Not Quite Four Laps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

Cheers, it couldn't have went much better for me today. Really enjoyed the course too. Think I'm becoming a cross country convert.

How did you find it today?

I enjoyed it; great course and perfect conditions. Hadn't done any xc training or races since Christmas but I've been training solidly and it's not like I was in bad shape, just hadn't done anything specific; my xc peak was probably about two weeks before the Novice! So, not desperately disappointed.

It should give you great confidence for the summer though - you did 9:10 or so for 3k last April off much more interrupted spring training, so you're doing everything right to run some great times this summer, whatever distance you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Well done KU, great running!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Great racing KU, well done.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

Brilliant run KU!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Strange week of running this one and I think the Intermediate race took a lot more out of me than I at the time realised

Mon 09.02.15

5.3 @ 7.42/mi

A relaxed lunch time run where I wasn't feeling the after effects of the XC too badly.

Tue 10.02.15

7.7 @ 7.45/mi

There was nobody down the club for an easy run so I had to head out to Blackrock and back on my ownsome :(. Legs were definitely feeling tired and was happy to be just taking it easy.

Wed 11.02.15

5.8 @ 7.30/mi

Felt really good but was surprised that the pace wasn't a bit faster. It felt faster but running at night can be a bit deceptive like that.

Thu 12.02.15

W/U, 2 X 15, W/D
    Paces: 6.10, 6.16

Coach had down 2 X 20 @ 5.30 pace :eek:. Obviously a typo but he wasn't down to set out the actual session so I was in a bit of limbo. One of the lads was going to do the same session but at 6.30 pace. I was happy enough with this but then another clubmate came along and ruined the party. They kicked off on a 2 X 15 session but I just slipped in behind because I wasn't up to the pace at all this evening. Even the 6.15 pace was a bit of a struggle. Finished up with a few strides that helped liven up the legs a little. Should probably have done these at the start :rolleyes:

Fri 13.02.15

4.5 @ 7.40ish w/ 6 X 100 strides

Was going to have a rest day today but I'm becoming a bit of a slave to the lunch time run schedule. Went on a slightly shorter route around Shangangagh Park and then stopped for a few strides on the path before heading back. Wasn't feeling too lively on these but not awful either.

I've no expectations for the race tomorrow but its on 'our' hills in the Phoenix Park so have to give it a bit of a go. Its not a goal race or anything so as long as I get a better effort than I would training on the same hills, I'll be happy. Its all about the Ballycotton now.

Sat 16.02.15

BHAA Garda XC 4 Miles - 22.38

In retrospect, I looked back at the run from Friday when I uploaded it to Garmin and the easy miles were at sub 7 minute pace and I was touching on sub 4 minute mile pace :eek: in the 6 X 100m strides so the rest and the easier session on Thursday must have seen me well.

2 years ago, this race was my first ever cross country race. It was a real baptism of fire and definitely up there with the London Marathon as the toughest race I've ever ran. The only highlight was 'unchicking' myself by beating a Raheny lady in a sprint finish on the line. Or elbowing her out of the way as the story is now told. We train on pretty much the exact course very regularly over the winter so I was very familiar with the course and this was a big advantage. Either way I wasn't too worried about the race today as long as I got better value than running the usual session that we would do on the same course.

Arriving down on the bike to the registration at the Garda Boat Club, you could immediately see that there was going to be a big crowd for this. Always a popular race but it was being included as part of the Lord Mayor Series so this bulked up the numbers considerably. Met up with R+ for a warm up and were later joined by Moorsey and IK for some dynamic stretches and a few strides. I was nice and relaxed because this wasn't a goal race (and the weather was smashing). There's even a nice picture of me laughing with IK as we took off. Then it was in to serious mode :mad:

The old hand at the cross country that I am these days, I've learned the power of getting in to a good position from the off. At the first corner was in about 15th place just behind R+ and running with IK and in good position given the narrow nature of the course. First lap was the mile loop that we do regularly in training. Think myself and IK picked up a few places here and we were just behind R+ in about 10th place going in to the 2 longer laps. Have to say that my knowledge of the course was a huge advantage. Have run the long incline so many times that I know the right pace to head up it and not be out on your feet at the top. I was making ground on the tight downhill corners because through trial and error I have discovered the best angle of approach to take so that you keep your momentum. There's an awkward tree root section that can really knock you off your stride. Not me though ;).

