles then once he got to a straight stretch he shot past. Fastest overtake I ever seen, cut in very fast though, almost too close for comfort. Goes about 2/300 metres before slowing down and pulling into the house. Suppose he had to prove his point :rolleyes: I'll check again, but I think it was a 325i. Anyway, that's my speel for the night.

BMW Drivers! W@ankers the lot of em :pac:

Did somebody tell me MetzgerMeister got a white respray ?:P :pac:

I was half asleep and I thought wait, was it foxhole that posted that about bmw w@nkers. Lord I'm a vegetable today! :pac:

Ford are gone ridiculous. Go onto the website and configure a mondeo. Titanium is 31.5k, add on all your extras and it's just over 40k. Nothing but extra packs. Winter pack, titanium x pack. They want 2.5k just to add half leather seats. Ah here, get out of it. There'll be no leather anywhere so.

Sorry for the long stream of posts, this is the last. Anyone in the west not busy next sunday and want to do a charity drive? It's something I am heavily involved in, but just can't be there next Sunday, really disappointed. All the details are on the pic I think. It's for a good cause, so support if ye can. It's a fair decent spin!

Hope it's ok to post this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Covered about 550km over the weekend on a trip to Cork, hadn't covered anywhere near that mileage in a long time. Car was flawless, and seemed better for the run almost! Service and brakes next weekend!

Did somebody tell me MetzgerMeister got a white respray ?:P :pac:

That car that passed me was 07d and was a 335i. That's what you have isn't it? It was white, yours is grey, so que cheesey joke that it was you that passed me. No? Ah nevermind :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

That car that passed me was 07d and was a 335i. That's what you have isn't it? It was white, yours is grey, so que cheesey joke that it was you that passed me. No? Ah nevermind :o

a0ce95855ac70aed0b3002785baea0cdd504a176697b65cdc7a13a273ef77fd6.jpg

Sorry for the long stream of posts, this is the last. Anyone in the west not busy next sunday and want to do a charity drive? It's something I am heavily involved in, but just can't be there next Sunday, really disappointed. All the details are on the pic I think. It's for a good cause, so support if ye can. It's a fair decent spin!

Hope it's ok to post this.

I might actually take my car along to that, looks like it could be fun, as for now, im off out for a spin up by blessington :D

I might actually take my car along to that, looks like it could be fun, as for now, im off out for a spin up by blessington 

Hope it'll be a success, first year and all that.

aye, if i get the 900's steering problems sorted out I'll see about taking that along instead

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/9037241

what do you think of this yolk. Good value?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    But your driving a Golf so how long before it throws a wobbler and a MAF sensor goes bananas and your idle becomes as smooth as Ray Liotta's face :pac:

VW's are like Ray liotta, their early stuff was brilliant :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

The last few weeks I've noticed my wipers are not as good as they once were. I have them give or take a year (30k km) is that roughly what I should expect to get out of a set or what do you generally get out of a set. I'm just trying to gauge wether I should get the same vw ones again or go for a set of bosch.

Also any suggestion for cleaning them or is it just a case they are gone and that's it. They are not even bad really just not 100% anymore probably be fine for another month or two.

I've got original Ford ones on the mondeo since I bought it, and that will be 3 years in July. Now, they are starting to leave a few lines behind, need to change them soon. What I'm saying is oem wipers should last longer than a year, obvs depending on your mileage, but I don't think you do too insane of mileage?