Ed Sheeran and Hotels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

He's on 2FM now trying to be funny and justify being "funny" on FB ............ just sounds like an arsehole! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

MadDog76 wrote: »
    He's on 2FM now trying to be funny and justify being "funny" on FB ............ just sounds like an arsehole! :D

When will the hotel owner be on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

K4t wrote: »
    I really don't understand the attraction of Ed Sheeran. He's an average, slightly alternative, pop singer, who you would think was the second coming of Dylan or Neil Young judging by the fanfare surrounding him. He's not even good looking... From what I read he seems like a nice guy and he seems to visit sick kids a lot so fair play to him. Maybe all his fans are patients.

In a similar vein, I never really understood the attraction of Dylan or Neil Young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

In a similar vein, I never really understood the attraction of Dylan or Neil Young.
    It's not similar really though.

Yes it is. There's no accounting for taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

I was close to saying 'indie' but I couldn't do it.

'Sh1te' would have sufficed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Birneybau wrote: »
    There is nothing 'alternative' about him whatsoever.
    well there is, lots of things.
    don't see many acts like him doing EPs with grime artists for a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Yes it is. There's no accounting for taste.
    I would think most music fans and the majority of people in general would laugh at someone associating Ed Sheeran with Dylan or Young or Paul Simon with regards to musical talent. Just my opinion, but as said I think most would agree, even Sheeran himself. Who knows, maybe I'll be proved wrong in 50 years, but I doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

I've stayed in this hotel a few times this year as it was near some work I was doing. I didn't particularly like it but it was convenient... Since their new "marketing" style has come out, I have avoided staying there... It'll hurt them in the longer term...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭blindside88

I had a look earlier and Bewleys leoparsdstown could be booked for €149 for a double/twin room. A taxi from town isn't too expensive either especially if ye had a few of ye staying there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Baby Jane

The tone is strangely hostile, without provocation. Pre-empting provocation maybe. Hotel room prices going up is standard if there's a big concert on, no issue there. Facebook commenters being Facebook commenters but I see their point about the attitude of the hotel.
    Nothing funny or clever about the post whatsoever in my opinion though. Nothing offensive either, but just... aggression, nothing more, not aggression couched in some sort of wit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yeah, I'm not going anyway but thanks I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,370 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

It's price gouging and very damaging to tourism in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

I'm furious Joe

I would think most music fans and the majority of people in general would laugh at someone associating Ed Sheeran with Dylan or Young or Paul Simon with regards to musical talent. Just my opinion, but as said I think most would agree, even Sheeran himself. Who knows, maybe I'll be proved wrong in 50 years, but I doubt it.

Try telling that to the legions of punters who buy tickets to see Ed Sheeran or One Direction or Sam Smith or whoever else is the flavour of the month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Seeing as how it's a small 30 room hotel this marketing style will most likely work pretty well for them. With so few rooms to fill they are likely to find more than enough numpties who think they are among the few smart enough to appreciate their subversive humour to keep their rooms fairly full. In fact looking through the hotel's comments it's obvious this is exactly what they are doing as they keep referring to the high IQs of the people who get their jokes. If they had 200 rooms to fill this tactic would blow up in their faces but it's not so hard to fool smaller numbers of potential customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Anyone who works in a customer facing job who has to deal with some of the idiocy (particularly on social media) is feeling incredible envy at the blatant "FU" that they have the freedom to give IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Cheese Wagstaff

The best comment so far is by a lad after the hotel calls some wan a "nasty bitch":

"Calling peeps bitches now .. lol you're fúcked . somebody call NAMA".

Yes, because NAMA will take the insults and turn them into credit in exchange for government bonds...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Baby Jane wrote: »
    The tone is strangely hostile, without provocation. Pre-empting provocation maybe. Hotel room prices going up is standard if there's a big concert on, no issue there. Facebook commenters being Facebook commenters but I see their point about the attitude of the hotel.
    Nothing funny or clever about the post whatsoever in my opinion though. Nothing offensive either, but just... aggression, nothing more, not aggression couched in some sort of wit.

