Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you Part 27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

MsBubbles wrote: »
    Aglomerado If Madge is 56 then I'm the Queen of England

*curtseys*

Same age as Hitler in Downfall!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Aglomerado , ONJ I'm convinced Madge has shaved at least 5 years off her age. I reckon she's due her bus pass this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Vel wrote: »
    There's a cafe right under the escalators in the Jervis Centre and I always get annoyed with myself because I can't help but gawp at the people eating their food, but now I've decided to give myself a break and turn the annoyance back on the people who choose such an awful exposed place to have their breakfast/lunch. It would be so hard to enjoy my luch knowing there were so many eyes watching me trying and failing to eat my sandwich in a ladylike manner

Yeah I know the place you mean. I would never eat there because of the proximity to the escalators and also the proximity to the Red Line Luas and its charming passengers! I have this image of
    junkies gobbing over the rail.
    (Sorry if I put any one off their lunch.)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Yeah I know the place you mean. I would never eat there because of the proximity to the escalators and also the proximity to the Red Line Luas and its charming passengers! I have this image of

and the jaysusin q's that are there for that place. Mind you, havent been into the Jervis in many a year now, but that place was always packed with a line of people outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Lexie: Here you go (Tullamore library and all!) http://tinyurl.com/o3jxfqv

TA: Carpal tunnel syndrome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Board Gais are outrageous. My dad is dead 14 months, and despite telling them this SO MANY TIMES, they still call my number (it was on the account when my dad signed up since he was allergic to carrying his phone anywhere with him). When he got sick and I was trying to pay bills they were making it so difficult. Id ring up, explain the situation, ask how much I had to pay, they wouldn't tell me.
    How the hell can I pay a bill when they wouldn't tell me how much it was? I explained the situation - they didn't care.

They rang me shortly after he died, I explained he was dead, I didnt know how much to pay. Told them to take my number off the account that I didn't live there. They kept calling. Last week, they called again. I've given them my brothers name, his number. I've explained dad is dead, this number is no longer connected to the account - and they still call and ask for my dad. Wtf?

Would the solicitor or executor of your dads estate not be able to sort this? Should be pretty standard practice I would have thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I just got an email from a lady named Monique with a subject-line explaining "You are a nerd, no cool girls for you!". She goes on to explain that "Girls do not put out for you Do not get upset, now you will screw every one.". Hmm - well I'm glad she's explained that. As far as I can make out she's offering BCL courses. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Yes, I know that place, I've never eaten in it, due to similar suspicions...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    I could not agree more. There was time when I thought she was quite attractive. She looks a bit haggard these days, especially when you think of the hours spent in the gym, the diet and bodywork. Best to cover up a little bit at this stage. Nobody wants to see your saggy bits. I hope she reads this and takes it on board.:D

I'd say she will :D.

Some poor bastard's head will roll, over that fall, I'd say, whether it's the dancer or the person who tied the cloak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

I always think the same thing! I'm sure that lovely display of cakes is infected with the germs of those coming down the escalator. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    Lexie: Here you go (Tullamore library and all!) http://tinyurl.com/o3jxfqv

TA: Carpal tunnel syndrome.

Haha thanks. Me and him are going to have a serious chat at they week end. He cries when I go to bed, howls for ages and when I come down he's laying at the door guilt tripping me :( and in the mornings he keeps pawing the shower door to get in with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I always think the same thing! I'm sure that lovely display of cakes is infected with the germs of those coming down the escalator. :eek:

haha! Glad I'm not the only one thinking this!
    Haven't they heard of sneeze-guards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Board Gais are outrageous. My dad is dead 14 months, and despite telling them this SO MANY TIMES, they still call my number (it was on the account when my dad signed up since he was allergic to carrying his phone anywhere with him). When he got sick and I was trying to pay bills they were making it so difficult. Id ring up, explain the situation, ask how much I had to pay, they wouldn't tell me.
    How the hell can I pay a bill when they wouldn't tell me how much it was? I explained the situation - they didn't care.

They rang me shortly after he died, I explained he was dead, I didnt know how much to pay. Told them to take my number off the account that I didn't live there. They kept calling. Last week, they called again. I've given them my brothers name, his number. I've explained dad is dead, this number is no longer connected to the account - and they still call and ask for my dad. Wtf?

I usually pay Electric Ireland online. Have a look at Board Gais website and see if they have that option. Also put in writing that your dad is deceased and that the account is to be closed, otherwise the billing will just continue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭fiachr_a

There's a cafe right under the escalators in the Jervis Centre and I always get annoyed with myself because I can't help but gawp at the people eating their food, but now I've decided to give myself a break and turn the annoyance back on the people who choose such an awful exposed place to have their breakfast/lunch. It would be so hard to enjoy my luch knowing there were so many eyes watching me trying and failing to eat my sandwich in a ladylike manner
    And you can spit on the food behind the counter going down that escalator.

fiachr_a wrote: »
    And you can spit on the food behind the counter going down that escalator.

