Eddie Ray Routh Found Guilty Of Murder Of Chris Kyle & Chad Littlefield

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

The vast vast majority of the people Kyle killed, were dead anyway and but for his actions, would have taken many more lives with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

What about them water charges eh ?

Ireland's 9/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

Ireland's 9/11

and this one definitely was an insider job :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Wide Load

Team America theme tune was on loop in my head reading through this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Was the reason Kyle was involved with this guy not BECAUSE he was mentally ill?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DavidRamsay99

FTA69 wrote: »
    Grand. So the countries who later invaded Iraq on the basis Iraq had chemical weapons were the same countries that gave him the weapons in the first place? Can you see any moral dissonance there at all no?

Spare us the nonsense about America deposing a terrible tyrant out of the goodness of their heart please, they were buddy enough with Hussein a short time before. Likewise, the Iraqi people never asked for the US to invade and bomb hundreds of thousands of them to pieces so they could try and secure convenient oil supplies. Anyone who thinks that Iraq was anything but geopolitical manoeuvring over energy supplies is a fool.

The above countries have a responsibility to clean up the mess they created right? So you don't think they should? Do you think anyone should? Saddam should have been just left in power or today ISIS should be left to spread their bloodthirsty barbarism unchecked?

smurgen wrote: »
    as bad as he was the situation now is worse. http://web.mit.edu/humancostiraq/ have a read. 4.5 million orphans in iraq.

If Iraq was still being ruled Saddam you and people like you would be giving out about why he wasn't overthrown in 1991.

Waterford Whispers :)

Kyle’s memoirs formed the basis of the Oscar nominated American Sniper, which starred Bradley Cooper in the title role. Renewed buzz about the film due to the recent Academy Awards has today subsided after the result of the trial basically gave away the entire ending.

“I was looking forward to seeing American Sniper this weekend, but now I know the ending I’ll probably not bother,” said Sean Higgins, an avid cinema-goer from Dundalk.

“They should put f*cking spoiler alerts on these things. I turned on the news this morning and the headline totally gave away the fact that Kyle gets killed in the end. **** sake like, not all of us have seen the movie, you d*cks”.

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2015/02/25/spoiler-alert-outrage-as-trial-of-american-sniper-murderer-ruins-end-of-movie/

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

Jinonatron wrote: »
    So let me get this straight. You are telling me a guy murders a guy who murders lots of guys in iraq who were murdering americans because they invaded Iraq to murder a dictator who was murdering lots of others guys.

I don't want to live in this world anymore.

He kills men with bullets
    Man kills him with bullets.
    It's like ray-e-ain, on your wedding day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

He kills men with bullets
    Man kills him with bullets.
    It's like ray-e-ain, on your wedding day.

Thats not Ironic, thats just misfortunate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

The hundreds of thousands who died in Iraq were killed by Sunni and Shia insurgents.

A sectarian conflict that was a direct result of the US/UK invasion based on lies. When you invade and occupy a country that country's security then becomes the responsibility of the occupiers.
    It was Iraqis themselves who destroyed their own country first by supporting Saddam and then fighting each other for power.

Are they a stupid people to like the Palestinians?
    They are utterly stupid people beyond help.
    The cowardly withdrawal from Iraq by the Obama administration has led directly to the rise of ISIS.

It was the cowardly invasion based on lies and then realising you've no hope of winning the peace that led to ISIS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Routh came up with some crap about PTSD when the guy had never seen combat in Iraq. He made up some story that he believed in hybrid pig people and that he believed Kyle and Littlefield were pig assassins. However the real motive appears to be that Kyle and Littlefield didn't like the alcohol and drug abuser and he shot them because they behaved coldly towards him. ...............

Great the way leaving things out makes it look like you have a point.

