Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Augeo wrote: »
    Engines last well, you'll get to know a bit about control arms though on a 20 odd year old 5 series :D

It's already something I'll have to do on the E39 at some stage, a whole suspension refresh, fun :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I'll just leave this here for you FN. :)

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C555751#

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I'll just leave this here for you FN. :)

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C555751#

I hate you :pac:

The only M5 I'm planning on getting atm is the E39, I'm not as attracted to the E34's........yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I hate you :pac:

The only M5 I'm planning on getting atm is the E39, I'm not as attracted to the E34's........yet.

Gimme an E39 M5 over an E60. Horrible cars imo.

BMW redeemed themselves with the F10

Gimme an E39 M5 over an E60. Horrible cars imo.

BMW redeemed themselves with the F10

Agreed, while the V10 is an amazing engine, I think the E60 let down a lot of people. I consider the F10 the real successor to the E39 and is the one I'd go for if I were to buy a newer 5 series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Agreed, while the V10 is an amazing engine, I think the E60 let down a lot of people. I consider the F10 the real successor to the E39 and is the one I'd go for if I were to buy a newer 5 series.

Would you go so far as to say the F10 was the first of the last of the proper M5s, or more like the last of the real M5s up until the newer Proper (note capital "P"!) M5s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

The E39 is the last real M5 in my book

The v10 in the e60 was lovely , but I just never liked the e60 shape, pre lci it aged way too quickly

The f10 is a v8 turbo , the m5 is supposed to be NA, also this crack about synthetic engine noise through the sound system , the f10 m5 is a toy designed to look good on paper with more torques and horsies, but very little character.

The e39 has a timeless design and was the last one built before the world went mad for emissions and ruining street legal racing cars disguised as something you can bring the kids to school in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Cheers to the knuckle stagger who scratched my car this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Augeo wrote: »

I admire your restraint :)

Being broke is a great motivator!

And lads the e39 was the last true m5...

The e34 3.8 6speed being my personal favourite :-)

jimgoose wrote: »
    Would you go so far as to say the F10 was the first of the last of the proper M5s, or more like the last of the real M5s up until the newer Proper (note capital "P"!) M5s?

I would, it's the most understated of the" modern" M5's, none of this M Gill business.

I agree with EC about the F10,i consider it the successor in terms of looks but the twin turbo V8 doesn't do much for me tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Cheers to the knuckle stagger who scratched my car this morning.

That's a weekend ruiner right there, sorry to hear it. Just surface or right through the undercoat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

EazyD wrote: »
    That's a weekend ruiner right there, sorry to hear it. Just surface or right through the undercoat?

Right through. It seems someone left something on the bonnet and then pushed it. A couple of deep chips and some scuffs.

I'm not having a good time at the minute and this just really ****ed me off this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Am I right in being a bit sceptical about this. it seems very cheap.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/05-alfa-1-9jtd-nct-2-16/8751269?offset=1

Ill have to start my own thread soon instead of clogging this thread up with cars :o.

Been thinking either an Audi estate I want top spec which is proving hard to find or an Alfa always liked the look of them meant to be a nice drive but not to sure whether they fit two kids easily, the dog would have to be left out in the Alfa.

There's two Alfa estates for sale one is rough as a bears arse went to look at it and one went up today paddy spec and not the 150bhp engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Am I right in being a bit sceptical about this. it seems very cheap.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/05-alfa-1-9jtd-nct-2-16/8751269?offset=1

Ill have to start my own thread soon instead of clogging this thread up with cars :o.

Been thinking either an Audi estate I want top spec which is proving hard to find or an Alfa always liked the look of them meant to be a nice drive but not to sure whether they fit two kids easily, the dog would have to be left out in the Alfa.

There's two Alfa estates for sale one is rough as a bears arse went to look at it and one went up today paddy spec and not the 150bhp engine.

:(

It can fit 4 people quite well.
    I went on an EU trip in mine many years ago with my then girlfriend and her parents. Seats are a dream to be in, you are just so refreshed when you get out of them which is pretty rare.
    That car I think has been posted a few times with people asking opinions on them.
    Best thing to do is go and give a run and check out some review forums to get a better understanding of them.
    I'm a bit biased about them so apart from crap driveshafts they are a fantastically reliable engine.
    If you do go and see it, ask about the timing belt, tensioners and water pump. If the seller says it has been done then ask for proof.
    No proof then negotiate it into the price. Don't trust the tippex "proof".
    That job can cost about 4-500e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Reg not shown

Mileage not shown

No mention of history

€2k isn't exactly cheap for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Plus he has heaps of cars for sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Car tax paid again :( worth it tho! Detail next weekend getting wheels powder coated in Anthracite then after that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Peanut Butter Jelly

Does this seem a bit too cheap to anyone else or is it just a good deal?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-ford-focus-lx-1-4-5dr-hatchback/8742669?offset=3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

There is no such thing as a good deal when buying a car. Never. You can be happy with a price, but it's never a good deal - trust me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭Crumbs868

Sobanek wrote: »
    There is no such thing as a good deal when buying a car. Never. You can be happy with a price, but it's never a good deal - trust me.

I've gotten plenty of good deals so strongly disagree. You need to take the time to do your research and know your stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2006-ford-focus-lx-1-4-5dr-hatchback/8742669?offset=3
    To be honest the car looks ropey enough marks all over it. Mileage isn't that low either and its a base spec. Seeing as there plenty focus out there I'd keep looking.

I would, it's the most understated of the" modern" M5's, none of this M Gill business.

I agree with EC about the F10,i consider it the successor in terms of looks but the twin turbo V8 doesn't do much for me tbh.

I won't argue with that. Twin-turbo me hole, Oi loikes moi V8s with a dirty-great Roots blower sticking up through a hole in t'bonnet. :)

Sobanek wrote: »

Dunno about that, chief. I got a 7-year-old Jaaag in 2006 with 80,000 miles on it, four new tyres, a re-gassed HVAC and a half-tank of the peteral for a bockety '95 Mk. I Mondeo and €13,000. Best fcukan 'dozer of a yoke I ever see, 9 years and another 80,000 miles later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Passenger wing mirror fell off today, rusted badly.
    This'll make for a hard sale. :/

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,311 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Jaysys, between lads and cars fallin assunder, it's a bit of a bad ropey place this week.

Went into Dessies Tyres in Blackpool for some more prices, told him I wanted something decent at the very least, "I've got Federals here for €125 each", grand says I, "What model are they", "Eh Federals", "Yeah sound, but which model", "Federals". I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Found a car with what I need breaking, just waiting on a price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Noticed some water in the spare wheel well in the golf took out everything and dried everything no obvious sign where the water is getting in. It's never happened before and was dry a few weeks ago. I'll have to keep any eye on it and see but most likely it will probably happen again until I find the source of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Crumbs868 wrote: »
    I've gotten plenty of good deals so strongly disagree. You need to take the time to do your research and know your stuff

If a car is maintained well, has its work done etc. etc. it will be above the market price.

There is no such thing as buying a very nice car cheap, unless you're going bangernomics and a €60 part won't scare you off.
    They always have work that needs to be done.

Plenty of experience on that part actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Keep looking I'd say. Looks rough, dent on rear bumper, badge missing, wrong hubcaps, and it was towed at some stage, the cover of the eye is missing at the front. Plenty more out there, that one is probably cheap for a reason. Do you really want an lx spec though? Pretty grim. Aim for zetec or above.