Anyway I was feeling good and passed R+ on the second lap and then caught up with a group of three containing one bear foot runner. Affectionately referred to as Ghandhi by some smart arses in the crowd. The support was actually brilliant today and really added to the atmosphere of the race. Stuck with this group for the second lap. Had assumed I'd be strong on the hills and this is where I'd make places but I was just holding my place here and it was on the long flat straight on the acres where I made the ground and took the lead in the group. Ghandhi then made a burst and opened up a bit of a gap. Poor guy then slipped on the tight downhill corner and never really recovered. Serves him right for showing off :p.

One of the guys in the group went past me but I retook the lead quite quickly at the next corner and maintained to end, managing to kick strongly on the home straight to hold my narrow gap over the line for 7th place :D:cool:.

Delighted with the race and felt just as strong as I had in the previous week's race. Small bit of a break from the cross country now (I'll definitely miss it) and focus will be on Ballycotton and then the track preparation with probably the Road Relays thrown in there following shortly after that. I'm in better shape than I could have hoped so really looking forward to seeing what I can achieve when the focus changes to developing a bit of speed.

Sun 15.02.15

Rest

A very late night last night and only about 4-5 hours sleep before heading to the Tipp match today. I should have probably stayed in bed :rolleyes: Concious that I haven't ran anything over 10 miles continuous in a long time so I'll try and maybe do my long run as a commute home from work tomorrow. Will need to do a bit of this if I don't want to die a death completely in the second half of Ballycotton.

That's a great run KU.

Don't know how ye XC muck savages do it, I get antsy when I get splashed by passing cars!!

Ps. Was the "bear" foot runner a brown or black bear :)

TbL

That's a great run KU.

Don't know how ye XC muck savages do it, I get antsy when I get splashed by passing cars!!

Ps. Was the "bear" foot runner a brown or black bear :)

TbL

Bloody pedants :D

The bear faced cheek to be criticising my grammar.

Thanks TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

super work - tough course, but you lot have taken it over every weekend for the last while :)

Super time.

Mon 16.02.15

12.4 @ 7.06/mi

It was back to the long run home from work although last time I did this, I probably considered it a medium length run. How times have changed. Didn't want to take the long way round by Killiney so ran the whole way along the N11 the whole way in to town. There's a constant drag for most of the first half and the scenery leaves much to be desired. Felt a lot better once I hit UCD and back to civilisation. Now I remember why I swore I'd never run along the N11 again.

Tue 17.02.15

W/U, 16 X 400 w/ 30s recovery, W/D

Times: 81, 80, 75, 78, 76, 76, 76, 77, 75, 77, 76, 78, 76, 78, 74, 76

Another solid Tuesday night session. Nothing spectacular on any of these and I was out the back on my own for most of it but felt the effort was just about perfect and very happy with the the splits too.

Wed 18.02.15

5.3 @ 7.15/mi

Same lunchtime route. Can't really remember anything else

Thu 19.02.15

W/U. 2 X 20 mins w/ 2 min jog recovery, W/D

Paces: 6.05, 5.53

Stayed out the back on my own for the first one and was going to do the same for the second but joined the lads and felt reasonably comfortable at the faster pace. Wasn't looking forward to this but enjoyed it in the end.

