Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From minutes to miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

I have an "unworn by meno medium" if you want it. Actually unworn by anyone!

You're very good, thanks TRR but I don't want to offend Meno by rejecting his "worn post race medium" after his offer.....nothing that a bit of Lenor Summer Breeze won't sort I'm sure ;) Much appreciated though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I have an "unworn by meno medium" if you want it. Actually unworn by anyone!

Feck off turd. I'll wash it before I send it obviously :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Just read your race report L, loved it and well raced.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Great performance Laura - congratulations on a huge PB...there's a load of Sandbags down on the coast road there at Clontarf, you should dump yours there now that the secret is out :D

Duanington wrote: »
    Great performance Laura - congratulations on a huge PB...there's a load of Sandbags down on the coast road there at Clontarf, you should dump yours there now that the secret is out :D

Ha - sure I know, the stupid things were blocking my access to the cycle track for a few days :) thanks D!

Monday 9th: 4.18 miles @ 10:56, average HR N/A - 45 mins recovery/very easy

I was sans bike as I'd left it in work Friday evening so on two feet was the best way to get in. Decided to treat it like a recovery run but went without the HR strap dictating the pace (bit of race chaffing from Sunday :o) I wanted to keep it slower than my normal easy runs so I just did it by feel and let the legs dictate the pace, they were definitely feeling the previous day. As the day went on I was some sight in work. Ok if I'd been moving around, but if I'd been sitting for a while I was in bits as I got started shuffling away from the chair.

Tuesday 10th: Rest

Wednesday 11th: Football. Not the best timing so quick after Sunday but numbers were tight so no chance of not going. Legs were feeling much better thankfully, as we were one short again for one half of the match. Lots of running, tracking back and chasing (oh the joys of midfield :rolleyes:) as a result but we played well and nicked a win. One of those matches that feels better to win than hammering someone.

Thursday 12th: 5.53 miles @ 10:51, average HR 150bpm - 60 mins very easy

Decided to keep this one gentle again, the legs were tender after football and the weekend probably still. Good to note that it was similar to my "feely" run on Monday. Abandoned my initial route plan to head up the Raheny 5 "hill" and the undulating route and stuck to a flat out and back along the coast. On this one I got to thinking about the psychology of running and races based on some talk on Dubgals spotlight thread and a few others. I was wondering if I had gone out with the 2 hour pacers last week would I have stuck it out and held on? Or did having a secondary goal of aiming to catch up and drive on actually help me ultimately? I'll never know obviously but it's interesting, I feel the latter is true and I may have fallen off the pace group but I could be wrong.

I forgot to mention it after Bohermeen - total mileage last week was 22.16 miles. Will drop the session from this week on the plan and stick to the easy miles portion and then pick it back up again proper next week. Time to start thinking about my next target race and goal times. I had been thinking the K-club and/or Brian Boru 10 miler but now I think I'll miss both due to plans. Maybe the Terenure 5 mile again. I suppose I should probably pick a couple of goal races first and then focus on times after that as training progresses - right approach?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭MKDTH

I've not been on here all week so only just managed to read the report. It was nice to read how your race panned out before you made it to the group and that it wasn't just me who was suffering late on ;)

Nice to meet you and bring on more PB'S!!!

Friday 13th: 5.81 miles @ 10:19, average HR 153bpm - 60 mins easy

Saturday 14th: 5.93 miles @ 10:07, average HR 155bpm - 60 mins easy

Another couple of easy outings, legs beginning to feel much better and pace back to normal easy levels. Up early for the Saturday one to squeeze it in before a trip to Cork to visit a friend overnight. Fed, watered, exercised, showered and packed all in time to hit the road for 9.30!

Sunday 15th
    : 5.17 miles @ 10:39, average HR 151bpm - 55 mins easy

Home in Dublin late evening with the plan being a 100 minute long run. No real motivation but I got home, got changed and headed back out the door. Once I got going the legs felt great and I thought it was going to be one of those really enjoyable, feeling fresh runs. But after a half hour my feet were very sore and achy. Not one foot or in one spot that might be an indication of something like heel striking say - just an all over general achiness on both feet. I stopped and walked for a couple of minutes at one point and that helped for a while but it got worse again about 20 miutes later. Not sure why, I wasn't out on my feet all weekend or anything. Maybe just one of those things. Called it quits early which I wasn't going to but it was just getting worse.

The prospect of pushing out my long run annoyed me but I've decided now not to go chasing days or miles. I had dropped the session from this week anyway so I think I'll chalk it down to a recovery/stepback week after Bohermeen and just continue with a new week tomorrow. I've no upcoming races planned yet so probably better off doing the training proper again from tomorrow instead of messing it around. Total mileage for the week - 26.62.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    I think I'll chalk it down to a recovery/stepback week after Bohermeen and just continue with a new week tomorrow. I've no upcoming races planned yet so probably better off doing the training proper again from tomorrow instead of messing it around. Total mileage for the week - 26.62.

Sounds like a good call! You're only a week after a Half PB so an easy couple of weeks won't do you any harm at all.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Sounds like a good call! You're only a week after a Half PB so an easy couple of weeks won't do you any harm at all.

