How to deal with Jehovahs witnesses and Mormons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

conorh91 wrote: »
    If you did it out of sight of the people in question, obviously that's commendable.
    Not wasting the card would have been far more commendable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Back in the early 90's some Mormons tried to convert us over, my mam was very trusting of them because they were so nice, she invited them into the house and by all accounts they were lovely folks, we wouldn't convert obviously because they don't believe in consuming tea, alcohol or cigarettes etc, no way my folks were giving any of them up, plus a fraction of your income has to go towards the church, this was before the celtic tiger era so in no way we were well off, but they came in and had the chat and said prayers at our kitchen table. I don't remember any of this as I would have been maybe 3 or 4 at the time, my older sister remembers them playing with us out our back garden and even she said they were lovely.

Also on one particular day they were over for a visit, my dad knew he had to dig the garden and he just wasn't in the mood for doing it, the Mormon guy gets up and says "I'll do it" and went out to the shed and got a pickaxe and a shovel, he was only happy to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭dersawazzie

A few years back I worked in a jehovahs witness believers house. He asked me if he could talk to me about it, I said work away while I'm here. He asked me my beliefs, this is kind of how things went.

I told him I believe in god, right over wrong, being a good person and no matter what guise you worship under you can't go far wrong with that philosophy, and if that wasn't enough then I would just accept it.

He told me I was going to hell. Point blank, no ifs or buts. I asked him if Mother Teresa had gone to hell, she hadn't long died which is why I used her in the conversation. He said she had gone to hell irrespective of the life she had led.

Needless to say it didn't really develop from there, although upon leaving I thanked him for
    the conversation and said see you again next year. I remember clearly him saying , maybe you will maybe you won't , the time is coming, there is still time for you brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭Brego888

looksee wrote: »
    He didn't really tear it into ten pieces, he stuck it in his pocket. It makes a better story tearing it up though. Have you done the math about how you would tear something as small as a business card into ten pieces?

I concur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,088 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Why do people feel the need to lie to them? Why not treat them like any other salesperson and tell them you're happy with your eternal life supplier. Or tell them you're not in the market for their product.

Salespeople might start a conversation with questions about something unrelated to the product they're selling but if you are honest and tell them you won't be buying their product then their interest in the answer to the opening question tends to dry up fairly lively.
     math
    Here you forgot one of these "S"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Lolz :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭REXER

I treat them the same way as I handle catholics, politicians and other assorted nut jobs, a quick no thank you and if they get pushy then a sharp feck off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,708 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Yes :D I noticed as soon as I had posted that I had done the irritating American thing of making it singular, but I couldn't be bothered changing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 swazzie

We constantly get the Mormons door knocking here in brisbane. Dinner time they turn up , it's always a mum and a couple of kids in tow, harder to close the door in some poor kid face, who is being dragged from house to house when people are having their dinner .

The Jehovah are a different matter, they ignore the signs that say don't knock or leave junk mail and stick their flyers everywhere.
    So we have two dogs , both labs and would hold the door open for robbers while waging their tails.
    One of them has a vicious sounding bark though ,so when the Jehovahs arrive I stick him behind the door , where there can't see the smiley face and he barks at them.
    They almost always ask is the dog friendly, I say not really ,then they run off
    Works every time.
    Meanwhile I've to hold the dog as all he wants to do is get out and lick the person.ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,088 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Yes :D I noticed as soon as I had posted that I had done the irritating American thing of making it singular, but I couldn't be bothered changing it.

Thanks for taking that in good spirit (or is it spirits)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

conorh91 wrote: »
    I don't really see what would fill you with pride about such an act of anger.

A simple no thanks will do.

We get a few Jehovas witness/ doomsday types at my gaff, but a simple "no thanks" with a smile (costs nothing) is perfectly effective. Tearing up business cards in their faces is stress that neither of you need in your day.

I don't think he means he tore it up in front of them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Brego888 wrote: »
    Why did you feel the need to tear it up into 10 pieces? Why not just discard it in the bin?
    Seems a bit showy to me.

One piece for each commandment of course! Op was bibled and he didn't even know it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭OU812

Had a couple of elderly ladies call to the door the other morning.

They asked if I'd have time to talk, I said I was a little busy with two young kids and was trying to get out for a walk. They pressed on, meanwhile the kids came out to the hall to see who was at the door.

Them: "Do you think there'll be peace in our time?"
    Me: "Is this political or religious?"
    Them: "We're trying to spread the word"
    Me: "I'm sorry, I didn't want to waste your time, I'm an atheist"
    Them: "You don't believe in God at all?"
    Me: "No, nothing at all.
    Them: "But what about if your beautiful children injured themselves or got sick, who would you pray to?"
    Me: "Nobody. Medical science would make them better, Doctors & medicine, no God"
    Them: "But you do realise where your beautiful children came from?"
    Me: Yes, I had sex many times with my beautiful wife, who they thankfully get their good looks from..."
    Them: "No God?"
    Me: "No".
    Them: "None?"
    Me: Not at all. Science - Biology, Chemistry, Physics"
    Them: "Good day"
    Me: "And You..." / Close door...

