Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

mfceiling wrote: »
    Well lads how's the valentines going?

Quite good, it's a special day for me because tonight I get anal.

That's right. No matter how tidy I want the house, she has to clean it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

molloyjh wrote: »
    F-ing brilliant! Well played sir.

It was too much of an opportunity to pass up. The silence alone was deafening. The girl behind the counter must have been about 17 or 18...her face was priceless...50 shades of red!!

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

mfceiling wrote: »
    Well lads how's the valentines going?

I'm after getting dogs abuse in the florists from 4 oul ones..."ah sure look at him in now" "you should have had this organised weeks ago" "too mean to pay for the delivery"

When the girl at the counter asked if I'd like a message on the card I says "really sorry for your loss, she will be sadly missed by us all"
    The looks on their faces!! I'm after fecking the card in the bin, but it gave me a laugh and that's all that matters!!

Made me laugh out loud on the luas. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭chupacabra

So I finally decided to take the plunge... and on Valentines day no doubt! Dressed up nice, took her out into town, got down on one knee, re-tied my shoelace and popped off to the big medieval restaurant in the middle of Tallinn and finally tried the Bear.

After all these months of scoffing at the price I have finally gotten my chunk of Bear meat. It was decent. Spent the rest of the day watching the rugby.

Valentines day is a load of ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Estimated 1.5 billion people watched Pakistan v India in cricket world cup. Crazy figures. I can't find the RWC 2011 final figures, but nowhere near that amount I would guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Swiwi. wrote: »
    Estimated 1.5 billion people watched Pakistan v India in cricket world cup. Crazy figures. I can't find the RWC 2011 final figures, but nowhere near that amount I would guess.

I'd be surprised if it was more than 40 mill or so.

France and England are the only countries with large populations who are properly into rugby.

Cricket has India pakistan, Bangladesh etc with gigantic populations.

Polulation of Pakistan alone is 200 mill- greater than the six nations combined- or thereabouts .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Anyone watching the cricket team on Sky at the minute? Going very well at the minute. West Indies 106-5 after 30

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Anyone watching the cricket team on Sky at the minute? Going very well at the minute. West Indies 106-5 after 30

West Indies 304/7 lost to Ireland 307/6.

That's a very decent start for Ireland chasing down 300 to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

With 5 overs to spare too.

Ireland were looking even more comfortable at one point. Before Ed Joyce's wicket, they were on about 270/2, with a good chunk of overs to get the total (I think the required run rate got down as low as 5).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

That's a big result already, probably bigger than beating England & Pakistan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Ireland have the hilariously back handed record of achieving half of all the 300 plus run chases in world cup cricket history. Back handed because while it's a good record, it's mostly down to the fact our fielding / bowling is fairly average but our batting is class.

Wang King wrote: »
    That's a big result already, probably bigger than beating England & Pakistan

West Indies are not a very good side, they're 8th in the ODI rankings. This was a clash that we needed to target, catching them cold.

Very good win but, if we wanted to make a real go of getting out of the group, it was a must win clash. We've got to beat Zimbabwe and one other now.

Beating Pakistan in 2007 was a huge win that sent shockwaves through the sport given our respective standings going into the tournament. Even leaving aside the Woolmer death, it was a huge story in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

5 300+ chases in World Cup history. Ireland responsible for 3 of them.

Buer wrote: »
    West Indies are not a very good side, they're 8th in the ODI rankings. This was a clash that we needed to target, catching them cold.

Very good win but, if we wanted to make a real go of getting out of the group, it was a must win clash. We've got to beat Zimbabwe and one other now.

Beating Pakistan in 2007 was a huge win that sent shockwaves through the sport given our respective standings going into the tournament. Even leaving aside the Woolmer death, it was a huge story in itself.

