Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

niallo27 wrote: »
    We are a ****ing laughing stock around the country and it's all down to one man.

I disagree. With the underage success and the way those managment teams carried themselves and their teams with them. This current fiasco is laid at the feet on the current management. I find it hard to believe that one of the management who is a teacher by profession would stand over the humiliation of the players.
    This current effort at discipline isn't the first time this was implemented. It was done to another hurler two years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

We are a ****ing laughing stock around the country and it's all down to one man.

Slight exaggeration perhaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Slight exaggeration perhaps

Perhaps but all the sports shows were all talk about clare and how the players abandoned their team mates. We were compared to a concentration camp at one stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Perhaps but all the sports shows were all talk about clare and how the players abandoned their team mates. We were compared to a concentration camp at one stage.

Colm Parkinson referred to it as "indentured slavery" last Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

seachto7 wrote: »
    Colm Parkinson referred to it as "indentured slavery" last Monday.

With the greatest respect to parkinson hardly a credible pundit, the man who called one of greatest football manager micko dwyer a bluffer and awful manager such practical most Laois team refuted such nonsense, problems with parkinson and dwyer as clearly highlights in interview himself was when parkinson admitted drinking not turning up for training and in well published interview at the time said things were then sorted with micko and they were all fine

Yet years later he made woeful remarks regard great manager just because micko had discipline him

I'd take largely what he says regards clare set up with large dose salt

As regards clsre set up if true what happened then yes it wrong but judging by panel statement they seem happy with things and as tomas mulchay said if truth was in what two players said surely more would follow

There always three sides to every story. The a, the b and the truth and truth usually comes out in these matters
    I'd be very slow imo to complete belief two players story as total true just yet when none else have confirmed anything
    I'm not saying boys are not telling truth point is evidence so far incisive and imo circumstancesal on perception of how an issue was dealt with
    Time will tell

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,297 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I think Parkinson was echoing when Brolly used the "indentured slave" line before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭archieknox

With regards to the truth/lies and whom to believe I would imagine O Halloran is in no mans land at the moment as he hasn't got any backing from the rest of the squad. Were they ever going to support him? I doubt it very much. Add to that Davy's contacts in the press circles and O Halloran's options are very limited. If he goes to speak again then he risks being outcast in his own county so I would imagine he's going to lick his wounds and slip back into the background. Lets be honest here and just take it that he's telling the truth then where or who can he turn to? He would be blamed as being a troublemaker if he kept going on about it especially when he was going to be a lonesome voice and the Clare county board would want it brushed under the carpet for obvious reasons and then the GPA are in a catch 22 as Davy is still a member also.
    Personally I think there's never smoke without fire but that fire has been extinguished quickly as Davy has circled the wagons and used it to create a siege mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭Tommybojangles

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I think Parkinson was echoing when Brolly used the "indentured slave" line before.

I find it hard to listen to anything Parkinson says

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Was talking to a publican this evening who's pub wasn't frequented by the lads on the night in question, he assured me that they weren't drinking that night, he even said that he reckon'd he be able to check through CCTV to prove it if he was pushed to.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

archieknox wrote: »
    With regards to the truth/lies and whom to believe I would imagine O Halloran is in no mans land at the moment as he hasn't got any backing from the rest of the squad. Were they ever going to support him? I doubt it very much. Add to that Davy's contacts in the press circles and O Halloran's options are very limited. If he goes to speak again then he risks being outcast in his own county so I would imagine he's going to lick his wounds and slip back into the background. Lets be honest here and just take it that he's telling the truth then where or who can he turn to? He would be blamed as being a troublemaker if he kept going on about it especially when he was going to be a lonesome voice and the Clare county board would want it brushed under the carpet for obvious reasons and then the GPA are in a catch 22 as Davy is still a member also.
    Personally I think there's never smoke without fire but that fire has been extinguished quickly as Davy has circled the wagons and used it to create a siege mentality.

Innocent until proven guilty I think everyone has right to, in that sense everyone seems think Davy is wrong, but you can't just pick one voice and belive it without prove imo

Davy reputation doesn't do him favours but imo wrong to say he's wrong when imo just one word essentially against another
    Imo talk about no man's land, Davy is I'm that in he not popular amongst most imo so many tend to belive others just fact not Davy if Davy done what's alleged he's totally wrong but imo no real evidence say this occurred
    If it's true why has not others spoke out
    In cork strikes they were believed as more than one voice

Davy contacts in the media????

