Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wedding Videographer - Is it worth it?

• 03-03-2015 9:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭

We are getting married in May and recently a lot of people have been recommending that we get a videographer.
    We hadn't really considered this in the past and have been trying to stick to a strict budget.
    However, some of the arguments for paying for a videographer have been quite compelling and we are now reconsidering.

I am wondering what your views are on this?
    Did you have one for your wedding? Was it worth it?

Any feedback at all would be appreciated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Hi Streetcar,
    We got married in September 2014 and didn't get a videographer. I really regret it because the ceremony went by in a flash and I only a scant memory of the ceremony. The day goes by in the blink of an eye and you miss so much if you don't have a dvd of the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Em... I'm not sure. We had one for ours, we didn't originally want one, but one of our close friends does them professionally and persuaded us. I've watched it once, almost a decade ago, when he brought it over to us. It's really well done, and lovely, but neither myself or my husband ever like watching ourselves on screen!

Also, he had to set up a lot of equipment to do it (large tripod, lighting, power supplies, cabling, a laptop) and our venue was not particularly suited to that. people were tripping over the gear a bit.

Now, all that being said, I'm sure our children will love to watch it in a few years. And it is really nice to have a record of the people who are not alive anymore.

If I was getting married again, would I get a videographer? Probably not, I'd spend the money on a second photographer or photographer assistant ahead of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

We got a cheap and cheerful one and we didn't notice them on the day. No massive cameras or anything. We watched it once or twice but I'm glad we have it. It's not amazing quality but we just wanted something basic and for the price it was fine. We had a brilliant photographer and the photos are way better. But if you can fit it into the budget I'd go for the videographer too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,179 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

OP it really is a personal choice and if it fits into your budget. My sister didn't have one and we aren't planning on having one either. Although my mum passed away a month ago so we wish my sister had done one now as she does. Us not having one may change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

No and it makes guests feel unconformable

bjork wrote: »

Depends on the camera guy. Friends of ours didn't realise we had a DVD of our wedding until they saw it in our house long after the wedding. We didn't have messages to camera or anything intrusive like that.

lazygal wrote: »
    Depends on the camera guy. Friends of ours didn't realise we had a DVD of our wedding until they saw it in our house long after the wedding. We didn't have messages to camera or anything intrusive like that.

Did you have a night you got your friends around to watch your wedding again?

• Site Banned Posts: 217 ✭✭Father Ted Crilly

Why not get a friend to video it? Depending on the friend, you won't need to pay them much/at all.

Apart from the financial side of it, do you really want a stranger to possibly keep their own copy of your wedding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

We had one for our wedding. I think we have only watched the dvd once or twice and both sets of parents have had a look at it. I think it's a case of it's grand to have. I know my husband watched his sister's wedding video when we were planning ours and he liked seeing how people have changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭pooch90

One of the best decisions we made.
    As said, it will capture the ceremony which was just a blur and most companies now do a little highlight reel of 10 mins. I have watched our one about 50 times.
    I also captured some lovely dancing shots of a family friend who died 6 weeks after the wedding.
    Would 100% recommend getting a video.

Did you have a night you got your friends around to watch your wedding again?

No, they saw it in the bookcase. And said they didn't know we had a DVD made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

We didn't have a videographer and I regret it a tiny bit. I would have liked to have even just our ceremony recorded because, as MsBubbles said, it all went by so fast and I was so emotional I didn't really take it all in.

However, it really wasn't in our budget and in order to afford one we'd have had to skimp somewhere else. So even though I'd like to have had one, it wasn't as important as some other things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭HelgaWard

We had one, didn't notice the videographer being in anyone's way on the day, I barely even noticed him. Personally if I had to pick between saving the DVD or the album in a house fire, I'd pick the DVD. It has a ten minute highlights feature which you can click and it just shows you the best bits. We usually watch it on our anniversary, and the kids love watching it then too. We lost my husbands brother a year and a half after the wedding very unexpectedly and I can't describe how precious it is to have the footage of him saying a few words during the speeches. Would highly recommend getting one!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭streetcar

Thanks for all of your replies!
    Hmmmmm its a tough one. I was never tempted before, but like some of the posters, friends have said it was a lovely momento to have afterwards because it actually caught some of the atmosphere of the day and captured people no longer with them on tape.

