Boards Paintball & Beers, July

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Two things, how much is it for refills, when i was going there it was e7.50 per pack of 60

and what pub are we headign to afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

Originally posted by Boston
    Two things, how much is it for refills, when i was going there it was e7.50 per pack of 60

and what pub are we headign to afterwards

Confirming refill prices on monday. Its listed on the site as €10 per 60 but im sure we can get that down.

You do know you have a starter pack of 480 shots?

We'll be hitting the White Horse afterwards. The bus will drop us near it.

I went through 540 when i was there last, and that was just a half day job, im pretty sure i'll be buying refills. try to get him as slow as e6 pack. he gave us a deal of e7.50 and there was only 30 of us.

I am considering cutting back the numbers to 50 places. If you have any friend that are interested get them to signup. Prices stay the same.

Also, all payments have to be in by the last week in JUNE.

STaN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

1. So is tge bus going at 9am form connolly bridge? cuz i'd most likely be getting the train up if i was going, so i was just wondering is it far from Hueston station?

2. What would we be getting back into dublin city at? and will there be few drop off points or what?

3. U said u get 480 bullets, do u have to take them all at once and have to carry them around, or would u get like tokens or something so that u could just give that to the marshall or the supply place and they'd give the bullets?

ok i think thats all my questions for the mo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

Originally posted by STaN
    I am considering cutting back the numbers to 50 places. If you have any friend that are interested get them to signup. Prices stay the same.

Also, all payments have to be in by the last week in JUNE.

STaN

I can have another 5 or 6 sign up at the least but its already at 40 if your going to cut the places back can you give it another day or two as they dont have puters so i'll need to sign them up on room101.org and get the regestered and stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 hougl0xdktibzv

So stan the week starting hte 30th of june is the final deadline, i was going to get another mate to go but since your cutting the numbers i hate to be the cause of an actual boards user not getting a place. I'll get the moment to you for 3 places (2 in full and one yet to pay me) the week beginning the 16th of june. I'm seending but cheque by post because if i lodge the money you wont have a clue whos paying for what.
    Originally posted by suppafly
    1. So is tge bus going at 9am form connolly bridge? cuz i'd most likely be getting the train up if i was going, so i was just wondering is it far from Hueston station?

2. What would we be getting back into dublin city at? and will there be few drop off points or what?

3. U said u get 480 bullets, do u have to take them all at once and have to carry them around, or would u get like tokens or something so that u could just give that to the marshall or the supply place and they'd give the bullets?

1) its a Good walk up the quays to o connell bridge, just walk towards the spike.

2) Its about an hour and a half drive to the place, but might be quicker on a sunday. so i'd say 8:30 leave at 6:30 return.

3) you get the bullets in bags of 60. Your handed two bags when you entre, your given a number on your hand, like x11 and it coninsides with your name. You can recieve refills (extra bags) at the start middle and end of each game from the marshalls who record the number of bags your number has recieved.

RAYZER: without sounding like i'm stepping in for STan, no you can't. Thats other people spreading rumors and stan never said that. The 320 bullets for e20 is the starter pack nothing more. Each additional pack 60 bullets will most likely cost e7.50 a pack. And before yo usay anything that is allot cheaper then crossfire, by someway.

STan, why 50 why not 53? Btw if your cheacking out prices, O grady coaches did us a return trip for e360, and i think they are 60 seater, which works out as 6 euro a head

Originally posted by suppafly

ok i think thats all my questions for the mo

1. You wouldn't walk from Hueston, there is the number 90 bus which connects Heuston to the city centre, just get that to o'connell bridge.

2. We'd be back in the city around 6. Probably before that. Then going to the pub to talk about the alledged war crimes of the day.

3. The 480 bullets are in 8 bags. I doubt you have to lug them around with you. I'm not sure what they do in regard to giving them out, they have to have something organised.

If you work out the math RAYZER, its €20 for 360. *2 and you get €40 and 720. I don't remember guarenteeing as i do not control any prices given to me outside what was offered. I will request the above, but i wouldn't keep your hopes up. Take a look below for the most likely situation. For €40 you get 120 bullets, for €60 you get 480. Can't complain that that in itself is a big saving.

