Cheltenham Festival 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭qzy

http://www.racingfm.com/ has commentary from all courses

Moon Dice wrote: »
    Hey lads does RTE radio one play live commentary of the races at cheltenham?
    My internet at work is fairly bad so streaming is out of the question.

Moondice.
    Download the Tune In internet radio app for your phone. Then search for Time Form radio .
    They provide commentary for all races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Moon Dice

Thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭skippymac6

Jesus great spot.
    Said after the Hennessy it's upto JP afaik so surely that decision has been made.

8/11 Carlingford Lough runs then surely?
    McManus not the sentimental sort that will let McCoy get up on Holywell?
    Or is the price too good to be true?

Yep into 1/2 now. As already stated, he'll ride CL provided he runs, no question. He'd love another Gold Cup win but I think unless Holywell is tearing up the gallops that he'll stay loyal to McManus who he has such a good working relationship with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,574 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

roast222 wrote: »
    I'm hearing about the Paddy Power daily 25 day countdown specials but I can't see any mention of them anywhere on the site. Does anyone know where they are available to view?

Some of them are not worth bothering with but some are decent and worth a bet.

Yesterday it was Lami Serge and Vautour 22/1 enhanced from 17/1 which was good value and both have live chances.

I think they usually go up around 12pm each day so it should be up in a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

qzy wrote: »
    http://www.racingfm.com/ has commentary from all courses

Is this an all day live feed (like Billy Hills radio) or does it just start when the racing starts? Clicked on it but can't hear anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

roast222 wrote: »
    I'm hearing about the Paddy Power daily 25 day countdown specials but I can't see any mention of them anywhere on the site. Does anyone know where they are available to view?

They put them up on the website, usually around lunchtime. If you follow PP on Twitter too they tweet them every day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

kfallon wrote: »
    Is this an all day live feed (like Billy Hills radio) or does it just start when the racing starts? Clicked on it but can't hear anything!

Starts around 10 mins before the 1st race of the day. I've used this stream since they started and it's excellent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

Moon Dice wrote: »
    Hey lads does RTE radio one play live commentary of the races at cheltenham?
    My internet at work is fairly bad so streaming is out of the question.

If you have a smart phone most bookies will stream a race from ATR or RUK once you have €1 bet on the race, all the weeks racing for under €30.

If you dont bet you can use the Filmontv app if you have an android phone. On this you can watch the Channel 4 coverage will be most of the racing for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,574 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

21/1 Douvan and Zarkandar it's alright if you like Zarkandar but i don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Nuts102 wrote: »

Couldn't back either of them at the prices,be nice bet if you could go e/w :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭qzy

Nuts102 wrote: »

Maximum stake for Zarkander and Douvan both to win is 2.25 :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Peintre Celebre

Shemale wrote: »
    Re flat breds, I swore never again after getting caught up in Minsk hysteria, last year I let my mates dad who is a very astute judge convince me to back Broughton.

I wouldn't be too off put by Minsk, I don't mind backing flat breds with real stouts pedigrees. He was by Dalakhani it's just that he wasn't good enough. Bearing in mind a lot of the Triumph horses are going to be flat bred, I just wouldn't touch a lot of them. The ones I'd trust would be those by the likes of Montjeu, Monsun, Authorized, Montjeu's promising son Montmartre, Motivator, Kalanisi, Halling to an extent. Looked at the entries and saw one by Bahamian Bounty. Not to say it could never win but it'd be a peculiar one on breeding. Even Galileo I don't tend to like over hurdles, bar Celestial Halo really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭roast222

Don't fancy Zarkander and Douvan is far too short considering the supreme novices is a bit of a graveyard for favourites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭ohbygod

Supreme novices bentelimar 33/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭DylanAFC

Paddy Power giving 8/11 that McCoy will ride Carlingford Lough in the Gold Cup over Holywell (Evs). Am I missing something or is that a great price? McManus will insist that McCoy rides his horse.

Carlingford 1/2 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

I keep getting this feeling that Douvan is going to bomb on the faster ground, the way he travelled through the heavy ground is a red flag for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

My Nap of the festival Paint The Clouds makes his reappearance in the Hunter Chase at Doncaster tomorrow. Decent ground, which is essential for him, is what he'll encounter at Doncaster and I will be very disappointed if he doesn't make very light work of the 4 runners in opposition tomorrow. I'd highly, highly recommend taking the 8/1 available for the Foxhunters as he'll definitely be favourite if everything goes to plan tomorrow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 sizing europe

rossom wrote: »
    My Nap of the festival Paint The Clouds makes his reappearance in the Hunter Chase at Doncaster tomorrow. Decent ground, which is essential for him, is what he'll encounter at Doncaster and I will be very disappointed if he doesn't make very light work of the 4 runners in opposition tomorrow. I'd highly, highly recommend taking the 8/1 available for the Foxhunters as he'll definitely be favourite if everything goes to plan tomorrow.

salsify for the foxhunters in my opinion he should win hands down

Good luck with him but he'll be looking at Paint The Clouds arse from a long way out. Genuinely think Paint The Clouds will demolish the competition at Cheltenham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭faoile@n

Mossey Joe entered in a hunters chase in Fairyhouse this weekend. Is he still eligible for Cheltenham?

faoile@n wrote: »
    Mossey Joe entered in a hunters chase in Fairyhouse this weekend. Is he still eligible for Cheltenham?

I'd assume so but, unfortunately, he seems to have fallen out of love with the game. Shame as he was ridiculously talented and in another life would have achieved great things in his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭nobody told me

Good luck with him but he'll be looking at Paint The Clouds arse from a long way out. Genuinely think Paint The Clouds will demolish the competition at Cheltenham.

Bit of a silly statement really about a horse who has won the race before and ran a cracking race on its comeback. Also doesn't paint the clouds need fast ground? He's had a leg before and was off for a long time but even at his best he was a decent handicapper over hurdles that was all. I've backed teaforthree!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 42 sizing europe

Bit of a silly statement really about a horse who has won the race before and ran a cracking race on its comeback. Also doesn't paint the clouds need fast ground? He's had a leg before and was off for a long time but even at his best he was a decent handicapper over hurdles that was all. I've backed teaforthree!!

well said.. i have the foxhunters narrowed down to salsify and teaforthree myself.

Teaforthree not winning a weak field last time out however must be a negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Bangor Billy

Teaforthree won't qualify now. Cut off is next Tuesday and not entered in any Hunter Chases before then. Going to Aintree I think.

T43 unlikely to make it. Will need to finish top 2 in a Hunter Chase before the 24th of February to qualify and I don't see him running again with the Grand National his main aim.

Don't get me wrong, I've nothing against Salsify and he should run a big race. I just think Paint The Clouds is way better than a Hunter Chaser. 5 for 5 over fences, injury cut him short over hurdles when he easily won a Pertemps qualifier at Cheltenham off 130 and Greatrex has said that McCoy got off that day said he'd win the Pertemps Final. Obviously he missed out through injury but proved his health last year and his injuries are behind him.

Paint The Clouds fine on anything good to soft or better and he should get that at the Festival.

He'll definitely be favourite for Cheltenham when he wins hard held tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,892 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

channel 4 should show every race live!

You are a far better judge than I ever will be but I don't think he is that far clear of the field. It's all about opinions and that's what makes the game great. I know my teaforthree bet is cooked.

Paint the clouds is 4/7 tomorrow you already said he will win by half the track so in your view is the 4/7 value?

4/6 with Betfair. If you've no problem lumping on odds on shots then he's a good price. Not my style tbh so I'll happily just sit back and watch. I've backed him every week for a couple of months for Cheltenham so I've enough riding on him!