I doubt he has many to be fair that would influence as such
    It would be interesting to imo hear jamsie or christy o Connor or louganne views or daly view on this imo as if either those spoke you would tend to belive what they say
    They seem strong characters would not be influenced by anyone
    Common perception seems halloran story is fool proof totally believable, imo what facts prove this so far????

While not exactly the same scenario Kevin cassidy donegal scenario hinted problems with mcguiness yet as turned out panel backed mcguiness all the way and even last year amid rumours problems in the camp, wasn't when championship came, donegal were flying it

Clareman wrote: »

Times broke the story ist did they not???

I don't think there going to not obviously question the statement by Davy
    Who is the other players didn't get punished??

Why hasn't halloran named him
    Clare management are being questioned for not clarifying inaccuracies fair enough but surely halloran name clare player that apparently received lenaciy

Davy contacts in the media????

I doubt he has many to be fair that would influence as such

He had a fairly successful TV show, I'm sure he has loads of contacts.

He doesn't seem to have a great recent record with them, getting physical with members of the media last year didn't help a lot of the relationships though.

I find it hard to listen to anything Parkinson says
    I'd agree

He's hardly with respect in any position question management when as a player he had fair share discipline issues with Laois, he was a fine player no doubt though
    If the o Connor, mcmahon, daly etc spoke out against Davy I'd tend to listen but none so far have

He had a fairly successful TV show, I'm sure he has loads of contacts.

He doesn't seem to have a great recent record with them, getting physical with members of the media last year didn't help a lot of the relationships though.

I'd agree and that reality show fittest family been repeated at nights
    However none that show have anything do writing in sports journalists as far as I'm aware

He's no angel but imo no clear evidence yet showing anything prove halloran view

There's fair argument to say lot media don't like Davy either

Times broke the story ist did they not???

I don't think there going to not obviously question the statement by Davy

Yup, and as the national paper of record they would have to challenge the statement, Clare can't not respond now in my opinion.
    Who is the other players didn't get punished??

Why hasn't halloran named him
    Clare management are being questioned for not clarifying inaccuracies fair enough but surely halloran name clare player that apparently received lenaciy
    The whole "we're weren't the only ones at it" is bad enough, coming out and naming a player would be a whole lot worse. There's lots of rumours going around about who it was, no-one seems to know for definite who the player was, the abiding rumour is that it was after Fitzgibbon Cup matches, there is talk of whatsapp photos as proof. Lots and lots of rumours.

Yup, and as the national paper of record they would have to challenge the statement, Clare can't not respond now in my opinion.

The whole "we're weren't the only ones at it" is bad enough, coming out and naming a player would be a whole lot worse. There's lots of rumours going around about who it was, no-one seems to know for definite who the player was, the abiding rumour is that it was after Fitzgibbon Cup matches, there is talk of whatsapp photos as proof. Lots and lots of rumours.

That's my point so imo nothing proven yet but imo Davy no angel but look lot see him easy fodder so I'd be cautious to say man guilty with out evidence
    I see all time Roy Keane in cork
    People just wait any excuse to slate him as he's easy fodder

Louganne said statement Davy lads should said nothing at all and certainly imo was siding Davy but all mistake was he said was clsre media should said nothing at all

That the point no one knows this alleged player got special treatment yet everyone seems know Davy wrongs

I'd agree and that reality show fittest family been repeated at nights
    However none that show have anything do writing in sports journalists as far as I'm aware

I work in IT and have a thin connection with marketing companies, I just checked my phone there and I have phone numbers of 5 fairly high profile sports journalists thanks to LinkedIn connections alone, I've no doubt that an intercounty manager has loads of contacts.
    He's no angel but imo no clear evidence yet showing anything prove halloran view
    I agree with this 100%, but this is just a game, not a court of law. The problem here is the way the whole thing was dealt with, players are seen out by "someone", few weeks go by and then there is a ruling made with punishment, the players don't agree with the punishment and decide not to go ahead with it, they are left with no recourse but to drop off the panel, they decide to write a letter explaining their reasoning which is ripped up in public. I don't think anyone is questioning that any of this took place, there is conflicting reports on how the letter was ripped up, but that's just details.
    There's fair argument to say lot media don't like Davy either
    The 1 thing the guy seems to do is burn an awful lot of bridges awful quickly

That's my point so imo nothing proven yet but imo Davy no angel but look lot see him easy fodder so I'd be cautious to say man guilty with out evidence

Louganne said statement Davy lads should said nothing at all and certainly imo was siding Davy but all mistake was he said was clsre media should said nothing at all

That the point no one knows this alleged player got special treatment yet everyone seems know Davy wrongs

I think it's just a combination of things, there seems to be someone every month now, it's either abusing officials, arguing with supporters, fighting with media, falling out with players, giving ultimatums to players.