"It is still unclear how much Kyle and Littlefield knew about Routh, who had been in and out of mental hospitals for at least two years before their encounter and was diagnosed with schizophrenia and psychosis, among other ailments."
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/checkpoint/wp/2015/02/13/first-days-of-american-sniper-murder-trial-leave-questions-unanswered/?hpid=z3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Well this escalated quickley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

The vast vast majority of the people Kyle killed, were dead anyway

Zombies???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,797 ✭✭✭karma_

Jaysus David, go and have a **** over a Jane's weekly already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Kyle did the job he was trained to do but he did seem to be cashing in on it then by writing the book etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Kyle didn't just go around shooting random people for the craic. He killed people that posed a massive threat to not just the United States, not just the western world, but the whole world. I used 9/11 as an example as it was a land mark event, the first time the US mainland was attacked in modern history. I could just as well have used Bali bombings, Istanbul bombings, Khobar, Marriott Hotel bombing, bombings in Casablanca, and the many bombings in Iraq performed by Al Qaeda. Because of of the actions of people like Kyle, many other terrorist attempted bombings have been stopped, such as the 2006 plot to bomb transatlantic flights to North America.

Stop trying to make it seem like terrorism is a major all consuming threat.

http://www.globalresearch.ca/the-terrorism-statistics-every-american-needs-to-hear/5382818

karma_ wrote: »

You resort to personal abuse when you have no arguments to refute anything I have written.

Saddam Hussein was a brutal tyrant who murdered hundreds of thousands of people and it was just to overthrow him irrespective of whether he did not still have stockpiles of WMD in 2003 or whether the real motives of the US government were to secure oil resources or whether host of world powers including the US, Russia, UK, China, India, France, Germany etc had assisted him in the past.

You cannot dispute the fact that millions of Iraqis voted for a democratic constitution and voted repeatedly in democratic local and national elections since 2003.

You cannot dispute the facts that there is currently democratically elected Iraqi parliament, Prime Minister and President and this democratic Iraq is currently fighting ISIS and there is a moral obligation on the rest of the world if not to provide them military assistance to at least support them.

You cannot dispute the facts that the Sunni and Shia terrorist groups that emerged after the 2003 invasion killed the overwhelming majority of the Iraqi victims of the Iraq War who they killed with car bombs, shootings and gruesome torture.

You cannot reasonable dispute that fighting these terrorists or "savages" as Kyle called them was morally justified.

You cannot dispute the fact that in the wake of the US withdrawal - ordered by a President who opposed the overthrow of the brutal dictatorship of Saddam and at every opportunity in his political career prior to his Presidency preached that US troops should be withdrawn from Iraq - has led to the disastrous rise of ISIS.

You cannot reasonably argue that ISIS will be stopped by anything less than military force.

You cannot reasonably dispute any of this.

Hence you resort to cheap childish insults.

Why you insist on denying the justice of overthrowing Saddam, why you insist on denying the evil of the Sunni and Shia insurgents and why you insist on denying the reality of the evil of ISIS and the necessity to stop them is anybody's guess.

You resort to personal abuse when you have no arguments to refute anything I have written.

Care to respond?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=94443595&postcount=73

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Folks, if you want to argue about ISIS, do it on the thread about ISIS. This thread is for a different topic.
    karma_ wrote: »

Stop with this kind of thing, please.

The condemnation of Kyle as a supposed "murderer" I believe is inspired by liberals who refuse to accept the reality of Islamic extremism in the world and the necessity to use military force to stop it.

Since the end of the Vietnam War a generation has grown up believing all wars are wrong and everything that the West does is evil.

The existence of Kyle - his heroic record in combat, his memoirs which testify to the moral righteousness of the Iraq War and his noble death - a misguided attempt to help a man who took his life - are intolerable to people who refuse to have their prejudices and delusions challenged.

The 9/11 attacks made a mockery of the myth of the End of History that was in vogue after the end of the Cold War. Americans went into denial when the WTC was attacked, when the USS Cole was almost sunk and when Bin Laden and his organisation declared a Holy War against the West. They believed all they had to do was fire off a few cruise missiles and all would be well. While Bin Laden was planning the 9/11 attacks Americans were preoccupied with whether Clinton got a blowjob from an intern or not.

The anti-war delusional pacificists who blame America rather than the terrorists for the War on Terror are only a few shades less looney than the 9/11 Truth Movement who actually claim the 9/11 attacks were an elaborate hoax. Both groups refuse to acknowledge the threat of Islamic terrorism which is staring them in the face.

They do so because they are cowards and because the existence of evil demands that they must stop it.

Kyle and men like him are the rough men who do violence on our behalf who Orwell spoke of so that we can sleep soundly in our beds.

