[Deleted User] wrote: » What about them water charges eh ?
NomadicGray wrote: » Ireland's 9/11
FTA69 wrote: » Grand. So the countries who later invaded Iraq on the basis Iraq had chemical weapons were the same countries that gave him the weapons in the first place? Can you see any moral dissonance there at all no? Spare us the nonsense about America deposing a terrible tyrant out of the goodness of their heart please, they were buddy enough with Hussein a short time before. Likewise, the Iraqi people never asked for the US to invade and bomb hundreds of thousands of them to pieces so they could try and secure convenient oil supplies. Anyone who thinks that Iraq was anything but geopolitical manoeuvring over energy supplies is a fool.
smurgen wrote: » as bad as he was the situation now is worse. http://web.mit.edu/humancostiraq/ have a read. 4.5 million orphans in iraq.
Kyle’s memoirs formed the basis of the Oscar nominated American Sniper, which starred Bradley Cooper in the title role. Renewed buzz about the film due to the recent Academy Awards has today subsided after the result of the trial basically gave away the entire ending. “I was looking forward to seeing American Sniper this weekend, but now I know the ending I’ll probably not bother,” said Sean Higgins, an avid cinema-goer from Dundalk. “They should put f*cking spoiler alerts on these things. I turned on the news this morning and the headline totally gave away the fact that Kyle gets killed in the end. **** sake like, not all of us have seen the movie, you d*cks”.
Jinonatron wrote: » So let me get this straight. You are telling me a guy murders a guy who murders lots of guys in iraq who were murdering americans because they invaded Iraq to murder a dictator who was murdering lots of others guys. I don't want to live in this world anymore.
Shiraz 4.99 wrote: » He kills men with bullets Man kills him with bullets.It's like ray-e-ain, on your wedding day.
DavidRamsay99 wrote: » The hundreds of thousands who died in Iraq were killed by Sunni and Shia insurgents.
It was Iraqis themselves who destroyed their own country first by supporting Saddam and then fighting each other for power.
DavidRamsay99 wrote: » They are utterly stupid people beyond help.
The cowardly withdrawal from Iraq by the Obama administration has led directly to the rise of ISIS.
DavidRamsay99 wrote: » Routh came up with some crap about PTSD when the guy had never seen combat in Iraq. He made up some story that he believed in hybrid pig people and that he believed Kyle and Littlefield were pig assassins. However the real motive appears to be that Kyle and Littlefield didn't like the alcohol and drug abuser and he shot them because they behaved coldly towards him. ...............
NachoBusiness wrote: » The vast vast majority of the people Kyle killed, were dead anyway
twin_beacon wrote: » Kyle didn't just go around shooting random people for the craic. He killed people that posed a massive threat to not just the United States, not just the western world, but the whole world. I used 9/11 as an example as it was a land mark event, the first time the US mainland was attacked in modern history. I could just as well have used Bali bombings, Istanbul bombings, Khobar, Marriott Hotel bombing, bombings in Casablanca, and the many bombings in Iraq performed by Al Qaeda. Because of of the actions of people like Kyle, many other terrorist attempted bombings have been stopped, such as the 2006 plot to bomb transatlantic flights to North America.
karma_ wrote: » Jaysus David, go and have a **** over a Jane's weekly already.
DavidRamsay99 wrote: » You resort to personal abuse when you have no arguments to refute anything I have written. .....................
Nodin wrote: » Care to respond?http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=94443595&postcount=73
DavidRamsay99 wrote: » You resort to personal abuse when you have no arguments to refute anything I have written. Saddam Hussein was a brutal tyrant who murdered hundreds of thousands of people and it was just to overthrow him irrespective of whether he did not still have stockpiles of WMD in 2003 or whether the real motives of the US government were to secure oil resources or whether host of world powers including the US, Russia, UK, China, India, France, Germany etc had assisted him in the past.You cannot dispute the fact that millions of Iraqis voted for a democratic constitution and voted repeatedly in democratic local and national elections since 2003.You cannot dispute the facts that there is currently democratically elected Iraqi parliament, Prime Minister and President and this democratic Iraq is currently fighting ISIS and there is a moral obligation on the rest of the world if not to provide them military assistance to at least support them.You cannot dispute the facts that the Sunni and Shia terrorist groups that emerged after the 2003 invasion killed the overwhelming majority of the Iraqi victims of the Iraq War who they killed with car bombs, shootings and gruesome torture. You cannot reasonable dispute that fighting these terrorists or "savages" as Kyle called them was morally justified.You cannot dispute the fact that in the wake of the US withdrawal - ordered by a President who opposed the overthrow of the brutal dictatorship of Saddam and at every opportunity in his political career prior to his Presidency preached that US troops should be withdrawn from Iraq - has led to the disastrous rise of ISIS.You cannot reasonably argue that ISIS will be stopped by anything less than military force. You cannot reasonably dispute any of this. Hence you resort to cheap childish insults. Why you insist on denying the justice of overthrowing Saddam, why you insist on denying the evil of the Sunni and Shia insurgents and why you insist on denying the reality of the evil of ISIS and the necessity to stop them is anybody's guess.
Arsemageddon wrote: » This website is for discussion, the quoted post above tends to indicate that not only are you not interested in differing opinions, you seem to believe that other posters have no right to hold their opinions. I dispute pretty much everything you post.
DavidRamsay99 wrote: » You cannot reasonably dispute anything I have said. You can dispute it but if you dispute it you are not reasonable.
DavidRamsay99 wrote: » The defense was unable to demonstrate that Routh was incapable of knowing right from wrong when he killed Kyle and Littlefield.
Nodin wrote: » "unable to convince", which is hardly suprising, given the context. “The Texas test for insanity is so narrow that it is virtually meaningless,” wrote Brian D. Shannon in a Texas Tech Law Review. “… The Texas insanity defense bears no relationship to modern understanding of serious mental illness.”http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2015/02/25/trial-of-american-sniper-chris-kyles-killer-why-the-insanity-defense-failed/ In most countries -if not all - in Western Europe, he'd been in a secure hospital.
DavidRamsay99 wrote: » If Routh was capable of knowing right from wrong then he was by definition morally culpable and guilty of murder. The logic is inescapable and irrefutable. The prosecution demonstrated that he was. .