Fri 20.02.15

5.3 @ 7.06/mi

Easy in Shanganagh Park

Sat 21.02.15

W/U, 3 X 2 Munich Miles w/ 2 min recovery, W/D

Times: 11.28, 11.29, 11.38

It was freezing on Saturday morning with a bit of a stiff breeze too. Thankfully, in the hills you have a bit of protection from it and you only really get the full brunt of it for about 50m when you reach the top of the long uphill gully. Group of 5 down for this but I ended up getting stuck between the group of three up ahead and another girl about 10 seconds back. It was strange how I was thinking how much easier it was going up these hills in the previous week's race at a much faster pace and recalling thinking the exact same thing in the race. Amazing what a bit of adrenaline can do. Really getting to love dem there hills. I'll miss them in the summer time when it will all be about speed on the flat.

Sun 22.02.15

Rest

Was a little bit tender after the club night out on the previous. Was going to go out for a few easy miles but the weather was a sufficient deterrent not to.

Mon 23.02.15

13.1 @ 6.54/mi w/ last 16 mins @ 6.24/mi

Second week in a row where the long run has been delayed to the Monday but since I'm away next weekend, I didn't want to drop it all together. Got a nice little window of weather in between the horrendous stuff before and after. Picked it up for the last quarter of an hour as per the coach's instructions and felt reasonably good.

Tue 24.02.15

W/U, 6 X 800 w/ 90s recovery, W/D

Times: 2.36, 2.33, 2.33, 2.31, 2.30, 2.30

A really surprising session this evening. Coach had me down for 2.40 for each of the reps and I thought this was reasonable though I might be a few seconds quicker. Felt a bit stiff heading off, probably from the long run the day before but after 400m I loosened up a bit and felt very controlled on the first one in a good 2.36. Recoveries were longer and the session was shorter than what we had been doing recently so everyone was knocking them out fairly quick from there on in. I was starting with the group and losing a bit of ground on the first 400 before making most of it up in the second half. When I started hitting the 2.30s, I thought it might have been a bit risky but felt very controlled and could have knocked out a couple more without killing myself, which is always a good way to be. :D

Tue 24.02.15

W/U, 6 X 800 w/ 90s recovery, W/D

Times: 2.36, 2.33, 2.33, 2.31, 2.30, 2.30

A really surprising session this evening. Coach had me down for 2.40 for each of the reps and I thought this was reasonable though I might be a few seconds quicker. Felt a bit stiff heading off, probably from the long run the day before but after 400m I loosened up a bit and felt very controlled on the first one in a good 2.36. Recoveries were longer and the session was shorter than what we had been doing recently so everyone was knocking them out fairly quick from there on in. I was starting with the group and losing a bit of ground on the first 400 before making most of it up in the second half. When I started hitting the 2.30s, I thought it might have been a bit risky but felt very controlled and could have knocked out a couple more without killing myself, which is always a good way to be. :D

Nicely done KU, you're flying at the moment.

Wed 25.02.15

5.3 @ 7.36/mi w/ 6 X 10s hill sprints

Part of the long run was meant to have been 6 X 10s hill sprints at the end but the the end of my long run is in the pancake flat surrounds of Fairview so I switched to today. Went on the usual run down to Shanganagh and did the hill sprints on the bridge over the railway tracks. Just concentrated on form and kept the knees nice and high. This must have loosened me up big time because the 2-3 miles back to work at 7 minute pace have never felt so comfortable.

Thu 26.02.15

W/U, 3 X 15 mins w/ 2 min recovery, W/D

Paces: 6.01, 5.50, 10 @ 5.43 & 5 @ 5.32

Very long tempo run this evening and orders were to get progressively faster on each 15 and leg it for the last 5. Just missed out on joining R+ and Moorsey for the first one (smmoore's last) but got in a warm up and joined R+ and SC on the next one. Stuck behind them for the most part and then cut a few corners to catch up and ran with them for the last 5. Next one, I ran with them the whole way and effort felt similar to the first despite the increased pace. Wind was picking up a bit, making it a hard effort down one side. SC headed off and R+ had already done 3 so I did most of the last one on my own. Kept nice and relaxed and was surprised to see the pace dip fairly easily in to the 5.40s. Picked it up for the last 5 minutes and it was tough going with the strong winds but got it done. :)

3 days off running now because I'm going to be away so nice to get in a good session first. I reckon the rest will see me good.

