Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,300 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Yawn. Yawn. Yawn. Are people still quoting him out of context on this? Do you and others that keep bringing this up even understand what context is? Well if you don't, you're in good company as the amount of newspaper headlines that just quoted the second part of what he said, and not the first, was astounding.

What he actually said was that he enjoyed the effect the strikers had on the traffic, restaurants, airports on that day they protested and that he thought they were in fact fantastic. He then immediately followed that by highlighting the fact that the BBC must remain impartial on political matters and so said that he had now better say something negative about the strikers to balance what he had said previous, hence the 'They should all be taken outside and shot, how dare they protest' comment. The joke was therefore on the BBC, not the strikers.

I didn't know that and I'll take your word for it. I was wrong. I only saw the reported story. My apologies.

My impression of Clarkson is mostly pinned on his newspaper column. In terms of 'celebrity' opinion columns in UK papers, I only really read his and Charlie Brookers. His can be very ignorant at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭PWEI

He's at it again;

http://www.theguardian.com/media/2015/mar/17/jeremy-clarkson-london-cabs-driven-by-foreigners-smell-of-sick

It's really mind boggling how anybody would have time for this bigot especially anybody who is not British.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Once again the utterly priggish and humour free are taken for a ride in Clarksons very own Trolltaxi.
    In London, there are two types of driver. You have a chap who has just arrived from a country you’ve never heard of, whose car smells faintly of lavender oil and sick, who doesn’t know where he’s going and can’t get there anyway because he never puts more than £2 worth of fuel in the tank of his car.

“Then you have someone in a suit in a smart black Mercedes S-Class who does know where he’s going and is very polite but he charges around £7,500 a mile.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

So when is Top Gear Back on??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Never (except on Dave - forever)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

Not good enough......I'll have to wait until it goes onto another network!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,788 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

cdeb wrote: »
    I actually think the slope thing was just a joke that backfired.
    And the other important point to remember here is that that trip would have taken days, they would have shot hundreds of hours of footage, said all kinds of things on film. Clarkson isn't the producer of the show, he isn't the director, he isn't the editor. As wrong as it might have been for him to say it, was it not worse that the makers of the show decided to put it in? Top Gear wants to portray Clarkson as a toff, that's the script they write for him.

It's still mind boggling that people can call Top Gear a scripted show and then curse one of the actors for saying his lines.
    Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Don't compare Clarkson to Louis CK. They're nothing alike and Clarkson wishes he was that funny, insightful and witty.
    I can compare the two and you did in your post. The two make jokes on the tele, one may be brilliant and the other tragic (in your eyes) but their still doing the same job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Some people here haven't just drank the Clarkson kool-aid, they've shotgunned a keg of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

ScumLord wrote: »
    I can compare the two and you did in your post. The two make jokes on the tele, one may be brilliant and the other tragic (in your eyes) but their still doing the same job.

No they're not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    No they're not.

Are too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 969 ✭✭✭JacquesDeLad

I like things with engines but I haven't regarded Top Gear as an informative programme for years. It's just an entertainment show which is near it's sell-by-date. Clarkson will struggle in another format, he's just not very interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Wompa1 wrote: »
    I didn't know that and I'll take your word for it.

I was wrong. I only saw the reported story. My apologies.

That's cool man, fair play. Here is that interview by the way.

First clip below is an example of how his words were taken out of context at the time and the second clip is the unedited version of his appearance:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Once again the utterly priggish and humour free are taken for a ride in Clarksons very own Trolltaxi.

Hilarious :D

Edit: vvvv Boooooooo :mad:

"and on that bombshell!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

First clip below is an example of how his words were taken out of context at the time and the second clip is the unedited version of his appearance:

Loving how he's categorising himself with average workers in that first clip.
    Yeah Jeremy your 'job' is to drive a 4x4 into crates and then drive a Porsche round a track. Hang out with Cameron Diaz and crack the odd edgy nationality joke.
    For a six figure salary.
    You're not one of the hard working public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,556 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Loving how he's categorising himself with average workers in that first clip.
    Yeah Jeremy your 'job' is to drive a 4x4 into crates and then drive a Porsche round a track. Hang out with Cameron Diaz and crack the odd edgy nationality joke.
    For a six figure salary.
    You're not one of the hard working public.

Job is to act out the fantasies of the spenks who watch that programme.

Get them off someway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Job is to act out the fantasies of the spenks who watch that programme.

Get them off someway

So you watch the Culcher Show whilst quaffing chardonnay and dining on a cheese platter.
    But of course one would if he is a sophisticated as what you are. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Way too late to suggest waiting to see what he actually said, I'd say.

So you watch the Culcher Show whilst quaffing chardonnay and dining on a cheese platter.
    But of course one would if he is a sophisticated as what you are. :p

You're bang wrong. If we've learnt anything from this thread its that everyone who doesn't enjoy top gear is a sandal wearing, humourless vegan.

So no cheese platter.

Keep up with the times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

You're bang wrong. If we've learnt anything from this thread its that everyone who doesn't enjoy top gear is a sandal wearing, humourless vegan.

So no cheese platter.

Keep up with the times.

Could be soy cheese...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Could be soy cheese...

Oh do excuse me, I seem to have crushed one of your Birkenstocks with the front wheel of my Jaaaaag! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭Mallagio

Clarkson does seen to thrive on negative publicity about himself to draw in the numbers for his shows...

Seems to me that he's walking a tight line between brains and pure ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭davwain

Mallagio wrote: »
    Clarkson does seen to thrive on negative publicity about himself to draw in the numbers for his shows...

Seems to me that he's walking a tight line between brains and pure ignorance.

That is even with Top Gear on re-runs. I am currently watching a past episode on the paint jobs Clarkson, May and Hammond made to their cars, to make those cars look like cop cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

Gear wants to portray Clarkson as a toff, that's the script they write for him.

Clarkson is a toff though. I'm not an avid Clarkson hater but I do think that a lot of his apologists here are most likely British or private school lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,788 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Ranchu wrote: »
    Clarkson is a toff though. I'm not an avid Clarkson hater but I do think that a lot of his apologists here are most likely British or private school lads.
    There's been a never ending list of these assumptions in this thread and even the slightest bit of thought would show this assumption to be as inane as the rest that have been shown to be completely wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

There's been a never ending list of these assumptions in this thread and even the slightest bit of thought would show this assumption to be as inane as the rest that have been shown to be completely wrong.

Nah, I reckon I'm right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Ranchu wrote: »
    Nah, I reckon I'm right.

You sir, are among the more astute and hawk-eyed social commentators by whom I have had the considerable good fortune to be informed, and I wish to subscribe to your newsletter. :D

I can't think why anyone would think Clarkson is a toff. He's an everyday man of the people.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2887864/Jeremy-Clarkson-turns-Boxing-Day-hunt-rides-land-Oxfordshire-named-Diddly-Squat-farm.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

At the end of the day, I suppose something as big and well covered by the media as disciplinary action and possible firing of Clarkson would be a very welcome distraction from emerging reports that the BBC chief circles are firing/demoting/bullying out people who were involved in uncovering and broadcasting the Jimmy Saville scandals and more like it. Yep. Highly respectable company is the BBC, looking out for the little man by suspending the big mean Clarkson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,556 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

At the end of the day, I suppose something as big and well covered by the media as disciplinary action and possible firing of Clarkson would be a very welcome distraction from emerging reports that the BBC chief circles are firing/demoting/bullying out people who were involved in uncovering and broadcasting the Jimmy Saville scandals and more like it. Yep. Highly respectable company is the BBC, looking out for the little man by suspending the big mean Clarkson.

The law of course would have nothing to do with it?