Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

honestly think if we you put falcao in team thats making chances hed be scoring. the football united playing is so bad at the minute i dont think any striker is looking good, rooney wasnt great last night eithier.

The reason the game changed last night was preston getting tired and couldnt handle youngs pace when he came on and the final balls improved as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

bangkok wrote: »
    wouldn't go that far, benzema is brilliant, messi is brilliant, aguero is brilliant, fellaini is a nuisance, he does a job against poor opposition he will get you the odd goal here or there but against better opposition they will contain him.

Not if we get you to swing some corners in to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Not if we get you to swing some corners in to him.

yea thanks for adding to the discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,234 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

dor843088 wrote: »
    Fellaini is a one trick pony

Well he's a one type pony with a few tricks. Holding up the ball, target man, great take down and control, putting the fear into defenders and the occasional DMF cameo appearance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

yea thanks for adding to the discussion

Don't be so uptight bangkok. We're all friends here, it's not the UN. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Falcao getting alot of stick here but alot of it is down to the service he's getting.

DiMaria was very poor last night. His final ball? Where has it gone? His passing and some of his touches are shocking.

He was far better at the start of the season so i dont really understand that 'time to settle in phase'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Falcao is suffering due to problems elsewhere in the team- it's no coincidence that RVP isn't firing either.

We are not creating chances and our strikers are living on scraps. I blame the manager for that by trying to force multiple players into positions that they are not suited to.

are people happy with looking at fellaini up front? all the great strikers we had through the years and now we are reduced to this? Or are ye just happy with him there in the short term until we achieve our goal of making top 4?

I must have been looking at a different game to everyone last night, I thought di maria did well, granted some of his passes went astray but he never stopped looking for the ball, making 50-60 yard runs, taking on the defenders, looked up for the fight last night bit of fire in the belly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,300 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

are people happy with looking at fellaini up front? all the great strikers we had through the years and now we are reduced to this? Or are ye just happy with him there in the short term until we achieve our goal of making top 4?

I'd like to think of him as our plan B. If we need a goal last 20 minutes then put him up top and lump it up to him. Personally id like to see how Rooney up top with Mata behind would work out. Maybe let that be our plan A.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Do you criticise City for doing the exact same thing the last few years with Yaya Toure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

If we get in top 4 this season I don't really care how its done. .

This season was all about getting back into Europe. I don't think anybodys happy with the brand of football on show. Even LVG himself has stated he isn't happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Lol.
    He has been playing great and winning us games. If he continues, then why not? He is something different and is a great foil to our dainty attacking players with quick feet. He also isn't too bad on his feet.
    You have this notion he is Andy Carroll when he isn't.

Come out of the fog. It's ok to eat your words.

I'd like to think of him as our plan B. If we need a goal last 20 minutes then put him up top and lump it up to him. Personally id like to see how Rooney up top with Mata behind would work out. Maybe let that be our plan A.

yea but our plan A seems to be non existent, we were terrible again in the first half last night, zero penetration. The way things are going for mata I can see him looking for a move back to spain in the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,569 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

I must have been looking at a different game to everyone last night, I thought di maria did well, granted some of his passes went astray but he never stopped looking for the ball, making 50-60 yard runs, taking on the defenders, looked up for the fight last night bit of fire in the belly

Have to agree Di Maria played some lovely weighted passes in behind last night that nothing came from.

Falcao is struggling like Kagawa, Mata and RVP is it coincidence or is it just the style of football. We bring in good players and drag the life out of them with our negative dirt football.

Liam O wrote: »
    Do you criticise City for doing the exact same thing the last few years with Yaya Toure?
    don't even try compare fellaini with toure. Toure is world class, 24 goals last season, fellaini didn't even score a single goal last season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,569 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

We have better options than Fellaini but the manager wants to play a style that doesn't suit our better players so i think Fellaini is our best option.

Do i think he is the best option no, but with how we play he is our best option. He is not a gifted footballer but he is very effective in that role and disrupts defenders. He has come up with the goods nearly everytime in that role this season.