Fri 27.02.15 - Sun 01.03.15

Off

Was out of the country for a few days

Mon 02.03.15

5 @ 7.06/mi

Flight was delayed getting back and didn't get home until 2 o'clock. A few too many beers to help pass the time didn't help my state of well being either and I was feeling ropey. Could have went either way but the run actually had a bit of a rejuvenating effect and I felt better for the afternoon. Was still in bed by 9 o'clock that night mind.

Tue 03.03.15

W/U, 16 X 400 w/ 30s recovery, W/D

Times: 72, 76, 76, 75, 75, 75, 76, 76, 76, 75, 77, 76, 76, 75, 76, 75

Did a mile and a half warm up and none of the usual crew were in Sean Moore Park so headed over to Ringsend for the session. Was feeling a bit weak here. Possibly putting it down to a very light lunch. Bought some pickled red cabbage for a salad at lunch. On its own, it was lovely but mixed with a bit of rocket and it was practically inedible. Cut my losses and just knocked back a load of fishtail prawns. Lovely but not exactly a bountiful lunch.

The session was OK despite all this. My legs were very tired but the rest of me felt very strong so sort of made up for this. Good consistent splits so happy with the effort.

Wed 04.03.15

5.3 @ 6.52/mi

Again the legs weren't feeling amazing but the upper body is making up for this these days. I've been working a bit on moving my arms more when running and generally working on keeping my posture upright and relaxed. Must say its paying dividends because I'm feeling very strong in this area these days and even on very tough sessions, I can keep the form good and I'm always staying concious of remaining relaxed. This should really help on the track I'm hoping.

U doing Ballycotton hoss?

TbL

U doing Ballycotton hoss?

TbL

Aye, I'm heading down on Saturday and making a weekend of it. In much better shape than I could have hoped so going to throw caution to the wind and give it a good auld fashioned lash. Normally like to ease in to the longer races but i'll just hare off from the start next Sunday and see how that works out for a change :)

Best of luck with it, your sessions lately have been impressive, looking forward to the report.

Try not to get chicked (too many times :))

TbL

You should throw caution to the wind more often.

great time well done.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭paddybarry

Great run KU, looking forward to report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

Could you not have found a second from somewhere ;)

Great run well done.

Thu 05.03.15

W/U, 2 X 10mins, W/D

Paces: 5.55 & 5.46

Just a handy enough session with the race at the weekend. Finished up with 6 X 100m strides to 'race ready' the legs.

Fri 06.03.15

5.2 @ 6.55/mi

Hit Shanganagh Park at lunch time straight after a few pastries and a good dollop of cream as one of the girls at work was leaving. Felt a bit heavy from this and it was windy as heck so wasn't the most comfortable run in the end. Wanted to get it done to assuage some of the guilt for heading for a few drinks later that evening. Got a gig from these guys in too, which was excellent.

Sat 07.03.15

3.8 @ 7.44/mi

A bit tired here and the stomach wasn't feeling the May West but my new pre race tradition is a short very easy run with a few strides at the end on the day before. Just headed down to Fairview Park and did a few loops with 6 strides along the length of the pitch and then it was the drive down to Cork with a fellow Crusader.

Sun 08.03.15

W/U, Ballycotton 10, W/D

Got down to Ballycotton on Saturday evening and a few of us from the club were staying in the Bayview Hotel. Lovely place that is literally right by the start line and I recommend to anyone who is running the race and travelling down from some far away parts of the country. Woke up Sunday morning to a beautiful bay view ;) drenched in sunshine and with a much reduced wind to the day before. Was great to see this. We had a super relaxed morning with breakfast at the hotel before a short stroll around the town and then back to the hotel to chill out and listen to some music. Felt like a proper professional :).