The easy thing to do here would be to have said "this was an internal matter which was dealt with internally, I don't want to discuss this, but I wish the players the best and the door is open for them to earn their way back", not to go on like he did and then sign a statement.

I work in IT and have a thin connection with marketing companies, I just checked my phone there and I have phone numbers of 5 fairly high profile sports journalists thanks to LinkedIn connections alone, I've no doubt that an intercounty manager has loads of contacts.

I agree with this 100%, but this is just a game, not a court of law. The problem here is the way the whole thing was dealt with, players are seen out by "someone", few weeks go by and then there is a ruling made with punishment, the players don't agree with the punishment and decide not to go ahead with it, they are left with no recourse but to drop off the panel, they decide to write a letter explaining their reasoning which is ripped up in public. I don't think anyone is questioning that any of this took place, there is conflicting reports on how the letter was ripped up, but that's just details.

The 1 thing the guy seems to do is burn an awful lot of bridges awful quickly

I'd agree absolutely lots have contacts but media can be fickle enough so having guy on phone imo doesn't mean he'll influence things, it may or may not happen

Davy burns lot bridges no doubt at all and he's definitely tough character deal with but I seen him numerous times ul training last two years always willing sign autographs pose pictures young players after games and genuinely have chat them and I think certainly not monster some make him out to be
    He's easy target at times

Louganne had runs in Davy as manager but respect there and imo louganne not going against Davy imo indicate me too many people saying oh all Davy fault with no evidence
    It's not court law I agree but surely in life a man all walks entitled innocent until proven guilty
    All I'm saying is if Davy is guilty I'd be against it totally but I'd like evidence prove he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

That's like something Davy himself would say....everyone is out to get him for no other reason than he is Davy. This is not something that is being driven by the media, or people on the outside with an agenda. It was all started by players on his own panel. That makes it a lot more serious than any of his other spats imo.

I think it's just a combination of things, there seems to be someone every month now, it's either abusing officials, arguing with supporters, fighting with media, falling out with players, giving ultimatums to players.

The easy thing to do here would be to have said "this was an internal matter which was dealt with internally, I don't want to discuss this, but I wish the players the best and the door is open for them to earn their way back", not to go on like he did and then sign a statement.
    I think you have valid points like louganne said some times better say nothing at all

However shut mouth catches no flies doesn't seem Davy style, a man always fight every way all he's life different challenges while I don't agree all time I understand why hard him sit fence say nothing at all, Davy way always been to fight he's corner

If he said nothing at all, imo still couldn't win as those would say ah man never shuts up suddenly cat got he's tongue he's guilty

Davy felt united Statement best way dealing with it probably

I agree he needs calm down, bit but imo guilty previous thinks doesn't mean he's guilty this particular scenario

ProudDUB wrote: »
    That's like something Davy himself would say....everyone is out to get him for no other reason than he is Davy. This is not something that is being driven by the media, or people on the outside with an agenda. It was all started by players on his own panel. That makes it a lot more serious than any of his other spats imo.
    It was all started by players you claim??
    What players?!
    Just one spoke out

Why has not o connell spoke out
    Media , imo some always hsve their own angle

What evidence is there belive halloran
    Just cause halloran claims something doesn't mean it happened??

Why not give evidence?
    Name other players

At moment imo I have two sides believe, halloran or louganne
    Loughin coach with huge credits game imo dismissed halloran view imo by saying imo clare management should ignored claims as much saying were not replying to as not worth replying to
    I posted the link above
    There's lot here imo that clarity must be given on before anyone can be accused being wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

I don't know if the management could ignore it completely to be honest. They were undoubtedly being pressured by media and if O'Halloran's story is true, it is disgraceful. A lot of Clare fans are very dissatisfied at the moment and have been for a while... it probably stems from poor results but this is something that people have used to vent frustrations.

I think the nature of the statement wasn't great though... if you are going to bother to do it, you might as well give your side of the story instead of just saying he was wrong and leaving people worry over the details.

Maybe O'Halloran was lying or was somehow mistaken. Maybe. I suppose he was pissed off at never really getting a chance that he may have deserved, he's a very talented hurler. But if he was lying... it's not a very good lie... how many people are involved in the Clare team or have watched them training. Or if we're just talking about another player drinking..... well, I 100% believe that happened. Proving whether the management knew about it, well, that's a different matter.