Thats how I see it too. I dont see anything offensive in it but neither anything funny, the person just comes across as a ****. I would hate to have a problem if I stayed there, would probably call me retarded for complaining theres no bed and signs me up for a 4am wake up call.
    iguana wrote: »
    Seeing as how it's a small 30 room hotel this marketing style will most likely work pretty well for them. With so few rooms to fill they are likely to find more than enough numpties who think they are among the few smart enough to appreciate their subversive humour to keep their rooms fairly full. In fact looking through the hotel's comments it's obvious this is exactly what they are doing as they keep referring to the high IQs of the people who get their jokes. If they had 200 rooms to fill this tactic would blow up in their faces but it's not so hard to fool smaller numbers of potential customers.

And also this. They are a small place, they'll have no problem finding enough people who think, as you say, attract the kind of person who thinks they are smarter than everyone else because they manage to see the humour. Probably the same type of people who think "having a laugh" is harassing people and throwing food at someone in mcdonalds.

I kinda like the idea of them trolling the more obnoxious Facebook ranters to be fair. :)

Agreed with the person who said they don't understand the huge appeal of Ed Sheeran. There's a bunch of those lads singing fey, pop-meets-folky guitar-songs... don't get why Ed's popularity so overshadows that of the others.
    I think his looks were mentioned, because if he were really really good-looking that would go towards some way of explaining it.
    (Not that he's hideous or anything!)

It might be because he seems like a nice, humble lad I guess. Boy next door and that.

Definitely not comparable to Bob Dylan/Neil Young in my opinion! Popularity doesn't necessarily mean a person is talented. Justin Bieber is popular.
    Ed Sheeran is certainly a lot more talented than J. Bieber though.

The best comment so far is by a lad after the hotel calls some wan a "nasty bitch":

"Calling peeps bitches now .. lol you're fúcked . somebody call NAMA".

Yes, because NAMA will take the insults and turn them into credit in exchange for government bonds...

'peeps' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Try telling that to the legions of punters who buy tickets to see Ed Sheeran or One Direction or Sam Smith or whoever else is the flavour of the month.

He may not be a Dylan, but putting him in the same league as One Direction is severely undermining him. One Direction come out with useless, mass produced trash which sound like nails down a blackboard and make me sudder even with a song that would be good if it was sang by someone else.

Sorry, but Sheeran's career path has been every bit as meticulously handled as One Direction's. Despite the streetbusker image. Sure even Kian Egan likes to strum an acoustic guitar now and then....
    Yeh true, excellent marketing is no doubt part of Ed's success. Still a musician in his own right though; sher he was busking n' all back in the day. :p
    Seriously though, marketing or not, I would consider him a lot more talented than 1D.

Sorry, but Sheeran's career path has been every bit as meticulously handled as One Direction's. Despite the streetbusker image.

Except One Direction don't write any songs. They get everything handed to them, they just have to stand in front of a mic and sing it. Heck, they don't even have to put any emotion into the songs they're singing. One Direction were made and with very little effort on their part.

Now, I'm not a wild fan of Ed Sheeran but I can see the difference between him and the likes of One Direction.

You see the whole 'writes his own songs' spiel is really not much of a saving grace when those songs are painfully dull. His fanbase also wouldn't look at all out of place at a 1D concert either. Mothers and teenage daughters for the most part, as far as I can tell.

Meh, I don't think they're dull. But I don't own a radio either so I don't have to listen to them several times a day which is maybe why I don't dislike him. Plus, some of his not-so-popular songs are really nice. I also disagree with the fanbase. You'll always get crossovers but acoustic music isn't exactly the same as whatever it is 1D do and I wouldn't think would have entirely the same fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

sup_dude wrote: »
    Except One Direction don't write any songs. They get everything handed to them, they just have to stand in front of a mic and sing it. Heck, they don't even have to put any emotion into the songs they're singing. One Direction were made and with very little effort on their part.

Now, I'm not a wild fan of Ed Sheeran but I can see the difference between him and the likes of One Direction.

Not as much of a divide as you might think. Ed Sheeran has actually written several of One Direction's songs.

Custardpi wrote: »
    Not as much of a divide as you might think. Ed Sheeran has actually written several of One Direction's songs.

Oh I know, hence:
    make me sudder even with a song that would be good if it was sang by someone else.
    they don't even have to put any emotion into the songs they're singing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I will say it again. His first album was outstanding and had a bit of a edge I thought. The song 'Evergreen' or whatever it's called has made him radio friendly to people who have no knowledge of real music. I think he is a really cool guy who is humble and kind and ordinary even but the last few months have become ridiculous with the mass obsession. I hate over saturation of any kind.