Wedding Videographer - Is it worth it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭westernlass

Ah pity. If you look up venues supplier lists of who they recommend you might spot someone good whose local

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,652 ✭✭✭sillysocks

We weren't going to get a dvd either , but a couple of months before had doubts. We ended up getting one, our argument was pretty much that it was better to have it and never watch it than to not have one and regret it (you can't turn back the clock to get it after the time!).

We actually watched it for the first time in years at the weekend because our 4 year old had a pain to see it, and she just loved seeing us , her grandparents etc. It was nice to be able to share it with her and no doubt when she's a bit older she'll like it even more.

Our videographer was a bit of a twat and annoyed me a bit on the day, but I'd be specific with them regards 'interviewing' guests, not being in the way etc and have it how you want it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

sillysocks wrote: »
    We actually watched it for the first time in years at the weekend because our 4 year old had a pain to see it, and she just loved seeing us , her grandparents etc. It was nice to be able to share it with her and no doubt when she's a bit older she'll like it even more.
    Haha, my friend's daughter was looking at her wedding album a few months ago and she was pure disgusted that they didn't wait for her to arrive to have a big day out :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,652 ✭✭✭sillysocks

Vojera wrote: »
    Haha, my friend's daughter was looking at her wedding album a few months ago and she was pure disgusted that they didn't wait for her to arrive to have a big day out :P

Funny you should say that - she was wondering why she wasn't thereand wanted to know could we have another wedding that she could go to. I was all on for that, my husband wasn't quite so keen :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

I was on the fence about getting one before our wedding but my husband wanted one so I went with it and delighted I did. There were bits included that I wasn't there for during the day like people arriving to the church, my niece and nephew walking up the aisle and my husband waiting for me which I loved and they captured little looks between us during the ceremony and little things I'd forgotten. The best man speech was hilarious as well and it's great to have that. We got three copied of the dvd so our parents have copies as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭candytog

bjork wrote: »
    No and it makes guests feel unconformable

This is a common misconception and probably comes from ye oldy videographers with small houses on their shoulders and massive lights.

A modern and professional videographer is now just as - if not more - discrete than a photographer. Most people don't even know we are videographers.

I personally don't do guest interviews either and prefer to get candid footage of the guests from a distance.

Furthermore with modern cameras you don't need lights and we often only stay for the first couple of dances anyway so it's not an issue anymore.

So don't let this be the reason not to choose a videographer. You are getting lots that still images don't capture. The music you walked down the isle, the words said during the ceremony, the little moments that are easily caught on video.Speeches, etc.

If you are camera shy then talk to your videographer who will focus more on your guests too.

One more thing. Another out dated concept is the "wedding video" stuck in the draw at home. Again a modern videographer will create a highlights film that you can share and watch online. my videos on vimeo (private to client) have been watched hundreds of times.

So basically, if you are getting a videographer, get a good one and ask about your concerns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

candytog wrote: »
    This is a common misconception and probably comes from ye oldy videographers with small houses on their shoulders and massive lights.

A modern and professional videographer is now just as - if not more - discrete than a photographer. Most people don't even know we are videographers.

I personally don't do guest interviews either and prefer to get candid footage of the guests from a distance.

Furthermore with modern cameras you don't need lights and we often only stay for the first couple of dances anyway so it's not an issue anymore.

So don't let this be the reason not to choose a videographer. You are getting lots that still images don't capture. The music you walked down the isle, the words said during the ceremony, the little moments that are easily caught on video.Speeches, etc.

If you are camera shy then talk to your videographer who will focus more on your guests too.

One more thing. Another out dated concept is the "wedding video" stuck in the draw at home. Again a modern videographer will create a highlights film that you can share and watch online. my videos on vimeo (private to client) have been watched hundreds of times.

So basically, if you are getting a videographer, get a good one and ask about your concerns.

It actually comes from talking to my guests

You have a vested interest in promoting wedding videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

In fairness, what they said is true in my opinion.

We got one and are delighted we did. We look at it more than the photos to be honest!
    A lot can depend on the style of videographer.
    Our guests didn't even know we had one... they just thought he was another photographer, and even at that he kept out of the way where possible.

I know and I'm not hiding the fact that I do this for a living. But I am passionate about my job and I stand by what I said.

There are some individuals out there who give the field a bad name and perhaps you have experienced this which is fair enough.

I'm just saying echoing others that a good videographer doesn't make people feel uncomfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

candytog wrote: »
    I know and I'm not hiding the fact that I do this for a living. But I am passionate about my job and I stand by what I said.

There are some individuals out there who give the field a bad name and perhaps you have experienced this which is fair enough.

I'm just saying echoing others that a good videographer doesn't make people feel uncomfortable.

I have experienced it at other peoples weddings. People act differently once a video camera is around, no matter what the situation. Many people commented they were able to relax and not have to watch what they were saying to each other in case it was being recorded.

Fair enough, it's your buisness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,730 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

I got mine on a recommendation from a cousin but I regret the money spent. The quality of the DVD is terrible for this day and age. I specifically asked that all of the ceremony be recorded without gaps because of the music, I'm a church cantor myself and had a full choir with friends doing solos and instruments-it meant a lot to me. He skipped lots of it and when queried 'didn't think I'd want it' even though Id asked him specifically. My husband asked him for the raw footage to see could he find any of it and was refused. I actually can't even look at the physical DVD without being annoyed never mind actually watch the thing-it looks terrible on a TV and only ok on a laptop. I regret the money spent and adore my album

Anyways moral of the story try and get multiple reviews for your videographer and make sure they are doing HD or at least quality high enough for a large tv.