Nodin wrote: »

The defense was unable to demonstrate that Routh was incapable of knowing right from wrong when he killed Kyle and Littlefield.

Saddam Hussein was a brutal tyrant who murdered hundreds of thousands of people and it was just to overthrow him irrespective of whether he did not still have stockpiles of WMD in 2003 or whether the real motives of the US government were to secure oil resources or whether host of world powers including the US, Russia, UK, China, India, France, Germany etc had assisted him in the past.

You cannot dispute the fact that millions of Iraqis voted for a democratic constitution and voted repeatedly in democratic local and national elections since 2003.

You cannot dispute the facts that there is currently democratically elected Iraqi parliament, Prime Minister and President and this democratic Iraq is currently fighting ISIS and there is a moral obligation on the rest of the world if not to provide them military assistance to at least support them.

You cannot dispute the facts that the Sunni and Shia terrorist groups that emerged after the 2003 invasion killed the overwhelming majority of the Iraqi victims of the Iraq War who they killed with car bombs, shootings and gruesome torture.

You cannot reasonable dispute that fighting these terrorists or "savages" as Kyle called them was morally justified.

You cannot dispute the fact that in the wake of the US withdrawal - ordered by a President who opposed the overthrow of the brutal dictatorship of Saddam and at every opportunity in his political career prior to his Presidency preached that US troops should be withdrawn from Iraq - has led to the disastrous rise of ISIS.

You cannot reasonably argue that ISIS will be stopped by anything less than military force.

You cannot reasonably dispute any of this.

Hence you resort to cheap childish insults.

Why you insist on denying the justice of overthrowing Saddam, why you insist on denying the evil of the Sunni and Shia insurgents and why you insist on denying the reality of the evil of ISIS and the necessity to stop them is anybody's guess.

This website is for discussion, the quoted post above tends to indicate that not only are you not interested in differing opinions, you seem to believe that other posters have no right to hold their opinions.

I dispute pretty much everything you post.

Perhaps you would be better off ranting on a blog?

This website is for discussion, the quoted post above tends to indicate that not only are you not interested in differing opinions, you seem to believe that other posters have no right to hold their opinions.

I dispute pretty much everything you post.

Facts are facts.

Nobody is stopping anyone on this thread from saving 2+2=5 or that their father is Napoleon.

You cannot reasonably dispute anything I have said. You can dispute it but if you dispute it you are not reasonable.

There is no reasonable argument against removing Saddam Hussein from power or fighting Islamic terrorists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Next person to keep up the off topic debate is getting carded

You cannot reasonably dispute anything I have said. You can dispute it but if you dispute it you are not reasonable.

Yes Sir

Sorry sir

It won't happen again Sir

The defense was unable to demonstrate that Routh was incapable of knowing right from wrong when he killed Kyle and Littlefield.

"unable to convince", which is hardly suprising, given the context.

“The Texas test for insanity is so narrow that it is virtually meaningless,” wrote Brian D. Shannon in a Texas Tech Law Review. “… The Texas insanity defense bears no relationship to modern understanding of serious mental illness.”
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2015/02/25/trial-of-american-sniper-chris-kyles-killer-why-the-insanity-defense-failed/

In most countries -if not all - in Western Europe, he'd been in a secure hospital.

Nodin wrote: »
    "unable to convince", which is hardly suprising, given the context.

“The Texas test for insanity is so narrow that it is virtually meaningless,” wrote Brian D. Shannon in a Texas Tech Law Review. “… The Texas insanity defense bears no relationship to modern understanding of serious mental illness.”
    http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2015/02/25/trial-of-american-sniper-chris-kyles-killer-why-the-insanity-defense-failed/

In most countries -if not all - in Western Europe, he'd been in a secure hospital.

If Routh was capable of knowing right from wrong then he was by definition morally culpable and guilty of murder.

The logic is inescapable and irrefutable.

The prosecution demonstrated that he was.

End of.

If Routh was capable of knowing right from wrong then he was by definition morally culpable and guilty of murder.

The logic is inescapable and irrefutable.

The prosecution demonstrated that he was.

You seem to be under the confusion that because a law says something that it is a scientific fact. This is not the case.