I *think* they were JWs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Dozer Dave wrote: »
    Just give them five minutes of your time, I don't get the faux autrage at them.

My son was studying for the LC a few years back when they called. He was still trying to get rid of them 10 minutes later. I decided to intervene.

"My son is trying to study for the LC and you won't let him close the door."

"We're sorry, but we just want to talk about Jesus Chr..."

"Haven't you heard? He died. 2000 years ago. And he's never coming back."

To say that their faces fell would be a gross understatement. To quote Jim Carrey, "The truth shall set you free!" (from Mormons and JWs)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Cen taurus

If I've time, I always invite them in for a cup of tea.
    I find them grand as people when you get talking to them, I've no interest in changing religion though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Pie and Mash

Open door , say no thanks, close door.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Be polite and say your busy or not interested or whatever. Do the same with door to door sales people as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

ads20101 wrote: »
    76 virgins - a bit too much work and a bit sore after a while

However......

76 whores - just call me Jehovah - I'm converted ;)

Would have to agree. The virgins are virgins for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Golaco

One summer when i was about 12 and was home from school two old ladies called to the door to talk about religion. I had ho idea what Jehovah's witnesses were, just assumed they were mental

Must have talked to them for about an hour telling them why there was no such thing as god. Think they struggled to refute any of my points. In my memory it went very much like the Stephen Fry interview with Gaybo.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

When I see them coming I pick up a plunger and answer the door. When I ask if they know anything about unblocking toilets, they usually back away diplomatically. Of course, one of these days one of them will actually be a plumber by trade, and I will have to rethink my strategy.
    But I see no point in being deliberately rude to anyone,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,970 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

thelad95 wrote: »
    So have they ever come knocking and how have you dealt with them?

No thanks. Door closed. Done.

In fairness though, while Mormons can be annoying, most that I've met seem to be genuinely nice people. When they realise you're wedded firmly to agnosticism or atheism, they end up just having a chat and going away.

Give me a Mormon at the door, instead of some politician, any day of the week. The Mormon is more likely to fully believe what they're saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

I used to get a bus from Middle Abbey Street many moons ago. This scientology knob used to patrol the area spouting crap and offering free personality tests EVERY day. I would have told him that I had no interest in his religion or taking part in some ludicrous personality test at least three times a week (I used to be quite tolerant) for a number of weeks. I was polite but firm and consistently requested that he not approach me again. Eventually I had to tell him to fcuk off and that if he came near me again I would knock the sh1t out of him. Not something I would normally do but job done.

The joys of waiting on a bus. Now the bloke that used to throw buckets of water on the steps in front of his house, to stop you sitting there, while you were sitting there.... that's another story.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Politely, but given the number of religious pictures in my windows they'd be aware I'd do my best to convert them.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

One piece for each commandment of course! Op was bibled and he didn't even know it :D

Not very well if he forgot the two bonus commandments :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Tell them they look lovely in their tight suits and invite them in saying you'd love to smear their tight bodies with honey and candle wax.

Usually works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

wes wrote: »
    Be polite and say your busy or not interested or whatever. Do the same with door to door sales people as well.
    coolhull wrote: »
    But I see no point in being deliberately rude to anyone,
    Do you guys know the reason people might go out and shout/shoo a neighbours dog ****ting in their front garden? or scold their own dog pissing in the house? -rather than calmly ask them to stop.

The "rude" people most likely consider these uninvited callers to be FAR more rude.

I think any unsolicited door to door calling should be illegal, as it's a perfect alibi for burglars.

People want to firmly discourage this behaviour, the last thing many want is to give the impression that its a benign act, and which may lead these ****ers to encourage friends or family to take it up too.

I have no problems as I have had no doorbell for over 10 years now, none when I moved in. If I moved again I would take it down if there was one, and highly recommend everybody to take down theirs, some might have reasons to keep it, but I think if most think about it they would be better off without one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

rubadub wrote: »
    I think any unsolicited door to door calling should be illegal, as it's a perfect alibi for burglars.
    Bit extreme isn't it? What distinguishes an uncolicited call from a friend, or a neighbour, or someone who sees your car on fire, from a Jehova's Witness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Door bell has one great use and that is for deliveries anything else if they really want you they can ring or text.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

Used to call to my mother many years ,and she would try to convert them to the "true faith" and me in the background laughing my head off.,they called to me once and gave me a leaflet while he was talking about Jehovah ,but he took it back out of my hand when I said I do not believe in God- also met two Mormons in New York while on my way to airport and did not have time to wind them but they seemed to know Fermoy in Cork very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

Put a sign on the door.

"No Soliciting No Junkmail"

Works a treat :)