I actually really liked that cafe. I'm so over it now

TA that I have a trapped nerve in my upper arm. Very fckin sore. Must have slept awkwardly on it.
    Oh well, at least I have an excuse for not getting the weights out of the Attic and doing the exercises that my body desperately needs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

My O.H's neighbour has a bit of land and a very narrow lane goes up one side of it, every so often rubbish get dumped on it, but recently a lot more frequently, we seen the owner the other day cleaning it up herself into black bags as it had been torn apart, she was spitting venom, SHE was issued a fine for E3000 for dumping, because it was on her property, and 2 weeks to pay it, how dumb is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

€69 for 2 same day return tickets to Dublin :eek:
    Couldn't figure out why they were so expensive, turns out they're making line improvements this weekend so they're operating bus transfers from Athy to Dublin and back.
    And they want you to pay €69 for that privilege :confused:

Couldn't figure out why they were so expensive, turns out they're making line improvements this weekend so they're operating bus transfers from Athy to Dublin and back.

Why are you going to dublin twice in one day?! Its not that good - is it?

TA that there is no one around here at the moment! Will someone talk to me for the love of God! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

selous wrote: »
    My O.H's neighbour has a bit of land and a very narrow lane goes up one side of it, every so often rubbish get dumped on it, but recently a lot more frequently, we seen the owner the other day cleaning it up herself into black bags as it had been torn apart, she was spitting venom, SHE was issued a fine for E3000 for dumping, because it was on her property, and 2 weeks to pay it, how dumb is that?

They could fcuken sing for it as far as I am concerned, seriously I would let them take me to court, get the two weeks in Mountjoy, have two guards collect me and take me to prison and most likely get released with 48 hours.

By that logic, it is just as well you were not going halfway to Dublin, it probably would have 99€:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

A customer was in today, scanning her items I hear.
    'are they that price? '

"Yes they're a finest product so they're normally dearer."

'I didn't think they were that dear'

"I'll go check for you in case they're a different price, I'll just cancel them out first."

'I don't have time I'm in a hurry for the bus'

"Ok so. will I cancel them out? "

'no you can leave them there.'
    'are you not going to check the price? '

"You said you didn't have time to wait? "

'You could've been back already......'

Flabbergasted!

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    They could fcuken sing for it as far as I am concerned, seriously I would let them take me to court, get the two weeks in Mountjoy, have two guards collect me and take me to prison and most likely get released with 48 hours.

They wouldn't even keep you 48 hours, a friend of mine was brought in because of an outstanding fine, 6 hours in a cell in the garda station (had his phone in the cell), was brought over to the Midlands prison at about 20 to ten. Shown to a cell and was out in about 20 minutes. They rang someone to come and pick him up, and was back home before midnight. He was longer holding than actually locked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭Alice1

My add is for ''warm hearted Asians'' dating website :/
    IAMS catfood!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

They could fcuken sing for it as far as I am concerned, seriously I would let them take me to court, get the two weeks in Mountjoy, have two guards collect me and take me to prison and most likely get released with 48 hours

They wouldn't even keep you 48 hours, a friend of mine was brought in because of an outstanding fine, 6 hours in a cell in the garda station (had his phone in the cell), was brought over to the Midlands prison at about 20 to ten. Shown to a cell and was out in about 20 minutes. They rang someone to come and pick him up, and was back home before midnight. He was longer holding than actually locked up.

They know who it was, the farmer on other side of the road set up some cctv,(because of the dumping) got the cars and reg numbers, showed it to council, didn't want to know, a "source" said they'd never get them as they'd only "move on" if anything was issued. but yet the rubbish on the side of the road is grand, the litter warden picks that up, but because this in the gully on her side, it just beggers belief.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

TA that I have a trapped nerve in my upper arm. Very fckin sore. Must have slept awkwardly on it.
    Oh well, at least I have an excuse for not getting the weights out of the Attic and doing the exercises that my body desperately needs!

You could always go for a jog.Good way to get fit - also you dont even need to go outside you could even jog on the spot. So really theres no excuse.

Glad to help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

26 What a rip off. The cheek of the Irish rail.
    TA I went to the supermarket to buy milk and bread but came home without the milk :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Day just gets worse! Diesel stolen from the farm!! The world is against us today :(

Was that a cell phone he had:D

That's it, I am off to watch TV.