If i go for it, I would have to stick to a serious budget...
    lazygal wrote: »
    We got a cheap and cheerful one and we didn't notice them on the day. No massive cameras or anything. We watched it once or twice but I'm glad we have it. It's not amazing quality but we just wanted something basic and for the price it was fine. We had a brilliant photographer and the photos are way better. But if you can fit it into the budget I'd go for the videographer too.

Lazygal - can you recommend your videographer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭rainemac

had a strict budget for our wedding. didn't have a videographer due to hating looking at or hearing ourselves on video. have never regretted not having one, a good photographer will capture the memories and atmosphere on the day. been to a good few weddings in the last few years and found the majority of videographers to be in the way, trailing cables, not doing speeches until videographer comes back from his break, multiple videos set up on tripods on the dancefloor to cover the first dance, just generally being in the way of the guests and usually then the photographer has to dance around the videographer as his camera is usually static. good luck with ur decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭An Bhanríon

A family member, unknown to me, recorded various parts of our wedding. And I have to say it was lovely to look back at it. I was delighted!

That said, lots of it ended up being cut and bits missed, but that's what happens when you don't hire a professional. That said, it was lovely to have the bits that were recorded. I have watched them over and over again!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Getting a GOOD videographer makes all the difference, I think.

Got one for our wedding. Never even realised the guy was there until afterwards!! Quality of the DVD was good, and because we got three copies, his parents as well as my mother got a real kick out of showing the wedding to their friends.

I was very glad we got one, as to my everlasting shame I cannot remember a single detail! All I can tell you is - I went into the cathedral. I came out. It was cold and raining when we got out. The End!! :o

If you can afford it, get one. You won't regret it. If you're in Cork, I can PM the name of the people we used.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭AndersLimpar

I didnt have one and it something I definitely regret. I have kids and I'd love to be able to show them it and as morbid as it sounds, when someone passes on you will really appreciate a video.
    I have seen some of my friends videos and two of them were rubbish so i would definitely recommend spending a little more and getting a good one. If you're in the Leinster area incan send you the details of a good one that I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

We had one, and again most people didn't realize she was in the room which I think is the best measure of a good one.

I've been to other weddings though where the videographer was very intrusive, avoid those guys at all costs.
    Not only will they be more disruptive, but the quality of video you get from them doesn't seem to be as good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭blackbird 49

Didn't want one when I got married 24 yrs ago, but an aunt of mine paid for one as a wedding present, while the quality is not brilliant, I am glad we got it, have looked at it only a handful of times, the only sad thing is that when you look I look at it I see how many people have died since, yes I would say get one, but shop around for price, it not now you will appreciate it but in years to come.

streetcar wrote: »
    Thanks for all of your replies!
    Hmmmmm its a tough one. I was never tempted before, but like some of the posters, friends have said it was a lovely momento to have afterwards because it actually caught some of the atmosphere of the day and captured people no longer with them on tape.

If i go for it, I would have to stick to a serious budget...

Lazygal - can you recommend your videographer?
    The one we used seems to have gone downhill since we got married. While I would recommend them based on the service we got and the DVD we received for the price we paid, they have had a lot of negative reviews lately so I'm not sure from that point of view that I'd feel happy recommending them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭streetcar

BizzyC wrote: »
    We had one, and again most people didn't realize she was in the room which I think is the best measure of a good one.

I've been to other weddings though where the videographer was very intrusive, avoid those guys at all costs.
    Not only will they be more disruptive, but the quality of video you get from them doesn't seem to be as good.

Would you mind PM'ing their details?
    I think we are going to have a serious look at this and if we can afford it, go ahead with it. It seems to be worth it from a sentimentality point of view :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Mayo Miss

A video wasn't high on my list of "Must haves" for our wedding but since we started planning a lot of people have advised us to get one.

I haven't booked one yet but if anyone has any recommendations for one in Mayo that doesn't cost the earth send them my way.

I spoke with a lady from Westport at a wedding fair but I can't find her details since.