Eventually got our stuff together and we met up with smmoore79 for a short 15 minute warm up followed by a dynamic warm up and a few strides. Great set up in Ballycotton where if you are running under 60 minutes then you can head to the start from the front so its easy to get in to a good position without any hassle. Missed the Ballycotton Song :( but bumped in to KC and we had similar goals so I decided I'd try and keep him in sight for the first few miles but this didn't last too long :p. We were off fairly sharpish and despite the narrow start, I was able to run freely at the start and get in to my desired pace very easily. My aim at the start was to aim for an average 5.30 pace and see how long I could last. This would basically be double my time from the Raheny 5 so was a bit ambitious but I would have been happy with anything between 55 and 56 minutes. KC and I looked at our watches at roughly the same time and I think both made the decision that the pace was a little too easy given the downhill start and pushed on a bit. I could see Maria McCambridge up ahead with a large group and knowing that she had run 55.xx here last year, I thought that catching up might have been a good idea. Slowly reeled them in over the first 2 miles (5.29 and 5.22) but was working very hard to do this. Knew this pace wasn't sustainable so as they slowly pulled away in the third mile I didn't force it and accepted that I was going to have to change my strategy (Mile 3: 5.29). A new group quickly formed and as I eased off the pace a little, I started to feel stronger and was working at an effort that was more appreciable for the length of the race. I tucked in behind them for the fourth mile but was feeling a little restricted so pushed in to the front so I could dictate the rhythm (Mile 4: 5.38). I was feeling good now and concentrating on running the tangents of the course to stay focussed. I only had average pace on the watch (which was showing low 5.30 pace) so didn't realise that I was probably a little too comfortable and the pace had dropped significantly (Mile 5 & 6: 5.47, 5.41). Caught up with two guys around halfway from Leevale and Limerick AC and had a nice little group for the next few miles

0a288cb8-f548-4141-bde7-6d9f38acee98_zpslqrr0top.jpg

The wind was at the back now so the pace naturally picked up a bit and everyone in the group seemed relaxed and comfortable so it was a good environment to tick off a few miles ahead of the tough finish ahead. (Mile 7 & 8: 5.33 & 5.36). Leevale and Limerick pushed on a small bit up the road before mile 8 so I was more or less tackling the tough mile 9 on my own. A tough incline here meant the pace was going to slow a little but managed to limit the damage to a 5.45 mile. There was a guy calling out the times here and I was bang on 50.30 for the 9 miles. I had miscalculated in my head and thought I had more of a buffer for the sub 56 so this sharpened me up somewhtt and I upped the effort here to leave nothing in the tank. I was reeling in the lads up ahead but never got close to challenging them. Got to the 1k to go sign and then there were markers every 200m to the end. By the time I got to the see the finishing gantry, the clock was ticking on to 55.50 so I legged it for the last 60 or so metres and just made it under before the 56.00 (55.58 chip time). Last mile was 5.26 on the Garmin so delighted to finish up with the second fastest mile of the day.

Great race and I definitely see myself running this a lot more times before I eventually hang up my running shoes at some indeterminate time in the future. Finished up with a nice 2 mile warm down along a really picturesque coastal trail. Great way to top off the day (along with the PB beers of course :cool:)

Mon 09.03.15

5.9 miles @ 7.14/mi

Easy run around the Drumcondra where the legs definitely knew they'd run a tough race and the head knew it had a few too many beers and whiskeys to celebrate.

Could you not have found a second from somewhere ;)

Great run well done.

I'm all about the chip time Dave ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭TRR_the_turd

I'm all about the chip time Dave ;)

ha ha, that's what I get for being a dick! I just seen gun time :) Well done again

Super running KU, not many lads heading into track with that sort of 10 mile time. Endurance ain't gonna be an issue anyway!

pconn062 wrote: »
    Super running KU, not many lads heading into track with that sort of 10 mile time. Endurance ain't gonna be an issue anyway!

