If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

[Superthread] Mayweather vs Pacman **NO STREAMING REQUESTS**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭djhaxman

walshb wrote: »
    Undercard is in

Lomachenko-Rigo at 126
    Khan-JMM @ 147
    Provodnikov-Garcia at 140
    Wilder-Fury at HW

Can't wait!
    Final exams soon after this but they could wait for a card like that, if it were to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Sorry, wrong thread. Should have been the fantasy under-card thread..:pac:

Throw in the the fight of all fights that should have happened, Lewis-Bowe and I'd part with my life savings!

:pac: bastard!

Nicely played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Not a hope it will happen. They know well people will buy this even If the undercard is full of 4 rounders. Id expect 2 half decent fights and the rest garbage. I hope im wrong. Bronner might appear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭Underground

Yeah it'll be broner vs some taxi driver and probably an Ishe Smith appearance too. No need to have a good undercard from a business standpoint for this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Undercard is in

Lomachenko-Rigo at 126
    Khan-JMM @ 147
    Provodnikov-Garcia at 140
    Wilder-Fury at HW

Can't wait!

Arsehole. I was nearly on the blower to my old doll to tell her the safari was cancelled and I'm going to Vegas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,294 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

RJJ was fantastically talented but he was too much of a show off. I enjoyed the fight between him and calzaghe but it happened too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,453 ✭✭✭✭walshb

FTA69 wrote: »
    Arsehole. I was nearly on the blower to my old doll to tell her the safari was cancelled and I'm going to Vegas.

In an ideal world, or not even, just a fair pro boxing world this might just happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

In an ideal world, or not even, just a fair pro boxing world this might just happen.

I dunno. This will be the biggest viewed night of boxing in quite a while. I think they may finally be feeling the clamey cold hand of MMA on their shoulder. It's the biggest chance in a long while to promote the sport. I think your under card line-up is under-estimating things if anything.

*still in full deep level willful delusion mode here, but how and ever*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Let me start of by saying I cannot wait for this fight!

Prediction: Mayweather.

I believe strongly that Mayweather will win this fight beit easily on points or via a surprise rare knockout.

I'm aware the fan-base online shares its own predictions and opinions on both fighters, who would win and how they would do so. I've been reading comments online about this fight for plenty of years and the most common slogan going around for this particular match seems to be "Speed V Power".

That may be true and play a huge role in how the fight plays out but there is a lot more involved here. From my perspective yes Pacquaio is a great fighter with talent, aggression, offensive counter skills and good defense skills.

I think it's easy for those who do not watch boxing on a full time basis to sit back and say Pacquaio will win, Floyd will finally get beaten etc. There is most definitely a general dislike for Mayweather due to his personality and the way he carries himself.

But that all has nothing to do with how skilled that man is in the ring.

If you've watched boxing and watched Mayweather fights there is no denying he's the best fighter alive today.

Freddie Roach has been training opponents for years against Mayweather and has come up lacking a win each and every time.

47-0 soon to be 48-0 Mayweather Win all day!

Also important point to highlight

** I hope I do not see Amir Kahn's name mentioned on this thread **

Has anyone picked Manny for the win? Missed it if they did

Oh, and by the way. I hate Amir but by gum if I wouldn't love to see him spark Mayweather out :) Imagine it, holding so tightly to the zero for so long and Amir Khan takes it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

kryogen wrote: »
    Has anyone picked Manny for the win? Missed it if they did

Oh, and by the way. I hate Amir but by gum if I wouldn't love to see him spark Mayweather out :) Imagine it, holding so tightly to the zero for so long and Amir Khan takes it

I think manny will win. I think most people are overlooking the fact manny is faster than floyd which I think will be vital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Deiseboy01

Deiseboy01 wrote: »
    I still think Mayweather will find a way to avoid Pacman.

I think Pacman wins this and Floyd knows it.

Thought Floyd looked poor v a relatively limited Maidana and was badly buzzed too, that tells me his punch resistance is fading. I think he won't get away with holding and spoiling as the ref will hopefully be more neutral than is normal given Pacmans status as a legend and fan favorite, Mayweather won't be the overwhelming attraction in this scrap that should ensure more equitable refereeing. Pacman will take advantage, start at a savage pace and use his movement to really pressure Floyd, being the agressor may sway the judges to award him rounds even if Floyd potshots.

Would love to see the fight but I don't think it'll happen.

Que formal announcement this afternoon!

Yeah I think Manny wins. Needs a strong independent ref tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Riddick Bowe just followed me on Twitter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

efb wrote: »
    Riddick Bowe just followed me on Twitter...

ohfriend_zpsvg8fwzvj.jpg

Sorry efb, couldn't resist:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Deiseboy01 wrote: »
    Yeah I think Manny wins. Needs a strong independent ref tho

Yeah good point. I am nailing my colours to my mast here and saying i hope Pacquiao wins, but anyway. My head also says that Pacquiao can win this because of his speed, workrate and because he is a southpaw who is flexible enough to throw punches at different angles.
    Another thing is in the last two years Floyd has only fought Guerrero, Alvarez and Maidana. Remember Maidana was only ranked eighth in the welter devision and gave Floyd a bit of bother. Maybe Floyd doesn't have the legs of old?
    Pacquiao didn't look too bad against Bradley and Algieri as well.

Pacs speed and work rate 5 years ago may have worried Mayweather, not sure it will be such a factor now. His workrate has dropped significantly, he has slowed also and given how Mayweather fights I don't see how there is much chance of anything other then a points win for him and an ugly fight.