Didn't have one, didn't regret it. A family member recorded the ceremony and speeches though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Extraplus

What sort of price range did people pay? This isn't in the budget but I'm wondering if it should be based on these replies! Wedding is in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,302 ✭✭✭Gatica

We got a cheap videographer and it showed. He wasn't intrusive while he filmed, but he did try to get a few video messages for us,which are a bit cringy cos people didn't look very comfortable talking to the camera.
    Apart from ceremony I really wanted a video of our first dance and it was really disappointing not to see it full size.
    Would I hire one again? Probably, but I'd budget to pay more for a better one. Otherwise, maybe get a cheap one to just video the ceremony, as that's the main bit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭AndersLimpar

Extraplus wrote: »
    What sort of price range did people pay? This isn't in the budget but I'm wondering if it should be based on these replies! Wedding is in Dublin.

If you budget about €1000 then you should be fine. You will get better ones for more and worse ones for less so in or around this price is ideal.

Obviously there are some who are cheaper who might be as good and some that are dearer that arent as good but from experience this is in or around what my friends have paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭HelgaWard

Can't remember how much we paid, have a feeling in was around the €750 mark in 2007, which was significantly cheaper than our photographer and as I said before I prefer the DVD to the wedding album! We sent him a cd with all our favorite music which he used then when producing the DVD and it's lovely to have all the footage showing against music of our choosing!! This was our guy http://www.pvpdigital.com/video%20samples.html

He's based in Limerick but traveled to Athlone to do ours, so he may travel to Dublin.

By the way something we didn't think off but that someone advised us when wedding planning was to include food for the videographer & photographer on the day. We arranged food for them in the bar of the hotel and paid for it, so that they got a bit of a break and some food while the meal was on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭westernlass

Mayo Miss wrote: »
    A video wasn't high on my list of "Must haves" for our wedding but since we started planning a lot of people have advised us to get one.

I haven't booked one yet but if anyone has any recommendations for one in Mayo that doesn't cost the earth send them my way.

I spoke with a lady from Westport at a wedding fair but I can't find her details since.

look.up grv productions. Hes very reasonable and will do ceremony only if limited budget

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Mayo Miss

look.up grv productions. Hes very reasonable and will do ceremony only if limited budget

I spoke to him at a wedding fair and he was booked for our date. Just sent him a message just in case that's changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭westernlass

Ah pity. If you look up venues supplier lists of who they recommend you might spot someone good whose local

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭sillysocks

We weren't going to get a dvd either , but a couple of months before had doubts. We ended up getting one, our argument was pretty much that it was better to have it and never watch it than to not have one and regret it (you can't turn back the clock to get it after the time!).

We actually watched it for the first time in years at the weekend because our 4 year old had a pain to see it, and she just loved seeing us , her grandparents etc. It was nice to be able to share it with her and no doubt when she's a bit older she'll like it even more.

Our videographer was a bit of a twat and annoyed me a bit on the day, but I'd be specific with them regards 'interviewing' guests, not being in the way etc and have it how you want it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

sillysocks wrote: »
    We actually watched it for the first time in years at the weekend because our 4 year old had a pain to see it, and she just loved seeing us , her grandparents etc. It was nice to be able to share it with her and no doubt when she's a bit older she'll like it even more.
    Haha, my friend's daughter was looking at her wedding album a few months ago and she was pure disgusted that they didn't wait for her to arrive to have a big day out :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭sillysocks

Vojera wrote: »
    Haha, my friend's daughter was looking at her wedding album a few months ago and she was pure disgusted that they didn't wait for her to arrive to have a big day out :P

Funny you should say that - she was wondering why she wasn't thereand wanted to know could we have another wedding that she could go to. I was all on for that, my husband wasn't quite so keen :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

I was on the fence about getting one before our wedding but my husband wanted one so I went with it and delighted I did. There were bits included that I wasn't there for during the day like people arriving to the church, my niece and nephew walking up the aisle and my husband waiting for me which I loved and they captured little looks between us during the ceremony and little things I'd forgotten. The best man speech was hilarious as well and it's great to have that. We got three copied of the dvd so our parents have copies as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭candytog

This is a common misconception and probably comes from ye oldy videographers with small houses on their shoulders and massive lights.

A modern and professional videographer is now just as - if not more - discrete than a photographer. Most people don't even know we are videographers.

I personally don't do guest interviews either and prefer to get candid footage of the guests from a distance.

Furthermore with modern cameras you don't need lights and we often only stay for the first couple of dances anyway so it's not an issue anymore.

So don't let this be the reason not to choose a videographer. You are getting lots that still images don't capture. The music you walked down the isle, the words said during the ceremony, the little moments that are easily caught on video.Speeches, etc.