Does seem to be a bit of a mess but the rest of the panel do seem to be behind the management and I suppose they might use it as a unifying factor. DOH must be pretty pissed off though.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    I don't know if the management could ignore it completely to be honest. They were undoubtedly being pressured by media and if O'Halloran's story is true, it is disgraceful. A lot of Clare fans are very dissatisfied at the moment and have been for a while... it probably stems from poor results but this is something that people have used to vent frustrations.

I think the nature of the statement wasn't great though... if you are going to bother to do it, you might as well give your side of the story instead of just saying he was wrong and leaving people worry over the details.

Maybe O'Halloran was lying or was somehow mistaken. Maybe. I suppose he was pissed off at never really getting a chance that he may have deserved, he's a very talented hurler. But if he was lying... it's not a very good lie... how many people are involved in the Clare team or have watched them training. Or if we're just talking about another player drinking..... well, I 100% believe that happened. Proving whether the management knew about it, well, that's a different matter.

Does seem to be a bit of a mess but the rest of the panel do seem to be behind the management and I suppose they might use it as a unifying factor. DOH must be pretty pissed off though.
    People imo must remember Davy style management is similar louganne, in very confrontial and back himself in to a corner and comes our fighting
    Davy ti be fair grew up culture that suited he's drive
    Daly has different style but Davy should not imo be faulted all time he style when similar style louganne won clare two all Ireland and Davy won all Ireland also
    Imo history tells us clsre having siege mentality us against world suits them as daly speech that upset many clare would not be whipped boys munster any longer in 95
    Imo confrontial management styles won clare last tree all Ireland so works them where soft approach suits others

Davy has relished world against him
    If players back Davy this imo could hugely benft them as trade mark clare possession game is work rate and hooking and blocking and that requires huge work ethic never say die attuide and furious hunger that is relentless

If players back Davy they will see it as world against them and they have a cause to drive that hunger
    If clare get hunger back imo fuel to drive them on as they have awesome hurlers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭archieknox

Fireball07 wrote: »

That's exactly my take on it aswell. It was definitely handled very badly and we know thinktoomuch has stated about the cork lads going on strike but those strikes definitely left a sour taste on both sides of their arguments that are probably still simmering underneath the surface there. Could Clare afford that to happen? Absolutely not. Look its a small enough catchment area when some of these lads from opposing counties are playing Fitzgibbon together so talk/rumours will get out so for O Halloran to make the accusation about the high profile player not being dealt with in the same way, he obviously must have evidence to back his claim up. Obviously it has been handled poorly and because of this people are intrigued as to what really happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭LMK

Its a bit of craic for the time of year, bottom line is Davy is a polarizing character, ergo his teams have to win, that brings pressure so it can't be nice for him or his family, as an outsider I admire how much Davy has grafted to make the most of the talent he was given.
    When he's gone he'll be missed, if he was to get a bit of leeway in terms of not actually holding him to stand by everything that he says I'd say he'd right a few mistakes but his personality seems to be such that he won't retract if he's backed into a corner.
    GAA journos are squeezing him now as well, in any case if Limerick don't this year I hope Clare win the A.I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

I've been involved with lots of teams in the past. I can't get my head around the so-called punishment meted out to these guys. How f*****g twisted do you have to be to come up with that list? What has happened you in a previous life to harbour such pent-up rage?

LMK wrote: »
    Its a bit of craic for the time of year, bottom line is Davy is a polarizing character, ergo his teams have to win, that brings pressure so it can't be nice for him or his family, as an outsider I admire how much Davy has grafted to make the most of the talent he was given.
    When he's gone he'll be missed, if he was to get a bit of leeway in terms of not actually holding him to stand by everything that he says I'd say he'd right a few mistakes but his personality seems to be such that he won't retract if he's backed into a corner.
    GAA journos are squeezing him now as well, in any case if Limerick don't this year I hope Clare win the A.I.
    I'd agree old habits die hard so I tend to back he's style in look at he's record with lit had success, got Waterford win munster, to all Ireland final which others failed do, clare win all Ireland title

He's successful manager and imo proven and I tend to side on anyone wins
    Obviously code conduct must be obeyed also but nothing proven as such against him yet, just allegations

Davy has to fight for everything all he's life, had own personal trainer when playing to get every inch out him and be fair always embrace challenge

He's always had to fight he's corner so imo hard habit to change but always speaks team as family and when loose always credit effort etc

He just demand so much manager and be fair it's easy see why in grew up culture clare where clare never expected to win , you become harder with that edge very hard loose it