Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Irishisms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

That's c.untish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Probably the ultimate Irishism.

"Well! How ye goin?"

"I lost my job, my girlfriend left, a branch on the road punctured a brake pipe and I rear ended someone as a result, he's cleaning me out now, despite me managing to slow down enough to hit him at 30mph, obviously have no rent money so got kicked out, insurance ran out, phone service gone, their contract are taking me to court for not paying, bank account has been closed, I'm living in the back of a car with no brakes.
    I'm grand now, yourself? "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

We got it from the Normans, who as you might have guessed spoke French. Wheat wasn't a common crop in Ireland until the Normans arrived, so it's not unsurprising that we borrowed their word for a loaf of bread.
    And 'bread' is a more of a Germanic/Northern European thing:
    German = brot
    Swedish = bröd
    Dutch = brood
    Icelandic = brauð
    Danish = brød

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Jon_459

Upset ??? He went ape$hit!

Man 1: Howiya? (How are ya?)

Man 2: Howiya.

How can it be the question and the answer?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Is there erra biscuit in this place or what?

What's the craic?

How's your ma, is your da working?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Our use of the word 'Now' is very disconcerting to tourists and visitors. I know a Canadian who got work in a shop when she moved here. She thought we were very rude for placing shopping at the til and commanding 'NOW!!!'

'Ill do it now in a minute' is simply bizzarre!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Our use of the word 'Now' is very disconcerting to tourists and visitors. I know a Canadian who got work in a shop when she moved here. She thought we were very rude for placing shopping at the til and commanding 'NOW!!!'

'Ill do it now in a minute' is simply bizzarre!!!

Ha ha ha ha ha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Leogirl

Omackeral wrote: »
    Man 1: Howiya? (How are ya?)

Man 2: Howiya.

How can it be the question and the answer?!

I had a foreign student staying & this totally confused her. She asked me why so many total strangers kept asking her how she was & how to reply - should she say shes tired/happy/sad etc. I was tempted to tell her to just answer honestly - Irish people wouldnt know what to do with it!! I was nice though & told her to just say howrya/hi back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Go on ourra dat says I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

Well it won't be happening under my roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

What's the story? Confuses a lot of Australians.

Well lad?

It's kind of a question but more of a hello!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

"Where's the champion butter Hi?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Interrobang

American friend: "Hey, how have you been?"

Me: "Ah, I haven't been feeling myself recently."

American friend: "Jeez... Overshare much?"

Me: :confused:... :eek:... :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 NotPayin4Water

I'm not paying for water!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭uch

Candie wrote: »
    'Mary, get the pan out of the messages and put it in the press'

Pan = Bread
    Messages = Grocery shopping
    Press = cupboard

Google translate doesn't cover this stuff.

I've never in me life heard anybody calling a Press a Cupboard

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

uch wrote: »
    I've never in me life heard anybody calling a Press a Cupboard

I have only ever heard a cupboard called in press in Ireland.

Up north - Cupboard.
    UK - Cupboard.
    US - Cupboard
    OZ/NZ - God knows..dingo shelf or something.

Ire - Press.

Press ? Simply makes no sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭emersyn

/sun explodes/
    "Ah sure, be grand"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭uch

I have only ever heard a cupboard called in press in Ireland.

Up north - Cupboard.
    UK - Cupboard.
    US - Cupboard
    OZ/NZ - God knows..dingo shelf or something.

Ire - Press.

Press ? Simply makes no sense to me.

Exactly, OP is looking for Irishisms

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

...., do you know that way?

Or for the person who needs a little bit more conversation filler in their life:

...., do you know that kind of a way?

It always comes after something that everyone knows exactly that kind of a way, Dja know dat way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Aimeee

On the press/cupboard one; at a previous workplace i was handing over to English colleague. Told her suchandsuch was in the press. She looked a bit confused alright but didn't take too much notice. About an hour later she came to me wondering why suchandsuch was in the papers. I was totally confused by this random question. She thought I meant media/press. So I always used the word cupboard from thereon.

Search for martins life on YouTube. Not quite irishisms more like irish conversations at home. Very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭emersyn

I learned recently that Irish people are the only ones who use the phrase 'giving out'? Like when you're angry at someone and you complain at them, you're giving out to them.
    How do British/American etc people say that? The only proper substitute I can think of is to tell someone off, but I have a feeling that's only in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,508 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

emersyn wrote: »
    I learned recently that Irish people are the only ones who use the phrase 'giving out'? Like when you're angry at someone and you complain at them, you're giving out to them.
    How do British/American etc people say that? The only proper substitute I can think of is to tell someone off, but I have a feeling that's only in England.

I've personally had a hard time talking to a group of Americans. I said "I'm not giving out to ye now but...." They just looked at me and I heard a few whispers of like - "what could he be giving to us" and "why would we want him to give out things go us"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

That's/This place is/The weather is/The pub was cat!!

I don't know exactly, but I think it's shortened from either Cat's Melodeon or Cat's Malacky (which I always thought meant cat sh1t, but not according to google). Maybe I'm muddling it with a rhyme my dad used to say when I was a kid - a North Dublin kid's rhyme

"Cat's malacky and dog's melodeon, mix them together and make an explosion"

Anyone else ever heard that one?!

Yer one
    Yer man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,770 ✭✭✭degsie

ratmouse wrote: »
    Yer one
    Yet man

Huh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

What do you want, a medal?