If you are camera shy then talk to your videographer who will focus more on your guests too.

One more thing. Another out dated concept is the "wedding video" stuck in the draw at home. Again a modern videographer will create a highlights film that you can share and watch online. my videos on vimeo (private to client) have been watched hundreds of times.

So basically, if you are getting a videographer, get a good one and ask about your concerns.

candytog wrote: »
    This is a common misconception and probably comes from ye oldy videographers with small houses on their shoulders and massive lights.

A modern and professional videographer is now just as - if not more - discrete than a photographer. Most people don't even know we are videographers.

I personally don't do guest interviews either and prefer to get candid footage of the guests from a distance.

Furthermore with modern cameras you don't need lights and we often only stay for the first couple of dances anyway so it's not an issue anymore.

So don't let this be the reason not to choose a videographer. You are getting lots that still images don't capture. The music you walked down the isle, the words said during the ceremony, the little moments that are easily caught on video.Speeches, etc.

If you are camera shy then talk to your videographer who will focus more on your guests too.

One more thing. Another out dated concept is the "wedding video" stuck in the draw at home. Again a modern videographer will create a highlights film that you can share and watch online. my videos on vimeo (private to client) have been watched hundreds of times.

So basically, if you are getting a videographer, get a good one and ask about your concerns.

It actually comes from talking to my guests

You have a vested interest in promoting wedding videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

In fairness, what they said is true in my opinion.

We got one and are delighted we did. We look at it more than the photos to be honest!
    A lot can depend on the style of videographer.
    Our guests didn't even know we had one... they just thought he was another photographer, and even at that he kept out of the way where possible.

I know and I'm not hiding the fact that I do this for a living. But I am passionate about my job and I stand by what I said.

There are some individuals out there who give the field a bad name and perhaps you have experienced this which is fair enough.

I'm just saying echoing others that a good videographer doesn't make people feel uncomfortable.

candytog wrote: »
    I know and I'm not hiding the fact that I do this for a living. But I am passionate about my job and I stand by what I said.

There are some individuals out there who give the field a bad name and perhaps you have experienced this which is fair enough.

I'm just saying echoing others that a good videographer doesn't make people feel uncomfortable.

I have experienced it at other peoples weddings. People act differently once a video camera is around, no matter what the situation. Many people commented they were able to relax and not have to watch what they were saying to each other in case it was being recorded.

Fair enough, it's your buisness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

I got mine on a recommendation from a cousin but I regret the money spent. The quality of the DVD is terrible for this day and age. I specifically asked that all of the ceremony be recorded without gaps because of the music, I'm a church cantor myself and had a full choir with friends doing solos and instruments-it meant a lot to me. He skipped lots of it and when queried 'didn't think I'd want it' even though Id asked him specifically. My husband asked him for the raw footage to see could he find any of it and was refused. I actually can't even look at the physical DVD without being annoyed never mind actually watch the thing-it looks terrible on a TV and only ok on a laptop. I regret the money spent and adore my album

Anyways moral of the story try and get multiple reviews for your videographer and make sure they are doing HD or at least quality high enough for a large tv.

I have experienced it at other peoples weddings. People act differently once a video camera is around, no matter what the situation. Many people commented they were able to relax and not have to watch what they were saying to each other in case it was being recorded.

Fair enough, it's your buisness

You do have a valid point and sorry if I jumped on your post earlier!

I'll have to do some ninja training to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,084 ✭✭✭paulbok

We had a videographer, €700 up to 1st dance, 3 copies and 3-4 minute highlight clip online.
    He asked what we wanted and stayed very much in the background, most guests didn't even notice him, which made for more natural shots. He also kindly incorporated a recording of a 'flash dance' some of my wifes friends did for her at drunk o'clock at the reception that we forwarded on afterwards.

I'll be honest that we've probaly only watched it fully 2-3 times in almost 3 years, but we wanted it for further down the line. Even since then 3 close family members have died so it's great to be able to find a minute of them, especially to hear their voice again, when you are missing them.
    That was probably the biggest reason we had it.

Most of my friends that didn't have one now regret it so if you can, have one. Even if a family member has a basic camera, get the ceremony, speeches, dances and some shots of the guests arriving at the church and venue. It doesn't have to be a big production to capture the main parts of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Fionn

Photography catches moments at a wedding that are beautiful and memorable. However, there are moments in between that a photographer won't physically capture; such as, a gesture, the spoken word, music, all which can convey a lot of emotion etc.

