Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Where would you buy a big white board?
    will have loads of wall space in dairy when it's extended and a white board to write things down on is something I want

Viking direct

Back of An old election poster would do bit harder to clean though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Viking direct

Back of An old election poster would do bit harder to clean though

Talk about low cost ðŸ˜
    found one on DD 110e for a big one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,789 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Talk about low cost ðŸ˜
    mines a big one:) cost 65 euro in local stationery shop

Would a 10t be more than adequate 130 cows easy get it refilled if your using alot of meal
    have a 16 ton bin here , there was feck all price difference in price between the smaller ones and the 16 tonne, only filled it once when purchasing quote was finishing and we knew price was going to rocket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

Where would you buy a big white board?
    will have loads of wall space in dairy when it's extended and a white board to write things down on is something I want

http://www.office1web.ie/office-supplies/wall-notice-boards/drywipe-boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

In the process of building a 6/7ton hopper in the loft to feed the new parlour here! Cost of about 200 quid in materials against 2k for a new bin. I'll probably just put up a bin in the future but for now this will do grand, I've enough money sank into this whole project so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Timmaay wrote: »
    In the process of building a 6/7ton hopper in the loft to feed the new parlour here! Cost of about 200 quid in materials against 2k for a new bin. I'll probably just put up a bin in the future but for now this will do grand, I've enough money sank into this whole project so far!

Stick up a few more pictures of what you're at Timmay. Last one I saw was of the pit with earthing metalwork ready for concrete?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Talk about low cost ðŸ˜

We use a sheet of the white waterproof ceiling sheets, get a slightly damaged one for next to nothing in hardware.

just do it wrote: »
    Stick up a few more pictures of what you're at Timmay. Last one I saw was of the pit with earthing metalwork ready for concrete?

http://www.forum4farming.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11265&page=5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Fine job Tim.
    Lots of familiar names popping up on f4f .does anyone do any work at all round here. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

imo if thinking of inserting a second lot of units make sure your pit it is around 7ft wide,, ive helped milk , in double rows of 8 and 10 units and they are grand , but if a pit is under 6ft there is little room especially if cow feels like painting, its a disaster. ive also seen 22 units where the operator is going full blast putting on units with disastrous results. at that pace of milking milk yield has to be monitored.
    also id think twice about putting slatted tank in wrong place ,i did and now i cant shift it, neighbour put in overground tank well away from building with a slatted channel taking all slurry out to pumping point.
    ive also delivered bulk into yards and for years Spirofeed were the only ones putting in remote filling pipes which eliminated need for truck driving through ****e and cattle yards at most inconvenient timing imaginable.
    also watch what way air vent pipe is faced ive seen numerous bins installed with the vent pipe close to cooler units of milk tanks and inlets of building where milk tanks are housed. sections in most bulk trucks are around 8-10 ton so id suggest 10-12 bin, sometimes fellas prefer to get a bin with a sub- section which can be filled with a smaller requirement of different feed type at times. however ive often tipped 20- 30 ton loads into narrow sections of sheds or lean-tos, or blown it in all you need is walls about 8 ft high, a high blow hose anchor point and screening plus full height external doors or roller door.
    a number of farmers constructing parlours make them extra high or use a small disused shed if conventional, to fit an overhead loft capable of holding bulk ration. one i know is designed capable of holding 8 ton of nuts each side with 2 separate blow pipes attached. so lorry fills 2 sections and blows 1 section into each side

A bit amazed with this
    bf after jumping from 4.83 to 5.83 in two collections.
    Wasnt that many fresh calvers go into tank.
    they were on very very old leys cover of 2k on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

A bit amazed with this

Did the protein come down ? You can be sure that the old lays are more fibrous than the lower covers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭degetme

A bit amazed with this

Our protein gne to ****. Tis around 3%. Is it a lull aftr calving? 89% calved. Scc is very low. Always hapens this time of year and tis hard to get ther kerry base price/solids for march

degetme wrote: »
    Our protein gne to ****. Tis around 3%. Is it a lull aftr calving? 89% calved. Scc is very low. Always hapens this time of year and tis hard to get ther kerry base price/solids for march
    what are they eating? are they in or out, at 3.3 here, in full time

Energy content of the diet will have a large affect on protein

Doing about 23l I reckon
    P is 3.62.
    up from 3.54

whelan2 wrote: »

Half milking block grazed. Dr on 4 sum days 5kg of .94ulf 14p nut. ****y weather nd in and out dosent help. There getn 71dmd pit silage too when in. Hopefuly back out again full time friday

whelan2 wrote: »

Had to house at night the last few days protein dropped of a cliff , silage quality very poor here

Doing about 23l I reckon
    P is 3.62.
    up from 3.54

That's works out at 2.23 ms a cow that serious going gg

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Had to house at night the last few days protein dropped of a cliff , silage quality very poor here

Better that than poaching. I see cows poaching to keep milk protein up around these parts of country

trixi2011 wrote: »
    That's works out at 2.23 ms a cow that serious going gg

Wonder has coop made a mistake 😀
    Bf up a whole point in 2 days

Thanks for link Tim. Making nice steady progress. How long till you think you'll be milking in it?

Now that I think of it, how deep did you make the pit? I think it was you that mentioned having trouble with a shallow pit in the old parlour a year or two ago

degetme wrote: »
    Better that than poaching. I see cows poaching to keep milk protein up around these parts of country

Defiantly better than poaching, space is a bit of a problem for us at the moment tho had to stick out a row or 2 to limit the overcrowding

Wonder has coop made a mistake 😀
    Bf up a whole point in 2 days

Our solids changing a lot at the moment so you would never know Ether way your still over 2 ms a cow in early march nice position to be in

just do it wrote: »
    Thanks for link Tim. Making nice steady progress. How long till you think you'll be milking in it?

Now that I think of it, how deep did you make the pit? I think it was you that mentioned having trouble with a shallow pit in the old parlour a year or two ago

Could have the machine running on Friday! But still concrete work, wash down pump and a decent few other smallish jobs to be done. And I'm hoping to go skiing on the 21st! So thinking of waiting until after that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Could have the machine running on Friday! But still concrete work, wash down pump and a decent few other smallish jobs to be done. And I'm hoping to go skiing on the 21st! So thinking of waiting until after that!
    same as myself timmaay ,just finished ,lads putting up new feeders and wash down pump,but no skiing here :mad:. very nice job by the way, may the milk flow true and straight into the tank and not down the drain.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Just read another article in the journal re lely and guys that use their robots.obe thing that always get to me is how ****e most of their milk solids are.guybthis week housed all year herd average 9700 ltrs(which is proably a rolling average and not deliever )and fat 4.0% (good in fairness and 3.15 p.nothing about production costs,no grass ,nothing about solids just more milk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Just read another article in the journal re lely and guys that use their robots.obe thing that always get to me is how ****e most of their milk solids are.guybthis week housed all year herd average 9700 ltrs(which is proably a rolling average and not deliever )and fat 4.0% (good in fairness and 3.15 p.nothing about production costs,no grass ,nothing about solids just more milk

I wonder if that is just a factor of more regular milking - I think cows go to the robot 2.5 times / day on average?