Cheltenham Festival 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

And Artic Fire would have won a county hurdle.....:P

I had lumps on Arctic fire and get me out of here last year..a blade of grass and I was a couple of thousand richer 😞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

ste2010 wrote: »
    Shield at the ready! Lord Windermere wouldn't have won the RSA if boston Bob didn't fall

Controversial :eek:
    ste2010 wrote: »
    Also re TNO - he was completely outpaced! I'd imagine he'll be the same this year. He was hampered by our Conor but gathered himself very quickly and was positioned perfectly and in touch on the back straight. He got left behind going down the hill

Spot on :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Oscar delta......

Katenko would have won the Gold Cup if the first ten either fell, ran out or got disqualified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭CheltenhamJ

Pp offer looks great value in ankle - clarcam for me

Will use the Supreme offer as was going to take on Douvan, UDS wont be beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Trouble in P

The PP offer is very good, but I can't see by the 2 Favs, especially Un De Sceaux.. Suppose its a shot at nothing though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Trouble in P

The PP offer is very good, but I can't see past the 2 Favs, in 2 races that lack any real depth, especially Un De Sceaux.. Suppose its a shot at nothing though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

The odds of all four reigning champs to retain (Jezki, SDG, More of That, Lord windermere) is 1484/1 at Paddy Powers.
    I can think of worse throw-away fiver bets.

Shows how open the championship races are this year. I remember doing the same bet 3 years ago and it was about 20's (only 1 did fwiw, it was a shocking bet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Shanee.

PP offer isnt as straight forward as it seems. Matched stake free bet if UDS or Douvan win either race and your horse loses. Say you have the €50 on an even money shot then you only get your 50 back as opposed to 100. UDS doesnt look like he will be beaten only chance IMO would be in the Supreme but then again if you back a horse and he doesnt win and neither does Douvan money's gone. Its a good offer but can see it tricking people.

Shemale wrote: »
    Will use the Supreme offer as was going to take on Douvan, UDS wont be beaten.

Not really using the offer considering you'd be taking him on anyway. Just backing a different horse and having Douvan run for you too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

That's annoying to me. The PP offer was always money back on all the other runners if a particular shorty won. Now it's money back as a free bet - not half as appealing.

Yeah its a pain really. Copped on to last year didnt they lose so much money on some money back special they did iirc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,019 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

byronbay2 wrote: »
    That's annoying to me. The PP offer was always money back on all the other runners if a particular shorty won. Now it's money back as a free bet - not half as appealing.

UDS is a 4/7 shot, meaning youre very likely to get the free bet if your chosen horse loses. You also get the chance to play in 2 races as opposed to the usual one. Free bets are worth circa 80% or so of real cash, is the usual calculation given. It's easily their best offer ever, albeit harder for arbers to work around, which you can hardly blame them for trying to avoid

Shanee. wrote: »
    Not really using the offer considering you'd be taking him on anyway. Just backing a different horse and having Douvan run for you too.

The offer is money back as free bet if Douvan wins, I was going to back Lami Serge anyway. This way if Douvan wins I get a free bet instead of nothing. Not sure how I am not using the offer.

The idea of the offer is Powers dont want you to back that pair so their payout liability is a lot lower if they win plus by giving a free bet they keep your money with them and effectively knock a point off what you back with your free bet as you dont get the free bet back.

Previously they did 100 and cash back, this way they have two chances of not giving out all the free bets and if both win the punter loses 2 points should both of their free bets win.

Its only a good offer if you planned taking one or both on.

Word of warning Powers are still ante post for both races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    UDS is a 4/7 shot, meaning youre very likely to get the free bet if your chosen horse loses. You also get the chance to play in 2 races as opposed to the usual one. Free bets are worth circa 80% or so of real cash, is the usual calculation given. It's easily their best offer ever, albeit harder for arbers to work around, which you can hardly blame them for trying to avoid

Surely the money back if 2nd, 3rd or 4th in the Supreme last year was a better offer?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

More of That ruled out for the rest of the season!

Had a few quid on Annie Power at 4/1 for World and Glens Melody at 5/1 for mares nrnb with bet 365

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Had a few quid on Annie Power at 4/1 for World and Glens Melody at 5/1 for mares
    6's NRNB with PP

The Mig wrote: »
    6's NRNB with PP

Damn it :eek:

8s with Hills antepost could even be worth a rattle, doubt they will leave their three in mares with the world quite open?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Went to back Jetson in the World Hurdle, Betfred would only accept €19.30 not €20. It's 70 fucking cent! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭bellybuster12

Went to back Jetson in the World Hurdle, Betfred would only accept €19.30 not €20. It's 70 fucking cent! :pac:

Backed him as soon as firms went NRNB. Think he has cracking e/w chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,019 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

robbiezero wrote: »
    Surely the money back if 2nd, 3rd or 4th in the Supreme last year was a better offer?

I really liked that one, but I think the combined benefit of bother offers this year make it better. In a simple sense, the Arkle alone would make it a better offer as the shortest price a horse (Irving) could be last year to finish 2nd, 3rd, 4th, if he lost, was around EVS. If your horse loses this year, your 4/7 or shorter to get money back. Lose a bit on the free bet refund but still shorter. Throw in the supreme offer and its certainly better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Damn it :eek:

8s with Hills antepost could even be worth a rattle, doubt they will leave their three in mares with the world quite open?

Who is the 3rd mare? Vroum Vroum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭king Henry 14

Hi guys, have been looking at MOON RACER for the bumper. Has had 2 runs winning both. First run in the goffs bumper was very impressive. Held up out the back until turning for home he cut through the field stylishly and went away from some nice types including Elliot's tycoon prince to win easily. He was bought after that and sent to David pipes where he was sent to Cheltenham for a bumper in October. Different tactics this day as he was prominent throughout and when they turned for home he scooted away up the hill to win as he liked. 12/1 at the moment and I reckon if he was with Mullins he would be 6/1. His two runs are worth a look at. Any opinions guys?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Hi guys, have been looking at MOON RACER for the bumper. Has had 2 runs winning both. First run in the goffs bumper was very impressive. Held up out the back until turning for home he cut through the field stylishly and went away from some nice types including Elliot's tycoon prince to win easily. He was bought after that and sent to David pipes where he was sent to Cheltenham for a bumper in October. Different tactics this day as he was prominent throughout and when they turned for home he scooted away up the hill to win as he liked. 12/1 at the moment and I reckon if he was with Mullins he would be 6/1. His two runs are worth a look at. Any opinions guys?.

Probably the most impressive bumper horse I've seen to date. Wouldn't put anyone off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

rossom wrote: »
    Probably the most impressive bumper horse I've seen to date. Wouldn't put anyone off
    Agreed. Lack of prep a worry but hell probably be my bumper horse too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭culline

Snow Falcon - Albert Bartlett - 40/1 is a touch big and NRNB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Put him up here after Tycoon Princes win on Sunday.
    Was very surprised to see price still at 12s.

First decent bet in the bumper ever for me.. obviously a tough one but as I said on Sunday, and as you have alluded to, the Mullins dominance in the race has to be contributing to the big price and I was more than happy to take it.