That's it yeah, seems like ages ago but it's not really. With nothing on the horizon there's no harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Belated congratulations on your HM last weekend Laura. You are going really well in your training. Great to see the progress.

RedRunner wrote: »
    Belated congratulations on your HM last weekend Laura. You are going really well in your training. Great to see the progress.

Thanks R. Brilliant stuff for you you today - must have been a great feeling getting back into things with a great time to boot. Your hard work and patience is paying off. I'm sure I'll catch you (not in the literal sense :) ) on the coast again soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Thanks R. Brilliant stuff for you you today - must have been a great feeling getting back into things with a great time to boot. Your hard work and patience is paying off. I'm sure I'll catch you (not in the literal sense :) ) on the coast again soon.

Thanks Laura. Great to be back in the thick of it again alright. Thanks

Keep going the way you are and you will catch me. My first HM was in the 2:15-2:20 range so everything is possible;)

RedRunner wrote: »
    Thanks Laura. Great to be back in the thick of it again alright. Thanks

Keep going the way you are and you will catch me. My first HM was in the 2:15-2:20 range so everything is possible;)

Interesting to hear - plenty to aim for so!!

Monday 16th: 5.90 miles @ 10:11, average HR 156bpm - 60 mins easy

After my cycle home where I bumped into Duanington who was ticking along making it look very easy (no, I didn't call him "tosser" this time) I had a quick bite, got changed and went back out myself. Felt very good on this - feet felt much better as well. I did use a frozen bottle of water when I got home as a precaution and focused on stretching of the lower legs.

Tuesday 17th: 7.30 miles - 74 mins inc 24 mins @ tempo

Took advantage of the day off and had a sleep in and went out after midday for this. Lots of people around the coast including those doing the Aware harbour walk. Headed down the Bull Wall & coast for the easy miles warm up before hitting the tempo just when I arrived in St. Anne's. I had worn a pair of gloves which were totally unnecessary so I hid those under a bush hoping they wouldn't be covered in dog pee when I got back (they weren't thankfully).

38 mins easy: 3.72 miles @ 10:13, average HR 157bpm
    24 mins tempo: 2.65 miles @ 9:03, average HR 179bpm
    10 mins c/d: .9 miles @ 10:53, average HR 164bpm

This was tough, but felt great after. Those extra few seconds on the tempo pace are kind of annoying me now though, I would have loved to nip in under 9 given how close I was! But I felt I gave it welly in terms of effort and the route had that sharp incline near the playground - which was hard but good to incorporate into it. 10 mins in I was thinking I'd never make it to the end, by 12 mins I was mentally bribing myself with thoughts of "you're halfway there - nearly done!!" (liar :rolleyes:) and eventually the minutes ticked by, I was in a rhythm and I managed to keep the HR (and pace) from dropping and stayed towards the high end of the prescribed range. It does make me smile when I see people describe this kind of pace as nursing home special, I'm so far away from that. Heading in the right direction at least, the last session like this was 22 mins @ 9:24, average HR 176. Having said that the tempo was similar to my average pace from the half last week and today felt much tougher, relative to the smaller time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Great tempo L. You're flying it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Ososlo wrote: »
    Great tempo L. You're flying it!

+1. Isn't funny how much harder it feels on your own?

annapr wrote: »
    +1. Isn't funny how much harder it feels on your own?

Yeah I know, it is strange. The element of competition, groups of runners, supporters etc it all does play a part. And then you can have a day where it all just comes together and clicks.

Wednesday 18th: Football

Thursday 19th: Rest

Planned day off. Timed well as the body felt a bit creaky after 8 days on the spin with 2 of those being football and my tempo session. No niggles or anything though.

Friday 20th: 5.59 miles @ 10:45, average HR 146 - 60 mins very easy

Still a bit of creakiness so decided to keep this very easy, stuck to a flat out and back on the coast. Effort was very comfortable but maybe it was too long to be a recovery run in the truest sense? The legs were feeling fresher by the end anyway so hopefully served its purpose, I think I'll have a Friday night date with the foam roller now. Another wild weekend in chez laura :cool:

In other news I've signed up for the Tallaght 5k and Terenure 5 mile, both in May. Good to have something new to focus on, but I won't start thinking about times or goals just yet. The Clearlier graduate plan will be coming to an end in a couple of weeks so I'll see how the next spell of training after that goes.

Still a bit of creakiness so decided to keep this very easy, stuck to a flat out and back on the coast. Effort was very comfortable but maybe it was too long to be a recovery run in the truest sense?

I think its all relative, if it felt comfortable and you were refreshed afterwards its a recovery run in my book!

Hopefully! It's only the last while that I'm really appreciating the benefits of runs like these, instead of going out and flogging a certain preconceived effort or pace just for the sake of it.