Do i think he is the long term plan no but he is far better than you give him credit for. I would love us to play lovely football with Mata pulling the strings but it's not happening.

As long as he scores goals I don't give a sh*t!
    Wouldn't mind seeing this get a go

Herrera
    Carrick
    Rooney
    Fellaini
    Di Maria
    RVP

Nuts102 wrote: »
    We have better options than Fellaini but the manager wants to play a style that doesn't suit our better players so i think Fellaini is our best option.

Do i think he is the best option no, but with how we play he is our best option. He is not a gifted footballer but he is very effective in that role and disrupts defenders. He has come up with the goods nearly everytime in that role this season.

Do i think he is the long term plan no but he is far better than you give him credit for. I would love us to play lovely football with Mata pulling the strings but it's not happening.

no I think he is decent, but I still stand by my original assessment of him, I don't think he is a man utd player

As long as he scores goals I don't give a sh*t!
    Wouldn't mind seeing this get a go

Herrera
    Carrick
    Rooney
    Fellaini
    Di Maria
    RVP

fellaini ahead of mata in the no 10 role?! please

Juan Mata, just like Adnan is not a LVG player in the current system. Part of the reason why our football is so poor is that Mata is not fitting into the system. Neither player are lightening quick but at least Fellaini can get caught up in the physical battles of the PL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I see more posters are starting to question Falcao's performance, and not put everything down to the system.

If he only excels at finishing chances than he doesn't offer a whole lot more than Chicarito.

In fact on what we've seen so far, Chicarito is the better finisher.

i see the word "system" being used a lot lately... can someone please explain what the system is or our plan A, that was used against burnley and again last night in the first half, before we moved to plan B?

I see more posters are starting to question Falcao's performance, and not put everything down to the system.

If he only excels at finishing chances than he doesn't offer a whole lot more than Chicarito.

In fact on what we've seen so far, Chicarito is the better finisher.

for man utd yes, but not in the grand scheme of things. Falcao is not even getting a chance to show us what he can do, we are not giving him any through balls, everything is lumped up to him. I though he was doing ok last night. how many times did he receive the ball with his back to goal and then fouled by the defender?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Juan Mata, just like Adnan is not a LVG player in the current system. Part of the reason why our football is so poor is that Mata is not fitting into the system. Neither player are lightening quick but at least Fellaini can get caught up in the physical battles of the PL.

I don't think Mata has been given the chance to play in the formation you've suggested under Lvg.
    When he's played number 10 it is has been with 2 out of form strikers in front of him who aren't making the runs for him to pick them out .

I think Mata would excel in a formation like you have suggested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭secman

Some positives from last night, Rooney making runs behind the defense, Di Maria running at players, and constantly looking for Rooney runs. Herrera in centre mid in second half was what we are missing there. Fellani gives us a plan B late on in a game and can cause havoc. Nice to see Shaw and Di Maria working together, they haven't had much time this season. Also Young make an impact.

Right side is still a problem, so many variation at right full and right wing makes it impossible to get an effective right side.,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

no I think he is decent, but I still stand by my original assessment of him, I don't think he is a man utd player

He quite clearly is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

secman wrote: »
    Some positives from last night, Rooney making runs behind the defense, Di Maria running at players, and constantly looking for Rooney runs. Herrera in centre mid in second half was what we are missing there. Fellani gives us a plan B late on in a game and can cause havoc. Nice to see Shaw and Di Maria working together, they haven't had much time this season. Also Young make an impact.

Right side is still a problem, so many variation at right full and right wing makes it impossible to get an effective right side.,

The right side is always going to be a problem on our right side attacking wise as valencia does the same thing every time he attacks so the better full backs can deal with him easily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭dor843088

secman wrote: »

Whqt the hell happened to Raphael ?

He quite clearly is

why because he caused havoc v preston, west ham and Cambridge?

call a spade a spade, he is at a certain level. against the likes of city or Chelsea the level we should be at he will be at nothing. Even last year in the champions league, any decent side we played fellaini was so out of place, teams just passed the ball around him and he didn't have the ability or mobility to cope