Yea, that's for sure :p but I'm itching to get on to the track for some middle distance sessions. Irishtown won't be open until May at the earliest so myself and some of the lads are going to look in to heading out to Santry. This track debacle is such a pain :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Yea, that's for sure :p but I'm itching to get on to the track for some middle distance sessions. Irishtown won't be open until May at the earliest so myself and some of the lads are going to look in to heading out to Santry. This track debacle is such a pain :eek:

Join us any tue or Fri evening for plenty of middle distance pain in greystones ha.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Join us any tue or Fri evening for plenty of middle distance pain in greystones ha.

Sounds good but its way too far away for me. Wouldn't be back in Drumcondra until midnight :). Might get out there for the mile invitational again this year. Was a good race the last time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Savage run KU, well earned after a great training block

Tue 10.03.15

6.6 @ 7.25/mi

Some easy miles with a clubmate out to Blackrock and back. Still feeling the effects of the race

Wed 11.03.15

5.3 @ 6.56/mi

Easy run at lunch. Still a little bit sore :eek:. This old body can't take the beating it once used to :p

Thu 12.03.15

6.4 @ 7.11/mi

Went down to the club and was going to do 2 X 10 mins but there weren't many down and I was still contemplating running the Paddy's Day 5k so just did 2 X 15 at a handy enough pace with another clubmate who is running at the weekend.

Fri 13.03.15

5.4 @ 6.44/mi

Last 2 miles of this were at 6.30 pace and felt relatively easy so Ballycotton must be out of the legs finally.

Sat 14.03.15

W/U, 4 X 1k, W/D

Times: 3.21, 3.14, 3.11, 3.10

Couldn't make the club session this morning so pushed this out until this afternoon. Did this session out the coast previously and its a bit of a grueller if you're running in to the wind so decided to visit an old haunt instead. Been about two years since I visited the Kilbarrack Cinder track. It makes for a long warm up and warm down (almost 5 miles each) but at least its a bit sheltered (in a housing estate) and you know the distance is right at two and a half laps.

Ran down to the track and was greeted by two kids bashing a pram with a baseball bat. My years on the north side have thought me that this could lead to trouble at some stage :D. Regardless, I ploughed on with the session and jogged a lap to mark a line in the cinder at the end of the finish straight and the back straight for the start and end points. Aim was 75-77s a lap and I was off.

Hit the first lap in 80s, which was a bit disappointing and a similar time for the second at 2.40 to come in at 3.21. Kid Watch: Pretended to throw some stuff at me as I went past. Was happy enough that they either wouldn't throw it or would miss so didn't even give them a glance

Second rep and I upped the effort a bit to come in at 3.14, which I was happy with. Kid watch: First lap tried the trhwoing thing again. Second lap, one of them stood on the inside of the track with his hands out and I had to go around. Gave him an evil stare. No effect.

Third rep and the legs were starting to feel it a bit but still felt in control. Kid watch: First lap, they stood in the way. I pretended they weren't there. Second lap, they lay across the track. Gave them an evil start. No apparent effect.

Fourth rep and I was working hard (and getting very angry) and although it felt like the pace was slowing I came in with a 3.10, which I was delighted with. Kid watch: For the two laps, they stood in the way but moved across to get in my way as I went round. Told them to 'grow the f**k up' but they just weren't listening. :p As I finished the last half a lap, they were again lying across the track waiting for me to come back around. I hoped they's get bored and p**s off but as my 90s were up, they were still there so I canned the last rep for fear of what I would do. I was seriously angry like I haven't been in a long time. Contemplated doing the final rep on the football pitches adjacent but wasn't in the mood for compromise and it would have meant changing the settings on my Garmin to kilometres, which sounded like a lot of effort.

Probably a good session but tainted by not getting the last rep finished. Won't be going back to Kilbarrack for a while. Maybe, I'll pop out tomorrow to check on the pram. Hope its alright :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Gleedog

Ya need to come live in Maynooth, never get any hassle from any kids there :P