Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Traditional After Hours " Look at these Feckin Eejits" thread.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Last time I was in temple bar on St Patricks night was about 15 years ago.
    Walking down fleet street there was this couple snogging away in a doorway. Fair enough.
    But she was wearing white trousers and had shat herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Lapin wrote: »

Fake.

It's not even weather for paring yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Omg I have no reflection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Never thought it possible to devolve!

It's time to accept you're a vampire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,492 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

See what you want to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

State of the lot of them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,167 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Christ we've no privacy anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I'm not really into Paddy's day, but at least it'll be a boost to the hospitality sector and any business selling food or drinks today, especially hot drinks. It doesn't hurt to get the community mingling with each other either. Jesus, what's wrong with me? I'm being positive today.:eek: I think I may need a doctor.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,492 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Well if you're on a street in Templebar...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Sorry to break it to you but that's only an image of a mirror. Therefore there will be no reflection.

Trust me. I'm a scientist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Can't even walk down the middle of shop street on Paddy's day without people seein' ya these days.

Can't even stale turf in Donegal without being watched on the cccccctv camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

How are they all out at this hour!?! Has nobody got work tomorrow!?!

Jealous :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats

Who will be assaulted today? I'm going for a French tourist:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Tugboats wrote: »

You leave those poor frenchies alone!

biko wrote: »

decent fanny on the Galway cam.

Can't even stale turf in Donegal without being watched on the cccccctv camera.

Aye they are up watching for illegal dumpers.

I presume you know that a stale is somewhere in the bog you build a turf stack, and you're not taking a hand at my accent? :p

decent fanny on the Galway cam.

Looks good down there at the moment.

Feck the swotting, I think I'll head in !

Meanwhile Temple Bar looks like a friggin nightmare already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,573 ✭✭✭cml387

Galway looks absolutely lovely.

Temple Bar is just a big black stylised E.

I expected more.

Kicking off in temple bar. Rocking and climbing up on a van:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,167 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Kicking off in temple bar. Rocking and climbing up on a van:cool:

And its still early. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭17larsson

What is the van doing there!

I would love to be in the middle of that crowd. You can't beat being an hour queue from the front door of a pub that has an hour queue to the bar

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

Chipper van would make more sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

The backwards man having problems in the bog.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭conorhal

I strolled through Temple Bar just after the parade, it took me a good 20mins to get from one side of the main square to a street from which I could make a hasty exit, about 50 feet and the crush was so serious that some shoving started and the girl next me began to panic a bit. As usual there were no guards the entire stretch of temple bar except for four in the plinth in the square watching the mayhem and doing nothing. Streets into the area badly needed to be shut and some crowd control put in place to manage the volumes and keep people moving. The ineptitude of how the parade is managed is actually quite scary and the crowds of scumbag teenagers give the place a lairy air. I won't be bothering to go in again next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭Miall108

Charlie Bird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

jeepers there's a serious scrum there now, imagine what the pubs are like?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,739 ✭✭✭dirtyden

The streets are actually dangerously packed there now. Been a while since I was in dub on paddy's day (15 yrs). It was busy but never this busy from what I can remember.

IS this a more modern thing or am I just not recollecting well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

How anyone could say they were actually 'enjoying' themselves there in Temple Bar is beyond me

I'd rather spend a year in a Turkish prison with Russell Brand and Jim Davidson as cellmates than spend five minutes in that hellhole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

It's like a cattle mart for leprechauns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

Standing around for ages in a small space with hundreds of people crowding you in, jumping into you, barging into you, while sober due to your beer running out sounds like hell to me.

Eutow wrote: »
    Standing around for ages in a small space with hundreds of people crowding you in, jumping into you, barging into you, while sober due to your beer running out sounds like hell to me.

Still, each to their own, just glad I decided to stay in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Going to be passing the Galway one in about half an hour. Will strip for any Boardsies watching. Plz RT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,377 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Eutow wrote: »

Sounds like a typical French/Spanish night out in a Dublin pub so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭FalconGirl

Had 2 pints in the Quays in Temple Bar at 1pm today. It was getting pretty crowded then. What struck me was the complete lack of Gardai in the area with drunk teenagers and teens openly drinking all over the place. Can only imagine the mayhem now!

FalconGirl wrote: »
    Had 2 pints in the Quays in Temple Bar at 1pm today. It was getting pretty crowded then. What struck me was the complete lack of Gardai in the area with drunk teenagers and teens openly drinking all over the place. Can only imagine the mayhem now!

You did it the right way, get in early and get out, I'd say there will be carnage in there around midnight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

kfallon wrote: »
    You did it the right way, get in early and get out, I'd say there will be carnage in there around midnight

No doubt we will see the carnage in the tabloids tomorrow....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Going to be passing the Galway one in about half an hour. Will strip for any Boardsies watching. Plz RT

RT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Just clicked on the link to the cam,couple of rows already within the 30 seconds I watched.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

Fcukin hell! I just tuned into the OP's link there and it's mayhem. There's a shower of gobsh1tes on the West side of the screen who are lined up doing what my kid's call "The Washing Machine" - basically shoving any poor misfortunate who tries to pass roughly between them and giving a final shove at the end. Seen 4 or 5 folk go flying in the last 2 mins, not a Garda in sight.

What a nightmare. Am from Dublin and never been in Temple bar on Paddy's night. Totally lawless alright :( I must be getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

Shrap wrote: »
    Fcukin hell! I just tuned into the OP's link there and it's mayhem. There's a shower of gobsh1tes on the West side of the screen who are lined up doing what my kid's call "The Washing Machine" - basically shoving any poor misfortunate who tries to pass roughly between them and giving a final shove at the end. Seen 4 or 5 folk go flying in the last 2 mins, not a Garda in sight.

What a nightmare. Am from Dublin and never been in Temple bar on Paddy's night. Totally lawless alright :( I must be getting old.

Jesus yeah I've just seen a few people go flying.They will do that to someone they shouldn't and start a fight. Idiots. Anyway looks like my idea of hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

Watched the galway one for about 10 mins seen a guy arrested and a couple having a major fight the guy just look so unhappy a lady with flowers came over to sell one to them an he just waved her away while his girlfriend just kept screaming at him poor guy lol

looking at temple bar tonight im glad I stayed local and home early

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Reminds me a bit from the game 'Resident Evil'

• Registered Users Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

WellThen? wrote: »
    Jesus yeah I've just seen a few people go flying.They will do that to someone they shouldn't and start a fight. Idiots. Anyway looks like my idea of hell.

Yup. I heard about "The Washing Machine" after my youngest (1st yr) took offence at being shoved along a corridor in school (why wouldn't he?!) by a bunch of 3rd years and boxed one of them in the nuts. Fights are easily started by numbskulls.