For an additional 60 off the site is €14, they will be at most €7 for an additional 60. So it will be an extra €20 for 180.
    I can have another 5 or 6 sign up at the least but its already at 40 if your going to cut the places back can you give it another day or two as they dont have puters so i'll need to sign them up on room101.org and get the regestered and stuff

That's cool AL][EN. Once we hit the 60 mark I'm happy and so are the bus people and skirmish :)

Hehe boston, looks like we were writing at the same time :ninja:
    Originally posted by Boston
    So stan the week starting hte 30th of june is the final deadline, i was going to get another mate to go but since your cutting the numbers i hate to be the cause of an actual boards user not getting a place.

I hadn't decided to cut the no's just yet. I'd love if we could get 90 to go, cause there will always be those who don't show on the day or cancel the week before. That and the fact that the place wants payment by july means i need the money before july.
    I'll get the moment to you for 3 places (2 in full and one yet to pay me) the week beginning the 16th of june. I'm seending but cheque by post because if i lodge the money you wont have a clue whos paying for what.

Thats cool. Bring them along and any1 else you want. The place can actually hold 120, so if we overshoot, and every1 pays upfront, ive no prob organising the extra people.
    STan, why 50 why not 53? Btw if your cheacking out prices, O grady coaches did us a return trip for e360, and i think they are 60 seater, which works out as 6 euro a head

I'll take a look. I misdid an early calculation of the bus cost. It will be between 5 & 7 eur a head.

Sounds good, instead of moment i mean money, but you got the idea. I wondering about that, thinking thats allot of money for one guy to put on his credit card. The bus sound about right at 7 euro. O gardy is good and they will be where and when you ask them. Had abite of time there a half hour ago and drew up a little guide, hope you don't mind me posting it, don't want to step on anybodies toes.

Guide to Paint Balling:

Gear: Bring old cloths and old footwear, if it rains this place will become extremely messy and your footwear will be destroyed. It’s a good idea to bring a change. These paintballs hurt, and if shot at close range will bruise and will break the skin, in fact being hit from any distance is likely to leave a burse. The protective overalls are good but not great, you won’t be terminator running into a hale of bullets in them. With this in mind, you should try to have very little exposed skin under the overalls. Gloves are a really good idea to have, as is something to protect mini boards user, you will never feel pain like getting shot in the balls with a paint bullet. It gets very very warm in these overalls, especially in games such as assault. But still don’t come in shorts. Do not bring anything of value with you, such as rings, chains, Rolex watches, as these are all stored in a wooden box before the game begins, which in fairness is locked, but at the same time a few kicks and it would be open.

How it works: You arrive and are assigned a hut. You’re given the overalls which are a green army colour and probably the least comfortable and badly fitting things you will ever wear. Your then make a lie to receive your arm bands, every odd person is one team every even the other. Your name is taken and you are given a number (i.e. x11) this number is important. When you’re getting additional refills in the filed they use the number to keep track what number bag you’re on. You then sit down and wait for the small bald guy with a bear to tell you what the crack is from playing the game. Somewhere in between this you get the breakfast meal.

Playing the game:
    Four games before lunch, four after. Two teams, red and blue. Head shots are not allowed as your might damage someone, anybody deliberately aiming for head shots will be removed from the field and forced to sit the day out. Over half of the people there will get shot in the head. You have a face mask; your not allowed take it off in the field. If you’re seen removing the mask twice you’re told to feic off home, they have to be this tough because of insurance reasons. Your face mask is meant to be fog free but isn’t really; trick is to breather through your nose not your mouth.

There’s dead zones you go to when shot, you leave your gun outside and enter a closed off area. Here you can wipe the paint from your overalls and clear your visor. Do not bring your gun into the dead zone. If you’re shot, put your hand in the air and make your way to the dead zone, your not allowed shoot someone with there hand up. When your making your way back from the dead zone to your base you keep your hand up, and are only allowed to shoot back once you have reached your base base.

When do I go to the dead zone: weather or not you go to the dead zone depends on the game and if you’re attacking or defending. This will be outlined at the start of each game.

Refilling. Refills come in packs of 60 bullets, usually costing e7.50 a pack (but we don’t know yet) you’re handed two bags when you enter, you’re given a number on your hand, like x11 and it coincides with your name. You can receive refills (extra bags) at the start middle and end of each game from the marshals who record the number of bags your number has received. Each time you get a bag they tell you what back you’re on, like “fifth free bag or First pay for bag”. Bullets can be difficult to put in the gun with a mask on, the best way is to hold the gun between your legs and then refill in with both hands, instead of holding the gun in one hand and trying to refill it with the other; you will make a mess of it. Don’t let the bullets get wet, and don’t pick up bullets of the forest flour. They may feel ok but they will explode in the chamber of the gun. Once the inside of the gun gets wet, it won’t fire the bullets 5 foot let alone 50mteres.