Thats the nice thing about video, it captures sound and movement.

Lots of people cherish a video because of perhaps loved one no longer with us and were captured on video, animated in a way a photograph won't portray; this could be a father doing a speech, a mother dancing with her son, a best friend laughing on the dance floor....all of these life events recorded for you, your children, and grandchildren to enjoy and remember.

There is always some level of intrusiveness whether it's photography or videography, the operator has to be able to get into positions to get the shots, that's what you pay them for!
    the equipment used these days has reduced considerably in size, so videography is not as intrusive as it once was.

I've seen people 'pose' for what they thought was a stills camera but was actually a video cam, most times any uncomfortable looking footage will be edited out, I would imagine that people get uncomfortable no matter what the camera is.

If you do go the DIY route try get a camera setup that includes a tripod and reasonable audio capture.

At the end of the day it's a personal choice.

Oh! and one more thing anyone that has DVD's etc. make sure you have them backed up to a few locations, this stuff does fail and once it's gone it's invariably gone forever!

Fionn wrote: »
    Photography catches moments at a wedding that are beautiful and memorable. However, there are moments in between that a photographer won't physically capture; such as, a gesture, the spoken word, music, all which can convey a lot of emotion etc.

Thats the nice thing about video, it captures sound and movement.

Lots of people cherish a video because of perhaps loved one no longer with us and were captured on video, animated in a way a photograph won't portray; this could be a father doing a speech, a mother dancing with her son, a best friend laughing on the dance floor....all of these life events recorded for you, your children, and grandchildren to enjoy and remember.

There is always some level of intrusiveness whether it's photography or videography, the operator has to be able to get into positions to get the shots, that's what you pay them for!
    the equipment used these days has reduced considerably in size, so videography is not as intrusive as it once was.

I've seen people 'pose' for what they thought was a stills camera but was actually a video cam, most times any uncomfortable looking footage will be edited out, I would imagine that people get uncomfortable no matter what the camera is.

If you do go the DIY route try get a camera setup that includes a tripod and reasonable audio capture.

At the end of the day it's a personal choice.

Oh! and one more thing anyone that has DVD's etc. make sure you have them backed up to a few locations, this stuff does fail and once it's gone it's invariably gone forever!

I was shooting an event recently for the local college and loads of the students kept coming up and sticking their faces into the camera.

I didn't bother to tell them I was a videographer and not a photographer and just filmed them looking like eejits for 20 seconds giving peace signs and pulling stupid faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭lainycool

It's the best money I ever spent on my wedding, I wasn't going to get one as I thought €1000 was a bit steep and I had already paid a lot for my photographer but I'm so glad I changed my mind, Your wedding day really does go so quick and it's lovely to be able to watch it back!

Also you are so busy on the day that you are not taking everything in, I enjoyed looking at my video from a guests point of view!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

We didnt book ours until about 2 months before the wedding - it was always an "extra" we werent sure if we could afford or not till closer to the date. I am so glad we have a DVD, it's a lovely reminder of a really happy day. The photos are brilliant too, but it's nice to have ceremony footage and speeches. Our guy didnt interview anyone - it never came up in conversation whether he would or wouldnt either, not sure is it something that used to be done? I've never been interviewed at any wedding I've attended...

We got a morning highlights vid a few days after the wedding which was great, then the real DVD and more recently a full day's highlights which has a few funny bits that didnt make it to the dvd and was lovely to have. Our ceremony was in a really narrow room and I was thinking it might be tough for both photographer and videographer to move in general, let alone be in each other's way but they were grand and not a bit intrusive of ceremony. The morning prep at my folks' house was also not a bit intrusive, and we had a housefull of people, between hair and makeup, BMs, transport and neighbours calling in. I actually dont know how we all fit at times, and the house isn't small! I'd recommend our guys to anyone (Dublin but will travel).

I've watched the video with my bridesmaid and friends who asked to see it. Mam watches her copy a lot... my aunt wasnt able to be at our whole day so she was delighted to view bits she missed, and mam and my SIL had a night of viewing it recently - SIL was dying to see herself in it. If I have to watch it again, I'll skip through ceremony and speeches to be honest - hate the sound of my own voice!!!