Saturday 21st: 10 miles @ 10:04, average HR 159bpm - 100 mins easy

What a great day to be out. Great to enjoy the sunshine, the coast and the sea looked like a summer postcard. Lovely smell of freshly cut grass on the seafront and the sand on the breeze down by the beach - those two smells always remind of being a child and it being summer. The legs were so much more improved after the recovery run of the previous night and the average pace continued to show improvements. I do feel like getting average paces of 9.xx on some of these easy runs isn't that far away, just be patient and keep up with the consistency hopefully. I did have that OCD moment - the time could more accurately be described as 101 mins if I was rounding up as I should. When I hit 100 mins I was on 9.95 miles, I just had to keep going to hit the even 10 - even though I didn't want to make the time uneven :rolleyes: But I came in under the full extra minute to keep it at 100 mins technically. And I'm aware how crazy I sound typing that :o Anyway.....moving on

Sunday 22nd: 5.81 miles @ 10:20, average HR 157bpm - 60 mins easy

Another lovely day but I wasn't feeling the love on this one at all. I was up and out early-ish for a Sunday to make sure I got it done as I had plans later. However, I'd had a few drinks the previous night at a birthday celebration of a friend - nothing major but I was feeling it more than I thought I would and the whole 60 mins were a bit of a slog if I'm honest. HR was erratic, not as steady as its been of late (I presume from the alcohol) and I just felt meh. Good to get it done though.

Weekly total was 34.59 miles which is my highest in a while and I was happy with it, it felt like a good solid week. A tough tempo, a comfortable long run and lots of easy miles in there as well as well. This week isn't off to the best start, I must confess to having a bit too much (unexpected) wine on Sunday, I've spent the evening dozing on the couch - the runners are abandoned in the corner. Back to it tomorrow, I'll jig the week around to switch my rest day.

Good week for you, Laura... ! and you earned the hungover rest day yesterday!

annapr wrote: »
    Good week for you, Laura... ! and you earned the hungover rest day yesterday!

Ugh I don't know about that. Not ideal to miss the day but all self inflicted!! :)

Not a good week around here.

Monday 23rd: The aforementioned rest day

Tuesday 24th: 6.05 miles @ 9:57, average HR 158bpm - 60 mins easy

The legs felt brand new on this one, the day off must have done me some unintentional good :o It turned out that nipping under the 10 mins for the average pace wasn't that far away!! Spotted Duanington heading the opposite direction and gave him a ladylike holler. Really enjoyed this and things felt great.

Wednesday 25th: Football

Managed to go over on my ankle just at half time in completely innocuous circumstances trying to control a ball and turn. It's not too bad, I've had better and worse experiences before from running or football. Iced it when I came home a couple of times and continued that into Thursday. There's some swelling and bruising but it's on the mend. I can walk and cycle fine and can put pressure on it but I can feel the odd twinge every so often. So I took Thursday and Friday off and will probably do that over the weekend. That was the last game of football for the season anyway, won't be back for another few weeks. I think (and hope) that I haven't done anything major and the couple of days rest will sort it out but if not I'll go get it looked at.

So it's annoying but the last few days and the weekend are very very busy with a lot going on. It was always going to be a logistical headache trying to fit everything in so if I'm going to have enforced rest days it's not the worst timing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

You're doing the right thing Laura, hopefully you'll avoid serious damage by resting immediately & you'll be back flying in no time. Well done on the sub 10 easy pace :)

You're right to take the opportunity to rest it up Laura - I've done the same thing a kabillion times and running in straight lines shouldn't be an issue for you when the swelling goes down

Firedance wrote: »
    You're doing the right thing Laura, hopefully you'll avoid serious damage by resting immediately & you'll be back flying in no time. Well done on the sub 10 easy pace :)

I know - I might need to borrow the "sensible halo" from DG!! Ah here, it seems mad to be happy about sub 10 easy pace compared to most around here but it was a mental milestone in terms of continuing to see improvement with the easy HR. Congrats to Aunty Firedance by the way :)
    You're right to take the opportunity to rest it up Laura - I've done the same thing a kabillion times and running in straight lines shouldn't be an issue for you when the swelling goes down

Kabillion - is that more or less than a gazillion???? :D Yeah hopefully it's ok, the rest seems to be helping anyway. Only the odd twinge here and there so hopefully it just looks worse than it actually is. Fingers crossed I'll be back to see you zooming along the seafront again soon - I hope you're holding the fort down in my absence!!

Well done on breaking that 10 min barrier!! only the start for you.

I read somewhere that football is not recommended at all as cross training for runners... something to do with the side to side motion and ankle risk! :( you're right to rest it...

I know - I might need to borrow the "sensible halo" from DG!! Ah here, it seems mad to be happy about sub 10 easy pace compared to most around here but it was a mental milestone in terms of continuing to see improvement with the easy HR. Congrats to Aunty Firedance by the way :)

Kabillion - is that more or less than a gazillion???? :D Yeah hopefully it's ok, the rest seems to be helping anyway. Only the odd twinge here and there so hopefully it just looks worse than it actually is. Fingers crossed I'll be back to see you zooming along the seafront again soon - I hope you're holding the fort down in my absence!!

It's zillion times a gazillion I think :-)

Yep, I'll watch the seafront for ya, don't worry !