I know reading this it can sound abite dodgy, but trust me it’s the best fun you can hand and the pub afterwards wit the accusations of war crimes and the like is good crack too.

Just a note if your lodging into my account. Email me the day you do, so i can make sure everything checks out and people can't claim they lodged when they did not. And basically to remove any chance of money getting lost. So drop me an email. (shown on the site)

Originally posted by STaN
    That's cool AL][EN. Once we hit the 60 mark I'm happy and so are the bus people and skirmish :)

yeah i think thats a really good price. When i went to crossfire with the college we had to play like about £45/50 or something and we just got a starter pack of like 60, and we didn't get any food there and the refills were like £10 for 100 and a quid for 10. I think we have like a little cirlce yoke on a string that u put round yur nexk with yur number on it, and that how they checked it. I wouldn't reckon a number on the hand would be good cuz it would probably just come off with all the running about and stuff, but i guess thats their problem!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 hougl0xdktibzv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭BluE-WinG

I'd like to express my agreement with what Rayzer said, it is a pity we were misled (below link)

www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=99328&perpage=20&pagenumber=2

Originally posted by BluE-WinG
    I'd like to express my agreement with what Rayzer said, it is a pity we were misled (below link)

www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=99328&perpage=20&pagenumber=2

Sorry Bluewing & Rayzer if you feel mislead. If ye don't wanna go thats cool.

Still 40 places left

Sorry lads but Stan was clearly talking about the price difference between starter packs, nothing more, I don't see where he promises 1080 bullets for e60, that's something you jumped to an conclusion on. Either which way its still allot cheaper then crossfire even for refills. seems to me you people feel hard done by, and I'm sure Stan would be more then happy to refund you guys. I really don't want to go somewhere with people who are going to have a negative attitude towards it. This is the type of thing that can very quickly turn to abuse name calling and violence on the day, and if your not willing to let it drop I think everyone would prefer if you stayed at home. I want to have a good day and I'm bring some mates, I don't want them thinking I spend my time hanging around with Winnie children. I went to the trouble of writing a guide for you people, perhaps you should read it, especially the bit about paying for refills and how that works. Stan has so far done a great job in organizing this event, and doesn't deserve this level of abuse.

BTW arn't you guys the same ones who claimed that you wouldn't use the 480 bullets in the starter pack and therefore it was a bad idea? then you also claimed you wanted to fire off 600 bullets a go.

suppafly, the number wont come of, even after a shower it was still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭BluE-WinG

Boston go to the link, Rayzer asked, and got those responses from Stan.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=99328&perpage=20&pagenumber=2

and

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=99328&perpage=20&pagenumber=1

I'm happy to go to this paintball, Stan feel free to come collect money this weekend from the RathLanners as 1/2 of them will probably go to this event. I didnt want extra paintballs, I plan on spending 60 quid no more. Rayzer however wanted to get loads more than me :)

Some banners up at: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=100093

If any1 wants to take their hand at making 1 (and we use it), i'll reward them with a pint :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Ry

I live just down the road from this place in Ashford and Skirmish is actually in Roundwood or at least 2 mins outiside it. Roundwood villiage is where the 'apre-skirmishers' go for pints etc to talk about their near kills, etc. For accomodation I know there's the Roundwood Inn which has a pub connected to it also for those who would have to stay over. Everything Boston said was pretty much the whole lot. With regards to re filling the gun they show you how. It's pretty simple you just open the mouth of the bag of bullets put the mouth into the bullet holder on your gun(The Hopper) and then tip the bag up so all the bullets go into the gun and none fall out around the edges.