In 2007 Pakistan were not a very good side either, I'm just looking at it from a historical viewpoint, England have never won this tournament, Pakistan have once, but the Windies have done so twice.
    Its all subjective though, having beaten 3 tier one sides whilst being only an associate member is brilliant no matter which way you look at it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

This does make the blood boil. Hundreds of miles of line torn up, many amazing Victorian buildings demolished and 4/5 of the province of Ulster robbed of a vital service.

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Darren Clarke gets the ryder cup captain position. Happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Don't think it was ever going to be anyone else. Delighted for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Good to have another Irishman on the trot. Personally not mad on Clarke but sure look, he has the backing of the likes of Rory. Would love to see someone like Jiminez with it when it's back on Euro soil.

Interesting interview on OTB with Karl McGinty last night regarding the captaincy. Revealed a side of Clarke I was previously unaware of. I'm sure those who follow golf more closely do, however. Apparently, while he is a popular guy with players generally and has strong relationships with McDowell and McIlroy who are big voices in the team, he can be extremely difficult and moody which was corroborated by Joe Molloy (who was conducting the interview) who said he too has felt the wrath of Clarke.

They said that himself and McGinley have buried the hatchet at this point but there's likely to be continued frostiness there.

Overall, the feeling was that he'll be a good captain though and very much the right choice to lead the team across the water. Despite having a reputation as someone who can be somewhat lackadaisical in his approach, when he does truly put him mind to something, he's quite driven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I remember him from school...he was fairly handy with the oval ball as well. Was constantly on the hop playing golf. Teachers didn't seem to like it but who's laughing now!!

Wang King wrote: »

Pretty solid technique, look at the way he pivots and brings his weight down onto his left leg, using that as an anchor for a full rotational punch using power from his arm, back and hips.

Bit of a dick move though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Just cancelled my sky subscription and I have to say it was one of the most painfree exchanges with a large company i've ever encountered. Fair play to them for not making you go in rings.

Alas Thomond2006, our shared Sky Go relationship will come to an end. I'll pour a drop to welcome us both to low quality streams.

chupacabra wrote: »
    Just cancelled my sky subscription and I have to say it was one of the most painfree exchanges with a large company i've ever encountered. Fair play to them for not making you go in rings.

Alas Thomond2006, our shared Sky Go relationship will come to an end. I'll pour a drop to welcome us both to low quality streams.

If I could offer some advice it's that kodi/xbmc running on a MK80B+ (£22) from Gearbest has also had me considering the value of my Sky Subscription.

Nothing illegal here officer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

If I could offer some advice it's that kodi/xbmc running on a MK80B+ (£22) from Gearbest has also had me considering the value of my Sky Subscription.

Nothing illegal here officer.

Basically are these just little devices that run android with a HDMI out on them, allowing you to use most android apps on your TV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

.ak wrote: »
    Basically are these just little devices that run android with a HDMI out on them, allowing you to use most android apps on your TV?

Kodi (or what was XBMC, I didn't even notice the name change), is a home media center software:

http://kodi.tv/about/

It's very good and there's lots you can do with it.

.ak wrote: »

yes, but the android part is almost irrelevant, it's kodi/xbmc that you want running. Plenty of very useful add-ons for a film lover in kodi. Or a sports fan.

Android Stick just means a free OS that can launch Kodi really.

I've mine a month or so. I recently cancelled Netflix and Sky Movies in a totally, totally unrelated incident though. Sky Sports I will be persist with for guarantees though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭b.gud

XBMC/Kodi is the biz highly recommend it.

You can control it from your smartphone through the official app, Android and iPhone. There is also a great 3rd party app for Android called Yatse,

Edit: oh ya and the Irish tv add on lets you watch catch tv for all the Irish channels

b.gud wrote: »

Edit: oh ya and the Irish tv add on lets you watch catch tv for all the Irish channels

not for me :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Looking forward to replacing the chromecast with the razer forge TV, but the ****ers are dragging their heels with the release. Good power in it, plays games, streams games from the PC aaannnnnddddd will serve my Acestreaming needs very well. Wireless AC and Ethernet too. Not too shabby at all!