Ed Sheeran and Hotels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Hafta say I am surprised by so many people getting riled up by all this. I thought the Ed Sheeran post was hilarious and the Playstation one was even funnier.

Do agree with whoever said that this may wind up biting them in the arse, when people who have no idea about the hotels Facebook sense of humour, read their reviews on Tripadvisor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Hafta say I am surprised by so many people getting riled up by all this. I thought the Ed Sheeran post was hilarious and the Playstation one was even funnier.

Do agree with whoever said that this may wind up biting them in the arse, when people who have no idea about the hotels Facebook sense of humour, read their reviews on Tripadvisor.

What was the PlayStation one all about?

Here ya go.
    **LOOKING FOR SOME ACTION IN YOUR BEDROOM?**

If you are feeling bored in your room, we will happily send up a hooker or a rent boy at significant expense to yourself (we only use the high class variety – but they are well worth it, trust me). Alternatively, we can send you up this brand new Play Station 4 with Grand Theft Auto Five and Call of Duty Advanced Warfare, FREE OF CHARGE!

You can keep it until you check out, but if you are staying more than one night, please check in with us each morning to see if there are any other bored guests in the hotel who want to borrow it. If you have your own games you are welcome to play them on our console, but if you break our PS4, you are f******g dead.

Thank you now."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Here ya go.

Do they not cater for women's sexual needs? Judgmental a bit aint it?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Swanner wrote: »
    From what I've read in the comments most people understand that prices go up due to increased demand.

The main issue seems to be the arrogant assholery tone of their post.

Clearly written by some snot nosed junior manager with a trumped up view of himself and the hotel.

Had it been remotely funny they might get away with it but its a big fail on that front as well.

It is actually the owner posting, I know him, I studied hotel management with him. He is absolutely right to charge €279, it's basic yield management. As for his attitude, I personally wouldn't go about it that way but he's got the front page of tomorrow's mirror, which has to better than expected publicity for him.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,131 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

eternal wrote: »
    I will say it again. His first album was outstanding and had a bit of a edge I thought. The song 'Evergreen' or whatever it's called has made him radio friendly to people who have no knowledge of real music. I think he is a really cool guy who is humble and kind and ordinary even but the last few months have become ridiculous with the mass obsession. I hate over saturation of any kind.

He was all over the radio long before that evergreen song came out :confused: it's been a couple of years now at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Is it really supply and demand pre raising prices before any actual demand, That's actually called profiteering.

A for-profit business making the most profit it can! :eek:

Scandalous!

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    He was all over the radio long before that evergreen song came out :confused: it's been a couple of years now at least

I'm using that dong as an example as it's more mainstream and accessible to ordinary people. The edgier earlier stuff was different. He's playing to a different crowd now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,031 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Here ya go.
    Do they not cater for women's sexual needs? Judgmental a bit aint it?

Bit judgmental to presume a woman would not want to use a games console ;)

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I doubt it, it seems to have worked perfectly I've seen it posted so many times by so many people. Even people that should know better got caught up in the backlash, but at the end of the day the hostel has promoted itself to the entire country, even if they only get 0.01% of those people to rent a room it's worth it because the post cost them nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

Those outraged probably aren't even looking for a hotel for that night!

I suppose there'll be a story about some pour souls who have forked out a lot already for the gig and find it unfair that they have to fork out for a hotel as well. It cannot be said that anyone is paying over the odds when they have a free choice whether to pay or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Well the publicity has certainly worked. I will never stay in whatever the name of that hotel is EVER!!!

GRRR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

this is what happens everywhere, do people think the hoteliers in other citys don't do the same? LOL In vegas rooms around new year or certain conferences go for a multiple of a normal midweek rate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭mikeym

Mr E wrote: »
    As expected, hotels have hiked prices on the weekend of Ed Sheerans gigs. One Dublin hotel has gone out of their way to look like the biggest assholes of the lot.... From Facebook (before its inevitably taken down). Check out the comments too....

https://m.facebook.com/CharlevilleLodgeHotel/posts/901120083264035?locale2=en_GB&__tn__=%2As

Lots of empty rooms that weekend would be karma.

Do they do student discounts? :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I just checked rates for the Friday, the beacon court beside the luas in Sandyford for E131 looks like a good bet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,131 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Idbatterim wrote: »
    this is what happens everywhere, do people think the hoteliers in other citys don't do the same? LOL In vegas rooms around new year or certain conferences go for a multiple of a normal midweek rate...