I'd love to be wrong of course

Pacs speed and work rate 5 years ago may have worried Mayweather, not sure it will be such a factor now. His workrate has dropped significantly, he has slowed also and given how Mayweather fights I don't see how there is much chance of anything other then a points win for him and an ugly fight.

I'd love to be wrong of course

Too much is being made of Pac 5 years ago. I too am guilty of maybe overrating his performances. Looking fast and voluminous against punch bags is one thing, but to try and do it against skilled movers and boxers is another. I reckon folks are looking at the Clottey and Margarito fights where they stood still and let Pac unload at will? Maybe the Cotto fight? That was nip and tuck for the first 4 rds. Cotto then got hurt and decided to box and move. The Hatton fight didn't go on long enough. It was a one punch clean KO.

JMM and Bradley both showed Manny's limitations or ways to trouble him. He still did very well against them, but he was not going to have the same appearance against them as against the punchbags!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The Hatton fight didn't go on long enough. It was a one punch clean KO.

On the third knockdown walsh, Hatton took a hiding and was outclassed thoroughly.

FTA69 wrote: »
    On the third knockdown walsh, Hatton took a hiding and was outclassed thoroughly.

Yes, he was. I never said otherwise. Hatton is not JMM or Bradley or Mayweather. He used his face as defense in that fight.

Too much is being made of Pac 5 years ago. I too am guilty of maybe overrating his performances. Looking fast and voluminous against punch bags is one thing, but to try and do it against skilled movers and boxers is another. I reckon folks are looking at the Clottey and Margarito fights where they stood still and let Pac unload at will? Maybe the Cotto fight? That was nip and tuck for the first 4 rds. Cotto then got hurt and decided to box and move. The Hatton fight didn't go on long enough. It was a one punch clean KO.

JMM and Bradley both showed Manny's limitations or ways to trouble him. He still did very well against them, but he was not going to have the same appearance against them as against the punchbags!

I have said many times I think Mayweather would have beaten him 5 years ago too. I don't see how I am making too much of him by saying he was faster then and had a better work rate?

I would agree that Manny has lost a step or two. He is 5 years older now. Yes, from re-reading your post I see what you mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

efb wrote: »
    We should sign off our posts #TeamMaweather or #TeamPacquaio
    Or #Fencesitter :-P

Bloody hell is that what we are reduced to? Leave that sort of guff for the teenage girls shipping twilight characters. #team....I ask ye!

Part of me really hopes I'm wrong and we'll see a classic. That Pacquiao will show up and be near his where he was in his prime. That Floyd will come to fight and not run scared for 12 rounds. It would be great for the sport.

But the logical side of me takes over. Pacquiao isn't what he was and Mayweather will do what he does best and we'll see a damp squib followed by cries of people who paid 10 grand for a ticket asking for their money back. :p

Kirby wrote: »
    Part of me really hopes I'm wrong and we'll see a classic. That Pacquiao will show up and be near his where he was in his prime. That Floyd will come to fight and not run scared for 12 rounds. It would be great for the sport.

Floyd won't run scared in the literal sense, as Manny won't bull him or make him move all that much. Manny doesn't fight like that, plus he is not big enough or rough enough to impose that on Floyd. Expect Floyd to control the ring centre, and to duck and dive from there, pot shotting his way to a win via lead left hooks, lead rights, and jabs to the body.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Kirby wrote: »
    Bloody hell is that what we are reduced to? Leave that sort of guff for the teenage girls shipping twilight characters. #team....I ask ye!

But the logical side of me takes over. Pacquiao isn't what he was and Mayweather will do what he does best and we'll see a damp squib followed by cries of people who paid 10 grand for a ticket asking for their money back. :p

I was joking (#TeamMaweather ;-P)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

And again the same things are happening in the lead up to a Mayweather fight most recently ( Hatton De Le Hoya Alvarez ) when people are predicting he will lose and why his opponent will win.

Then Mayweather will win and the same people will downplay his win with reasons why he did. Opponent was too small , too inexperienced , too old etc

Yawn

Slightly disappointed there will be no 24/7 or All Access though . But i presume they will have something different for this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Considering the state Pacquaio left Marquez, Margarito, Cotto, Hatton, Rios and De La Hoya in, I'm gonna go for Paquaio on this one. His sheer speed alone. I'm surprised so many are for Mayweather.

What state did he leave Marquez in, the only one that actually boxed clever against him? Cotto tried his best, but he just hadn't the talent to challenge Manny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Halloween Jack

What state did he leave Marquez in, the only one that actually boxed clever against him? Cotto tried his best, but he just hadn't the talent to challenge Manny.

His win against de la hoya was a bit suspect too, oscar had no business fighting at 147 at that stage, looked absolutely skeletal on the night and you could tell something was wrong from before he even got in the ring.

De la hoya had zero energy and hardly moved all night he was so boiled down. Stupid move on his team's part to take that fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭jjdonegal

+1. I thought Marquez was desperately unlucky not to win at least 1 of the first 3 bouts. He was in no way left in a state in my opinion.

jjdonegal wrote: »
    +1. I thought Marquez was desperately unlucky not to win at least 1 of the first 3 bouts. He was in no way left in a state in my opinion.

All bouts were competitive and depends on how one scores. Overall I happen to think that Manny had the edge over JMM. JMM for me just didn't try hard enough to win. He competed, but Manny looked more like the winner for me. JMM after fight 3, and in preparation for fight 4 alluded to this. He said that maybe he needed to be more aggressive. In fight 4 I felt that Manny was more comfortable than he was in fight 3, and then boom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Apologies dunno why I included him in that list, although it goes without mention Pac has the better record against him from they're last four bouts.