I played last about 3-4 months ago and the price then was 10 yoyos a refill. Believe me when I say THIS IS THE MONEY MAKER!!! The refills are where they RAKE in the money. Because the guns are semi automatic (i.e.Pull the trigger and a bullet comes out) people go postal and just fire, fire, fire, fire, forgetting about the fact they are on their 5th extra bag already and only in the second or third game :) Thats 50 extra quid already with another 4 or 5 games to go! People get so excited about having someone in their sights that they just go mad trying to hit them and therefore unload on a target that they may or may not even hit but at a cost of 10 bullets or more per target it will be quite pricey at the end. At this rate you will quite quickly deplete your ammo and your money while you will also find yourself trapesing off to refill while the game continues and you are not a part of it which means it could end while you are on your way to or from the dead zone to refill and then come back into it. OK I think people should have the message by now about refills.

The overalls they give you are merely for camo' purposes, because they are paper bloody thin! I recommend wearing Jeans under them for some sort of pain reduction. Head shots don't count so remember to fire again if you hit someone in the head because they will still technically be in the game :D That's a tough and ruthless one to remember. You have to shout "surrender" on close encounters and only if they don't can you shoot up close though in the heat of battle people 90% of the time forget this and just open fire on you or vice versa.

For those wondering about if it hurts... Yes it hurts. I will describe it as best as possible. The bullet hits you and you feel the thump more than anything and it gives you a bit of a shock so you know you have been hit, then you feel the pain which is like someone putting their finger on a bruise and pressing to make it hurt. It goes away in about a min or two. Well before you are back out fighting again. One thing that happens quite often is that you will get hit but the bullet won't burst and you are therefore still in the game so ALWAYS check that you have been marked. 3/5 times I found myself walking back to the dead zone without any paint on me thinking I was dead so don't forget to check.

The fights are utter chaos. If you stop for a second to just observe you can just hear the putt putt putt of guns and people running around trying to find a target. It's great fun. It is like CS or any other wargame only for real. It gives you a real respect and experience of how real war must have been in WW2 where the bullets don't drop but keep going till they hit something. Just take it in while you're there :) and remember that.

In the whole thing I used 5 or 6 extra bags being reasonably carefull only taking 2-4 shots on targets. That is more than enough if you have any level of accuracy.

Last but not least a reminder:DON'T GO THINKING YOU WILL ONLY BE SPENDING THE ENTRY FEE AND MAYBE ANOTHER 20 QUID YOU WILL SPEND ALOT MORE ON BAGS AND THEN PINTS AFTER WATCH YOUR AMMO AND DON'T GO MAD OR YOU WILL FIND YOURSELF ON YOUR 10 or 11th BAG BEFORE YOU KNOW IT.

I recommend you bring an extra 100 euros for ammo or for those of you that have them your credit card!! :)

I can't stress the refill point enough :)

Did I Mention the Refill money???? Har har :rolleyes:

Anyways I know those who go will love it provided they don't run out of ammo cuz then you are stuck on the sideline or scabbing off someone to pay for your's which means you can't really enjoy yourself.

Have a good one.

Ry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭Señor Juárez

well how aboot teams then? or wil they have to be decided on the day? wil all the LANners be togethr?

Spiral is right, If your lucky that 480 will last you the first 5 games, it might last the hole day if your very dad and get shot all the time.

Marclar, i explained teams in the guide. you don't pick teams, teams are decided at random, depending or weather your an even or odd number. Two teams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭Señor Juárez

right so.

I don't think the coach will hang about while we all go off to the pub after paintball. I'd say that'd be fine if we were all driving. But there is a coach with a 60 person capacity going up which will hopefully be used up and the rest driving which is what a few are doing at the moment.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Bah, I'm going away on the 19...

just wondering what the "rent a pc" option is for? is that to say if yur going ot be taking the bus that morning or is it just a a default option that room101.org puts on all of there sign up sheets? (just curious) alos if u sign up and then find out that u can go cuz of something u can cancel can't u?

Ok, well bascically i just want to see who is taking the bus. That is what the rent a PC is for. (I put that note on the bottom of the details section of the event).

Its so i know who is taking the bus and who is making their own way.

I need the fee upfront. If i book for 50, i need 50 to pay me or i am personally left short. So if you can't go, try get some1 else to as its not really refundable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

i got your pm's in my bouncer msg's this morning stan soz didnt reply was away from comp at the time.

No i never gotta chance to goto the bank, i will head down as soon as is possible.

And yes keep 2 spaces open for the bus as ive said :)

Stan, I've got the money but no where to post it, would appreciate an email with your address, thanks

addy sent.

There are only 14 free slots left. So if you have friends that want to be GUARENTEED a place, get them to sign up before the 80 limit is reached.