Yep, try finding a reasonably priced room in vegas the weekend of the Mayweather/Pacqaio fight. The same room I paid $200 for in December is over $1000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Wow, I understand Supply and Demand but the text in the OP lacks professionalism. Looks like a nice place but poor management communication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,007 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Mr E wrote: »
    As expected, hotels have hiked prices on the weekend of Ed Sheerans gigs. One Dublin hotel has gone out of their way to look like the biggest assholes of the lot.... From Facebook (before its inevitably taken down). Check out the comments too....

https://m.facebook.com/CharlevilleLodgeHotel/posts/901120083264035?locale2=en_GB&__tn__=%2As

Lots of empty rooms that weekend would be karma.
    not surprisingly, some find this supposible joke (which is infact ****) funny. of course the old "pc" and "social justice warrior" tripe got a mention. this comedian whoever he is needs to get off the stage. he is rubbish. in saying that, hotels and other businesses always try rip off people when things like this come up, always been the way. why people except it, well they don't have a choice really unless they want to leave out the drink and get a late bus home if one runs to their county/area.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Eh...so?

It's called supply and demand. :confused:
    no its called price gouging and ripping off. if these hotels were high class then they would be worth a high amount. i suspect though, this particular establishment, well, isn't as such?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I'm sure the happy nearby residents will offer free B&B to all Ed fans :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

no its called price gouging and ripping off. if these hotels were high class then they would be worth a high amount. i suspect though, this particular establishment, well, isn't as such?

They're worth a high amount, because they will be full on the nights in question.

People need to direct their indignation at the gob****es that pay over-inflated prices.

The arse hole who wrote it, knew it would go viral, and the bigger an arse hole they sounded, the more widespread it would go. Michael O' Leary has been doing that same shtick for decades now and Ryanair is one of the most successful airline carriers in the world.
    not really a like for like comparison though. ryanair actually have a product that to many is worth using. this hotel on the other hand is nothing special, plenty like it around the place. i get what you mean though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

Its not a rip-off if the prices are advertised.

JC01 wrote: »
    Well Ireland is officially doomed, we've lost our once proud ability to have a bitta crac. Honestly some people must actively search out things to be outraged at.

It's a joke. And a pretty funny one at that.
    ah come on. its a **** joke. seriously, look up some actual comedians, people who know how to tell a joke.

Here ya go.
    ah jesus, that was a bit lame also

Valetta wrote: »
    They're worth a high amount, because they will be full on the nights in question.

People need to direct their indignation at the gob****es that pay over-inflated prices.
    yes, they are idiots to. if you can get a late bus, leave out the drink and get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Rabbo

I will say it again. His first album was outstanding and had a bit of a edge I thought. The song 'Evergreen' or whatever it's called has made him radio friendly to people who have no knowledge of real music. I think he is a really cool guy who is humble and kind and ordinary even but the last few months have become ridiculous with the mass obsession. I hate over saturation of any kind.
    I'm using that dong as an example as it's more mainstream and accessible to ordinary people. The edgier earlier stuff was different. He's playing to a different crowd now.

Really not sure if you're trolling or are some kind of mega hipster

ScumLord wrote: »
    I doubt it, it seems to have worked perfectly I've seen it posted so many times by so many people. Even people that should know better got caught up in the backlash, but at the end of the day the hostel has promoted itself to the entire country, even if they only get 0.01% of those people to rent a room it's worth it because the post cost them nothing.

That is all true. That is all well and good and you are Irish and you are in on the joke. But what about 6 months from now and a middle aged tourist from Kansas, or a business traveller from Berlin, are planning on booking a Dublin hotel room?

They go to the hotels reviews on Trip Advisor. They have never heard of Ed Sheeran & they know nothing about the hotel owners sense of humour, but they read review after review giving out about the hotels "arrogance" and their pricing policy? What then? Do they book with them, or do they go somewhere else?

Sometimes, these kind of pranks can wind up biting you in the arse. In this case, I hope they don't, as I think yer mans sense of humour is very refreshing, in an industry that can be rather stuff and up its own arse. But you never know.....

Rabbo wrote: »
    Really not sure if you're trolling or are some kind of mega hipster

I have no beard, wolly hat, headphones and lactose free ****e hanging off me excuse yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,426 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Goes to show the recession must be over.

Croker packed for another non-entity.