Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Irishisms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Carnacalla wrote: »
    Guess what the translation of bread is in Spanish? Pan! Is there some sort of relationship here or it a terrible coincidence

We got it from the Normans, who as you might have guessed spoke French. Wheat wasn't a common crop in Ireland until the Normans arrived, so it's not unsurprising that we borrowed their word for a loaf of bread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

ratmouse wrote: »
    Are ya coddin me or what?

That one is particularly dodgy!

Comes from 'codpiece' which was the male of the wonder bra. It accentuated things shall we say.

So, to 'cod' someone = to make out that something's more impressive than it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Lookit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Thunderin' Jaysus and Splutterin' Gobsh1te

We do the very best insults :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Well holy god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Be the hokey.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

"Will you do that for me?"

"I will, yeaaaaaah..."

Everyone else in the world would take that as acceptance, but we know they're just being sarcastic little shits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Yerra/erra.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Another one of these, great.

Another person who goes out of there way to go into a post they dont like just to complain,

Dont go into posts you dont like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Well holy god.

.... Fidelma, is that yerself with the knickers down and the bold look in yer eye?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭evo2000

"ara go way out of it your only coddin me"

"what sort of a feckin ejit"

"Well the lawwrd jaysus!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭GottaGetGatt

Oh suffering Calcutta!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Please god.
    With the help of god.
    God forgive me.
    God rest him.

Each one about ten times every time the in laws come to visit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

"This room looks like a bomb hit it".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,634 ✭✭✭feargale

Carnacalla wrote: »
    Guess what the translation of bread is in Spanish? Pan! Is there some sort of relationship here or it a terrible coincidence

Ultimately from Latin panis. A similar word for bread exists in just about every Romance language. I would suspect that the word entered English with the Normans ( French pain. )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

"Do that again and there'll be wigs on the green!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

It's completely banjaxed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaliforniaDream

S/he's dead now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

God bless the mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,504 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Come here and I'll hit ya!

I do be saying..... they do be doing,,,,etc

The cut of ya,

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

For the love a lamb a jaysus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭FueledbyCoffee

gick-nah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Lifted from Facebook regarding 50 Shades
    CRITIC_1: wat on in the Omniplx

CRITIC_2: Byore **** flick. Fifty shades

Would have saved so much time to just put that on the posters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭starry_eyed

Wait till your father gets home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,933 ✭✭✭Rawr

"Are ya lookin' at me, or are ya chewin' a brick?!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭riaganach

He's gone over the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,770 ✭✭✭degsie

Arahkissdebackomebollyx

He/she is the spit of (insert name)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭DublinCJM

He's above in the town