Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda released without charge after crash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

MadDog76 wrote: »
    I'm what Rednecks call a "reader" ............ :rolleyes:

Of fiction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,910 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I'm what Rednecks call a "reader" ............ :rolleyes:

[Bill Hicks]What ye reading for?[/Bill Hicks]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I wonder are they more likely to be brought before the courts though? Is there an element of them being held to a higher standard by GSOC/DPP and then a judge applies leniency regardless?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

sdanseo wrote: »
    I wonder are they more likely to be brought before the courts though? Is there an element of them being held to a higher standard by GSOC/DPP and then a judge applies leniency regardless?

I was wondering if the problem for the judge if he convicts and jails them is where to then put them?
    They would probably be assaulted in prisons by other inmates because of their jobs.

Many of the cases would never be taken against civilians and the DPP would direct no prosecution, however the attitude of the DPP seems to be to let the cases into court and let a judge or jury dismiss it and the DPP's office cannot be accused of not supporting a prosecution, that's why so many cases are lost - they shouldn't be there in the first place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,514 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

GSOC has admitted that Guards are not only uncooperative during investigations but downright hostile .........

Social media .......... lots of huff & puff but no real threat to Guards.

Camera's ......... do not see everything.

And GSOC are the beacon of perfection...

Social media is more of a threat than you think.

And cameras don't see everything, but they see enough to make someone think twice before acting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

And GSOC are the beacon of perfection...

Social media is more of a threat than you think.

And cameras don't see everything, but they see enough to make someone think twice before acting.

Therefore GSOC is ineffective ...........

Examples of Social Media stopping corruption in AGS please?

Any links to footage of AGS corruption?

Therefore GSOC is ineffective ...........

Examples of Social Media stopping corruption in AGS please?

Any links to footage of AGS corruption?

I've seen videos which seem to show Gardaí acting harshly and seen videos showing Gardaí acting exceptionally well. Mostly the latter.

Unfortunately almost all of the videos were followed by comments labelling the Guards as scum and other assorted names. This is the type of uneducated twat that you deal with when you talk about people who film the Guards (or any other Police force) seemingly just to find fault.

I'm not saying that they don't sometimes - and rightly so - catch out people abusing their authority. It annoys me though that the vast majority of cop-filming seems to be intended against them when no such intention is justified.

I've seen videos which seem to show Gardaí acting harshly and seen videos showing Gardaí acting exceptionally well. Mostly the latter.

Unfortunately almost all of the videos were followed by comments labelling the Guards as scum and other assorted names. This is the type of uneducated twat that you deal with when you talk about people who film the Guards (or any other Police force) seemingly just to find fault.

I've seen those videos too but that's not really what we're discussing here .......... where's the videos of Guards seizing "stolen" goods from certain groups of people in society because they have no proof of purchase only for those same "stolen" goods to go home with a Garda......... where's the videos of Guards taking alcohol off under-age drinkers only for that alcohol to be then drank at a Guard's summer bbq .......... where's the videos of Guards letting their family/friends off with a wink & a nod ............ where's the videos of the Guards assaulting handcuffed "suspects" in the back of a squad car down a quiet lane way .............. where's the videos of Guards "losing" and "finding" evidence????? Where's the videos of Guards turning a blind-eye to all of this?

Oh wait, there are no videos because none of these things actually happen ............. :rolleyes:

I've seen those videos too but that's not really what we're discussing here .......... where's the videos of Guards seizing "stolen" goods from certain groups of people in society because they have no proof of purchase only for those same "stolen" goods to go home with a Garda......... where's the videos of Guards taking alcohol off under-age drinkers only for that alcohol to be then drank at a Guard's summer bbq .......... where's the videos of Guards letting their family/friends off with a wink & a nod ............ where's the videos of the Guards assaulting handcuffed "suspects" in the back of a squad car down a quiet lane way .............. where's the videos of Guards "losing" and "finding" evidence????? Where's the videos of Guards turning a blind-eye to all of this?

Oh wait, there are no videos because none of these things actually happen ............. :rolleyes:

Did one of them take you cans?

crusier wrote: »
    Did one of them take you cans?

No but I've drank one of those cans .......... at a bbq in a Guards back garden ........ big laugh when I was told where the drink came from ....... the only problem was not everybody was laughing, mostly just the other Guards.

Corruption happens in every walk of life and when people keep doing it they get caught out. It's completely wrong, but you're asking for evidence of people doing things they know to be wrong to be handed to you on a silver platter.

You're accusing them of being corrupt. Doesn't mean they're stupid.

No but I've drank one of those cans .......... at a bbq in a Guards back garden ........ big laugh when I was told where the drink came from ....... the only problem was not everybody was laughing, mostly just the other Guards.

But you drank it?

Corruption happens in every walk of life and when people keep doing it they get caught out. It's completely wrong, but you're asking for evidence of people doing things they know to be wrong to be handed to you on a silver platter.

You're accusing them of being corrupt. Doesn't mean they're stupid.