I have experienced it at other peoples weddings. People act differently once a video camera is around, no matter what the situation. Many people commented they were able to relax and not have to watch what they were saying to each other in case it was being recorded.

Fair enough, it's your buisness

You do have a valid point and sorry if I jumped on your post earlier!

I'll have to do some ninja training to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭paulbok

We had a videographer, €700 up to 1st dance, 3 copies and 3-4 minute highlight clip online.
    He asked what we wanted and stayed very much in the background, most guests didn't even notice him, which made for more natural shots. He also kindly incorporated a recording of a 'flash dance' some of my wifes friends did for her at drunk o'clock at the reception that we forwarded on afterwards.

I'll be honest that we've probaly only watched it fully 2-3 times in almost 3 years, but we wanted it for further down the line. Even since then 3 close family members have died so it's great to be able to find a minute of them, especially to hear their voice again, when you are missing them.
    That was probably the biggest reason we had it.

Most of my friends that didn't have one now regret it so if you can, have one. Even if a family member has a basic camera, get the ceremony, speeches, dances and some shots of the guests arriving at the church and venue. It doesn't have to be a big production to capture the main parts of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Fionn

Photography catches moments at a wedding that are beautiful and memorable. However, there are moments in between that a photographer won't physically capture; such as, a gesture, the spoken word, music, all which can convey a lot of emotion etc.

Thats the nice thing about video, it captures sound and movement.

Lots of people cherish a video because of perhaps loved one no longer with us and were captured on video, animated in a way a photograph won't portray; this could be a father doing a speech, a mother dancing with her son, a best friend laughing on the dance floor....all of these life events recorded for you, your children, and grandchildren to enjoy and remember.

There is always some level of intrusiveness whether it's photography or videography, the operator has to be able to get into positions to get the shots, that's what you pay them for!
    the equipment used these days has reduced considerably in size, so videography is not as intrusive as it once was.

I've seen people 'pose' for what they thought was a stills camera but was actually a video cam, most times any uncomfortable looking footage will be edited out, I would imagine that people get uncomfortable no matter what the camera is.

If you do go the DIY route try get a camera setup that includes a tripod and reasonable audio capture.

At the end of the day it's a personal choice.

Oh! and one more thing anyone that has DVD's etc. make sure you have them backed up to a few locations, this stuff does fail and once it's gone it's invariably gone forever!

Fionn wrote: »
    Photography catches moments at a wedding that are beautiful and memorable. However, there are moments in between that a photographer won't physically capture; such as, a gesture, the spoken word, music, all which can convey a lot of emotion etc.

Thats the nice thing about video, it captures sound and movement.

Lots of people cherish a video because of perhaps loved one no longer with us and were captured on video, animated in a way a photograph won't portray; this could be a father doing a speech, a mother dancing with her son, a best friend laughing on the dance floor....all of these life events recorded for you, your children, and grandchildren to enjoy and remember.

There is always some level of intrusiveness whether it's photography or videography, the operator has to be able to get into positions to get the shots, that's what you pay them for!
    the equipment used these days has reduced considerably in size, so videography is not as intrusive as it once was.

I've seen people 'pose' for what they thought was a stills camera but was actually a video cam, most times any uncomfortable looking footage will be edited out, I would imagine that people get uncomfortable no matter what the camera is.

If you do go the DIY route try get a camera setup that includes a tripod and reasonable audio capture.

At the end of the day it's a personal choice.

Oh! and one more thing anyone that has DVD's etc. make sure you have them backed up to a few locations, this stuff does fail and once it's gone it's invariably gone forever!

I was shooting an event recently for the local college and loads of the students kept coming up and sticking their faces into the camera.

I didn't bother to tell them I was a videographer and not a photographer and just filmed them looking like eejits for 20 seconds giving peace signs and pulling stupid faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭lainycool

It's the best money I ever spent on my wedding, I wasn't going to get one as I thought €1000 was a bit steep and I had already paid a lot for my photographer but I'm so glad I changed my mind, Your wedding day really does go so quick and it's lovely to be able to watch it back!

Also you are so busy on the day that you are not taking everything in, I enjoyed looking at my video from a guests point of view!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

We didnt book ours until about 2 months before the wedding - it was always an "extra" we werent sure if we could afford or not till closer to the date. I am so glad we have a DVD, it's a lovely reminder of a really happy day. The photos are brilliant too, but it's nice to have ceremony footage and speeches. Our guy didnt interview anyone - it never came up in conversation whether he would or wouldnt either, not sure is it something that used to be done? I've never been interviewed at any wedding I've attended...

We got a morning highlights vid a few days after the wedding which was great, then the real DVD and more recently a full day's highlights which has a few funny bits that didnt make it to the dvd and was lovely to have. Our ceremony was in a really narrow room and I was thinking it might be tough for both photographer and videographer to move in general, let alone be in each other's way but they were grand and not a bit intrusive of ceremony. The morning prep at my folks' house was also not a bit intrusive, and we had a housefull of people, between hair and makeup, BMs, transport and neighbours calling in. I actually dont know how we all fit at times, and the house isn't small! I'd recommend our guys to anyone (Dublin but will travel).

I've watched the video with my bridesmaid and friends who asked to see it. Mam watches her copy a lot... my aunt wasnt able to be at our whole day so she was delighted to view bits she missed, and mam and my SIL had a night of viewing it recently - SIL was dying to see herself in it. If I have to watch it again, I'll skip through ceremony and speeches to be honest - hate the sound of my own voice!!!