Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strike On ! Proposed New Junior Cert **See Mod Warning Post #1**

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,351 ✭✭✭katydid

Having read all the posts in recent pages, I for one remain as unconvinced about assessing my own students as I was this morning in the same way that you appear also to be as unconvinced the other way; I still believe that the DES are not trying to bulldoze this through for the good of the students of the country. Therefore I'm going to offer to agree to disagree on assessing our own students. However, please have a look at the following:
    https://astifightback.wordpress.com/2015/02/14/why-govt-wants-school-based-assessment-so-badly/

On another subtopic within this reformed Junior Cycle, a not insignificant number of teachers have major problems with these "short courses" and the fact that the vast majority of subjects will only be examined at a common level, consigning higher and ordinary levels to the dustbin; surely not the way to prepare for Senior Cycle?

Fair enough, shame I couldn't convince you, but you can't win 'em all :-)

We are singing off the same hymn sheet where the present proposals are concerned, at least. I just don't think that rejecting the whole concept is helping things...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 997 ✭✭✭MrJones1973

Report in times today. Seems unions spilt. Some prob TUI want to accept deal in principle and then negotiate on resources . Department will say reforms rolling on regardless.
    Are the unions going to act like a hornry teenager at 2am in a nightclub ? Ie go home now with the persistent suitor or be left on your own? But think my friend. You can go with this person and you will wake up with syphillis due to lack of resources and time pressure .The lights are on.The music is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Yup, the pressure is on. Media have stoked it up. Ivan Yeats proclaiming this morning that teachers are sick of the unions and want to get on with it [the JCSA]... Also european report out today that says to save the economy we need to implement the Junior Cert reforms!! And aportioning the blame of the defecit in skills for IT at the education system (presume that's Primary and Secondary teachers fault.... yet again).

Let the spin continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,424 ✭✭✭✭km79

Report in times today. Seems unions spilt. Some prob TUI want to accept deal in principle and then negotiate on resources . Department will say reforms rolling on regardless.
    Are the unions going to act like a hornry teenager at 2am in a nightclub ? Ie go home now with the persistent suitor or be left on your own? But think my friend. You can go with this person and you will wake up with syphillis due to lack of resources and time pressure .The lights are on.The music is over.

can you link article as I can't find it please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭acequion

Armelodie wrote: »
    Yup, the pressure is on. Media have stoked it up. Ivan Yeats proclaiming this morning that teachers are sick of the unions and want to get on with it [the JCSA]... Also european report out today that says to save the economy we need to implement the Junior Cert reforms!! And aportioning the blame of the defecit in skills for IT at the education system (presume that's Primary and Secondary teachers fault.... yet again).

Let the spin continue.

Ya I heard that too. As if a bunch of 14 year olds doing fiddly faddly projects and then going on to do a traditional LC is somehow going to resolve the so called skills shortage! Such a heap of %$%$%$ and such spin!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

km79 wrote: »
    can you link article as I can't find it please

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/education/divisions-emerging-in-teacher-unions-ahead-of-crucial-junior-cycle-meeting-1.2117581

I think this might be the one. Very worrying.

Have you <> read the projects being proposed under new syllabi? Fiddly faddly seems a perfectly apt description.

What a shower of dictators! Imagine refusing to attend more talks and threatening to bully on with their plans.

There is only one thing to do and that's escalate our industrial action!

katydid wrote: »
    Can you explain why, since you've read them?

Speaking of the science propsals, they are wishy washy nonsense. They completely lack substance. It's all about presentation and communication and little or no focus on actual knowledge. The standard of the exemplars is a disgrace.

What's your opinion on the standard of course work being proposed since you oppose any criticism of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Jamfa

<mod snip>
    The Framework for Junior Cycle doesn't mention CA. What is proposed is school-based assessment. In English this involves 2 assessments. For example, students will complete an oral communication task at the end of 2nd year and this will make up 15% of their marks for English. Continuous assessment is different & implies for many a lot of extra paper work etc and is understandably feared. A couple of assessments prior to the final exam in June of 3rd year is what I understand is proposed for many subjects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭seavill

OK So Mod Warning Time:

1. Posts attacking another poster will be deleted or heavily edited (a cue is to look for the word 'you' in your addressing of the point).
    2. Posts debating the substance of a point will stand a better chance of moving on the discussion.
    3. Do not declare publicly that another member is going on your ignore list (or words to that effect). The best way is to disengage and not respond, this is your choice and the best way to quell the flames.
    4. Please be aware that some topics (e.g. the new JC science syllabus) have been discussed at length on this forum so; A) Do a boards search/google search B) Be cognisant that everybody isn't up to speed, so maybe post a link to the past thread or give a brief synopsis.
    5. Please be aware that the opposing view is necessary for debate and learning. Much of the views that I disagree with crop up here so I think it's necessary to learn the rebuttals and other issues involved as we regularly meet similar opinions in the staff room (no matter what side of the fence you're on!)
    6. Remember 'Continuous Assessment' is a loaded term (we continuously assess every day probably without even realising it). Stick to the Travers/JCSA Framework version.
    7. Also make a distinction between school based certification and state certification as this to my mind is the crux of the Travers offering. For now, It is taken as a given that the unions are opposing any school based assessment for state certification (I think!).

Do not respond to this mod warning on thread.

today is a big day for the profession ........I'm worried about what news we will get

I'm more than worried,I'm petrified.:eek:

But keeping the fingers crossed.

IT says that no matter what happens Jan is pressing ahead. She says english has started already!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

any links?

the asti website currenty isn't opening. Presumably due to site traffic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭MacGyver007

Gebgbegb wrote: »
    IT says that no matter what happens Jan is pressing ahead. She says english has started already!!

The arrogance and contempt displayed is simply mind-boggling, especially in the context of the Travers report, where the following
    sentence is in the 3rd paragraph of the first page,
    "Such ambitious reform requires the wholehearted engagement of teachers - otherwise its chances of success are limited."

They're still talking,not looking good.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Icsics

Awful interview by ASTI president on news, no decision apparently yet. He would not inspire confidence, no clarity at all

Icsics wrote: »
    Awful interview by ASTI president on news, no decision apparently yet. He would not inspire confidence, no clarity at all

We could have got worse news though. While I'd prefer to hear of a rejection, at least they didn't agree to anything nor,it seems will they without a ballot.

acequion wrote: »
    We could have got worse news though. While I'd prefer to hear of a rejection, at least they didn't agree to anything nor,it seems will they without a ballot.

it will be a ballot .100%
    and it will be the last ballot cos people are so sick of it they will just vote to accept to end it all. like they did with HRA .
    I heard more than one person express this opinion today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 997 ✭✭✭MrJones1973

Id love to sell a used car to your colleague!

If members vote for this without definite commitments on resources then they get what they deserve and Im leaving ASTI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭seavill

I thought you left last year after HRA no?

Resources or no resources I don't think anybody should vote for it. Full stop. Travers himself even said in his document that the timing of this reform was bad [not his exact words but to that effect]. Considering all we've endured these past six years it's incredible that they continue to heap pressure after pressure. No other group in the public service has been so squeezed.

So my view would be:Back to the drawing board,guys,let's elect a new Government next year and then we'll talk!

its all playing out as the pessimist/realist in me predicted..... the last few weeks have been nothing but a charade
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0227/683271-teachers/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭2011abc

Deja vu ... :-(

Will be put to a ballot repeatedly (and remember how the conditions actually DETERIORATED in subsequent ones with HRA) until ye 'vote right' .

"Ultimately she, as minister with responsibility for policy, has to make a decision about Junior Cert reform."
    This one could turn out to be as arrogant as RQ , at least she wont be around as long .

km79 wrote: »
    its all playing out as the pessimist/realist in me predicted..... the last few weeks have been nothing but a charade
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0227/683271-teachers/

So... the removal of external moderation!!

What do folk think of that? Schools correct project work etc and give students a school cert according to their own grading...

Although what happens to the course for state certification/june exams? Is that reduced?

I think removal of external moderation shows it up as the ' face saving ' farce it is .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,351 ✭✭✭katydid

2011abc wrote: »
    I think removal of external moderation shows it up as the ' face saving ' farce it is .

If there is no external moderation, it's a waste of time.

Exactly !We are in agreement for once.Whole thing was a disaster from start to finish now they just want out of it as quickly as possible .The thing is traditionally FF/FG governments continue on with many of the cockamamie policies of the previous govt. unchanged .