Actually if you read the thread I'm saying exactly that ......... another poster believes that corruption is all but non-existent nowadays because cameras would capture this corruption on film .......... I'm saying it won't/doesn't because, as you said, being corrupt doesn't make you stupid.

But you drank it?

Yes ......... then I was told where it came from followed by a big chuckle from the host.

Did the driver of the car assault someone?

Did he assault any of the three people who were hospitalised after he ploughed into them leaving them lucky to be alive? No he didn't as far as I know :rolleyes:

Many of the cases would never be taken against civilians and the DPP would direct no prosecution, however the attitude of the DPP seems to be to let the cases into court and let a judge or jury dismiss it and the DPP's office cannot be accused of not supporting a prosecution, that's why so many cases are lost - they shouldn't be there in the first place!

Which cases exactly should never be taken to court???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Actually if you read the thread I'm saying exactly that ......... another poster believes that corruption is all but non-existent nowadays because cameras would capture this corruption on film .......... I'm saying it won't/doesn't because, as you said, being corrupt doesn't make you stupid.

And when there aren't cameras there are people like yourself to fill the gap. Incidentally, the stuff you mention rarely happens now. Property is heavily audited, both on paper and computer, and there have been disciplinary measures and prosecutions of people who do the things you've mentioned.

You made a number of accusations and presented them as fact, yet you ask others to provide evidence of them for you and act as if the failure to do so is somehow vindication for you. I think it's fairly obvious you have a personal agenda mixed in with your righteous crusade that makes it difficult to try and discuss it rationally with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Which cases exactly should never be taken to court???

How about this:

http://m.rte.ie/news/2014/0106/496274-court-gardai-cork/

I didn't even go searching because nothing will make him happy, he must have fallen foul of the law at some stage to be so bitter, there's always a story behind the bitterness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

From what I know right now it is still 'suspicion of drink-driving'. Could their have been a mechanical fault in his vehicle? Could their have been a hazard of some kind on the road that he tried to avoid and just couldn't correct his car in time before this collision? I don't know.
    I do know I can take a positive from this: He was taken to the Garda Station. He knew the Guard working the original scene so I've no doubts that a favour was asked for, but denied. I don't know just how long it took to get it processed, but he was processed <- that's a positive in my eyes.

I remember this one Guard I knew who couldn't even define honesty and I reported him for an incident to a unit Sgt. Not long after that he was giving evidence in Court with another colleague and the Judge just dismissed everything that Guard said. He brightened up my days for a while so it did that the Judge knew his antics.
    These Guards who brought this off-duty Guard to be processed are displaying what I'm seeing more & more of, a new era in Policing. The cogs are slowing turning within this organisation <- another positive in my eyes.

A lot of Garda-bashing in here, but with so much yet to be made known. This incident could've happened anyone really; mechanical fault; distraction of some kind; an un-expected hazard throwing a driver off course. In this case, the driver just happens to be a Guard who was, let's not forget, processed at a station.

Just my Thoughts,
    kerry4sam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Unfortunately wherever there is power, corruption isn't far behind.

I'd hazard a guess that corrupt Garda are a minority within the force, but the few bad apples that are there unfortunately muddy the reputation of the organisation.

No one should underestimate the difficult job gardaí face daily, it is often a thankless task & one very few of us would have the cahones to do.

And when there aren't cameras there are people like yourself to fill the gap. Incidentally, the stuff you mention rarely happens now. Property is heavily audited, both on paper and computer, and there have been disciplinary measures and prosecutions of people who do the things you've mentioned.

You made a number of accusations and presented them as fact, yet you ask others to provide evidence of them for you and act as if the failure to do so is somehow vindication for you. I think it's fairly obvious you have a personal agenda mixed in with your righteous crusade that makes it difficult to try and discuss it rationally with you.
    I didn't even go searching because nothing will make him happy, he must have fallen foul of the law at some stage to be so bitter, there's always a story behind the bitterness!

It might surprise you to know just how close I am to a number of people who are members of AGS ............. close enough to know the truth as it happens.

Do ye have code words and stuff?

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Unfortunately wherever there is power, corruption isn't far behind.

I'd hazard a guess that corrupt Garda are a minority within the force, but the few bad apples that are there unfortunately muddy the reputation of the organisation.

No one should underestimate the difficult job gardaí face daily, it is often a thankless task & one very few of us would have the cahones to do.

I would agree with this ........... I think the real problem with AGS is not the corrupt Officers as they are an ever decreasing minority .......... it's the fact that the majority of Guards turn a blind eye to the corruption and, in many cases, assist or just "go along with" cover-ups.

Do ye have code words and stuff?

I think the high-lighted part of your post is an adequate response to you ..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I think the high-lighted part of your post is an adequate response to you ..........

I think that the fact you had to quote and respond to the same posts twice just to make a childish comment is pretty indicative of the thought you are putting into them. And I doubt you are as close to members of the AGS as you think you are.

Oh you doubt it do you ......... oh well then ........... I'll have to tell certain family members that we are no longer related and certain friends that we can no longer be friends .......... all because Lil Cuhicu doubts we're that close :rolleyes: